Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ilunion Bilbao 3 stars

Rodríguez Arias, 66, 48013 Bilbao, Spain

#29 of 47 hotels in Bilbao

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5479 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location for BBK festival, close to centre of...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for BBK festival, close to centre of things and bus pick up for travel to the festival. Handy free 14.00 check out after a few very late nights with a later flight.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Very clean and basic rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean and basic rooms. Good location to explore the city. Near good bars and restaurants. Helpfull staff. We thought it was easy to hear people in the corridor but guess ut depends where you are located.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Highly recommended - very clean large rooms and convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing I didn't like about Hotel Ilunion. I would definitely stay here again.

    This hotel is fantastic. Everything is spotlessly clean. Large bedroom and large bathroom with shower, comfortable large bed, nice lighting, with ample room for luggage, wardrobe hanging and desk spaces. The location is great, about 1 min walk to the airport bus stop (at Gran Via 79) and 5 mins from the bus station. All that is reason enough to stay here when in Bilbao. But even better, 40% of the employees of the hotel have some kind of disability, and the company is dedicated to social change for good. Why would you stay anywhere else?

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Go for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park was full, it was Saturday evening all on street parking in was occupied. My fault should have booked it in advance.

    Car park was full so staff were very very helpful in finding a solution. Having checked in we wandered the locality found a friendly bar and enjoyed some draft beers on the street tables. The area was a hive of activity and we enjoyed people watching. Next day we drove to the Guggenheim, frankly we could have walked it in 15 mins. We enjoyed strolling along the riverbank and soaking up the atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.4
    clean, large beds, the food and drink in the bar area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was building work going on which I was not told about the staff on reception were like robots, unfriendly, un co-operative and they lied to me when I asked if there was going to be any builders working outside our bedroom

    clean, large beds, the food and drink in the bar area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    We had the twin room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in staff.

    We had the twin room. Huge, comfortable bed and pillows. Nice linen. Nice room in general. Good supply of towels. Nice bathroom. No outlook as the hotel is being refurbished and we only saw scaffolding out of our window. Ice for a one night stay. The booking staff sere not friendly at all. Very unusual for Spain as we have experienced the best and friendly service at all times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    The room was clean and very comfortable, the staff were trying their best. good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction zone in and around the building. Smoking at front door. No heating. Days we were there were cool and our room was freezing. No tea coffee facilities. Brochure promises complimentary early morning fresh coffee delivered to room - tried to access this but was told by reception that they were on their own and couldn’t leave desk. When I asked about heating was told not to worry tomorrow will be a warmer day!! Hotel didn’t reply to my emailed question and stuff hung up phone when I called

    Room clean and newly renovated. Loved location and Bilbao

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and comfortable , friendly staff and good value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy at night in the rooms as there are a couple of bars on the same street

    Very clean and comfortable , friendly staff and good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.2
    No good! Very dissapointed ! The Hotel staff should be training again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service, misleading information in regards noise problem with construction our room we never had a rest!! A least the hotel should been warning or move to other room.

    It was very dissapointed since the checking, the hotel gave a room without requested extra towels and pillows for 3rd guess. The housekeeper was rude and cranky! . The hotel never made turn down service and picked dirty towels and trash!...then I had to went down front desk and ask for towel by 10 pm. The woman in charge gave a huge package with towels instead the housekeeper put in room. Also our room was faced to street and Every morning 7 am was a construction workers making loud noise and wake up us !!.that was mortified us!! The Hotel never noticed o warning anyone on booking.com !! That is misleading !! As the guess must been noticed about this important issue because we want to get rest !! I would never again book in this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.0
    Do not stay here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    total rip off regardingg value for price, was charged 268 euros per night. Room needs painting, the bathroom walls the paint was peeling. Room was very run down. There was mold in the corners of the windows. Just not what i expected from the pictures and the price.

    hard to tell, there wasnt much, good breakfast and staff was friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Conveniently located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was scaffolding around the whole hotel for maintenance works, including around our window. Would have been nice to have known that before booking. The staff was not very friendly, although they did what they had to do.

    Good beds and bathroom, enough space in the room. Convenient location, walking distance to all the attractions yet outside of the main bustle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Well run modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    This is a modern city businessman hotel but well located to the aGuggenheim Museum. They have their own underground parking next to the hotel a plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    well located modern hotel-shame about the lack of air con
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot and there was no air con available in the room as they classed mid May as "winter"! The hotel staff said they were unable to reverse the settings for the hotel other than the common areas such as the lobby. It made for a hot airless and uncomfortable sleep even with the window wide open.

    super clean, spacious and modern room with fantastic bathroom and shower. Shame the the room was so hot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Private parking, easy commute from motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel says rooms have air-con. A bit of a lie as it is only turned on in the “hot season”. Well, the end of May might not be hot to Spaniards, but the room was stifling to us as Brits. We had to have the windows open all night which was rather noisy. The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment compared to other hotels in Spain.

    Very convenient to drive to from the motorway. It has a private underground garage - invaluable in an hotel in a big city. Comfy beds, big bathroom and generous toiletries for the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not feel welcome in this hotel. Reception staff were cold and check In was ridiculously long and protracted. Room service hung up on us twice which was pretty poor for a hotel of this caliber.

    The locality was excellent and the room spacious and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    Very comfortable bed, spacious room, very quiet despite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The coffee at the breakfast station was awful.

    Very comfortable bed, spacious room, very quiet despite being close to major traffic routes. Conveniently situated , close to main shopping area and streets with lots of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a bright blue light on the room's temperature gauge, which was disruptive when trying to sleep.

    The location was excellent and the facilities in the room and bathroom were very good (in particular the shower and the hairdryer). The breakfast was good, too. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    A marathon, not a sprint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The two twats I shared a room with, who snored all night for three long, painful restless nights.

    Patricia on reception. I would love to discover whether she has tattoos elsewhere, other than the one that she had on her wrist... hot hot hot! The bar next door to the hotel. My friends said that the coffee was infinitely better than the muck served up with the hotel breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Brilliant! Loved Bilbao.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was poor. The car parking was expensive. The room rate was extortionate.

    Patricia on reception. I would like to find out whether she has more than just the tattoo on her wrist. Very very sexy li'l lady, and right up my street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Extremely clean bedroom and bathroom with bright, modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in staff could have been more friendly but it was the day of the European rugby final so perhaps they were slightly stressed out. I had submitted a request for an earlier check-in via the Booking.com website which was unfortunately ignored, the hotel never acknowledged it or made any reference to it.

    Extremely clean bedroom and bathroom with bright, modern decor. Lots of great bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Very easy to get to from the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.4
    Convenient location, walking distance to the bus terminal to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the Family Suite (max occupancy for 4 people) because we wanted to have a bigger room, but as we were a group of 3, they changed the room to a much smaller one without asking us (at no discount). We complained this is not what we asked for and have got the Family Suite back after all, but it was not pleasant start at all.

    Convenient location, walking distance to the bus terminal to go to San Sebastian, and close to tram stop.20-30 minutes walk to the old town but it's ok (otherwise you can take tram).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Efficient hotel but don't expect more than a room and facilities that are consistent with the cost.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is dark and echos due to its marble flooring. Its typical of old hotels in Spain.

    Great location in old Bilbao. The city is much improved and is continuing to improve. Bathroom and shower excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was great but make sure you’re prepared to walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some work going on there at the moment but it wasn’t too disruptive. Not a lot of good English speakers in Bilbao at all so trying to order in the restaurant and ask questions at reception was very difficult.

    Location good once you got to know your way around. You will walk a lot - it’s at the opposite side of town to the old town but everything is walkable. Take the short cut across the park to the Guggenheim. Very good location to get bus to/from the airport. Hotel was very modern, quiet and clean. Seemed to be a few restaurants in the area but I found it difficult to order due to limited Spanish and ended up using the local supermarket for supplies which is very close by. Loved that they employ 40% staff with some form of disability which I hadn’t known before I went but a great idea and would encourage me to use them again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Best of both worlds in Bilbao
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Brandnew rooms with luxury bathrooms in excellent location between bus terminal and old city. Even though the street is quiet the windows which you can open are soundproof. We slept like babies and were very rested.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Very good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we stayed at the hotel, there were reconstruction works carried out. It caused a lot of noise and dust. AC was not working due to reconstruction

    Very good breakfast. Comfortable bed/beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.6
    Non coaprative staff and unreliable room security
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone came into our room arround 7 in the morning, then two time the cleaning last came in without knocking. When complained to the staff the response was priceless "ok, thank you, by"

    Clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Convenient hotel in Bilbao.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, only 0.5 miles to the Guggenheim and 1 mile to el Casco Viejo, so no need to use taxis or public transportation. On-site parking, but make sure you have a tiny car like we did.It's cozy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    The parking facility was a joke !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking facility was a joke !!. For the limited space and how difficult it is to park the car , they should include the prize of it ( 19 € ) in the room and not charge for it .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location in the heart of the town with secure...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant although in nice sorroundings was rather disappointing providing unimaginable dishes.

    Excellent location in the heart of the town with secure parking, easy to walk around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    For the money that we gave the hotel was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The temperature of the room was very high and since they had central heating we couldn't turn it off. Therefore we had to keep our window open at all times. The bed wasn't very comfortable plus they had constructing work at the building accross the street and there was too much noise almost all day. AS for the location we thought it would be closer to main attractions.

    For the money that we gave the hotel was ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    The room was clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the reception, the clerk send us to park in the hotel, only to find out rudely that the parking was full and we had to park 5 minutes away. At the reception, our clerk spoke spanish or basque. No english or french.

    The room was clean and spacious. The Wi-fi was okay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel in the right location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a cosier ambience at reception and lobby.

    Rooms are clean and bright. Bathroom is very good. Very close to main shopping street (Gran Via). Close to main bus station (10 Mins walk)......( We travelled from Santander ). Bus stop to airport around corner on Gran Via... ask at reception for bus number. Bus is €1.90 approx each.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    I have stayed in Ilunion Bilbao before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I still think that sound isolation can be improved.

    I have stayed in Ilunion Bilbao before. As I always arrive in via Termibus, it is always a great choice. It is very well connected with city and inter-urban transportation. Currently, it is under renovation. So, for its price, I would say Ilunion Bilbao is one of the best options in Bilbo.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Never to repeat! Located in a street full of bars with noise until dawn which we were able to hear in the rooms, plus the works taking place inside the hotel from 8 in the morning. The perfect cocktail for an unpleasant stay. But worst than that was the fact that the hotel’s Director does not have hesitated for a moment to have my car towed, although it was parked for longer than it was allowed in the place reserved for guests for unloading and loading ofbaggage. I had just arrived to a city I didn’t know, tired after driving for almost 600 km, so this situation caused serious inconveniences to our stay, not to mention an extra expenditure of €166.00, between towing, fine and taxi. To finish off in beauty, the employee who works at the car depot attempted to extort me € 100.00 for the amount of the fine, which I was supposed to pay (according to her) immediately and in cash, which obviously, I declined to do. Subsequently the agent of authority, who did not witness this situation, charged the fine in the correct amount of 45.00 €, which I paid through ATM terminal. I leave here this report, so that, whoever admits the possibility of making a reservation at this hotel, know that its director and reception staff do not defend or have any respect or consideration for their clients. The hotel employees were aware that the car belonged to a Portuguese guest (because I let one of the employees know as soon as I arrived and parked the car), so the normal, professional and correct thing to do was to call my room and ask to pick up the car, even though I had involuntarily abused the parking limit time. That would be correct! Hard to imagine such a thing happening to us! Still less in a fascinating city like Bilbao!...

    Do conforto geral do quarto apesar da janela dar para um saguão.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    For the price the room was nicer than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived very early by plane and dropped our luggage. No possibility of check in before 2. Whilst we sorted our luggage to be stored 3 males checked in who could converse in Spanish, unlike us, and appeared to be told to wait nearby. The manner of the staff with these men was totally different and much friendlier. You would think that International visitors would be treated as well as “locals”. The hotel shouldn’t accomodate international visitors if we are not welcome. (Staff member (younger male) who checked us out at 5.30am very polite).

    For the price the room was nicer than expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay, Hotel under minor renovations
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular. I'm certain that after the renovations are done it will be even nicer

    The staff was polite even though we had some minor communication problems in English. The Hotel is a good deal, big rooms but partially under construction

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    Modern hotel with great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One member of the reception staff was extra grumpy and when asked if we could park our motorcycle, he just said car park full. We questioned this as it was a major factor in our choice of this hotel. Another member of staff got involved who was extremely helpful, even guiding us down to a spot in the(not full at all) car park.

    Freshly decorated room with all new quality bathroom fittings etc. Reasonable size, comfortable beds, 24 hour reception desk Underground parking. Cafe was OK, we did not eat breakfast here.The hotel is being extensively refurbished but they was no builders noise when we were sleeping. Great central location with easy access to A8 Autovia and 19K from Bilbao to Portsmouth ferry.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    The staff was excellent, the hotel was very well located,...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was excellent, the hotel was very well located, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was also good compared to many hotels at this level. They also have a room where you can leave your luggage as much as you want after check out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    Value for money and close to the San Mames stadium!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No intention from check-in clerk to even try to accommodate our request for an early check-in. Not very welcoming at all.

    Extra bed ready on arrival, as requested!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    The beds were very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Senior Reception staff abrupt and very unhelpful. Renovation works were taking place which we were not informed of. Leaky taps and very very noisy. Air conditioning is switched off in winter months even though it was very hot and stuffy in the rooms.

    The beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    There is no individual heating/cooling system per room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no individual heating/cooling system per room (as explained by the staff). In our stay, it was already getting warm and there was no cool air available, we opened the windows but there was a lot of noise from the strong winds. We woke up quite a lot, so not a good night sleep at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Go and see for your self. Bilbao is a fabulous city. Like this hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    I'm a frequent costumer of this brand of hotels and, since this day, just one bad experience. But this hotel exceed my expectations. Staff, location, room... Is almost perfect. An extra advice? Just go.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for the price, definitely exceeding exception!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The showers had a removable shower head that didn't lock into place correctly. As a result, if you turned the water on too high, it would tilt upward and spray the entire bathroom with water. This seemed like a rather strange design choice.

    Clean, good housekeeping, and in a convenient location. Excellent value for the price!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar prices were very high in comparison to the surrounding bars and the building work was a bit intrusive.

    The staff were friendly and the location was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed the stay very much, the location is fantastic, walking distance to all my points of interest
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Draft from the window

    Great location, very good hotel and kind staff. My room was a bit cold though due to the draft from the window. Besides that no complaints.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the pillows too soft and a little uncomfortable.

    Where do I start, absolutely amazing the staff at reception, so friendly and helpful( I’m so sorry that I can’t name them all) the bar staff Andoni, Jonatan,Alex hope that I don’t forget anyone! So attentive couldn’t do more for us. The family room was huge! Spacious with everything commodity. This hotel will become our case in Bilbao

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.0
    Alarmed at being charged more than the booking reservation stated and that the hotel permitted this
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were overcharged and I have been given no explanation as to why. Hotel has promised a refund but in the meantime I wasted 2 hours of my time trying to discover why we were overcharged.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    What check-in staff should not do
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably the worst check-in experience I've had. Staff could not find my booking; they then hurried to find another free room with limited communication or explanation to myself. I was then given room 208 after 25 minutes, standing, in the wait. Upon entering room 208 it was evident the room had not been cleaned for a new guest. A very negative 'welcome' experience. Not recommended unfortunately. Good price, but you can find better elsewhere for the same amount of money as Bilbao is cheap.

    Modern decor, clean rooms, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.7
    Rooms Needs refurbishment
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked superior room and was given a much worse room with a window in shaft with opaque glass panes. Arrived very late after delay and emergency landing so did not have energy to complain as I slept straight away and next morning left early for business.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    if I back to Bilbao, I would stay in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the beds are very comfortable, very clean spacious room, in walking distance everywhere in the center. Th ebuilding does not look very impressing, but inside it is really very very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.5
    Amazing
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the time of my visit they were rebuiding part of the hotel what cause some noise in the morning

    The location is perfect for walking to the main tourist ppints. People are amazing. The room is clean and modern Retaurants around are very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    5.8
    Overall hotel accommodations were satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first 2 days of the stay in the room-studio were not completely comfortable since it was hot inside of the rooms and when hotel staff recommended us to open windows we were not able to do it as had 2 young children and windows had no protective guards on them. We didn't like waiters during breakfast time since they seemed to stare at people making guests feel uncomfortable and at times embarrassed. It would be helpful if they smile more and look less tense and more relaxed.

    We liked that the 1st room was spacious and had comfortable beds. Breakfast had a good variety of meals for the morning time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.3
    Rooms are good and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed to book an extra night and it can't be done in the hotel only on-line! And after having it done, it took 40 minutes to be on their system!!! Non-Sense and a completely waste to time.

    Rooms are good and clean. Free Wi-fi works at good speeds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    2.9
    What a great disappointment!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a great disappointment!!! When we arrived, i checked the room service menu to order dinner the same night after we do a small tour in the city. The room service manual said its available till 11pm on the holidays, imagine our shock when we came back to the hotel at 9:30 and the reception says everything is closed including the room service!! The room is northing like the photos on booking.com, the shower drain is blocked, the toilet drips water nonstop, the bed and pillow are uncomfortable at alllll!!! The cherry on the top, they started reconstruction work above our room at 8am!!! When we called to complain the person who replied said yes its normal, and that its normal to wake us up. Forcing us to leave the room as the noise was impossible to deal with. I went to get a manager to speak with, no shock at all, he is not here and they cannot do anything for us. I dont recommend this fake hotel at all.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    6.3
    The personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the first room they gave me, the dust in the elevators, and the fact that they used the social elevators for servicing the rebuilding crew instead of using the service one.

    The personnel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    Just one day stay friendly staff. Price is Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the hotel Was cold. There was a malfunction. Because of this the breakfast was free. Friendly solution

    They have a garage for the car Which is very conveniënt. The intercom at the garage could be louder

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.8
    You should really fight for your needs (to offer solutions...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You should really fight for your needs (to offer solutions and insist). Lightning in the room - successful. Internet - failed. Money will be taken when you check in, not check out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    Uninterested, unsensitive staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff was utterly unenthusiastic: hardly any eye-contact as if I was at a Soviet union Post Office. I arrived from a work assignment with the baby (2 years) who needed to get his afternoon nap. Nevertheless they put me in a room exactly beside construction works, with shouting and hammering the whole afternoon. Also the matrimonial bed I had asked for long before (because of the baby) wasn't available. Had I been informed about any of this, I could have cancelled in time and booked somewhere else. As in many older hotels: on no side of the bed is any plug: you have to distribute your devices over the room.

    Good location in Poças: many bars and restaurants and parks around. Nice design of the entrance area. Our room was spacious and very clean. The room keeping woman was the only smiling staff member.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    3.8
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    They refused to turn the air conditioning on regardless it was 90F outside!. The did not offer parking space the day I arrived and had to leave the car on the street! The staff was unfriendly and helpless!

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    very comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast is basic, and is only available after 7 (7.30 on week-ends) which in fact was 7:05 which counts a lot when you are in hurry in the morning. Thermostat in the room works very strange. If you want to have heating in the room in winter then you want to set it to 25 °C then it does not work, but if you set it for 10 °C then it will heat. ?!?! Check in is very slow, although the receptionists are very nice.

    very comfortable room. Kind personell. Good location, 15-20 min walking to historical district. 3 min walking to the airport bus

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't be cheap on maintenance, it will eventually pull down your ratings on social media and you will lose customers. Invest some in the look of the reception, it's the small details like the cheap mouse pads that lower the first impression.

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    Don't bother! Spend a bit more on a better hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on reception were extremely rude on check in, 3 staff, only 2 could check in, why bother!? I had to ask to be seen to after waiting for 15 minutes in a chaotic check in area. The man serving didn't have a name tag on; perhaps this is because he is so rude & doesn't want to be named & shamed? Also the parking wasn't clear, ended up in the wrong car park as Ilunion has a big advertisement on their door & it failed to open when we went down into the garage. It was also extremely tight and our car wouldn't fit in the space. The room looked nothing like the images, old, tired, no furniture and the air conditioning didn't work so it was unbearably hot-when it wasn't even hot outside! Window on the 13th floor opened fully which in my opinion was so dangerous. Will not be returning, disappointment of our tour of Spain! Sad near ending to our honeymoon!

    Far from the old town but close to shops

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.8
    Nice area, very central
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby looked very nice, but my room did not live up to that. The ac didn’t work, it was very hot and I couldn’t open the window because it was right over a roof where construction workes climbed in front of it and I was scared that someone could enter the open window. The room as well was very basic, no place you would feel comfortable at all. And the hotel wasn’t a cheap deal. Disappointing stay.

    Nice area, very central

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    I highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Bilbao and wish this chain had hotels all over Europe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Honestly cannot think of anything negative. I really enjoyed my stay there and wish it could have been longer.

    Location was great, halfway between bus and train station - both within 15 min walking distance. There is also a bus stop just around the corner where you can catch a city bus to the airport (really cheap) . The staff was very helpful and the room was quite large and very comfortable. it is close to a large lovely park and about 10 min walk to the Guggenheim museum.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable, woukld recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very sleek, spacious & comfortable. Initial (night) reception person was a bit abrupt(not welcoming) but all other encounters with staff were friendly & helpful, especially wakeup calls. Great cafes either side, one excellent tapas, the other provided good bocadillos or club sandwiches for breakfast .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.4
    Location and nice lobby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Basic at best. The hotels photos do not give the correct image of the hotel rooms. On the website it said air conditioned room and when we got to the hotel the room was very hot and only the heat was working. The very nice and friendly maid called the reception and they called my room to tell me that the air conditioning only works in the summer and the heat only works in the winter. It is mid october and hot outside. However the air conditioning in the lobby worked quite well. When I asked the front desk they were very unfriendly and did not care at all. As well the basic buffet that was 14 Euro per person was not good and way over priced for what it was. To top it off we showed up at 9:50am and were asked if we were finished with the food as they needed to tear it down and asked us to leave so they could do so. Overall a bad experience and will not reccommend this hotel to anyone.

    Location and nice lobby

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Staff at from desk were very helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The acoustics of the room were not great. We could hear people sneeze in the adjacent rooms, and also hear the shower running, so loud it sounded like it was our own shower. Also there was a complete power outage on Saturday night, for some time.

    Staff at from desk were very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.7
    It was a too expensive for the service we got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The general maintenance of the room was not good, the paint was coming off the mirror and the walls not so well painted. At night it got really hot, it was not a hot day at all...

    The location of the Hotel is very convenient and also it was quite clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.3
    superb location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    sound proofing was bad. on the last day the housekeepign went 5 times to ask if they could clean the room, even with the non-disturb sign present and one of them when I was still sleeping. Cleaning should be more better. The hotel looked like it was recently renovated, the room looked nice but it looked like that they forgot to work on the bathroom.

    breakfast was quite good; location was superb, a few minutes ago from the stadium, the museum, the university conference centre, the business conference centre and close to a pintxos street. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    4.6
    Perfect place to sleep a few hours and get out, the breakfast was the highlight of the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told pArking on site was full, and I needed to take care to other site. Not accommodating and did not care to show where parking was just spoke directions very quickly. The room seem bare and cold not cozy. I needed to stay an extra night and that was just a turn off.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    OK for a town centre hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic (nothing hot at all) and the room a bit "tired".

    You walk into reception and you're impressed - modern, clean etc. You go to, in my case, your executive room and you think "this is rather tired and needs a refurb". However the room was quiet and the bed comfortable. Plus you were on top of the town centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    I stayed in five hotels in my trip through northern Spain and this ranks a joint first.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't think of anything that I could criticise. sorry cannot exceed to the 200 word recendation

    The friendliest staff on whole trip. The hotel situation in the city was very good.one of bonuses was a superb café selling fantastic snacks right next door. Good transport services taking you across the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were grumpy and unhelpful. We ordered food in the bar but my spaghetti dish arrived cold and over an hour after my partner had finished eating his, the staff failed to see an issue with this, didn't apologies or offer any refund. Room was also very average and not worth the full price. Fine if you're only stopping over for business and will be in and out but even then, I'm sure there are better places to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.2
    Coldish and unpleasant stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cold! It was cold in the room. Disappointing room (I had asked for a room "sunny, with a view and double bed". The room happened to be "dark, with no view the window giving to a horrible inner enclosed area and two single beds!)

    The silence at night

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.4
    Average hotel. Wouldnt return to Bilbao. Guggenheim the only thing to see...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy bar at night downstairs. Terrible food - a theme we encountered throughout Bilbao, which surprised us, as we'd heard it was a gastronomic capital! Not prepeared to eat day-old Tapas, dry bread and bacon or pay 60 - 70 Euro for a meal in a "fine" dining restaurant that frankly, was substandard.

    Was an average hotel. Kettle in room. Probably wouldnt stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: