Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of IBB Blue Hotel Paradis Blau 3 stars

Paseo de la playa, s/n, 07712 Cala'n Porter, Spain

Review score

Based on 171 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable, wifi only worked downstairs. Lighting was harsh in the room. It would have been nice to have acces to drive Nike and snacks through a vending machine or similar...

    The location was excellent and the pool area was well set up and peaceful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice at breakfast was poor and most items were over cooked and dry. It was disappointing. I ended up having fruit for breakfast everyday with some bread and jam. The hotel also feels dated.

    The hotel was a short walk away from the beach and they provided free umbrellas at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have the facilities for an restaurant but menu and atmosphere totally uninspiring. We saw 2 other couples eating there in an entire week which sums up how uninspiring it is. It is a distance up the hill to any other restaurant after 8.00 in the evening but people were not prepared to stay and eat here. The bar is similarly uninviting! Beds and pillows were not very comfortable but adequate. It is a 3 star though with some drive it could be quite easy to upgrade it

    Location very good. Beach access is approx. 200 metres away. Will need to be prepared to walk up either a path or a 150+ flight of steps in the evening for a meal as hotel restaurant is very limited and totally devoid of atmosphere or diners! Good bus access into Mahon at the top of these steps or hill. Lots of complaints re. breakfast on previous reviews. They have sorted this out - good fruit, plenty of breads, fried breakfast if you want that. Hotel is 3 star and as long as you are prepared for that it will be fine for your holiday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms are adequate but are a little tired, and the hotel is functional rather than luxurious.

    Location at the back of the beach is great! Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wasn't overly happy with the breakfast, it's super basic. Offering tea/coffee/juice, toast, cereals, pastries, bread rolls, fruit, meat, sausage(this is nice), bacon, very greasy eggs, hash browns and beans with some jams/butters on the side. For the price you pay, I feel like they can easily bring their price down. I know it sounds like a lot of foods on offer but you will see when you try it out. The porter on the last night 20/08/17 was rather unhelpful, we pre-booked a taxi on the evening of 19/08/17 and confirmed this on the morning of 20/08/17 for 21.00. We arrived at the hotel at 20.30 and told the evening porter that we had booked a taxi and we were in reception for when it arrived. He checked and come back and said that we hadn't had a taxi booked, I asked for one to be booked for ASAP as we had a flight that evening. We waited and at 21.15 I then asked if he could check where the taxi was. I was told that there was a festival was on and that taxi's were busy that evening so it's best to wait to see if one turns up. I said that we needed a taxi ASAP and we had pre-arranged this and no one had told us about this festival otherwise we would had of booked the taxi earlier. I was told that the taxi service used could be unreliable!! At this point I was panicking, imaging spending my days stuck there,m trying to sell hats on the beach :( At 21.35 a taxi arrived and we made our flight, I bet you're glad to hear. I would recommend either ordering your taxi earlier than you need, checking that there are no festivals or pre-arranging this beforehand. Bear in mind, the airport is only 15 minutes away.

    The hotel was 15 minutes from the airport - I would recommend pre-booking a taxi as we had to wait 45 minutes for one! It's a very basic hotel, like the ones from years ago. But it's cheap and cheerful, I will be visiting here again. The rooms are clean with a shower/bath, two beds, large mirror, tv, two sockets and a balcony with some chairs/table. The pillows are so comfy, I need to find out where they're from. If you walk up the stairs where the on site restaurant is and around, you will find the outside bar (open from 4) and the pool, outdoor showers and sun loungers (these need updating as they were discoloured and sagging). We found we more or less has this to ourselves for most of the day :) If you're staying on the first floor on the right, there are open panes showing the caves that it's built next to. My photo doesn't do it justice but it's really cool to see The staff are very warm and welcoming expecially the evening porter on 18-19/08/17 and the daytime receptionist on 19-20/08/17!! The hotel is a mere 4 minutes walk to the alcove beach which is beautiful and there are a few restaurants nearby. If you walk back up the hill (it's steep!) or the stairs near the beach then you can see a wide range of of restaurants and bars varying from Spanish Tapas to Indian.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast selection was awful considering the €7.50 per person charge.

    The location is fantastic and is a good value for money. The terrace and pool area are lovely with a great view over the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The general organisation was basic. Our rooms were only cleaned when we specifically asked the actual cleaners to please do them. There was supposed to be signs in the room for cleaning for us to put on our doors, but we didn't get any. There was no TV, fridge, kettle or hair dryer in the room. There was also no phone even - So you had to go downstairs in order to even communicate with the staff. The pillows were so thin we had to ask for another one each. The accommodation was very basic - not sure how this could be considered 3 star. There was never more than just one single person at reception to help customers.

    The location - it was so close to the beach! Most of the staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a little disappointed that the room wasn't the same as in the pictures. The white furnishing and flowers are the sea view rooms apparently. Also, there should be a flexible option with breakfast. I booked 3 weeks before arriving so breakfast on booking.com was listed as £20 a day which I think is quite expensive especially if you eat small at breakfast time. I was also surprised that there was no telephone or fridge in the room and that staff walked you to your room from reception, which meant no one being at reception. I thought that was very unusual since it wasn't a very big hotel. I think the reception staff were quite stretched, But it certainly didn't affect their level of service and helpfulness which was really, really good.

    The location of the hotel on the island and the helpfulness of staff was fantastic. Alvaro and Maria were very helpful in advising me on local places to eat, taxi and car hire. The rooms were very clean and again the location of the hotel in proximity to the beach and tapas bars as well as town up the beach steps was perfect. I went all around the island trying out different beaches but actually the water and sand was the nicest on Cala en Porter.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor and expensive. Poolside bar was lacking a drinks menu and you couldn't see any prices!!

    Location, helpful staff, clean comfortable room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that the room didn't even had glasses the breakfast was very poor quality. The staff was not very helpful.

    The location is great as it's very close to the beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not worth getting up for. Cala en Porter is a very British town, no menorcan culture. The beach next to the hotel is nice but is busy by 10am!

    Proximity to beach and access to other towns.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool upstaires could have been open for a bit longer. Wifi could have been better.

    The beach was like few minutes walk from the hotel. The staffs were really helpful. Was only 15 min away from the aiport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position great if you want to spend time at beach. Very steep climb to town either by steep hill or 160 stairs. Also staircase up to hotel . Not suitable for anyone who is not fit. Pool area, which we did not use, not great

    Basic hotel but clean and comfortable. Lots of hot water and fluffy towels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    a few more plug sockets would be nice as only two

    I had a lovely stay the room was as nice as the picture,i knew the area already so the walk to the beach which was only 1 min was lovely,it was clean and the staff friendly,brought a kettle as not one in the room but your review told me before hand so thats fine,i would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel is very old-fashioned and does not seem to have the 3* standard we expected. The essential was missing such as a hair dryer (which is very helpful after the shower), basic hand soap. The AC looked very tired and the Wifi did not work at all in our room 213 (needs probably an extra router in the corridor..). The room itself is very old fashioned and the decoration basic. These comments are honests and recommendations, not a complaint. Working myself in the hotel business in London, I feel that the price did not reflect our overall expectations. Sincerely.

    The manager Mariano was very helpful, came with us to the room and is a very interesting guy! Thanks a lot and see you in the future :) The terrasse/swimming pool were amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities could be better it would be good if the bar was open from 11amfor drinks not enough loungers to go around needs more comfy arm chairs in reception area needs some more attention to detail

    The breakfast was good rooms clean and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfasts very disorganised, grey bits in scrambled eggs; no tea/coffee making facilities, no fridge.

    Location unbeatable in bay with dramatic cliffs and gorgeous white sands, lots of marine wildlife when snorkelling; gorgeous terrace pool and balcony, lovely staff, peaceful area, lovely dinners, extremely clean, blissfully comfy beds and air-conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to pay much more than originally quoted. I thought I had paid upfront and was asked for another £500 on arrival! There were no facilities expected of a room only; it stated coffee maker and there was no facilities to make a hot drink!no slippers as stated. No fridge either.

    The location was stunning and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was average at best - and looked tired given it was our most expensive hotel on a 4 night break and IMO not worth the money.

    The roof top terrace was very enjoyable - a good pool and the ability to buy a beer. Staff were friendly too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would like to see more guests enjoying the facility. Great price for lovely location next to a public beach in cove. The back view is not as pretty and could be improved, perhaps with flower plantings or the like.

    Staff went out of their way to please! Looked into and compared taxi services and rental car options and ordered it for us. Staff got up early to prepare breakfast just for us as we had an early departure! Very accommodating! Loved the peaceful rooftop setting for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Basically its a BB. which is fine if your just looking for somewhere to sleep

    Basic Basic Basic. Room good. Brekkie OK if you like bacon and eggs. There are no facilities at all. Take a travel kettle if you like a cuppa. Clean and staff very helpful. Book extra pillow. Mattresses are very hard

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Everything else, they shouldnt have been allowed to charge the amount we paid. Restaurant not open, bar not open, work still ongoing we have a list ! Never again.

    Location and reasonably clean.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location...i go most years ....basic hotel...did the job.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location, had a great 4 nights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fridge quieter room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool furniture

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel location in respect to beach fantastic. Hotel basic but very clean and tidy and staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic. Thin mattress (be careful when sitting - slowly...)

    Good location next to beach. Easy ton park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly,helpful,pretty and amazing girl on reception :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no basic tea and coffee making facilities

    The bed was very comfy and the room spacious

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything staff was very good but hotel let them down

    Nothing at all chdcked out after3nights to other accomodation

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No daytime refreshments available until late afternoon.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location near beach which is nice but very steep hill or a lot of steps to get to the town

    Quiet, clean with friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't have breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast bread rock hard, no kettle in room or drinking vessel

    location and views, clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room

    Location and staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only 1 power socket in the room ( behind the TV) no mirror in the main room only the bathroom ( my wife's complaint) no fridge in the room

    A basic hotel but immaculately clean, the place was spotless, room was cleaned everyday, the staff were helpful,the place had a very quiet calm feel about it. We booked a twin as the doubles were fully booked, I had the best 5 nights sleep in these comfy beds!!! We would most certainly book again! Oh and it really is less than 2 min walk to the beach

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They say they have hairdryers but you have to get it from reception with a €15 deposit. The steps to town are quite long but it wasn't a major issue.

    We had a private pool on the roof as there were few people using it and the views from the top are lovely. The staff are helpful and being so close to the beach is great.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    good level of service,clean and tidy

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location was lovely ,I had view of beech,

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bar wasn't open all day so there was nowhere to buy food or even a drink whilst sunbathing by the pool.

    Location and price

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Had a tiny issue with the water but was fixed very quickly!

    The facilities available. Great size pool! Flexibility of cleaning staff was convenient

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    not very clean, it s old hotel

    near to the beach

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: