Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Playa Azul 3 stars

Paseo Marítimo, 27, 07712 Cala'n Porter, Spain

#3 of 17 hotels in Cala'n Porter

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 221 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Paid WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The aircon didn't always work so it was super hot in our room some nights. The food in the restaurant was OK, nothing special.

    The staff is incredible! It was our destination wedding trip, and we found a bottle of sparkly wine on our room upon checking in. It was possible to change evening meals to lunch meals some days, as long as you let them know in advance, so it worked out on the nights we wanted to go out and have dinner elsewhere without losing out on a meal. Location is fantastic! We had a room with a view, and it was so nice!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.8
    very nice and enjoyed the week clean hotel and relaxed atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The dining/breakfast area was busy and could have been arranged better, the cleaning down of the tables (when people had eaten) was very loud and noisy so not such a quiet breakfast lot's of banging of plates and cuttery by staff cleaning up.

    food had a good range and variety the hotel was very clean and friendly. And location was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.7
    We had a nice evening, but would not return as it was not worth the money we paid for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room which had tea/coffee making facilities and free toiletries. There were no tea/coffee making facilities and the free toiletries consisted of a wall-mounted soap dispenser in the shower and beside the sink. I spoke to reception about the tea/coffee facilities and was told it would be organized - none appeared. The main courses at dinner were good, but we felt for the money we were paying that the overall choice could have been better.

    The pool area was beautiful and the staff and food in the snack bar was very good. The evening entertainment was excellent with the radio show by Rhubia.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Good location and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area and bar was clean with a goid view of bay. The staff were very helpful and pleasant especially Zoe and Albert. You do need a car to get around island. But there is a bus service to Mahon directly outside of hotel. The food at hotel is buffet style tgat changes each day. We found the food to be of reasonable good quality.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and comfy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been good to be given two keys for the room instead to sharing one between us. The WiFi is also limited to one device per soon, would be good to have at least one device per person.

    The hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms form with balcony and our view was on the beach and coast line. It was beautiful. The food is good and there is plenty of fresh vegetables and fruits. There is an espresso machine as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    overall enjoyed our stay for couple of chill days end of holiday. Nice location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no entertainment of any kind in the evening even although it was July summer season but ideal if you want to chill.

    The food was great , staff very friendly and the pool area was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, great views of the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The way to the beach is down and then obviously up 181 steps, so if you are not able to make that your main option is staying around the pool. Dinner was generally good, the salads plentiful, but the desserts disappointed, not a huge variety but nice fruit always available. Really not a lot to be disappointed about, however not an hotel I would suggest is good for children, not a lot for them to do, although the staff were very good with those that were there.

    The location of this hotel is great, giving you a wonderful view of the beach. It is quiet away from the main centre of the resort, which is not that noisy either. The pool and the pool area are very clean, although if you want to swim lengths this is not the pool to do it in, it's a pool to relax in. The breakfast has a variety of options, from cereals, to hot food and many different pastries. We had a room with a balcony and a view of the beach, which was lovely, but rooms without views of the beach were quiet and over looked the pool and/or gardens. The staff were always helpful and busy keeping the place clean, wiping tables and clearing away glasses or plates. We have stayed here before and will come and stay again. For information, we took a cab from the airport, there are set fees and it cost us just under 20 euros

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Alright wouldnt recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of extra changes! Have to pay per day for a kettle in room, WiFi only worked in lobby . Curried fish for dinner every night felt more like a school canteen

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.0
    Rather disappointing. Food got a bit monotonous after the first week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small for a double. Not enough room to have chairs in the room when too hot on the balcony. No place to really relax, no comfortable lounge area. Air conditioning erratic. TV reception erratic and unreliable. Food rather like canteen food rather than a restaurant but hard with such numbers. Sun beds were reserved with towels from before breakfast meaning that others could not find one later in the day.. Little shades area!!

    Position of hotel good. Pools good. Fresh linen every few days. Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.4
    OK for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is tired and needs updating internally. We noticed awful carpets and some tatty areas. The coffee and fruit juice at breakfast are undrinkable we tried all the different types of coffee and they were disgusting. The juice tasted like neat squash and was horrible therwise breakfast was good

    Nice pool area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    OK loved sitting on the balcony enjoying fanatic sun sets with a great beach near by
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room, laminate on floor peeling off, hall ways lounges all need decorating, no plants or flowers outside, bit of a rough atmosphere. When booked through booking.com your confirmation will say all tax's included, but on checkout they added £20 tourism tax this would be legal in the uk. Terrible reception staff unable to resolve any issues. When told about the over charge her reply was I didn't write it. Very unhelpful

    Lovely location with views of the beach, nice pool, lovely bar staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    location was great as was the cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the food was pretty bad!glad we didn't go all inclusive breakfast wasnt too bad but dinner was not good.

    location was great as was the cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place to relax and unwind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really wanted a sea view room but we also needed a bath not just a shower and the two together are not available and did not find out until we checked in.

    The views around the hotel are great, it was nice to watch different sail boats mooring in the cove outside the hotel. The non-sea view rooms are quite spacious with lots of wardrobe space. The friendliness of the staff is exceptional, it must be hard work smiling and dealing with some of the moaners we saw there. The variety provided in the buffet was good and all the food we had was very well prepared and presented. One the one occasion my wife couldn’t find anything she could manage they were both happy and quick to make her an omelette to order.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.7
    A relaxing stay. Half board Plenty of choice but ate out a few nights as food a bit bland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds where a bit hard .room had sea view but over bar so loud at night.

    Staff helpful & friendly . Walking distance to bars & reasterants. Quite & relaxing at this time of year.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.1
    we liked the hotel, lovely locaction and view were great. need more going on to keep guest in
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    more food choice and mor going on in the evening

    very friendly staff but a bit slow service at the bar. food should be more varied but quite good would go back again but only do bed and breakfast. could be more going on in the evening as we had to go out every night

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Relaxed family break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Daytime activities were limited, yoga was advertised but ended up being water aerobics, but this only occurred twice during our stay. Night time entertainment occurred twice also, but wasn't of a particularly high standard.

    Standard and variety of food offered was excellent. Location was ideal, very close to beach. Very pleasing to see a hotel which was fully wheelchair adapted.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Just enjoyed having a lovely gin cocktail before dinner. Really special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cold food and such a choice, beautiful fruit for breakfast every morning. Hot Buffet not so inviting, probably because it had been warming for too long. Everywhere very clean.

    For a holiday with or without children, this hotel is great. Walking distance to super restaurants and the most magnificent beach. The bungalow arrangement was excellent for older folks and so quiet and private.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Need refurbishment and slight inprovement also sometimes food is not fresh but looks really good. Overall - price is a bit high.

    Location is great. Staff is friendly and helpfull

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Quiet relaxing holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the restaurant food and the lack of nightlife in the area . And lack of transport to beach.

    I liked the large room we were given and the friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic location, lovely beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough umbrellas round the pool...need a LOT more. Some were broken too with dangerous spikes sticking out.

    Fantastic location, lovely beach. A very good 3* hotel and ticks all the boxes. Lovely food and plenty of choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Great place for a family stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi would be a bonus, plus a fridge in the room.

    Staff really friendly, food was very good, pool area very family friendly, location was great. Recommend a sea view room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    4.6
    Never come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water at the room. No fridge. Horrible food at the restaurant and they close the restaurant very early because of that no choice of food left. No vegetarian option. This hotel is not more then two stars !!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.5
    A pleasant week in the sun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Evening meals were a bit samey and 'school dinners'. There was also a bit confusion as to who could and who couldn't have a free glass of wine with their dinner. A simple sign next to the wine table would clear this up.

    Good choice at breakfast. Overall it was a very good value week in the sun, a good solid 3 stars.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really lovely, helpful staff. Great location. If you book the sea view room you will be very happy. The hotel was very clean and tidy. The pool area was lovely. We've had a very nice stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.3
    The worst Room in whole Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The worst Room in whole Hotel....

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.5
    not bad, could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    food should be better, tv too small, no decoration at all.

    staff friendlines was outstanding

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    The staff and location are fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and location are fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Staff is very helpful, food is good, beach is nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WiFi was not working properly in the room.

    Staff is very helpful, food is good, beach is nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay in Minorca!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Excellent position, nice sea view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    - Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Bit noisy around the pool

    - Friendly staff - Lots of variety in food choices - Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view. Very nice room. Everything was awesome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    The buffet food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet food was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    The location is very good - directly in front of the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was very fast-food style, the coffee was not very tasty etc.

    The location is very good - directly in front of the beach!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very clean. friendly staff. near the sea. good management. food and drinks were nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location with views of the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food lacked taste. Stick to salads and you'll do alright.

    Good location with views of the sea. Quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    had a great holiday, hotel was lovely, friendly staff, nice food and. Perfect for young families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, really friendly staff, nice food and drink.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi just in the reception and not in the rooms

    The buffet was good and staff extremely courteous.. very clean.. pool amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    Good time at a wedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above.

    Disappointed that you have to pay for WiFi and the safe key when already charged £200 a night for the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely peaceful location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been lovely to have a small fridge.

    The staff were fabulous and very welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    excellent hotel and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    pillows too hard.

    everywhere very clean. staff excellent. Food cooked just as we like it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Flexible dining options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a little uncomfortable

    Flexible dining options

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.3
    Great location with a hotel to match
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Breakfast could have been served earlier

    Staff very helpful always polite

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    8.3
    Beds were firm and comfy food was good location nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedroom was top floor end of corridor weather rather gusty and something on the roof kept hitting our part of the room which was not nice I did report this do not know if anything was done to correct this

    Beds were firm and comfy food was good location nice

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    10
    Stayed here for 4 days with a 10 month old and can't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stayed here for 4 days with a 10 month old and can't rate it highly enough. On check-in the lady at reception informed us a cot and baby bath had been provided in the the room, which was also was spotless. Staff go above and beyond - especially in the restaurant; Isabel, Jorge, Johanna, Gisella and Jesus (and the other lady I can't remember!) made it such a pleasant experience despite our little one hurling food everywhere and are so friendly to everyone. The buffet is huge with a wide selection of delicious food to cater for all. Plenty of sunbeds and clean pool. 181 steps to the beach or a long and steep meander up and down the road. If you're travelling with a small one take a back carrier so you can do the stairs! We hope to be back in the future for another great stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    7.5
    Staff excellent , very clean , food good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paid for wifi which didn't work , saga took over , a sitting room for all was only for saga any one entering just to go and get a book was abruply told saga only . Guest,s could only sit in reception lounge . Some days saga guest,s used all sofas in reception lounge leaving there lounge almost empty but other guest,s could not use there lounge,not impressed .

    Staff excellent , very clean , food good value for money

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    4.6
    the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    didn't like the bed really poor wi fi around the pool area was not cleaned I was their 4 days always dirty plastic cups yesterdays papers rubbish never saw anyone clean pool while we were there

    the pool

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly , polite and helpful staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly , polite and helpful staff . We arrived too late to have our evening meal ( half board. Was included in the price ) as our flight was late . We were immediately offered a lunch the next day instead . The hotel were not obliged to do this as it was not their fault we arrived late .A very nice gesture !

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.9
    The location is perfect and the pool is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - The Restaurant was very noisy - The Wifi was very expensive and very slow

    The location is perfect and the pool is very nice. I guess it is the perfect Hotel for families.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.5
    Nice and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much to dislike. Beds could have been more comfortable though.

    Nice and quiet. Pool great and plenty of sun beds. Location great and plenty of nice restaurants nearby and bars.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.6
    Came for a little break on my own.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No fridge in the room, had to pay extra for kettle, safe, wifi.

    Came for a little break on my own. Loved it. Perfect location overlooking one of the best beaches I've been to. Lovely pool, complimentary breakfast & lunch was perfect with lots of choice plus free drinks. Staff very friendly & helpful. Nice quiet family friendly area.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    This was our second time at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to dislike at all! Free WI Fi would be the only improvement.

    This was our second time at the hotel. It's clean, comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is excellent with a great choice at every meal. The pool is lovely and the situation of the hotel is perfect for sea views. We went with our son and daughter in law and they loved it too! It was busy but not crowded and the pool area was always peaceful and relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    7.1
    Good buffet and great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No free wi-fi. Very sparse bedrooms.

    Good buffet and great view!

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Food is terrible

    Location

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Hotel Playa Azul traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: