Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Universal This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Plaza Galicia, 2, 15706 Santiago de Compostela, Spain

#59 of 75 hotels in Santiago de Compostela

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2789 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    7.9
    Well done Universal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The elevators needed some tune-up as they shaked a little. We stayed at a room near the elevators and we could hear some noise, but nothing crazy! The room needs new sets of windows in the bathroom and the protective glass in the shower could be bigger so that water splashing out would be minimal. A bottle of water could be provided in each room (even a small one of 50cl) and it would give you the feeling of staying at a 3 star hotel. The lobby could have a little more furniture instead of only one couch that sits only 2 people. I would recommend another one and a small table including a TV so that guests could be entertained while waiting to go about their lives.

    The staff was magnificent. Everything we asked for was provided, including the late checkout. We highly recommend this hotel because of price vs quality vs location! The breakfast had a nice variety of food and everything was very very good. Next time I'm there I will most definitely include this hotel in my search. The room was clean and had all amenities ready to be used. We used everything from the A/C to the TV and from the electrical outlets to the hair dryer and everything was functional. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Santiago as it's a plus when compared to others. Thumbs up!!👍👍

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.9
    Ladies were very helpful at front desk😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was too crammed… No ventilation unless you open the window in which you can see people in other room. It was OK.

    Ladies at the front desk were very nice and friendly and helpful! It’s right in the middle of the plaza in which the bus station, taxi is just around the corner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    7.5
    Clean and Comfortable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a Sunday morning and the receptionist seemed to have lost his smile. Very impersonal touch. The room was not ready. Despite my genius Booking.com status when i asked for the late-out facility was told that I would have to pay if I stayed for more than an hour after checkout time !!

    Clean and Comfortable . Airport bus stop outside the entrance of the hotel!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    7.9
    Overall I had a great stay. Staff were excellent and always very knowledgeable and helpful.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I I didn’t like was the noise coming from the building next door due to renovations.

    I liked the hotel, staff and location. The staff were excellent, helpful and knowledgeable. Having the airport bus stop right outside the door was and added bonus. I also liked that it is within waking distance to the old town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect in Santiago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little bit overpriced when no discount :)

    Very nice hotel, perfect locations, friendly and helpful staff who speak english. Amazing view from our window to the Catedral.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    6.3
    Never again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff. Bathroom very small. A lot of noise from others and from construction next door. When we asked about various problems they said they couldn’t do anything about it.

    Location. Working elevator.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    7.5
    Recommend the restaurant Green for lunch or dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The reception staff were extremely helpful,they confirmed a taxi for us for 5am ride to the station and recommended a restaurant and laundrette for us.The bath was enormous and hot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    7.1
    Discover Santiago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The entrance of the hotel is not very.attractive. the rooms need refurbishing especially the windows. Basic breakfast.! Limited choice. Rooms and doors.are not insulated, we could hear people talking in the other room

    The location, private parking right in front of.the hotel at.13.50 euro per day. Airport bus stops right in front of the hotel. Our room in the back of the hotel was quiet as requested.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - air conditioning was not working and it was hot temperature outside (set all night to 17C and continued hot all night and all morning) - after reporting the issue next morning in the reception, the issue was NOT FIXED for the next night - the room could have had more storage (only a closet was available, no drawers in the room)

    - great location very close to the Cathedral and a few meters from a public parking garage (paid but acceptable) - the windows isolate the sounds from the street/square very well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    10
    Perfect location to visit the historical area of Santiago. Excellent staff and and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all.

    Very nice hotel. Convenient to cathedral and restaurants. Front desk staff is excellent. Local bus stops right in front. Room was on the small side, but very comfortable. Bath and shower were great. Strong WiFi. Great choice for Camino hikers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.6
    An ideally located hotel for exploring the city of Santiago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Limited view from the room due to another room within the hotel being situated directly opposite and about 2 metres away.

    Located within a short distance of the town and the Cathdral. Quiet at night for a city hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    7.5
    All good except for the unpleasant smell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unpleasant smell coming from toilet when I entered the room. Had to leave Windows opened constantly.

    Central location, pleasant staff. Generally clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    8.3
    convenient location adjacent to old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some outside noise at night.but so is everywhere in Santiago.

    Location. Location. Location. Airport bus outside entrance. Convenient fir bus and train stations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location and comfort after a long camino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not eat breakfast but I seen it. I think there would be tastier options in the town.

    Stayed here after doing Camino. It is very well located and staff are very helpful. It is right at the bus stop for the airport. Rooms are very clean with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    7.1
    Great value but too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely responsive and very noisy, not only due to the festival from the old town but also from the neighbors above. Not much sleep that night.

    Perfect location and great value for double room. Additionally the airport bus just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    7.5
    My flight to Malaga was cancelled and so all my weekend...
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was kind of old but clean. The shower head went crazy during ...

    My flight to Malaga was cancelled and so all my weekend plans as well. I neeeded to stay in somewhere over the night. Luckily the bed and pillows were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location just outside the “cathedral zone” and off...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms seem a little older and/or plain but no real complaints.

    Excellent location just outside the “cathedral zone” and off the main road. The staff was super helpful with everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    Great place, fabulous location, good ur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price. Most hotels include that same breakfast buffet at no charge so we expected more of a selection and some hot food choices

    We were disappointed at the quality ofbthe breakfast for the price. It simply was overpriced

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.9
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is great! Is perfect for visit Compostela. TIP: The bar near the hotel called El Muelle is amazing and for breakfast is an excellent option.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    8.8
    The Hotel was very central, in a good shape and just perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was sometimes noise in the hallway which was a bit too loud but not too bad since it was at a decent hour.

    The Hotel was very central, in a good shape and just perfect for a couple of days in the city. Everything was clean and tidy, the staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a Santiago stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No view from the room. Breakfast room wasn't very inviting - quite dark and no signs to welcome guests and invite them to help themselves while staff were engaged with other tasks.

    Fantastic location right next to the airport bus stop in town, perfect for a late night arrival or early morning departure. Lovely modern room. Excellent shower in bathroom. Good selection of cold food at breakfast. Friendly staff. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    10
    Very well located in the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very well located in the centre of town. Ten minutes walk from the train station and the bus from the airport stops literally right at the door of the hotel. The staff were incredibly helpful. He recommended a lovely place for dinner!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    7.9
    With a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast with few options of fresh food, but good enough to start the day with energy.

    With a good location, near by historical/turistic area of Santiago. The staff is really helpfull.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Freezing cold bathroom. Building was being renovated and the breakfast room was being used as a corridor for building workers and was not a pretty sight. Poor choice for breakfast.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    6.3
    Location great. Staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is currently having the external windows replaced so a little cold. My single room was very small and very cold

    The location to the old town sites was fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    7.1
    Decent hotel, staff were correct but don't strike as going above and beyond for the guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Super noisy - coincidentally the rooms were undergoing refurbishment, so from 9am the ambience got a bit noisy.

    Views of the Cathedral from the 7th floor, where our room was located.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    6.3
    Basic no frills / couldn't sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lobby smelled of petrol, the room was cold, I did not sleep well due to the uncomfortable beds and thin walls. I was woken up early every day by building works.

    I liked the man who worked on reception in the morning (the evening worker was miserable as sin). I liked the location a lot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, simple, clean, comfortable and very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have been nice, but not essential, to have tea/coffee in the room.

    Very simply furnished, clean hotel room with comfortable beds and a good bathroom. We used this only as a base to sleep - all meals were out in the city, including breakfast so can't comment on the quality here, however, the hotel was exactly what we needed at a good price. The staff were helpful and friendly and the rooms were cleaned every day. There is a taxi rank just outside where you can get a cab to the airport for 21 euros and the hotel is perfectly located 2 minutes walk from the old town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    9.2
    Great spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cigarette smoke seemed to waft into our (non-smoking) room during the night. Unsure if originated from hotel or neighbours.

    Great location & close to everything. Spatial, clean & comfy rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    8.3
    Nice centric hotel for the good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    La vista de la ventana podría ser mejor

    Calidad/precio impressionante! The bus stop (to go to airport) is just infant of the door of the hotel. Wow!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    9.6
    It was near the city center.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was near the city center. near the parking. WIFI was good. The breakfast was tasty- with a wide choice of food. There was a central heating (airconditioning)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    10
    1.very polite staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1.very polite staff 2.very clean 3.the bus stop to/from airport is just in front of the hotel [bus A3247 5.10 euro R/T 3 euro O/W 4.the breakfast is ok but for 8 euro it should be much better 5.value for money 6.santiago old town just 50m away... 7. for coffee go to cafe-jardin costa vella in rua porta da pena 17...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    4.2
    Don't bother , there is far better in town ...
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Soul less , bland and no atmosphere , thought I was getting a deal but was put in the a tiny room and the view was non existent ...

    Location is handy for Santiago and bus stop and taxi rank outside .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    8.8
    The room was clean, quite big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a bit noisy so we heard people coming from the city late at night.

    The room was clean, quite big. Bathroom was amazing, with nice soft towels. We could use the air con for heating up the room a bit now in winter.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    5.4
    Severely disappointing and complete prejudice against pilgrims
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front desk staff blatantly lied to me twice: one time regarding my bookings.com room choice (a full bed as opposed to a twin bed) and the other regarding wifi. They gave me the last room down the hall on the last floor where wifi was non-existent, except for one signal that I requested four times in which a lie was presented each time until I demanded cooperation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    6.3
    Small room, harsh and not cosy, smelly bathroom, but price and location good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom smelled of the drain, room was small and claustrophobic, with hardly any natural light. Main light and bedside lamp operated by same switch, so had to have both on or off!

    Location was good close to old and new part. Perfect for airport bus as well. Good wifi and tv channels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    4.6
    Good location, central, but room was just adequate and did smell of cirgarette.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room smelled of smoke, front desk staff not too helpful when it came to booking transportation.

    Location to the Cathedral, shopping and places to eat. Breakfast was ample.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    10
    The room was clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a little too much air freshener when we first arrived in the room! Luckily the windows open.

    The room was clean and modern. Location is good, just at the edge of the old city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    7.5
    We stayed 3 nights and got to know the old town. Ten minute walk to the train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints given the cost of accommodation.

    You can’t beat the location. A block from the old town, close to everything. Staff were helpful and spoke some English.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    6.7
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls were too thin. I could hear my neighbors talking and, eventually, snoring. I was also given wrong directions by the staff at the front desk to the laundromat. That wouldn't typically be a deal breaker, but since I had walked over 30K that day, another few kilometers due to wrong instructions was disappointing.

    The location is great. The room and bathroom were very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    9.2
    Management allowed us to eat breakfast a few minutes early...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to locate without wandering a bit from the cathedral-with backpack after 20K hike I would have appreciated wayfinding signs.

    Management allowed us to eat breakfast a few minutes early so we could get to airport. Bathroom was bright large and airy. Bed comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    7.1
    Convenient hotel, close to centre of Santiago
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was ok but very odd dining area with lift and some bedrooms opening straight into it.

    Very central hotel, just outside old town. Airport bus goes from outside the door. Rooms quiet despite being on busy square. Air conditioning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    8.3
    Overnight stop to visit Santiago de Compostela.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Outside the main hotel door is a bus/coach stop and access to the hotel was often difficult due to the amount of people waiting on the pavement.

    Central location giving easy walking access to the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    10
    Great position to walk to all sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, was happy with everything.

    Walking distance to everything you need to see in Santiago de Compostela. The gentleman on the reception was so helpful as I needed to hire a bike to bike to Finistere, great directions and assistance. Also very knowledgeable about Santiago and where to visit etc etc

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    10
    Central location on Santiago de Compostela.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Easy to find. Was perfect next day for getting the bus to the airport as the bus leaves from the front door only €3 and takes only 45mins. Hotel was very quiet, clean and good decor. Breakfast available on the 1st floor buffet continental and was the perfect start to the day. I'd definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    7.9
    Great location just outside of the old part of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was not as nice as the photos. Some noise from above. Hard to find because there is scaffolding in front so the only way to see the hotel name is to go inside

    Great location just outside of the old part of the city. Comfy bed. Airport bus was directly in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    8.3
    Location perfect - just next to the Airport bus stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Wi fi was really bad

    Location perfect - just next to the Airport bus stop. Very close to Old Town and Cathedral. ideal for people walking the Camino

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    5.4
    OK but wouldn't return. Over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very noisy, no restaurant or bar. Towels need to be replaced. Room smelt musty

    Location was good. Staff were nice. Bus to airport outside door.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    9.6
    Good value hotel close to the cathedral and old town .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is the third time we have stayed here. It is centrally located to the cathedral and most tourist areas . Friendly , helpful staff the rooms are comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    6.3
    OK for a day or two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a bit cramped, though clean with a decent bathroom. Breakfast very basic - I wouldn't want to stay here more than a day or two.

    A good location - 5 minutes to the old town and right opposite a municipal car park. The room was well double-glazed - just as well as it was noisy outside!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    7.9
    Clean, comfortable, central accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Airport bus leaves from outside, so always queues of people at entrance. Not too noisy considering.

    Excellent location. Nice clean room. Pleasant staff. Better inside than outside. Lots of eateries nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    7.5
    The wifi connection would probably put us off from staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WIFI did not work. We were a group of 8 and none of us were satisfied with the wifi connection. We questioned the front staff several times but they suggested nothing.

    Location of the property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    5.4
    Noisy and uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls are paper thin and you can hear everything going on, slamming doors, people yelling etc. Room was only cleaned to an adequate standard, still had the previous guests empty shampoo bottles in the shower. The plumbing is also incredibly loud. If a person in the next room turns on the sink or shower it's like a jet engine starting up. Spent 2 nights here and although the location is great, I would never stay here again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent, Classy, Convenient to the historic sites of Santiago, professional, courteous staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was too high, out of our budget, $123 euros, the most I have paid for a hotel in decades. But I was desperate for a safe, convenient location and this premium was at the last minute. I recommend this hotel and will return if the rate is less.

    The location is superb and we could see the Santiago Cathedral from our window. The bathroom was enormous. We had three beds arranged and there was plenty of room. The elevator is tiny. Only 3 of us fit with our backpacks. The staff allowed us to store our backpacks. The hotel has a nice plaza for families to gather. The bus stop and taxi stand are within a few steps. Lots of great eateries are nearby. Excellent location. Very classy hotel, very classy staff. Thank you to Theresa she greeted us and checked us in. Her English was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    8.8
    Friendly receptionists and excellent location with parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good basic rooms but hotel didn't have much charm. Slightly dated feel.

    Friendly receptionists and excellent location with parking directly in front of hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    8.3
    Super location for staying in Santiago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Super location for staying in Santiago. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. The airport bus is right outside the door and many shops are located around this area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent front desk staff--very helpful and informative...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needing to park in a public lot

    Excellent front desk staff--very helpful and informative with directions, dining suggestions, and recommendations for a tour of the outlying area (Fisterra, Muxia, etc.).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi connection was poor.

    A good and comfortable stay, complies to what you expect regarding to price/quality ratio. A good choice for families.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for our requirement , location and value unbeatable. Thanks to all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only disappointment was the breakfast which was in a closed in little room and very expensive..... and like most European hotels no tea/coffee making facilities.

    Great location, near cathedral,shopping restaurant and park...plus on airport bus route. Loved this place and will definitely go back

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Location perfect for this hotel. As said in previous reviews the airport shuttle bus stops outside the hotel's front door. Room was good, bed comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    6.7
    I think there are better options in the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisey, especially at night. There was a lot a shouting in the streets throughout the night on both nights and even the hotel was slightly noisey at times. I think there are better and quieter options for the airport bus.

    Good location - mainlly for the airport bus. Good shower and a bath which was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    5.8
    Great location but bed was awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only public parking. The bed was awful

    Great location, close to centrum but next to entrance we had bus stop what decreases value of the hotel. We had view to the street, so it wasn't nice view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2017

    10
    comfortable great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    checkin was busy but no a big deal.

    Doesn't look like much from the outside but the rooms were large and comfortable and we were happy there. would have stayed longer but no availability.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2017

    9.6
    Very good value and high quality hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing for the price we paid.

    The room was very clean and well equipped. The location was excellent for visiting the old quarter and for getting to and from the airport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2017

    6.3
    An okay hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit of a mixed bag here. We arrived and were initially put onto the 6th floor, which looks nothing like the pictures shown. The room was fine enough but the bed was broken (we kept rolling into each other) and the bathroom bath was rusty. I guess this is where the renovation hadn't got to yet. We went to ask if we could change rooms and were made to feel as though we were being difficult. I think it's okay to expect a bed to be fine for 3 nights...We changed to the room next door, also older but with a good view. The bathroom had no curtain or blind and the glass wasn't frosted. A lovely view for the apartments opposite! Another man was next door in our old room, confirmed we were right about the bed and said he couldn't do anything today but we could change the next day. The mechanisms for the lift were noisy, the curtains were broken, the shower head was broken, the lampshades were all stained. The next day we went to see about a change, again the man made us feel as though we were being difficult (I've never changed rooms before). They didn't have a room ready so they asked us to pack up and they would move our bag. They moved us to a room that looked like the ones pictured but with a half-renovated bathroom. The room was fine enough but lacked care to detail (e.g paint on the wall paper, old bath, some old furnishings, scruffy paint work.) It was fine for us and probably reflective of a 2-star hotel. The vending/ refreshment machines didn't work on level 1. Based on everything we didn't bother with the breakfast and hopped over to the beautiful bakery around the corner. All in all, we had an okay stay, the hotel looks better on it's pictures than it really is but it is only 2 star. That said we have stayed in some wonderful places on El Camino so perhaps it could do more.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    7.5
    It was reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Looks like it has had a refurbishment, but a few wires hanging around the corridors. Not the best hotel, breakfasts not worth having.

    It was reasonably priced.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2017

    9.2
    A great little hotel in Santiago.
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls of thin...

    A great little hotel in Santiago. Perfect for the end of a long Camino. It is adequately located near the centre - the cathedral is about a 10minute walk from the hotel, and it is safe even in the early hours.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2017

    10
    My first 10 point ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My first 10 points ever! Staff speaking english in Galicia is outstanding! Airport shuttle, taxi, cash machine, parking house, grocery, restaurants, parks, outstanding historic places - everything so near that you cant believe it!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2017

    7.9
    Good transport access and shops are within walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been good to have a kettle and cups for a cup of coffee/tea

    The stop for the airport shuttle is right in front of the hotel and when the shuttle came 10 minutes late, the reception desk staff went outside and spoke to the people outside who were also waiting for the shuttle and asked for me. He then carried my suitcase onto the shuttle when it finally arrived. Excellent service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2017

    8.3
    Hotel Universal very good choice in Santiago de Compostelo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Universal is very well located and with the bus stop outside the door was a real bonus only €3 to airport and takes 45 mins. Our room was on the large size with a "rainfall" shower. Hotel was very clean and reception very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2017

    10
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Perfect location. Just a minute away from old town. Staff was amazing. They helped us a lot with our road trip route. Compared to it's price, definetely recommended!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    7.9
    Great value for money and top location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk on the night I arrived were not very helpful at all- however the next day there was a lovely man who helped a lot and made up for it. No tea/coffee/ place to get water. A vending machine would be a good idea.

    Excellent location, the hotel is newly refurbished and the bathroom is lovely. It was also nice and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2017

    7.9
    Clean, modern, a break from Albergues
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit small, use key card in slot near the door to have power in your room, wifi a bit slow

    Nice bathroom, close to shopping and the cathedral, modern, clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2017

    7.9
    Top location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Room was way too hot and difficult to sleep (too loud outside to open the window) - No minibar, kettle, iron - There was work going on during the day which meant there was no electricity for most of the day, feel we should have been offered complimentary breakfast or some sort of discount for the inconvenience

    - Brilliant location on the edge of the beautiful old town - Friendly, helpful staff - Recently renovated hotel which made it look nice and modern - Clean, decent sized rooms - It is potentially a brilliant hotel but there is still some refurbishment to be done - Overall a good couple of nights and I would stay here again as it was great value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2017

    9.2
    Good stay and location in Santiago de Compostela
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very kind staff, unbeatable location (airport bus stoo, in front of Santiago's historic center main entrance and 10 min walk to railroad station), worth the money.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: