Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Abora Continental by Lopesan Hotels 3 stars

Avenida de Italia, 2, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Spain

#25 of 36 hotels in Playa del Ingles

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 371 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Paid WiFi

    4.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is in a great place nice and quite and close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom Mirror was tilted downward for the comfort of a wheelchair user and we asked if they could place in an upright position and they refused to do so just said it was normal to have it this way . I had to place my can of shaving cream behind it to keep it upright and all it would have required was to thighten a screw on either side and undo them when we were booked out. And the dinning room staff could learn to smile a little they loiked like they hated the job they were doing.

    The hotel is in a great place nice and quite and close to the bus station where you can get a bus to any part of the Island. And yet close to the irish centre and other place of entertainment.and shopping centres

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely amazing. Was very worried with all the bad comments but im so glad i ignored them!10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location- nothing you coulf change though..little pubs/resturants close by. But only 10 min walk away.

    Staff were amazing - super friendly, all inclusive was fabulous.. rooms were lovely. 10/10. Drink, food, bathrooms and entertainment were brilliant!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.8
    There are better hotels for this money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is too expensive for nothing. There is no amenities in the room. No hair dryer, tissues, etc. From the staff few people was very kind but the others are rude. They are simply unprofessional. They forgot to inform us that we shouldn't drink from tap. After I complained answer was "why we didn't ask". On other day we were interested about the opening time of the sauna and instead he answer for the question he just told there is a book and we can read it. We will not go back.

    The hotel was very clean and beach was close. Food was correct.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.5
    Winter Sun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    From 01/11/2017 until the start of the summer season 2018, there is a rule of long trousers only for dinner. This is not made clear on the booking.com website and as I didn't pack any, I had to go out and buy a pair. I was there at the beginning of December and the pool was just about bearable for a quick swim. Would be nice if the water could be heated slightly.

    The food was excellent. It is a standard buffet like you get in other Spanish hotels but the food is cooked and presented to a higher standard.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very friendly staff! Clean rooms. Several swimming pools, hot tubs and a real animation team. My daughter loved that. As I had dietary wishes, the chef guided me via the enormous buffet and mentioned what I could eat. The food is delicious and fresh and plenty of choice for everyone. I would certainly stay again at this hotel and could recommend it for families.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the position of the swinging pool (there was no sun until 12pm).There were not enough sun beds(all kept on hold with towels by guests 7am every day).The food was everyday the same one for 8 days

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    The hotel itself is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The bedrooms are dated and in need of a makeover. They also need air con installed. The inclusion of hairdryers would be handy and it would be great if there was 24hour access to the water tap.

    The hotel itself is great. The pool area is outstanding and the staff are all lovely. The food is also great. I'm a vegetarian (and I don't eat fish) but I had no issues finding food to eat in the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Reasonable price, satisfied travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    availability of card payment in the restaurant area and bar area, it usually took an average of 2-4 minutes to pay with card.

    Hotel described the availaible facilities accurately. no surprises. Staff is friendly and helpful. Reasonable price for this hotel. I strongly recommend to book parking slot at the hotel as it is very difficult to find parking space nearby. Cleaning in the room is very professional. We had a half-board and we found the choice of meals fair enough. Amazing location, 5 minutes walk from "veril playa" beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.0
    The entertainment programme
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and pool area far too small for the amount of apartments. Staff not very friendly and bar and restaurant staff had little or no English. Apartments not very clean with lots of mould in the shower . Won't be returning

    The entertainment programme

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Perfect location, very helpful staff. A very enjoyable holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Internet was slow in the room, sometimes going off completely. Hair dryers not supplied, had to be rented.

    The room was large. Always able to get a table in the restaurant, staff very efficient at clearing tables & re-laying them. Always lots of choice of food. Lovely outside area round the pool - like a tropical garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    I recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Crappy internet , smoking area everywhere ( smokers in the lobby,on the pool,in the entertainment area,if you are non-smoker you will be all the time poisoned) , crappy drinks for all inclusive guests (only 4 distasteful drinks from the dispenser max - sometimes not even this I have two times when from all buttons was streaming the same drink or water)

    16/5000 Wonderful food,very friendly staff,excellent location (close very nice beach,shops,bus stop) ,rooms very nice and tidy,cleaned every day,very good animation team,nice pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.2
    Super all inclusive 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent friendly staff excellent food good choice of food and drinks. Great value all inclusive beside lovely quiet beach. Nice pool needs more sunbeds. Hotel right beside bus station to all locations including airport (25 mins)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money, but note pay-as-you-go hair drier, kettle and room wifi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Low cost / pay-as-you-go philosophy of paying separately for hair drier, wifi, kettle, etc. But price makes up - just you need to know before...

    Price, pool, nearness to beach, supermarket, restaurants and shops in the vicinity. Nice size rooms and clean bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    9.2
    beautiful garden with palms, heated pool, near ocean coast, shopping center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Will be very good, when the internet in the evenings would be more reliable and faster

    The hotel have beautiful garden with palms and with lot of pools. Around the pools sunbeds, umbrellas and bars. Only one pool have heated hot water. I thing it is a winter time. Very good food, lots of fresh fruit. Every day good specials. Live music. Very near ocean coast, ocean beach. Nice walk to Maspalomas sand dunes. Shopping center is two minutes from hotel. Very nice programs, Sioux City, botanic garden, Aqapark. The hotel did everything to make the guests feel well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    8.8
    Huge bed, fabulous breakfast, beautiful pools and gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm being picky but no hair dryer in the room

    Huge bed, fabulous breakfast, beautiful pools and gardens. Really friendly well turned out staff eager to please

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    5.0
    Satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way too few sunbeds in the sun. Not enough variety in all-inclusive food. The internet did basically not work, and €2 per day per person was definitely not worth it! Quite peculiar that the coffee machines ALWAYS were out of order during lunch and dinner. I think they should learn English: it is called empty!

    Comfy bed. We were upgraded to sea view.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    8.3
    lovely big bed carpets in hotel food was good and plentyfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    shows were outside which could get a bit cold sometimes ? also the shows were outside where people were smoking no facilities for the non smoker who wanted to watch the shows

    lovely big bed carpets in hotel food was good and plentyfull

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    4.6
    Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is situated right next to the highway so when you are at the pool all you can hear are cars. Not very relaxing. Also, there are not enough parking spaces for your rental car, so you might have to pay for a space at the hotel. In general you have to pay for everything "extra", including wifi, pool towels etc.

    Good selection of food in the buffet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.3
    Staff very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Evening entertainment poor Wifi connection poor

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Hotel very clean. Good choice of food at breakfast. We were Bed and Breakfast only but did use the restaurant for Christmas dinner and it was excellent. Handy for public transport and good restaurants in vicinity.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel with great pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only free wifi in the bar. Most hotels offer free wifi in the room. Paying extra for the safe in the room and towels for the pool makes you feel a bit exploited.

    Well kept and clean pool area. Good breakfast with lots of choice. Effective housekeeping. The nearby Tropical Center offers restaurants and entertainment. Only five minutes walk to the beach.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    Renovated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Paid wi-fi in the room.

    Renovated hotel. Good location. Good food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Return Visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. No comment needed.

    Everything. Refurbished to a very high standard. All inclusive service excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    True excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    Superb food at breakfast, lunch and dinner with great choices.Excellent room on top floor with fantastic views of Atlantic Ocean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent but too expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very expensive for what it is.

    Very friendly staff, excellent location in nice part of town near beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.1
    hotel perhaps needs updating but very clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a couple of the bar staff were insensitive

    choices of food excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    Great family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel. Better than expected. Good size rooms Very clean , selection of pools Food and drink of good quality

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    An excellent ratio price/performance!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The situation very close to the highway, and the value for money: good food, good service, ... at a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    6.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Internet.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.6
    staff food facilities all top class
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    staff food facilities all top class beside the beach!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    8.3
    Happy Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning

    Staff were great. Location was great, very handy for bus station. Quiet location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    5.8
    Sleep with traffic noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise is on day and night.

    The view is pretty good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont like the flooring, carpets no clean.

    Ok

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Had a great time was upset to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist bit rude.

    Great staff. Great holiday.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Couldnot print airlineticets at the hotel.

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.2
    Great all inclusive mid range option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little dated but very clean

    Amazing selection of food. Staff all worked non stop

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.5
    Food and location are great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were small insects in the bathroom and bedroom.

    Food and location are great

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    Found bed hard compared to our own, very friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really,

    Found bed hard compared to our own, very friendly staff, good value for money even though we only stayed on a room only basis,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    EXCELLENT 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entertainment day & night

    Everything is amazing hotel entertainment was excellent day and night highly recommend to all our family & friends😀

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    7.9
    Lovely holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from main roads night and day.

    Upgraded for free on request. Lucky.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.2
    All in all, a good stay and value for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was quite uncomfortable and didn't like the loud activities around the pool during the day..

    Generally can't fault it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.8
    The food was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food was perfect!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    6.3
    Quality of food is bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Quality of food is bad

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    8.8
    Great location - two minutes from three beaches, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea making facilities in room. No hairdryer in rooms - last year there was. Lots of things had a cost to them: Hairdryer, fridge, pool towels etc.

    Great location - two minutes from three beaches, and several bars and restaurants, nice food, if a little repetative , spotless hotel. Restaurant staff very efficient and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    8.3
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel a little tired. The WiFi is not so good.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. The beach is a short walk. The common areas are always clean. Rooms are small and basic, ocean view, but very clean. Sandra Castro super cleaned room. The pool area is big with a lot of loungers. Large parking. The food had a wide selection for all inclusive, is of excellent quality and well cooked. You'll get good value and quality. Enjoy.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    6.3
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our reservation was for IFA Continental and we were switched to IFA buenaventura on arrival. Personell refused to apply lower rates (Buenaventura is cheaper) and said it was Booking.com fault. Personell refused to call booking to clearify and "obliged" as to have all inclusive (totally useless for us) and to pay the full IFA Continental rate and I had to insist and to speak to a boss to have free wi-fi (overall €14 value!). Very unfair. People around the isle said to us IFA Continental (Lopesan) sometimes does this, no fault of booking.com .... I will never stay at a Lopesan hotel in the future.

    Breakfast. Parking availability in front of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    7.1
    The best food we have ever eaten.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel needs renovation furniture exchange, corridors are in a very poor condition doors to the room looks like afer the flood at the seventh floor.

    The best food we have ever eaten.Sport team activity and evening program on high level.Cleaning service very food.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    7.9
    (1) Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    (1) Reception never smiles (2) Corridor urgently needs a renovation (3) Small but surprising extra charges. E.g. pure orange juice is not included in the breakfast and costs 1.90 Euro per glass.

    (1) Great location. Just 2 minutes walk to the sandy beach. (2) Well-organised leisure activities for all ages. (3) Excellent swimming pools for a 3-star hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    5.4
    Pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor Standard of room. No fridge, No air con. No ironing equipment. No hair dryer . No Tea/coffee making facility. Poor quality of drinks in the bar. Bar décor (Garden Furniture!). Caters mainly for non-English speaking people.

    Pool area

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    9.6
    It's a nice hotel close to the beach of Playa Del Ingles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Free wi-fi is near the reception, but it almost doesn't work in the evenings

    It's a nice hotel close to the beach of Playa Del Ingles.Very tasty and varied food, every day different seafood. The hotel immediately offered us breakfast though we arrived very early (at 5 am)

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    8.3
    Its a nice hotel close to the beach of Playa Del Ingles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress was worn, but during our stay they renewed all of them at our floor. The temperature of the water of the main pool was too cold.

    Its a nice hotel close to the beach of Playa Del Ingles. Good food with plenty of choise. Enough room at the pool, even when you arrived during the day. There was parking available free of charge not far from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    7.9
    We have stayed in the hotel for 4 days during our Gran...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a little misunderstanding b/w a hotel and booking, I may suppose. The mistake emerged last day, when we came to dinner and we were told that we do not have such an option as Half board according to their system. After heated discussion on my Birthday dinner, fortunately the problem was settled for the rest of vacation. Quite a frustrating surprise due to technical issues b/w the hotel and booking for a B-day dinner.

    We have stayed in the hotel for 4 days during our Gran Canaria visit. Were surprised by the wide range of dishes for breakfast and dinners. Every new day the retaurant made smth special and extremely tasty from seafood to the wide variety of national cheese and meet. For a birthday I got a bootle of champaign, that was really lovely. Main beaches just up to 10 min walks. One of the most famous beach, namely Maspalomas is just from 20 min walk, very close. In general, very nice place.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    5.4
    the BREAKFAST was surprisingly good (except for coffee and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    every "extra" costs extra. it's 12 EUR/week for a HAIR DRYER (no fewer days possible), 5 EUR rent plus 5 EUR deposit per POOL TOWEL an extra 1 EUR for every exchange), 2 EUR/day for WIFI etc. to the WiFi: it sucked terribly and was unusable. after complaining to the STAFF we were not only not understood but the receptionist complained to her colleague in spanish about us (believing we wouldn't be able to understand). the reception in general was working extremely slowly and some of the receptionists were highly unfriendly. the BATHROOM was missing any additional care products but soap. the POOL area is quite big and there are a lot of pool loungers, but a lot of them are broken and there are by far not enough cushions. in addition to that many of the LOUNGERS are reserved with towels in the morning by the (mostly) 50+ all inclusive guests. if you don't book AI you might prefer another hotel. if you are not a SMOKER, you might do so too.

    the BREAKFAST was surprisingly good (except for coffee and juice). fresh eggs in different varieties, pancakes, fruits etc. the ROOM was nice but a bit too stuffed with the couch.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    10
    good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    good location. near beach bus stop ect

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    8.8
    Good location, kind staff, clean room, also good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Only a little slow the paid wifi in room.

    Good location, kind staff, clean room, also good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    9.6
    Wi/fi very bad or did no work at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi/fi very bad or did no work at all.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: