Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sercotel Hotel Europa 3 stars

San Martín, 52, 20007 San Sebastián, Spain

#47 of 56 hotels in San Sebastián

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 300 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location, poor service and mediocre accommodations for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Website fails to mention hotel being renovated - rooms finished but lobby and restaurant area under construction. Restaurant/bar EXTREMELY limited. Absolutely NO tourist information available and front desk staff not particularly helpful.Disappointing for a mainly tourist location.

    Excellent location; 2 minute walk to beach, 1 minute walk to Hop On/Hop Off City Tour Bus stop, 5 minutes walk to Tourism kiosk, 5 minute walk to great bar offering pintxos.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    The place was very clean, in a perfect location 2 blocks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning is a central unit and barely worked even on full blast. This didn’t allow for any good sleep during our time there which really what you want to get most out of a hotel. It ended up being a hit a muggy room all three nights.

    The place was very clean, in a perfect location 2 blocks from the waterfront with beaches and cafes and the staff was wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Good room, no view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the room was that we looked into sort of an air vent of about 3 x 2 meters 6 meters high. Only walls to be seen. It was a good thing, that we arrived late and left early, otherwise the view would have been very depressing. Big stains on carpet in hallway. Parking was expensive. They were redecorating the lobby, so it was a bit of a building site.

    Location was good, near beach and city center. Room was big and clean, airco was efficient and quiet. Beds were good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    Ok but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Currently undergoing renovations Very expensive (though San Sebastian hotels generally are) Room was a bit on the small side

    Staff and rooms are good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Great place to enjoy San Sebastian
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More hooks to hang wet bathing suits and towels. I find the hotels do not have adequate space to hang things in the bathrooms.

    Our Jr. suite gave us the space we wanted, allowed our 18 yr old privacy and was all around comfortable. Proximity to the beach, one block and to the old town made everything extremely walkable. We parked our car in the assigned garage one block away and left it there for the 2 nights. Hotel guests get a discount of 22 Euros rather than 30. We chose not to eat breakfast in the hotel but instead find something nearby. I particularly liked the beachy feel and smell of the hallways. We would definitely stay there in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, 18 euros per person per day for breakfast is a bit extreme (we didn’t take it so we can’t judge the quality/value for money)

    Perfect location, comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    good value for the location/size of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Interior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is true you hear noises from the corridor and the cleaning ladies talking. It did not bother me; but maybe some of you hate it absolutely

    good value for the location/size of the hotel. Room is fairly big comparably and easy walking distance to beach, restaurants and I even walked from the train station (about 10mins).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Good spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors in our room were wonky, as if they had been warped. Also, the bathrooms feel very old. Finally, there was a pungent odor of paint or detergent throughout the hotel.

    Great location and value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    We loved the old town of San Sebatian.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The space between the foot of the bed and a curved wall was a bit small making it difficult to walk from one side of the bed to the other. The hotel needs double glazing to keep the noise out. A soap holder in the shower would have come in handy.

    The hotel was recently refurbished and just about everything worked as it should. The hotel was well located, only a 10 minute walk from the old city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Close to the beach and old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Interior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room faced the road and one of the balcony doors was not sealing properly so a bit of traffic noise

    Great location, short walk to beach and close to old town tapas places, good sized room with nice decor, room also had small balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations were being made to the hotel as we were staying there as well as noisy roadworks.

    Location was handy to beach and new town, both 3 minute walk and 10 minutes from the old town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    San Sebastián stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had the double bed which was literally two single beds next to each other, sheets were made as two separate beds

    Good location, staff were helpful, rooms were basic but had what is needed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel minutes from the beautiful seafront and excellent value!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely comfortable and great attention was given to detail in the decor and provision of many extras to make our stay a amemorable one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable and classy location for short break in Donostia - San Sebastian
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not fault it.

    Really nice Boutique Style Hotel that felt much better than 3 Star. Beautiful room with really tasteful decor. Vey comfortable bed, great bathroom with lovely products. Very attentive and professional staff. Excellent location just a short walk to the promenade and beach. Top class hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    The reception staff were very friendly, the hotel was in an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a cup of tea in the room one evening and no milk was replaced so therefore I couldn’t have another cup of tea.

    The reception staff were very friendly, the hotel was in an excellent location very near to the beach and old town, unfortunately the gym was being renovated. Otherwise an overall very pleasant experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.0
    Bad sleepz outrageous breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got just one good night of sleep. Construction work in the building some times started as early as 7AM, which I feel is very disrespectful to guests. We were offered breakfast for €30 during our stay, but I didn't realise it was €30 per day until we checked out. We spent €120 on 3 coffees, 2 teas, 3 cossiants, a bowl of cereal, about 12 pieces of fruit, and about 10 pieces of ham and cheese. Outrageous. I feel cheated. It wasnt made clear this was a daily rate. Also, despite the breakfast items appearing as daily items in the bill, we were charged for a day that we skipped breakfast. I find that a bit strange too. Surely if it's charged daily, and we miss a day, we don't pay, right? The room was quite small too. It was probably the smallest room on the 2nd floor. It wasn't suitable for a 4 night stay. It would be okay for a single night stay. Overall, a poor experience. Granted, the construction work is temporary, but starting at 7AM is borderline malpractice.

    Central location, close to the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Location ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast for whopping 18€ or 15€ if pre booked. We didn't bother

    A excellent location close to seafront. All newly refurbished, comfortable & quiet. Parking we was available nearby which was easy to find. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location & will be a nice hotel... eventually.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t control the air con / heating in the room. Cleaners entered the room in the morning... despite saying we didn’t want to be disturbed. Had to wait for three hours for the room to be available to enter... despite arriving on-time. No breakfast with the room rate. Getting asked by reception at check-out ‘if we’d like to donate to their charity.’ REALLY?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Close to beach and not far from downtown area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not many facilities.

    Close to beach and not far from downtown area. Room was generally comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable, clean hotel in great location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar lacked atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was tiny: it barely had any space to walk around it.

    Location. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Location excellent, bed super comfy only let down was the shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Interior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower situation was poor water was going all over the floor and we were using our towels to contain it from going into the hallway.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Security was none existent, lots of young people running...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security was none existent, lots of young people running around at 5am banging on bedroom doors

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a great spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t think the breakfast is good value at 18€ per person.

    Really comfortable room, very close to the beach and an easy flat walk into town (7 min)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    No air conditioning in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was priced a bit high for what was available.

    Location was excellent and the staff were very professional and helpful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Funky lobby. Kinda hard to find. Parking can be challenging but worth it

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Absolutely loved the Hotel and its location and I would have no hesitation in recommending it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Interior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely character clean bright hotel. Welcoming friendly staff. Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Only a 2min walk to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a 2min walk to the beach. Parking 2mins away too. Great location.11

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and will recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I could only book one nights stay

    Friendly attentive staff, easy access to city, parking facilities, bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv reception poor at night

    Best three star I’ve ever stayed in, closer to four

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst Cleanliness

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Very well situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds too soft for me A bit oldish

    Very well situated. Clean room and bathroom 3 min to the beach and 5 min walking to the old town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Friendly and central, the beach a stroll away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful reception personnel

    Stayed in March 2018

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: