Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Globales Reina Cristina 4 stars

Paseo de la Conferencia, s/n, 11207 Algeciras, Spain

#11 of 19 hotels in Algeciras

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1559 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.9
    Good value alternative to Gibraltar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The surrounding area was awful. Take plenty of insect repellent as flies are a nuisance around the pool

    Beautiful public rooms, old world charm. Relaxing pool area and lovely outdoor terrace. Snacks and drinks menu had a good selection at reasonable prices. Housekeeping worked hard and our room was spotless. Cheap regular bus service to Gibraltar every 30 minutes €2.45 and buses to Jerez and Seville were very reasonable too. The live duo playing at the weekend was a bonus and there was a good party atmosphere helped by a Spanish coach party staying at the hotel. Bar staff were great and very smiley.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Near Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although asking for a quiet room as I arrived at 03.00, I was awoken to the sound of pneumatic hammers at 08.00. Staff took minutes to find me another room after initially claiming to be full, Despite not being impressed with this, I would certainly return, as the Hotel has many redeeming features

    Have already stayed twice before. It has good car-parking, beautiful grounds, and well appointed rooms. Gardens and pool-area are particularly attractive.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.2
    A nice clean large room with a great view and close to the bus, train and port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was close to the bus station. We were able to walk to the port to get the bus to the ferry for Morocco. The room was large and had a great view out the window and veranda. We could see Gibraltar from our room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.8
    It's old fashioned Spanish Class !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect but Algeciras isn't the most beautiful city. I have been here 10 times and always love it .It's got style and longevity. The Gym is rather poor .needs renewing !

    It's old fashioned Spanish Class !lovely grounds v clean .good breakfast. Nice pool .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    3.8
    Not worth a pennie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service, and property upkeep

    Rude staff.. when asked as requested a double bed got answered rudedly we dont have anythibg.then there was on room in the cellar.. very damn and mouldy smell and room. No coffee facilities in room.. no iron in the hotel i mean its meant to be a 4 star hotel? Even hostels have irons. Staff very rude claiming he didnt speak english and then he answered other client in english. Very discriminatory will never stay there again. Specially working in the industry myself very disapointing. Breakfast was bad and no knowledge of hygiene or food health and safety. Suprised no one got food poisoning

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Historical feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sauna wasn't available and the pool going with it was abandoned because of plaster falling in.

    The feel of this hotel was super. The gardens,the outside pool, the colonial style and history.....

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Historic hotal in garden setting, walking distance to International bus and ferry stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sidewalks to the ferry are narrow and not wall maintained --somewhat difficult to manage for elderly eyes and feet.

    Historic hotel less than a kilometer from the international bus stationw and the ferry to Morroco. If your Morroco hotel next night is in old Tangiers be sure to take the ferry to Tangiers Medina (Old), not Tangiers Med. Multinational spies once stayed here where the governance of Morroco was decided in the early 20th century. It is situated in a lovely acacia garden. and fairly well maitained.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.4
    Unfortunately not 4* in my opinion......very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very old decor. The hotel needs a lot of updating internally. Initially we were given rooms on the lower floor but were moved because it smelt of damp and mould! Everything was tired and average, which was a shame because it is such a beautiful looking hotel. The cleanliness wasn’t perfect either......sorry but we won’t be coming back!

    The hotel is very pretty and in a good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Lovely big room for family of 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was average in hotel restaurant. Bar food was a little better. Room was on 2nd floor, noise travels through corridor and also from rooms above when moving furniture about or opening the old cupboards.

    Lovely big room for family of 4. Our 2 children shared a single bed top to toe. Could also fit a child in the middle of main bed if needed. Pool nice but slippery tiling around it. Kids loved the mini golf.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    3.3
    4 star no 2 star yes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel should not be a 4 star it barely should be a 2 star the hotels pictures do not match the reality dated & old decor paint peeling from the walls & bathroom fittings from the 70s I will definitely not be back to it & the food no variety whatsoever I was bed & breakfast only I paid €32 for buffet meal 1 night never again was not worth it

    Nothing at all staff weren't that helpful couldn't even sort out a error on vending machine

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Air conditioning. It did work to a point but I was not able to reduce the temperature when the room, at times, felt hot a stuffy. Sometimes it was hard to detect the air coming out as the fan was very low and not able to be adjusted.

    It did not feel like you were staying in the city with the lovely gardens that surround the hotel. It felt calm and peaceful on returning to the hotel after going out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.8
    Hotel for smokers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelt like a pocker room. The hotel obviously allows smoking and the smoke is in all of the air conditioning so everyone suffers.

    Buffet dinner and the grounds were lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic garden, god breakfast, wives, nice old style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lot of ants and other insects, pigeon droppings on the balcony, not very clean bathroom.

    Fantastic garden, god breakfast, wives, nice old style. Good for short business stays.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Very nice view from swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opening hours of swimming pool is too short. It would be nice to visit the pool in the evening while the town is in lights.

    Very nice view from swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.0
    A lovely hstoric building which has had PVC windows fitted and appealing to all incusive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist was unfriendly and not helpful. We wanted to order picnic breakfast as leaving very early in the morning. We were told we needed to go to the restaurant and order! This is meant to be a 4 star hotel! The picnic breakfast was a white bread cheese and ham sandwich, banana and water. No juice or yogurt!

    Liked the outdoor pool and spacious room and bar patio.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Hotel with beautiful garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Repair work under our windows was disturbing.

    Excellent hotel with intriguing history . Swimming pool area and garden were beautiful. The breakfast was good and delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Reina Cristina and would highly recommend -great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Reina Cristina proved to be a great overnight stay after visiting Gibraltar. A lovely hotel with much character. Extremely comfortable and spacious room with balcony, parking, refrigerator, lovely pool and great buffet breakfast. Dinner in the restaurant was also great value and enjoyable! Highly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Globles strugling Broken ex electrics room smoke detector battery opperated not mains linked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    room 104 storage space only suitable fore one person staying one night 2 very small draws and 5 coat hangers Poor management for two people staying for fourteen days. Pay £68 for a room safe No thanks.

    All staff first class and hotel very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent looking hotel, stunning grounds, ultra clean but go outside to eat as food was uninspirin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food did not meet expectations, soups were tasteless, not enough variety, didn’t replenish quickly, too hot in the restaurant to eat inside, tables outside not made up and staff tutting because we were outside eating. Bar snack menu was not good, sent back dorito dish, was dry and tasteless, scrambled egg at breakfast was reconstituted! Why was the a la carte restaurant not open?

    The history and architecturure of the building, large bright room, good decor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Very happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Original room was very outdated so we decided to upgrad. Much better. Wifi connection was poor however this was rectified.

    Lovely staff, amenities, patio, lounge etc. Many facilities. Really nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.4
    A hotel with history, pretty big rooms.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and furniture a bit worn out. Wifi did not really work. They have a very complicated logging system and despite 2 mobile phones and one laptop, I could not make it work. And really bad: at the hotel snack bar they gave me a price list where the prices of the drinks (coffee, tea) were tapped with a sticker. The espresso turned out to be a pretty expensive one for spanish prices. Be aware. Also the surroundings of the hotel seem not to be safe in the evening, so you have to take a taxi if you do not have a car. Swimming pool opens late and closes early.

    A hotel with history, pretty big rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    I loved this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was frustratingly slow at times.

    I loved this hotel. It has so much character and history. From the moment you enter the beautiful gardens it just feels wonderful. Our room was large and had everything you would need. The bar area with large patio and pool were all brilliant and we enjoyed great food in the restaurant where Alicia was a star!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable for two nights no more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase to our bedroom, a bit difficult, not for older persons, windy in may but good weather

    couldn’t be any closer to town centre, loads of tapas bars and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was good for the price - the location is not the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good for the price - the location is not the best but I assume this was a very good location some years agio before the harbour was so big ;)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful facilities sadly let down by some staff members.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff attitude, helpfulness and general demeanour (for most but not all of the team) A number of staff seemed determined to make our stay (and that of many other guests we talked to) an unpleasant experience and clearly had no idea that this was advertised as a four star hotel!

    Everything about using the breakfast/dining facilities was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Just a really nice plush hotel so close to the port yet a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a really nice plush hotel so close to the port yet a world away from it and really good value, if you’ve got an early ferry from Algeciras this is the place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel as a base camp in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only issue is the difficulty in closing your door from the outside so you didn't disturb other guests if coming or going from your room.

    After a long haul flight & driving a couple of hours, arriving at this hotel was a very pleasant surprise and the grounds are amazing. It was so peaceful and the ambience was a perfect way to start the trip. The interior of the hotel was also beautiful and made you feel like you were at a palace instead of a hotel, and that was enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Unfortunately we had a personal problem arise during our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately we had a personal problem arise during our stay and had to return home two days early, although we advised the hotel as soon as we knew, 3 days previously. The person on reception said we would receive a refund for the room but did not mention the 40 euros per night we had paid on arrival for half board. As it was an unexpected problem on our part, we have to accept the loss.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.0
    I do not recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very old and no investment is made. Dirt on the ground, broken and dirty sandstone. The old restaurant smells bad. Poor breakfast. Very poor light in the room. The room is clean, but when you look at the old furniture and at the old doors you do not give the hotel more than 2 stars. Disappointing because the owners do not invest. I do not recommend this hotel. The 4 stars were taken in 1990, i think.

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, clean and a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wanted to leave at 7:35am but breakfast didn't start until 7:15, even after explaining, so it was all a bit of a rush.

    Set in its own gardens about 20 minutes walk from the port and rail station (it has a long driveway!) this is an old hotel full of character. We booked a standard room and were upgraded to a very large room in an otherwise empty wing. It is definitely 'faded glory' but that adds to the charm of the place. If you're looking for a modern bathroom and USB sockets, this is not for you. Our room was decorated with old fashioned furniture (complete with wonky doors falling off the wardrobe), and the bath had a too small curtain around the shower area. However, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean and the staff welcoming and friendly. The lounges and piano bar are Art Deco and a great reminder of the hotel's historic heyday. In the morning we walked at a reasonable pace, and hotel front door to the door of the Tarifa bus was 18 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    This is a historic property and the building and grounds are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the manners of the staff lacking in the polish that one would expect in such a famous hotel. They tended to be brusque. The bedroom itself was adequate, but somewhat shabby (the bathroom was excellent, however).

    This is a historic property and the building and grounds are well maintained. Also, my bathroom was very attractively done in various marbles, with excellent lighting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Very happy, Luis and his team in the restaurant were very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Algeciras and the location with the port was not like the hotel was started off course, it lost its prime position due to the development of the industry

    Lovely place and very friendly staff, they even arranged an early breakfast on our last day as we had to leave early.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    A very relaxing three days away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many of the better positioned tables for breakfast were reserved for Saga customers. They weren’t many of them there so unsure as to why they had tables reserved when dining area was very spacious. Great hotel for a base but if you are active like us you need a car to get away from Algeciras and visit places like Cádiz and Ronda. Did find some lovely tapas bars with lovely staff in Algeciras but you have to look for them. No English people but that’s fine with us.

    Upgraded at check in as I stated on booking that we were returning after 30 years. Spent our honeymoon here. Lovely room. Fantastic choice at breakfast and loved the gin choice in the elegant bar. Didn’t eat in but guessing it would be good due to standard of breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Book. Don't hesitate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food. It is inexpensive but inedible even the eggs at brealfast, but everyyhing else overuled the terrible food!

    Amazing. Staff. Price and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.8
    Was very disappointed and would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The public areas were always cold. The meals were not to the standard of a 4* hotel. The food was cold and dessert choice was very poor. Wifi complicated to log on. The indoor swimming pool was too cold to stay in.

    The style of the property and the interior.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Really nice old world hotel with a nice lounge and lovely grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The buffet dinner was very disappointing. Food choice was dull, the seating too cramped. Not worth 16 euro each. The bar had a gin menu, but did not have half of the gins, not the choice of tonic advertised (ah first world problems!).

    Great room, lots of space and a nice balcony. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous place to just hang out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the old world charm, yet modern convenience. Great hotel: close to Gibraltar, indoor swimming pool, windows open with a mini balcony, lovely garden, good food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large light comfortable room with balcony, and excellent storage and bathroom facilities. Hotel set in beautiful gardens, and with fine Public areas, bar etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Would re-book for a much longer stay if I were in that area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was an unexpected gem, set in its grounds. It is very close to the ferry terminal and town. The staff were unexpectedley helpful. The desk man on duty when I arrived helped me a lot. Can't fault the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    6.3
    Very attractive hotel, friendly staff, but could improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    We were unlucky that it was a cold spell which meant it was too cold to sit in the main foyer (a very attractive feature) or bar. I think there was some reluctance to turn on the heating so we often retired to the bedroom where the heating worked well. Meals varied betweeen average and good with soups invariably being oversalted. When things ran out replacements did not always appear promptly. Staff were very friendly and served well but you always had to ask for things which should have been offered or in place already. What little gym equipment there was was run down. Indoor pool is very tiny, OK for a dip but not to swim. Wifi is irritatingly patchy.

    The hotel is a lovely building, situated in spacious grounds, room was comfortable, everything clean. Library has plenty of books.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay in an historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food was very poor. The a la carte menu was quite limited and poor quality, the buffet was expensive and also poor quality. I recommend the pizza from the bar. Also, don't trust the 24 hour laundry service. My laundry took 48 hours and that included somebody going from the hotel to pick it up for me. Fortunately, I could alter my travel plans to compensate for the delay, but somebody with a flight to catch may have problems.

    Very nice looking hotel and grounds. Large room and bathroom. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    A Grand Old Lady delivers her charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One small thing - the curtains did not provide good blackout from the sunrise.

    Staff were excellent, breakfast buffet had everything we would want, rooms were beautiful, bar and lounge were very relaxing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.0
    Nice park and excellent location, large parking lot on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They do not warn about additional reservations at check-in: if you fail to get a reservation for the dinner, you cannot book it in the evening. The bar has very limited offer of drinks - and will have to go elsewhere to get some food. The personal is unfriendly and not helpful at all. The minibar is empty and if you check in late, they refuse to fill it up.

    Nice park and excellent location, large parking lot on the property

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    High quality traditional hotel with good quality food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bath taps did not work so had to fill bath from shower. had a walk around the local streets after breakfast and nothing to see as its just a port. but that's about it, it was all good.

    this is a traditional Spanish hotel that was a comfortable base for our 1 night. bed was large and comfy. large and ornate publish areas in traditional Spanish style. we arrived at 9pm and was very pleased to see they had a hot buffet dinner at a very competitive price which was excellent quality. staff were good on reception. good choice of hot and cold breakfast. nice gardens and pool looked good but not for us as it was December. I would recommend this hotel, good place to stay as a stop over on the way to Seville/Jerez/Malaga etc. it was perfect for us to stay off the easyjet flight into Gibraltar before we drove up to Jerez.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant couple of nights half board for a reasonable price
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fault of the hotel but it was very quiet so lacked abit of atmosphere .

    Lovely hotel in nice setting with ample parking . Lots of nostalgia with regard to it's history having been built in 1902 . Would appeal to mature clientele .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful old world hotel, just beautiful. Excellent breakfast. If I had more time I would just stay here - for the winter! I'm relaxing by the pool at the moment - in December! The grounds are extensive, lovely to wander around before returning to a drink in the bar, a meal in the excellent restaurant. The bedroom was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.3
    Still a fan of this hotel ..very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening buffet this time was poor. Minimal selection (unless you like your salad) and what was available was very average. Probably because the hotel was quiet and not many were booked half board but still a disappointment. A la carte restaurant closed, again, and we didn't find out till the last night that we could have ordered from the a la carte menu ... if you are going to pay those prices however you want to sit in the nice restaurant, not in the buffet part. Also found it frustrating that despite it being quiet two whole rooms were reserved for Saga guests, one of which is where the pool table is so couldn't use it.

    Second time at this hotel .. love the old world elegance, rooms are comfortable and clean, staff are great and gardens are lovely. Breakfast buffet perfectly okay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.0
    Breakfast was included in our booking we told them we had to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was included in our booking we told them we had to leave early next morning before their breakfast time, they did not offer us any take out packet as breakfast although other properties usually offer packed breakfast if it is early morning departure

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful introduction to marocco
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good but it is a Riad and furniture noise can penetrate the floors

    Comfy bed airey room and good ensuite facility helpful friendly staff refreshing breakfasts good WiFi close to Kasbah

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    I liked the hotel, very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I checked in a night after the reservation because I was sick and I can’t flight, my son called to let them know that I was going next day and I got charged, I thought it was not right

    I liked the hotel, very much

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    The best thing in Algeciras.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spanish bus depot could've answered the hotel's repeated calls made on our behalf!

    The room and the bed was enormous and comfortable. The buffet dinner /breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed the Saturday night dance with a great live band. Were we just lucky? Very gracious old hotel feel. Fab pool and even mini golf.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That is place for holiday! Garden, room and all is nice. You can siting on the poll area or on the garden or on your balcon you can feel nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    4.6
    pity the food let your hotel down
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the food that should have been hot was cold,Also while eating my meal I donot like people telling me that I that iHAVE TO PAY her and not the front desk like you do for breakfast and it was not in a quiet voice or ask me when we were finished our that she wanted payment. All the meals were cold and should have been hot no the catering was no good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice, classic hotel but terrible food and inadequate wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While we enjoyed the hotel, the food is absolutely horrible. Perhaps because they cater to so many bus groups from many countries they try to neutralize the tastes. The result is that in one dinner and three breakfasts we failed to find anything with any taste at all. The house wine was like colored water and even the waiter agreed that it was terrible but said that since they had a big supply they had to sell it off before changing brands. Nice rooms... terrible restaurant. Also, wifi did not work in the room at all.

    A very nice old / classic hotel. We enjoyed the grounds and the pool. Although it is billed as four star, I would place it in the three star category. Such four star amenities like someone to help with your bags are missing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel, not the best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Algeciras is not a tourist place, not much to do in the town. You definitely need a car to visit Gibraltar and Tarifa. Also the gym is very poorly equipped, almost non-existent.

    The general condition of the hotel is good, the hotel looks nice, it has a style and a history. The staff is helpful. Food was good. Nice beach not too far with a car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel if visiting Gibraltar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not engaging

    A large hotel with beautiful gardens. Breakfast was buffet style with lots of choice. Clean rooms and secure parking. Not far from the bus for Gibraltar. A better option that the rat race of Gibraltar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.3
    Quite grand hotel but a little "faded glory" perhaps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately we found some cockroaches in our room, so staff moved us to another room. The indoor pool was closed which was a shame.

    Grand hotel in the port of Algeciras. Clearly popular with British tourists... but also many Spanish people there. Nice big room and most rooms have a balcony or outside space. Outdoor pool and grounds were nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.7
    Served its purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't ready, advertised an al carter resturant but due to large parties not available. Not the hotel for the independent traveller.

    Room was a good size

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.5
    Could have been so much better....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first room we were given its window looked out onto a wall with no view at all. We were told it would be difficult to change the room, but after insisting we were given another room with the window overlooking the car park. The room should have had tea and coffee making facilities but did not and when I rang to ask them they said the housekeeper was looking for a kettle. She must still be looking for a kettle as we never did get any tea or coffee in our room. Some of the food was good, and plentiful. However, it is mass catering for the buffet and the hotel was full, which meant some of the food was awful and reminiscent of school dinners. There should be more staff available. Some of the facilities such as the pool bar were not available, due to lack of staff, and the staff in the restaurant did their best to be helpful, but it was obvious they were overworked.

    The hotel has a lot of history and character. The architecture is very attractive. The gardens are lovely and peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    We love this hotel, and would go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - There was no tea and coffee facilities in the room. On requesting the facility, I was given a tray with cups sachets, including a shower cap and a kettle with no flex. The blue pool towels were no longer in the room The pool bar was never open One guest appeared to think he owned the hotel, and had a reserved table in the restaurant on the terrace. When people sat at his table because they didn't understand the sign, he was extremely rude and caused a scene. He also went behind the bar and in the kitchen. Having been in the trade I found this most unprofessional.

    In general, the hotel was welcoming, comfortable and he food good to excellent. The staff were accommodating and pleasant, We have stayed on numerous occasions and the fact that we returned confirms the fact that we were happy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    Good value for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for an overnight stay. We stayed in the budget room which was spacious and clean. The hallway in the basement has a damp smell but it wasn't in our room so not a problem for sleeping. The pool area is great and the hotel is out of the main town right near the port. Lovely grounds and the old magestic building appealed to us. Good value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    It was a treat for me to stay here for very personal reasons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not a fan of the buffet either at Lunch, dinner, or breakfast. I realize it's not easy to keep buffet items fresh and renewed; for instance the paella to which I was looking forward, never was refilled in the hour I was in the dining room. Coffee at breakfast tasted more of hot water than coffee no matter which type of coffee I had. This, for me was a real disappointment! I wish I had tried the food, wine, & coffee at the a la carte restaurant & recommend others do so.

    The room was nice and the bed, comfortable. However as far as I could tell I would not have been able to unpack - there wasn't a drawer into which to put my clothes - only a closet with hangers. However this wasn't an issue since I was only staying the one night. The gardens, grounds, and sitting areas were really nice & well kept. Sitting on my little balcony in the evening by the light of an almost-full moon was quite magical.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.1
    The employees' attention and kindness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable The WC smell was unbareble The worst thing was the food, I wouldn't recommend it at all!

    The employees' attention and kindness The parking The facilities (swimming pool,gym,bars,terrace..)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    The hotel was way more than we expected,5 🌟 in my view, have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool could be that bit bigger,other then that no fault.

    The hotel was way more than we expected,5 🌟 in my view, have to see it to believe it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Good choice but they have to improve some of their services
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff. They give us another type room (Double room) and we paid for Executive double room Restaurant schedule - at 10:30 PM was closed

    Big and cozy room with garden&pool view Great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.0
    Breakfast was horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was horrible. The room was ultra hot, 28 degrees Celsius with the air conditioning on full blast. When you opened the window, mosquitoes attacked you all night. The staff did not seem to care about the non working air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    A great hotel with an interesting history
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing not to like.

    The Reina Cristina Hotel is our favorite hotel in Spain. We always make sure that we visit this lovely hotel when in Spain. Breakfast is now included and is an excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is like a resort, an oasis in Algeciras.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We expected every room to have a balcony as it promoted. But our room was on the ground floor which had no view nor balcony. Besides, the wifi is not working and we have to go out to the reception to read emails- that's not convenient at all.

    The hotel is like a resort, an oasis in Algeciras. Loved the green and the pool!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.1
    This one was a bit of disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrive there the parking was full and I was waiting for about one hour to find a place to park the car. I end up leaving the car in the middle of a path close to a tree. Definitely a bad experience. They should manage the parking spaces by the number of guests and don't allowing this kind of things happening. Definitely I never will advise someone to go there by car. The other annoying thing was the swimming pool. The pictures definitely don't reflect the reality. One night we arrived late at the hotel and we try to ask for food. The kitchen close 11:30 if I'm not wrong and was 12:00. They denied to make a sandwich and offered to call a pizza. Not only that, they charged me the call. Honestly this was the worst service I had in a long time. I will advise anyone to go elsewhere instead of this hotel. I feel like a ripoff.

    The hotel is probably one of the best in that area, the accommodations were good and the AC was working properly what is a must specifically in the summer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    Close to the port, perfect for children with pool. Terrible Wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that the restaurant didn't stay open since we came in late and the bar food was just okay. The Wifi also was terrible and I really needed to work and couldn't.

    I liked the pool, the ping pong table, the outdoor activity.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    Good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfriendly personnel. No information about the Hotel property or events.

    Great property with history. Unfortunately, we did not feel welcomed. Front desk personnel were helpful but not very friendly. Breakfast buffet was great. Beautiful property with history which I think should be highlighted at check-in. We would have loved to tour the property little more if we had a map of the property. There were music event at the hotel but we were not aware of it otherwise we would have loved to attend. Overall, good stay bit could have been better with additional information.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Not to go with small kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really kids friendly. No elevators ( it was important as we had to carry double stroller and two babies up and down), no kettle in a room, so every time we had to ask for hot water to sterilize bottles. And dinner time we been charged for soft drinks from the vending machine.

    The hotel is nice, they have outdoor/indoor pools, mini golf, garden. Live music friday and saturday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    2.9
    Choose another hotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room area was very different from the 20 square meters advertised (much much smaller) and was cooler outside the building than inside the room. The air conditioned did not work and the staff did not care about solving this very urgent problem. Now, we are aware of several complaints both about previous and during our stay. We complained to the staff for four times since the first day of arrival, even though the hotel was far from full, we were never suggested another room or a cooler solution. Actually, the reception staff acted without any consequence to improve the low quality of our stay. We had to leave the hotel and ask for a refund. Management not available or helpful.

    The pool, actually the coolest place (inside the water) in the hotel... The building (palace) is very nice but in urgent need of several repairs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    4.6
    Espana trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was relatively high because we had room in suteren, norhing was in minibar. Personal didn't speak englisj very well.

    Swiming pool in Hotel and very because and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    4.2
    Total disappointment. Steer well clear from the buffet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Reina Cristina is aging infratructure with sub-standard facilities and services for a four star hotel : the A/C hardly worked at all in our room and that of the children, housekeeping seems to ignore smelly cupboards, stained marble in the bathroom, swimming pool towels are a rare comodity, etc. Should you stay in that hotel, steer clear from the evening buffet and expect disappointment at breakfast. Overall cleanliness in the buffet room is approximative (dirty plates, rashes of bacon on the floor with no staff member to pick them up). But what really did it was my wife finding a living cuckroach in the raisins in the buffet at dinner. The next day, the same looking raisins in a very similar bowl were available for breakfast. No attempt had been made to cover them. Staff response to the situation was variable from trying to find excuses to patiently hearing us out with assuaging comments and assurances.

    Hotel location is convenient to get to the ferry quickly. The hotel gardens have a certain charm on warm summer evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: