Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cabogata Mar Garden Hotel & Spa 4 stars

de los Juegos de Casablanca, s/n (Urbanización el Toyo), 04131 Retamar, Spain

Review score

Based on 989 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Practically all sunbeds were reserved all the time. On the second day of our stay, I counted 60 beds next to the pool. 7 were actually occupied and 53 had towels and no people.

    Nice rooms, beautiful pool-area, good restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Perfect holiday for family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything surpasses my expectation - price, food, snack, beverage, facilities, cleaning, staffs' kindness. My family enjoyed the real holiday here!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.7
    My partner left a jacket in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner left a jacket in the room. We phoned the hotel twice and were told someone would get back to us. No- one has contacted us and I assume the jacket was stolen.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location, nice facility, all set but for the invasive entertainment program.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "entertainment" program at the hotel was obtrusive. Blaring music till 1am ruins the otherwise cool beach vibe.

    Very close to the coast and cabo de gata park.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    very pleasant,relaxing,lovely walks.And the breakfast were legend.Never dried out,and huge variety o
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walkin shower.the water gets in the bathroom and makes the room extremely slippery.as my hubby is blind he cannot see this and he nearly slipped.

    Our room was super spacious and very easy to negotiate for my blind husband.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Very good food, staff very friendly and helpful, Nice pool,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel has central air-conditioning. It was insufficient for the room (fan at max, running all the time and still hot) and the main unit was too noizy. Price was a bit too high.

    Very good food, staff very friendly and helpful, Nice pool, loads of sunbeds, beach at walking distance. Animation program every day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.8
    Amazing Cabo da Gata
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is unacceptable a hotel located in a place with high temperature and humidity, have a very weak air conditioning. We spoke to the front desk but it is misleading to have good air conditioning in the reception and bar and then the rooms look like a sauna I would like more spanish gastronomy during the meals. Some employees werent friendly The pool and inside of building need better maintenance

    Location very close to the beach, quiet, near almeria, near airport and location with a amazing views. Hotel good for families with childrens. Animation at evening. Hifi in all hotel The rooms with bacony with amazing views Good rooms Parking in hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    2.5
    Very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really not worth spending this sort of money there. It's not proper Almeria, beach is poor, parking is expensive, poor staff, cleanliness is below average

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    A pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bedroom furniture and TV would be improved if they were upgraded.

    We were very pleased with the staff at the Reception and a special mention to the gentleman at the Shop (Giving us tips on coves and beaches to visit). We were also pleased with cleanliness of the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    4.2
    Won't return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt like stale smoke, the queue to get a drink at the bar was awful and took so long. We had informed the hotel that it was our 30th wedding anniversary and they didn't do anything to recognize this, the charge of 6 euros a day to park our car was a joke when the hotel car park was empty.

    The sea view was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The plastic glasses from the pool bar could have been bigger.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, we upgraded to all inclusive and the food at all meal times were great. Pool area kept clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything. The food court was great. This is a nice place to get rested. It is the ideal place for couples and families.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    A good respite for us after we had a rather traumatic time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the hotel was full of families there for their holidays we enjoyed the facilities and the respite in our travels. The staff were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Solo travelers stay away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not for a solo traveler. Very family & couple oriented.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Very good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night

    Very good facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.0
    Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy with loud music most of day up to midnight could bearly talk in room without shouting

    Checking out

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    Clean spacious rooms - nice outside pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room with see view costs more but is very noisy

    Clean spacious rooms - nice outside pools

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect to recharge the batteries...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No in-room tea making facilities

    ✌️ peace and quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Good trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average buffet food ( some food was only warm)

    Great pools and entertainment

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool, location, entertainment, sea view room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely relaxing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach didn't have watersports

    Closeness to the beach, the swimming pools and always sun beds available

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Lots of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of space. Loads of sunbeds

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.5
    Hotel familiar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet regular

    Amplia habitacion

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel but nothing around the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing outside the hotel except one bar

    Excellent buffet breakfast Lots if pools

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.1
    Good spot for family with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is more a family hotel, a lot of kids and a bit noisy.

    Big rooms, with nice views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Family holiday making wonderful memories!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Clean comfortable room, friendly staff. Lovely pools. Helpful lifeguards. Great entertainment loved it!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Great Breakfast, Great Family place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great places to stay. Great FAMILY PLACE to stay, with kids - lots to do, have Staff just for keeping kids HAPPY.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.6
    The facilities and location are exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in rooms would add to an otherwise delightful trip.

    Front desk personnel were extremely helpful and personable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    5.8
    Ok for one night but not for long stay
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi bed uncomfortable and not what I expected

    Staff were great and helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    2.9
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We couldn't get any sleep because they had a massive party till midnight and didn't tell us about it. Awful facilities not a spa hotel, awful rooms dated and uncomfortable. There is nothing good about this hotel avoid at all costs, staff were almost all unhelpful.

    Nothing. It isn't even that cheap in comparison to other hotels.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    4.2
    The bed was lovely and big and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were informed upon arrival that the wifi only worked in the lobby area, this is not acceptable from a hotel. We were also informed when we asked about if the fridge in the room worked that it was "not a fridge like you would normally know ...it doesn't cool things down but if you put something cold in it it stays cold." We found this not to be the case upon further inspection, it seems that the fridges DO work but they have been turned down so they don't work. The fact that the electricity works only when the room key is in the door means that obviously when you leave the room the fridge is turned off so anything that you want to remain cool does not stay cool. This is not acceptable.

    The bed was lovely and big and comfortable. The room was clean and smelled really nice.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    7.5
    Entertainment team / Equipo de animación.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The beach next to the hotel is awful / La playa del hotel es horrible.

    Entertainment team / Equipo de animación. Nice and varied food / Comida buena y variada

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: