Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of II Castillas Madrid 3 stars

Abada, 7, Madrid City Centre, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#114 of 351 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3098 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.5
    Good generally but lacked tea/coffee in the room and it was noisy at night from street activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy during night due to street cleaning etc. Lacked extras like tea and coffee facilities in room.

    Good location, staff, cleanliness and basic facilities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.8
    Very useful hotel in the center of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were surprised of the central location of Hotel Il Castillas, only 4 minutes walk to Sol. Everything was very good at the hotel, perhaps not the wifi-connection, and we enjoyed the room, breakfast and the restaurant in the same building (3 visits at the restaurant). It was interesting to take a walk outside and look at the surroundings. We arrived with a rented car. After checkin, we returned the car, and were glad not use a car in the center of Madrid. Charges on the Madrid Metro is rather low, and zone A (2€/trip) covers a large part of Madrid, even the airport!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.0
    Short stay at Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor breakfast Small room Reception coudnt accept the booking because my daughter made the booking for us. It took us 1 hour to check in

    Only location was good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    6.3
    Stay in Madrid
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water for morning shower. Breakfast pre paid but not available until 7.30am a rush when you had to get a taxi to the train station at 8am. No facility to make tea coffee in room.

    Location good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    We had a great time, walked a lot, saw a lot, drank lots of coffee and ate lots of tapas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The large wheelie bins outside the front of the hotel. They were emptied all over the pavement each night! Big cars but narrow roads and lots of road and building works don't help either. But it never felt unsafe. Just the way big, busy cities are.

    Easy walking access to Sol and Gran Via, parks and cable car. Nice open air restaurant across the road but lots more in the area. Hotel interior is much grander than the exterior and the local environment would have you believe.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Good city centre hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast room was very busy at peak times and could be hard to get a table and the food was never fully stocked. The poor member of staff appeared to be working on their own which was insufficient for the number of customers. The food was fine though if you managed to get what you wanted.

    An excellent location off the busy Gran Via but near to most landmarks all within walking distance and close by to the Callau metro station. The front desk staff were polite and spoke good English.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having tea and coffee making facility in room

    the breakfast was substantial Good room and beds Excellent location could walk to most of the tourist attractions Quick check in and out Help with booking taxi and resturant for dinner de Notre cafe attached were also very helpful and enjoyed dinner there

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Recommended
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room I stayed in. When transfered the new room was different and pleasent. In the first literally You can't move it so small . The location is very good. The breakfast is so so and expensive. As caffes in Madrid doesn't serve normal breakfast, You got two choices, to pay or buy in the nearby super (court englase). Be aware that Uber drivers doesn't like the center. I had to wait 40 minutes and more to their cancellation. Be alert with taxi drivers. They like to play with Your change or make Your route much longer. With one I travelled 5 minutes to get back to point of pick up. The little lobby is lovely. If You like meat, visit Mu restaurant. 20 meter from hotel exit. Best meat and service. Their Black Angus fillet is unforgettable.

    Efficiency of staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As hotel is in the city can be noisy at night. We expected this so brought ear plugs!!

    Great location between Gran Via and Plaza De Porto Sol. Hotel has traditional decor, the bedrooms clean and comfortable and the bathrooms are modern. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice of juices, breads, hot and cold dishes. Would recommend Ill Castillas

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel for a short centre Madrid break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I disliked about the hotel. We chose 3* to try and balance cost and quality. The hotel was great.

    The hotel is situated 5min walk from Plasa de Sol. It was our first trip to Madrid. Everything you could want to see is within 15min walk, many much closer. The hotel is in keeping with the architecture of the city, with a sense of some grandure, much better than the boring modern hotel buildings you might be tempted to try. We loved it. Breakfast was great and they had a simple full breakfast option if you need an English to start your day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too hard, and there was a lack of variety of pillows to help better sleep.

    Location was excellent. It was a walking distance to all main attractions in Madrid, and a variety of restaurants and shows.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.7
    Colin MELBOURNE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booked thought we booked a room for 2 , on arrival told room booked for 1 and charged extra,looked at booking site and it’s not clearly showing,be careful when booking room

    Position was fantastic, good breakfast , room nice and clean and serviced everyday.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    Grt your money's worth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except for those thieves, all else were fone especially the hotel's closeness to St John Mercato Boqueria

    Room is modern, nice shower/bathroom,very close La Rambla (but beware of thieves). My backpack was stolen in 30secs after my attention was taken away. Never pay attention to strangers NO MATTER what happens.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    The location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is very basic, Coffee machine is not tasty. Traffic at the area is very busy. plan your leave accordingly if you need to get to a flight

    The location is very good. 1minute walk everywhere. the rooms and bathrooms are very clean, the staff is kind and informative, we have stayed 2 nights with our kids, in 2 rooms. the staff made sure to have 2 rooms next to each other. although the hotel is in the center, we had quiet rooms. air condition worked very well (it was very hot in Madrid)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out was a disaster. The hotel was not willing to charge the credit card that was placed as guarantee during reservation, and demanded to have the physical card (which was not available as my father booked it with his card). We did not have enough cash, and the hotel demanded that my father will photocopy his passport and credit card, together with a letter that request the hotel to charge the credit card. We barely made it to the flight due to the fiasco that the hotel made us go through. Be careful!

    The location is great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location but not so good customer service, nor value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked our room some months ago, mentioning clearly, we want a double bed room. When we checked in, we were given a twin bed room, being told bluntly the double bed ones are booked and it is what it is. This is poor customer service attitude of not being considerate to the wish of your customer, a wish which the customer has made in advance (as in, with more than 6 weeks in advance) and a wish for which the customer has paid. Eventually, we managed to convince the gentlemen at the reception to change our room the next day, but we have been treated with a patronizing attitude, as if we were being made a huge favor. If you want or if you must to eat veggies for breakfast, good luck, since there are only some non-tasty tomato slices and no other options. Quite the irony, considering the amount of veggies, one can see in the food markets of Madrid. If you are having a gluten intolerance, you have bare minimum options at the breakfast: yogurt and some fruit (apples, kiwi, nectarine), some cheese. The restaurant which is connected to the hotel and being advertised in the elevator of the hotel (dn restaurant) is having overpriced, average quality food and a terrible customer service (I.E. we were told there is no free tables when we were looking at 2 tables with customers paying for their bills and no other customers but us, waiting to have lunch).

    The location is ideal for move around city center and also to take the metro and travel longer distances in Madrid. The breakfast is good enough if you are hungry and if you do not have any health issues, such as, intolerance to gluten or to dairy or diabetes. The bathroom is big and clean with all the necessary facilities. The room is clean and it has a functional air conditioning system.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Good place to crash for just one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was super hard and uncomfortable. The Air conditioner did not work properly and it felt like an oven inside the room at night.

    Excellent location. Close to everything but away from the crowds and noise. Staff at the front desk was nice. Breakfast was included and was pleasantly good with adequate variety.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    The best thing about property was the location can't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We where in a triple room.it was abit small for three adults.did not hava breakfast over priced

    The best thing about property was the location can't fault that near the metro and shops

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    I will stay again in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is clean and it is in the center,and the staff is very helpful.The breakfast was good.I stayed for 7 days and I really enjoyed it.The interesting places are all within walking distance.I recommend this hotel .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    The property was located right on the center so everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was located right on the center so everything we wanted to do was in walking distance. The employees were always very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    This hotel is a hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are helpful, professional and will do anything they can to help.

    It is a 3 star hotel that delivers on all the important criteria. The location couldn’t be better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    Adequate and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    i had a double room single use, and i must admit is was a bit tight. But in the end i got used to it. I found the breakfast poor and limited, not much choice. Guess it always was a 3-star hotel. The location is superb, and the hotel clean and adequate. One last thing, the TV stations are 98 per cent in Spanish.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Avoid some rooms but otherwise nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and pillows very hard. Some rooms have a window onto a fire escape and anyone can walk in off the street so you have to keep it shut. It does have mediocre air con. We asked to be moved and second room was fine.

    Nice rooms good location. Fab little bar next door good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Lovely spacious rooms in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is trivial, but it would have been nice to have electrical outlets by the bed so cell phones can be charged while being used as alarm clocks. We also felt that 13 euro was a little expensive for breakfast.

    We were pleasantly surprised by the location, close to Callau metro and Sol Renfe trainstp, and in a very walkable area near all main attractions in central Madrid. Everything travelers need—shops, restaurants, etc—were nearby. When we arrived, our first room smelled musty, but we were immediately given another room that was really lovely. The bathroom had a long counter top with two sinks and a shower with excellent water pressure and temperature control. The staff were very helpful, especially in advising us on how to use the Renfe train to go to Atocha Station for our Ave train trip to our next destination. We did not use the restaurant or eat breakfast at the hotel, but it is convenient to have these services.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Overall very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The mattresses on the beds are very hard. The pillows were even harder!

    The location of the hotel is excellent. You can walk to all the main sights within a few minutes. The hotel was spotlessly clear. The décor and furnishings were in excellent order. The 3 course lunch menu including wine at 11.90 Euros was fantastic value and well cooked..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.0
    bad wifi, poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very Very bad WiFI - I coulnt work for 3 nighhts - hotel did nothing about it to fix it - could hardly even send an email had to try for everything 4-5 times to get or send anything and wait in the meanwhile. I used all my 4G and had no way out after that. Staff kept saying but it works - or sending you to cafe next door to work . Breakfast is rediculously poor, with a fixed toaster - take your fire glove with you - quality of egs and sausages low, only live vegetable are some sliced tomaos and some apples - anyhow - not good for the amount of money paid ( about 140 Euro per night

    location & bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Good range for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free drinks in room only minibar and no coffee facilities. Double bed was two singles that weren't attached so did move apart.

    Room was tidied and cleaned every day and left looking welcoming after a tiring day. No real view but it was quiet at night and we slept well. Buffet breakfast good range of foods and staff on hand. Fresh milk free flowing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Location was great and staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A timber support in the middle of the room made it awkward to get large suitcases around but not a big issue as we had a nice patio area.

    Location was great and staff were very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location - easy to walk to places and several...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A room with a view would have been nice but obviously some have to face internally.

    Excellent location - easy to walk to places and several metro stations close by. Very comfortable bed and good shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    We were first time visitors to Madrid and this hotel was just right!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Il Castiillas is a quality hotel located very centrally for visitors to the historic part of Madrid. The room we had was quite large, the bed comfortable, the staff friendly and professional, and the breakfast and coffee more than adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Best hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel has a very good location, just a few meters from the Gran Via street, which is the main street and shopping area. You can walk to all the main attractions from this hotel. Most squares are also withing a few minutes away. There is also El Corte Ingles close by which has a supermarket. Although the street is always busy, I found the room to be quiet. Breakfast was included in my stay, it starts at 7:30am and had everything you'd expect. The restaurant beside the hotel is also very good and has an affordable set menu of the day. Staff is friendly and everywhere was very clean. Our room was also cleaned daily with towels replaced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Location perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could be better: a wider range of bread, less greasy bacon, better quality ham and cheese. You won't starve, but the high quality of the hotel in every other respect leads you to expect more.

    Location perfect. Decor throughout is lovely. The staff were very helpful. The room was excellent and the bed enormous. The restaurant, open for lunch and dinner, is very good (it's a separate business).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    2.5
    Worst experience of all the places we stayed so far
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dishonest staff, theft, disloyal, no security measures, deceiving guests with non functioning cameras, highly disappointing

    Absolutely disappointing stay

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Overall we enjoyed our stay and would consider the hotel again if we returned to Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a little warm and difficult to cool and beds were a little hard.

    Excellent location. Hotel room was clean and practicable. Reception staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.8
    - there was a power outage on the day of check out, no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - there was a power outage on the day of check out, no emergency lift !! No body from staff came up to help I had to carry my luggage thru the stairs from 5th floor in spite of telling the reception that I suffer from tennis elbow and cannot lift the weight. -- Rooms are too small , not good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location and personal.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really major only small details, but it didn't affect my comfort.

    Location it was just perfect, very close public parking with hotel discount. The staff very helpful and professional, will book it again for sure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    I would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too noisy, there is a night club beside the hotel, the noise went on all night. I didnt get a good nights sleep there one night. The breakfast was lack lustre and tasteless. We did not even bother to get up some mornings as could not face it, it was not worth the effort

    It is a very basic hotel, very central but that's about it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant next door did not seem connected to the hotel. Not overly inviting to guests.

    Friendliness of the staff and willingness to help out. Great stay and location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.7
    Nice location, but hotel needs improvements if it still want to be on market.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely cold during night and nothing to cover insead of thick sheet. Moreover in bathroom there was some problem with shower - water was everywhere!

    The staff was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed very much.Hope to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable seating area in reception area but no bar facility to enjoy a drink prior to or after a meal?

    Excellent restaurant, food great and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Excellant, 2nd time staying here, will definately use the hotel agian
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    The breakfast buffet was excellent, plenty of choice, and the staff were very helpful. The hotel is in an ideal location, very central to visit all Madrid has to offer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent position, very close to Plaza del sol.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff not very nice

    Excellent position, very close to Plaza del sol. Nice and clean room with a comfortable bed and very nice bathroom. Good breakfast with savoury and sweet food. Wifi ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    It was a lovely experience. Would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not very comfortable but we didn't bother really as everything else was excellent

    Location is amazing. You cannot find a better location for your Madrid trip!!! Staff is very friendly and they were ready to assist us and they solved a problem we had with our room by giving us another room immediately. Breakfast was nice with enough variety of choices.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    New year, new experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No double beds! It was quite inconvenient.

    Helpful staff, right from the first phone call. Great location, in the heart of the city, well connected to the Airport and train stations via Metro. Good breakfast to start the day. And lots of shopping and eating options all round.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.9
    Very affordable hotel in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi connection was really poor. This is something to improve.

    The hotel is relatively simple, but above all the location is great! Right in the city centre, near all the main shops, close to metro and train. And yet the room was quiet. Nice staff and good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff, very good location, quiet and very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the weather was very wet and cold and the room was not warm enough and it took a day to get to a comfortable temperature.

    Friendly staff, very good location, quiet and very close to shops and restaurants. Good breakfast. Lots of hot water. Overall good hotel just shame the room was not warmer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    We stayed at II Castillas while on a shopping trip to Madrid...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at II Castillas while on a shopping trip to Madrid, it has an excellent location, we could walk to the shops, no need for taxis. We checked in at 11am and our room was ready. The hotel staff were very helpful, recommending restaurants and giving directions. They had very good English. The hotel is clean, and our breakfast was lovely. I would highly recommend this hotel for a short stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel was very good - great location in the centre, a spacious room with a balkony/terrace, kind receptionists, good breakfasts corresponding to the price:-)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.6
    I would definitely recommend this as a good place to stay in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was a little disappointing, given the price of the room. We stayed at a similarly-priced hotel in Seville where the breakfast was 10 times better. This could be improved.

    We booked this room at the last minute -- it was for our final two nights in Spain. Our priority was being close to the Prado. We weren't THAT close, but it didn't matter...the walk was wonderful once we found the right street to wind our way down to the art museum. On check-in, the manager upgraded out room to one with a big private balcony, which we really enjoyed. The bed was comfortable. The staff were so nice. They booked a cab for our ride to the airport and were so professional and kind about it. This is a pretty noisy location, but the streets in Spain are teeming with people day and night. After being there for a month, we decided that there is really no escaping the pleasures that so many Spaniards have in staying up until 4 a.m.!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi and breakfast also double glazing on windows.

    Good location, great staff breakfast adequate but nothing special. Wifi very patchy. We requested a quiet room and it was on the 4th floor but still not quiet but it is in a very busy location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Pretty great stay for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not super helpful with questions about city or taxi rides to places. Maid service was very loud at 7am every morning.

    Close to a lot of places, food and shopping. Very clean room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money with all the basics in a good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Basic comfort and very spartan interior design. The breakfast was really not its 13€ worth.

    Perfect central location, clean and fonctional rooms, good service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    It's not a fancy hotel. It's adequate. Great value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was horrible. Nowadays it's inexcusable to have such horrible wifi.

    The location was perfect. Close to Metro Callao station. Close to many local sites. Close to shops and restaurants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Very good experience to see Madrid center!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug outlasts to charge iPhone. Had to put it in bathroom. If there was more than one electronic devise it would be a problem. Staff could be a bit more friendly but overall fine.

    Location is superb! Rooms spotless!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    But this year the hotel was more expensive. The price was 1/3 higher and that wasn't nice.

    Good location. We come already 8 years in this hotel. We find it a good hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, excellent staff & we have already booked for New Year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were firmer than we are used to, but that's a personal choice thing. There was nothing we can say that we didn't like, and we were impressed with everything.

    The breakfast was very good value and the dining room very stylish. The decor of the reception area was very classical and welcoming and the staff did all they could to help with information, maps, bus stop info, even with extra pillows. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    The location is excellent just between Gran Via and Puerta Del Sol !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt cigarette. The hairdryer did not work.

    The croissants are the best. Good breakfast and the staff very kind. The bathroom is very bright no clean. Shower excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel well located for all major sightseeing and good transport links
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection a bit limited but adequate for a 3 star hotel.

    Good location and nice room overlooking the front of the hotel. Surprisingly quiet despite looking over a busy street. Room and bathroom very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A double room should be given double bed and not two single beds.

    THE LOCATION IS FANTASTIC, EASY TO GO ANYWHERE . TRANSPORTATION ,RESTAURANTS AND SHOPS JUST A STONE THROW.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Overall, I was very pleased with the hotel, the location, and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little too hard, and the room was a little small. The tub was very narrow so you had to be careful with your feet while taking a shower.

    The locate the location was excellent Karma between the Gran Via and Puerto Del Sol. And to get to the airport to leave there was a taxi stop 30 yards away. Very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Other than the noise it was Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think they need better windows, because the noise from outside was SO Loud! I could hear people talking like they were in my room. Truck deliveries in the middle of the night, dumpster being emptied. I felt like all this activity was in the room because it was so loud... Air Conditioning needs to work better too.

    Location was great, staff were wonderful and helpful, rooms were spacious and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel and despite the air conditioner thing , I would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has control how cold u can make the room. There is a control in the room but it wont get too cool . It was ok but it u like ur rooms cold it wont happen. Overall i would stay there again

    The hotel was nice and in a nice location . It was easy access to restaurants , bars , other on the same street , across the street and a block away. Main mall street and other attractions very close to walking distance . Many attractions are walking distance . El Prado, the market , the cathedral, palace all withing walking distance . Hotel rooms were nice , spacious . It had 24 hr front desk. The air conditioner was Poor. Taxi access was 50 feet away .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the bedroom there were no electricity sockets near the bed or table so you had to plug everything in and leave items on the floor to charge up.

    Great Location. Very helpful staff. Traditionally furnished but very well presented.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    In general was about a 8.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not friendly people. The bed, I asked for a double or queen size, i had twins bed instead. I asked for the staff to resolved, but they did not do anything. Not very friendly people in general.

    The room was nice. But breakfast was ok. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Awesome location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel reception did not provide certification letter to the Embassy for visa when I kindly asked.

    Awesome location. Rooms are modern and spacious. AC is working good and the fridge was present.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Super Place To Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect at the hotel. The restaurant N Norte attached was terrible.

    Everything was wonderful: the staff, the room, the location especially wonderful, between Gran Billa and Puerta de Sol but on a quiet side street! Breakfast was great! We will definitely go back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    Unexpected (flight was cancelled) but fun.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com messed up the info they sent through to the hotel which caused a bit of confusion. Not the hotel's fault and they were happy to fix things!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Hidden gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    The room is small and might have been a tight fit if more than 2 people in the room. Other than this, the room was great for just the amount of time spent in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Very good hotel in very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great but of course if it was a bit cheaper it would have been even better.

    Very good room with excellent bathroom and large comfortable bed. Very good location close to several underground stations and Calle Gran Via. Good restaurant across the road and good cheap café for breakfast and a beer in the evening. Just to the south. Air conditioned.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit basic. More fresh fruit would have been nice. However it seems to be the norm in Europe. Pillows weren't very comfortable, funny shape & a bit hard. Two soft pillows would have been better, but I still slept well.

    Lovely clean hotel in a great central location but still quiet. Reasonably priced for a capital city. Friendly helpful front desk staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Excellent stay at II Castillas Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed could have been comfier and would have preferred iron in room.

    The location was ideal, located between Gran Via and Sol, perfect for going out anywhere central. The lobby and decor was very nice, and the bathrooms and showers all seemed recently re-done and massively exceeded expetation. Very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Very nice, at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was attractive, the room was spacious, and the bed was quite comfortable. We were only there for one night, but found the location handy to all the sites of Madrid and the staff friendly and receptive. Not on the most trendy block in the city, but it was quite a good deal for downtown Madrid. We would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    4.2
    Only for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very very bad breakfast. It's much better in other hôtels. Small room and poor equipment. In all single rooms, the bed is just under the window. You get the curtain in your face when you sleep and of course the light wakes you up very early in the morning. I moved the bed. Works in the restaurant next door so a lor of noise.

    The location between the Gran Via and Placa del Sol. The price thanks to a dream offer from Booking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.1
    Convienient placing have stayed in better hosteks near by
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds staff in mornings Attitude

    Expensive basic hotel very well cituated suffers from city centre staff attitude. Especisly in bar and restaurant. Lcation is the only winner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Very good hotel, nice clean rooms, very friendly personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast is not very good, with little choice but OK overall.

    Very good hotel, nice clean rooms, very friendly personnel. Perfect location. It was our 3rd time in II Castillas. Would be happy to stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse II Castillas Madrid traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: