Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Convento de Santa Clara 3 stars

Plaza de Santa Clara, s/n, 13600 Alcazar de San Juan, Spain

#8 of 8 hotels in Alcazar de San Juan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 843 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms were completely without character. Comfortable yes, but nothing of the furnishings and decor in the public areas.

    Historic building, very comfortable beds, great bath

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All we had and heaven too... Thanks to all their staff and booking.com....

    The staff... They woman at reception was so kind, courteous, professional and just made us at home... It don't get better the this....

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great staff. They help all they can. I had to print my boarding pass and they did it without hesitation. Very quite hotel, easily to reach by foot, located in the middle of town, with lots of history being a XVI nuns monastery. Rooms very clean. I strongly recommend it. All rooms with bathtub is a bonus

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt have breakfast there as it didnt look appetizing and tempting, very mundane and unimaginative. Found a good cafe round the corner.

    The reception staff couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. The meal we had in the restaurant was really good. The hotel was clean and had some beautiful original pieces from the convent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bar and restaurant service was poor, particularly at weekends, the hotel not employing sufficient staff to provide a good service. Access to the main entrance of the hotel very difficult for people with walking difficulties. Buffet breakfast disappointing as to quality and variety.

    The location was excellent and the rooms were large and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of a bedside table/cabinet on one side of the bed.

    The location was just right - near enough to walk into the centre and far enough to be quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautifully restored old convent building with spacious, luxurious rooms and an impressive inner courtyard. Surrounding corridors decorated with painting and antique furniture. WE so enjoyed our stay that we booked an extra night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice of food at breakfast was basic. Charging 7,5€ per person, without even fresh bread seemed too much; thankfully they didn't charge us for the kids :)

    Staying, even for a night, in an old convent is a unique experience. This particular one has a direct view of the church, so you might feel you are still in a convent! Clean, comfortable rooms, easy, walking distance from the main square. For the mills though, you will certainly need some wheels.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast offers very little choice. Room & facilities need some updating / repair. Waiters somewhat clumsy (but very friendly throughout).

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Beautiful historical building, which preserves a variety of items from the former convent. Very nice garden w/ restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant, although nicely furnished and with a lovely outside eating area, was a disappointment food-wise. My hamburger was raw in the middle and had to be returned for cooking. There was no apology from the curt and unfriendly waiter/restaurant manager as it was slapped back on the table. Breakfast was mediocre too, with the same waiter doing his best to ignore us. The bedrooms are clean and the bed comfortable but they are a bit tired and could do with a refurbishment, although, to be fair the price reflected this.

    The public rooms of the hotel are lovely, it is an interesting and lovely building. An easy walk to the town centre, it is quiet at night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 chair in double room ( we liked two chairs :)

    Nice interior, very professionaly renovated old convent in the center of old town, nice town near at the roud of don quiote, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. Too far from the windmills not in walking distance and the town was industrious with building work right outside your bedroom Windows

    The outside courtyard was pretty

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We received the worst level of customer service we have every received in any place we have ever stayed in, irrespective of the standard or price paid.

    General feel of hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing honestly. Everything and every person we interacted with was great.

    The staff at this hotel is increíble. There was one gentleman who worked the restaurant and woman at the front desk on night shifts in particular who were great. The front desk woman (sorry I didn't catch her name) went out of her way to help us get a taxi, and both she and the gentleman helped haul our luggage down. I'd gladly stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was so necessary and gave us a good night's sleep during a very hot spell of weather. A beautiful building and well located within strolling distance of town square.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very helpful with all our needs including arranging a trip for us with " Quijoting La Mancha " a guided tour of the area. Food was also very good. We had three meals there all were delicious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was very weak and at 29c at 11pm that was a bit of a killer. We wanted to take a cool bath after a long day and drive (one of the reasons we picked this hotel ) and the water came out brown and gritty. I hesitated to take a shower after that!

    Quirky and on the whole, well converted convent, Easy to find The bed was very comfortable, the staff very friendly. We didn't eat there as it looked very formal and not what we felt like after a long drive but it looked very lively.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration was old fashioned. The bathroom needed an update. No hairdryer. Wifi was useless in the bedroom.

    The staff were fab and the food was good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bath room is pretty small and dark.

    location, parking, reasonalbe price and hospitality of receptionist

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable

    Emilio at reception was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eating facilities a bit hit and miss.

    Its unique, good location within easy walking distance of the town. Reception staff very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and interesting town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confortable

    Nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personel at the reception was very incompetent (male)

    Gewoon

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities, no restaurant in evening, poor breakfast.

    Nice courtyard IF it was looked after

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel in Alcazar de San Juan with lots of character. This was our second visit & again we enjoyed the location & relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient and comfortable good size room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food excellent staff 1st class

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Town of Alcazar de San Juan was unimpressive.

    Reception was welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not entirely accurate pictures. Bed was a bit lumpy. Limited amount of double beds.

    Very nice venue. Full of history and friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WE would have preferred a double bed. The breakfast was disappointing.

    We like the atmosphere. We liked the free and accessible parking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a 10 minute walk to centre. Rooms quiet. Small supermarket nearby. Wifi throughout.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs renovation

    Surprisingly good restaurant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing ~ all Good !

    The Staffs are very kind and well care customer's travel plan and needs, have pretty good location information to provide.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would like to suggest more local information, maps etc, be put in the room for guests to look at in their own time.

    The hotel was very clean, food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The huge walk from the lift to the room around 3 sides of a cloister type corridor as I walk with a stick and prosthetic leg.

    The hotel was clean very quirky both the included evening meal and breakfast were very good. The staff very helpful and the owner/manager lady very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a very pleasant suprise , We booked this Hotel as just a cheap stop over place, but I think we found a little Gem , Car parking was very secure and easy to locate The staff very friendly and efficient, The Hotel is located a short stroll from the main centre of town.. The biggest shock was the fantastic restaurant at the Hotel which proved to be one of the best taster menu,s we have expeienced in Spain at rock bottom price ! We will return just for the food !!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel, big old convent and interesting. Easy to find and good safe parking. Good restaurant, limited menu though. The bathroom was a bit small but clean and well presented.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were tired and needed updating

    Free and easy access to the parking. Restaurant had a great value menu of the day at lunch time. Staff on reception pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had booked half board and were very pleased with standard of food and wine offered. We would like to thank the chef for quality and presentation of our meal, excellent.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Perfect place, great amenities, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room should have a mirror outside the bathroom and also a hair drier.

    The Hotel is beautiful, standard of services is high, especially dinners.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't think of any

    Hotel was well situated, easy to find, friendly staff and food and facility were good.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A pokey twin room. I had asked for a double. Needs a lick of paint !

    The reception staff. Very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant didn't open til 8.30pm which is a bit late for us brits

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building was great with a fantastic potential

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: