Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rústico Spa Finisterrae 2 stars

Camino de la Insua, 93, 15155 Finisterre, Spain

#12 of 16 hotels in Finisterre

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1061 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel with comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely Hotel with comfortable beds. Beautiful views, nice swimming pool. We didn’t use the spa so can’t speak to that. Very complete and delicious breakfast included in the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, peaceful and relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water could have been a bit hotter in the shower.

    Nice room with a view, a friendly and helpful girl at check in , relaxed atmosphere. Very welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Ocean Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t get a massage without ordering days in advance. Not unreasonable, but it would have been a great treat.

    We enjoyed the breeze and views. A great respite after our long walk!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    A little expensive for the conditions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms don´t have the best view. Poor noise isolation between rooms and halls. Cleaning ladies are a bit noisy. There is no AC and the room gets to hot with the sun over the windows.

    Ok Breakfast. Good Cleanliness. Reception people are very nice and helpfull. Good wi-fi signal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    After camino relaxation.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wouldn't necessarily say the hotel is worth the money. I would stay here again for one night but not for a long extended stay. The hotel is located on top of a hill which makes for a great view but could be difficult to get there by walking.

    We had an absolutely gorgeous room with the most amazing bed. We had a view of the beach and the bathroom was pristine - with a tub! This was a perfect hotel to stay in after completing the camino. I would recommend staying here for a night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    3.8
    Chinches .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chinches . Bed bugs . Parasitas . It stills itching me past 24 hours . One could never believe : payed 79 Euros to get a role into a nightmare class B movie . Avoid .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    comfort and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The perfect stay after my Camino. The staff was friendly and the Location is superb. A special thanks to Lidia, you are an amazing host and you made me feel so welcome. Thanks and I will be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    The location was good as long as you do not mind a hike up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The biggest issue was lack of service from the front desk. Often there was no one there and the entry was locked even before checkout time. I had to go in a back way to get my luggage left there.

    The location was good as long as you do not mind a hike up the hill. It was quiet and peaceful with a lovely view and pool. Hiking from there was very good and views were spectacular.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    This turned out to be a really nice small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little tucked away and a bit difficult to find.

    There had been an issue with the booking before we arrived but it was swiftly dealt with. The communication with the hotel was really good so we knew that we had a bed for the night when we arrived. We were met by a very nice young lady who gave us a lovely room with a fantastic view over the bay. She was really helpful and the restaurant that she recommended was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    The rooms were spotless and quaint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner (the man) is not very friendly. He never acknowledged our presence

    The rooms were spotless and quaint. Location on top of the hill was good because it was quiet and the view was amazing. The breakfast was great ( food, music, and ambience). The lady serving breakfast was really kind and so nice. She also cleans the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    A very memorable stay and finish to our spiritual journey!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road to the hotel was difficult and hard to find .

    very strong girl on reception helped us with our luggage. and very friendly, she made our day !! view from room excellent . Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    The best choice in a cold and rainy day!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    A spa too expensive for one person, 25 eur per 25 minutes.

    A warm and nice room. Close to Camino to Muxia. Heating in the room during the whole day and night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Clean and orderly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only real complaint was the 5 minute uphill walk from the town center and the breakfast buffet was a bit limited to bread/toast, meats, and cereals. Not much in the way of fruits, cheeses, yogurts.

    Everthing was orderly, clean, and functioned properly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.4
    The lady serving breakfast was very friendly and the...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was very very rude and unfriendly.It was way out of town with a very steep uphill to get there.All the books in the library were locked in and no response when you ask to look at it.No beachfront and the beach was not nearby.No tea or coffee facilities-had to walk down to town and back again for something to eat and drink.After the camino that was really not nice.My worst stay in Spain and totally overpriced.

    The lady serving breakfast was very friendly and the Santiago cake good.That is actually the only things that were positive and i felt sorry for her working there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    2.5
    I don't speak German, so unable to answer your questions.
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't speak German, so unable to answer your questions. First, the hotel was not close to the center of town and required waking up and down steep hills to go anywhere. Second, the room was in the basement with only 1 tiny window looking out to a busy road. The room smelt musty and was cold. My marmot jacket was stollen from my chair outside my room the staff made no attempt to help me get it back. We bought 2 bottles of wine that we're both bad. They did reimburse us. I cannot recommend this place and would not stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Cant wait to stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Last hill to the parking was a bit steep. No problem for smaller vehicles but a bit challenging for a nine-person van.

    Gorgeous location with views of the ocean from many rooms. Lovely host who was helpful, charming, and enthusiastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.0
    A bit disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit disappointing..its not a hotel really ..no food available except for breakfast. Quite a climb down and up from town to get food . Definitely no check in before 3pm ..we arrived so wet and were shown kindness from cleaning ladies. Proprietor is a bit arrogant and unhelpful ..not very friendly . Room lovely and clean ..lovely fresh bed linen ..comfortable..spa an extra ..not free and only available by pre booking ..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Large, comfortable, clean rooms, which are good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really a criticism but just a suggestion to put a sign in the top rooms to warn guests of the sloping ceiling. I bumped my head so many times on it :(.

    The hotel was very good value. Large, clean room. Good breakfast included in the low price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice room. Great view. Late and inflexible check in time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inflexible check in time (15h00). You couldn't even leave your bag in the lobby unless you had pre-arranged (and paid for) an earlier check in time. Location some distance up a hill away from the centre of town.

    Very nice room with great view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    The Highlands of Scotland are beautiful but, this is a few leagues above!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are a nature lover and appreciate the natural things in life, there is nothing that is not to like!

    This is the most Westerly point in Europe so how can it not possibly be fantastic; that is of course, unless you are looking for a McDonalds or KFC in which case, just stay away!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.4
    A bit disappointing considering the high price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff. Arrived 2.00 cold after walking Camino. Went to wrong hotel rustica- there are two! This one is the rustica spa. Unable to make me a coffee on arrival. Said cafe opened at 3.00. Made me an instant coffee at 3.00. No food available - not even a bit of cake or bread. Very pricy stay considering it cost more than lovely hotels in Santiago next to cathedral in old monastery buildings. Breakfast okay. Homemade cake and pie. I asked to see Spa. Was told I had to book. Didn’t use it - they didn’t seem to want to be bothered.

    Warm, clean, comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable for a break from albergues during the Camino. Amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the hotel for the spa, which was awful and overpriced. We didn't go in peak season, so maybe they don't keep the jacuzzi and sauna heated the whole time, but both were unacceptably cold.

    The breakfast was excellent, even though I think the yogurt had gone off from being left outside of the fridge for too long.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful location in a beautiful town at the End of the World
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a beautiful location in a beautiful town!! The breakfast was great-with an incredible view of the sunrise over the water The staff was very helpful (especially with laundry!)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.9
    Hotel nice, wouldnt go again, because of this unpolit guy
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I checked in, had the most unfriedly guy. Unpolite, rude, No Sense for guest welcome. If this is staff, fire him, If this is the owner... There s a lot to learn still! Glad, a kind woman was There in afternoon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed to leave early on our day of departure but there was no offer of an early breakfast even though we were part of a large group.

    Interesting property with good views due to its location on a hill. Comfortable room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.8
    OK hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I made this booking for two rooms earlier in 2017. The rooms we were given were on the ground floor, and one was not accessible from main entrance. The rooms were dark, and one felt damp on the bedding. Poor light in both rooms. Would not recommend ground floor rooms (did not request). Other friends had better rooms in hotel

    Great views of the sea in the distance,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, would have liked to stay longer
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom grouting a bit dirty.

    Peaceful location, room was a bit hot when we arrived, it would have been a good idea to close the blackout curtains until the guests checked in. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    restful and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No real restaurant on site. Breakfast was filling but limited in choices. Roads leading to the hotel were narrow and very steep, driving to it in the dark can be a bit 'tense'. The climb up the hill in the dark after dinner can get spooky if you are alone and don't have a flashlight, though I never encountered any issues.

    An excellent hideaway location up on a hill overlooking the town and the bay. Be sure to book rooms overlooking the bay. Rooms were huge. It felt like I was staying in a rich uncle's house out in the countryside. The pool was a welcome break after walking the Camino. Walking to and from town for meals helped to build the appetite and, to burn off some of the calories.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    A perfect location, especially when we asked the best place...
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A perfect location, especially when we asked the best place to watch the sunset, we were told the beach at the back of the hotel which was a lovely 10 minute walk. Stunning beach, lovely hotel, very quiet, spacious rooms, stunning views, excellent breakfast. Would 100 percent recommend this.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Excellent place to relax after the Camino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not take advantage of the "spa" - it is a strange room with a cool water hot tub and sauna. It feels like it was built many years ago and never used then started again. It needed a very good cleaning. Very very strange.

    This is the perfect hotel in Finisterre. The views are amazing and the rooms take full advantage of the height of the hotel. **ASK FOR THE SEA VIEW ROOMS! They are well worth the extra couple of dollars.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful building and friendly welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel was wonderful and we will be back if we are ever in that area again. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was good. Just up the hill from the main part of town. Peaceful setting. Good location to walk out to the lighthouse from with good directions given by the owner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.5
    Very disappointing - made to feel unwelcome when we arrived early and just wanted to deposit bag!.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor welcome when we arrived 40 mins early and just wanted to leave our bags in foyer and return later for check -in. It was made quite clear from the gentleman that we were not welcome and it was our problem that we had just walked 20 miles that day on the camino.! Very disappointing. Would definitely have gone elsewhere but were committed to booking.

    Very helpful lady who served breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    We had a spectacular view and sat in front of the windows...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not good as both the toast and tea were cold. It was a long walk up the hill to the hotel but then worth it for the view.

    We had a spectacular view and sat in front of the windows reading and watching the light fade from the sky. We woke to watch the sunrise across the bay. It was quiet. There is a pool but it was too cold to swim unfortunately.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    love this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    further from town than originally thought ...uphill ...but just because we were so sore from the Camino we took a taxi it only cost a couple euros

    place was so relaxing !! Seafood in own was soooo good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    Great ending to our hike on the Camino!
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being able to accommodate bags while waiting for check in would have helped immensely. Otherwise wonderful stay!

    View was great, and location was fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    4.2
    What could have been a fantastic stay was ruined by the outrageous guest manager. Avoid it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My family and I were on a road trip to the north of Spain. And everything was going fine till our stay at the Hotel Rústico Spa Finisterre Despite the nice hotel and the confortable and clean accomodations this is the proof that bad guest relations can damage seriously your stay...and your holidays. 1) Checking in, with my 3 yo son in my arms stressing to go the bathroom, the unpleasant check in manager, impolitely refused to give us the room keys before upfront payment was complete (even tough it was already secured by our credit card on booking); 2) The following morning - and worst of all - our breakfast was refused and that with and icredible discourteous attitude. We arrived at the breakfast tables at 10h30 (ends at 10h30) and after the table was made ready by the attendant then, once again, the same man, refused to serve us. We try to explain that he should be more fleixible because we are a family on holidays, enjoying the good vibes of FISTERRE, but he started to shout and to insult us! A complete disaster. We travel a lot, and we have been to more than 60 countries already. This I never ever saw! And what could have been a fantastic stay at FINISTERRA was permanently ruined by this incredible bad guest relations. We strongly advice you to stay out of this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Quiet and calming stay a bit overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing breakfast (industrial marmelades, limited choice for the price of the room you'd expect better quality peoducts). Asking for an egg (scrambled or omelett or boiled) costs 5 EUR! Also the "Spa" is on demand and not a wide-ranging offer. Informatioun has to be asked and not voluntarily given Pool a bit small.

    Very comfortable and spacious rooms, impeccably clean. Quiet location. Friendly reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    3.3
    Might be ok with other rooms, in our case an abolute effrontery and annoyance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got to know several hotels during our round trip, from 2 star to 5 star houses and we liked all of them - with only one exception: this one. It was by far the most expensive. We had for 150 € / day a tiny small room under the roof. The style of the room, the furniture, the bathroom everything looked very nice at the first glance. However, the price for that room was an abolute effrontery and annoying. Fierst we thought it would be an error and we had got the wrong room, when I book a room for that price I really do expect something else. The roof pitch in this mini room did not allow to do many things in an upright position (use of the lavatory...). What was absolutely annoying was the fact that we had to get up several times in the nigths to close the window as otherwise the room and our things would have got wet (what by the way also happened as we did not realize each rainfall in time) - in this region rain is nothing rare and it is definitevely not possible for 2 persons to sleep in such a small room without any fresh air (there is of course no air conditioning so you have to open this window, it is the only one). Several things were desolate (e.g. light bulbs missing, window in bathroom broken...) and you could chat with your neighbour through the wall without opening the door. As far as we had understood the prices from the website the room itself was 100 € (still absolutely too much) and 50 €/day were the access to the SPA (I do not know if the term SPA is really applicable for what they offer)- we thought it was a joke when we were told that this access is restricted to ONE hour a day and is only possible WITH RESERVATION in advance!!!!! As icing on the cake, the personal as well as the owner did show pretty much how much they "liked" their job - in no other hotel people were so unfriendly as there.

    The owners tried to make a nice place in a bleakly part of the village and obvioulsy some rooms (at least the ones with seaview) are nice and as far as we could see from outside are normal size. Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Nice boutique hotel on the top of Finesterre: place to watch the sunrise and sunset,thibk about life
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the window was georgeous- it was such a pleasure just watch the sunrise from the bed, the sunset at the nearest beaches was fantastic, bed was very comfortable, Lidia at reception was very accommodative and nice to talk. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    The person in the lobby (owner?) was very unfriendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person in the lobby (owner?) was very unfriendly. My pregnant wife arrived before check-in hours and simply asked if she could wait in one of the lobby seats until I arrived or until the check-in was available. She was not allowed to do so by saying the space was reserved for checked guests only even though the seats were empty. Besides that unpleasant person, the accommodation, cleanliness and facilities were really nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    5.4
    Comfy room with amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "Beachfront" is quite the stretch. In fact, I doubt there's a place in Fisterra, that is further from a beach. Front desk was rarely manned, my booked massage didn't show for the appointed hour, called an hour later, when I'd been clear about having to be downtown (which is quite a hike) at that time.

    Comfy room with amazing view. Great Breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Laundry facility is way too expensive. The street to get there is a bit challenging.

    Great place to relax. The homemade cake for breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.8
    Unexpected stay had ups and downs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wanted to book the lighthouse and booking.com switched us to Spa Finnesterre. The toilet paper ran out and there was none in the bathroom. The water hose on the shower head broke. The hotel ran out of hot water. You could not see the sunset from the grounds despite being told that you could see it.

    Breakfast was good. The comforter was nice and the view was pretty good. They recommended a great restaurant about a mile away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Great Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Once I found the Hotel and was able to check in, I had a positive experience. However, it is a bit away from the main part of Finisterre, up a rather steep hill, which was a deterrent to walking into Finisterre then returning to the hotel more than a few times. I arrived early, and it seemed as if the person at the desk was a bit put out when I asked if I could store my bag, although he allowed it. However, when I returned later the other staff members were hospitable and helpful. The location affords a view of the sea both from the front and the back, and the pool and grounds have ample sun as well as a bit of shade.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.8
    Beautiful views from the hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is NOT on the beach as was stated. It is NOT 5 minutes from the beach either. Too far to walk to the beach!

    Beautiful views from the hill.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.1
    Good stay except staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff overall is not friendly at all. The owner can be just plain nasty and rude

    The view from room with sea view was excellent breakfast was OK room was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Panoramic views--- YES!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't imagine.

    This is my second stay at this gem--- that should tell you something! :-) This time, upon walking into Santiago, my husband and I rented a car and drove to the coast. I remembered the spectacular views, the floor to ceiling windows, and the nice bedding. This hotel did not disappoint. The innkeeper is a very nice man who doesn't speak much English. I think many confuse him to be rude, but he's quite friendly. Town is a short walk away with a steep hill, but after doing the Camino, it's nothing. :-) After a stop at the supermarket, we enjoyed a picnic for dinner one evening at the quaint tables they have in the front yard. There are some nice seafood restaurants in town and we'd enjoyed one of them at lunchtime. There is an amazingly long stretch of shell covered beach just a mile or so south of town. And, of course, it's a nice walk out to the lighthouse to experience the "end of the earth" and the Kilometer Zero marker. Oh, and a nice breakfast was also included. I felt it was a great value!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    While visiting the village we lost all our valuables,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    While visiting the village we lost all our valuables, passports, money, credit cards. The hotel owner was so helpful, and even gave us 300 euro in trust that we would send it back to him once we were safe at home. We are so thankful for his generosity and big heart.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    We walked up the hill from the bus stop to the hotel and found the experience well worth the energy.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our window faced away from ocean, but one cannot expect every room to be perfect.

    Very clean, comfortable and lovely. Breakfast was super special with local or homemade foods.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.1
    A great disappointment,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needed someone on reception rather than leaving it to the cleaners, unfriendly and with no languages. The 'Spa' title is a misnomer since what they have is a 2 person hot tub/Jacuzzi that you have to pay an extortionate amount extra to use. The pool was a disgrace and the grounds generally needed some care and attention. It's a long way from the town, up steep narrow lanes.

    Our room had a good sea view with armchairs to sit comfortably and look at the sunrise. Wi Fi worked well. Parking was easy. Breakfast was vey good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful Sea Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    It is a beautiful, historic building oozing charm and character. My room had a fabulous view of the sea. You couldn't ask for better. The staff was welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    we stayed here on a recent walking trip on the Camino, we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we stayed here on a recent walking trip on the Camino, we felt it was a little further out than we had hoped after walking many KMs that day, we thought it should be better signposted to advise how far it is out of the town particulary for weary walkers!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Awesome!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our experience was excellent with the excaption of running out of hot water for a shower. I'm sure it's been addressed now.

    The views are spectacular overlooking the hillside down to the harbour front. Breakfast, albeit simple fair was traditional and we'll presented with fresh baked bread and pastries.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Gorgeous place close to the beach!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough towels. But no biggie.

    This place is beautiful. The room had an excellent view of Finisterre and the seaside. It's a 5 minute walk to a secluded and gorgeous beach. The owner was most accommodating offering car and bike rentals as well as a taxi service. It was my second stay there and I would go back in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    5.0
    Bad location and worse attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had made reservations for two days but when we arrived it was so far from town, involved a steep climb and we were not satisfied with the spa facilities we decided to spend just one night. The owner insisted we pay for both nights and was very angry and hostile, we did pay even though we just spent the one night but he was still loud and rude. We have been walking the El Camino for three weeks, and this was our only bad experience, very disappointing

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    3.3
    The property is not located only 700 meters from the bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is not located only 700 meters from the bus station. The hotel is actually located up a very steep hill, luckily we had arranged for a taxi. In addition to this, please keep in mind that if you are reaching it after a day of the Camino and you have big & heavy luggages is definitely not easy to find it. We were also very disappointed about the information provided in the website as well as the quality of the service/behaviour of the personnel. For instance the shuttle bus to the airport that they list as a service in the website it is actually an extra cost of 90€ and is done by a private taxi. Definitely not a service, you better off taking the bus back to Santiago that will cost you only 13€ and from there the bus to the airport for an additional 3€. When I mentioned to the reception personnel that I was expecting to have the shuttle bus included his answer was " how can you expect from a room that you pay 60€ to receive a service of 90€ included" definitely not polite and professional considerin that the shuttle bus to the airport is always included otherwise is listed under the extra cost. In addition the amount they charge is extremely overpriced considering that, as mentioned above, you get to the airport with about 16€ One last thing, breakfast was included in our booking however it started from 8:30. As we had to take the bus to Santiago at 8:20 we asked to the reception if we could have something to take away for the trip, the answer was a No, they didn't even try to offer a small sandwich. I definitely don't recommend this hotel to anyone. You can find some very nice property close to the Main Street facing the beautiful port at a similar price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.9
    Rooms with sea view are fantastic a location is a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms with sea view are fantastic a location is a little further out of town than I would have liked - 1K up a hill is not ideal after an already long day of walking! But a beautiful property - staff could have been a bit more friendly/welcoming - they were altogether unconcerned!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful place we arrived early but were attended to immediately. Room was charming and very rustic. We relaxed in the garden for a while before continuing the Camino . Breakfast was very enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    7.5
    Good but could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were pleasant but not particularly helpful. For example we asked them to store our packs (we were walking) for a few hours 11-2 while we walked around the city. This was not possible but it seemed like small thing to us and would have been helpful. Breakfast was okay but needs improvement.

    Warm, clean rooms, beautiful view!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    7.1
    Luxury 2 stars for very rich people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to SPA: 50 EUR an hour, overpriced additional services, comercial attitude.

    Large beds, clean bathroom, views from the hotel lounge, style of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    5.8
    Not ideal, but clean and fairly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was rather spendy and the steak was over cooked and very tough and the fries were just warm. Online it said the spa was included but when we got there it was extra. Not what we expected but it was ok. Location was not that far of a walk from downtown but definitely not downtown like we thought.

    Towel warmer in the bathroom and the water was hot which was great!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    6.7
    Beautiful property, shameful treatment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the unfriendliness staff I have ever encountered. No welcome, no thank you, no goodbye, nothing. Our passports were literally tossed at us. Everyone there needs training in the hospitality industry. Also we were disturbed by the owner's beautiful dog chained up outside in the cold with no bedding. That kind of thing bothers more and more people these days, especially at beautiful and expensive hotels. It's really a shame, but maybe that goes along with the way they treat their guests.

    One of the nicest properties I have stayed in with wonderful rooms, linens, towels. It's a great location near the beach and our room had an ocean view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    6.3
    Good location but service could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not friendly and dining or snack facilities were not available in the afternoon and evening.

    Room was very comfortable and views from the property were amazing. Breakfast was included and was very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely and Relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little hard to find and the walk was all uphill.

    The bed was super cushy, I had an unexpectedly lovely view from a couple rooftop windows, and they bake fresh pastries every morning. I only wish the weather was nicer so that I could have used the lovely garden!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.3
    Great place to stay away from the hubbub of the town of Fisterra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast didn't start till 8.30 (in reality later). The layout of the breakfast room was laid out like a T - where the buffet items were along the bar of the T, and there wasn't much room to negotiate past people. Essentially it was better to wait till everyone else sat down!

    Room was nice with good view. Lots of windows that opened - also good. Breakfast was good and we certainly had enough to eat, but seem comments about layout! Walked down the mountain from the lighthouse and found ourselves at the entrance of the hotel. Perfect!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.9
    Beautiful location but not friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff. Not welcoming after a long walk.

    Nice location on the hill with a beautiful view from some rooms. Very clean and beautiful rooms with crisp linen. Good choice for breakfast but staff not helpful with assisting one person from our group that ask for porridge to be cook as she needs to be gluten free for her celiacs condition even though she brought her own oats and was happy to cook it herself. Took a lot of insisting before she could cook it herself. Checking in and out, manager not friendly or helpful. As we were a big group of 11 people, we wanted to pay our own rooms but he would only accept the total amount. We would not recommend this place if you want friendly service. We did not feel welcome. There are other places with better value.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.5
    Nice luxury after Camino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast consisted of bread, jam etc and pastrues, tarts and cakes, all very sweet and no protein. The setting was fabulous but without a sweet tooth it was lacking.

    Nice luxury after Camino.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice, clean room and breakfast was lovely with traditional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't like.

    Nice, clean room and breakfast was lovely with traditional cakes included.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far out of town as you needed to go back down for food

    Very nice clean Hotel near a beautiful beach!A l

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    They need to update their photo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to update their photo. The picture provided is of the Lighthouse at Fisterra. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The view is beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous reward for two pilgrims!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was the best I have had in a long time!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Situated high up above Fisterra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got the room without a window towards the bay, but it was all the same very nice, spacious and private, just by the pool. A nice stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Super comfortable beds, lovely views and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super comfortable beds, lovely views and pool. The building was rustic and beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Quiet, gorgeous views, delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet, gorgeous views, delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Great staff, view, room, comfortable stay top marks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave again

    Great staff, view, room, comfortable stay top marks.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: