Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Intur Palacio San Martin 4 stars

Plaza San Martín, 5, Madrid City Centre, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#88 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2841 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Executive Service
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi didn't work in my room and the staff were very apathetic when raised. The second time I raised it they stated someone would come up to check but they never did. No iron in the room and none available at the desk. They attempted to charge me 5 euros for an ironing service but I declined to pay as I was in a Business room. To their credit they still ironed the shirt for me. Dark room as my window was blocked by a wall. However my colleagues had great view from their rooms so this is just a roll of the dice. There were no USB chargers in the room or adapters / USB chargers available at the desk.

    The location is brilliant as you're right in the centre of Madrid. The breakfast was a lovely spread and there's something for all tastes The shower is one of the best I've had.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in the city square , yet away from the noise . Super convenient location that is near to many main attraction. I must say the room , king sized bed is very clean and comfortable . Most of all, the staff have been most helpful and efficient 👍up !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had been renovated since March 2018. Good point. However, wifi was not working properly ( rooms at 3rd floor). Inside the room there are no blankets ( Madrid was quite cold this week). Coffee and tea service is dreadful. Coffee/tea coups are made in ...Bakelite ! For the time being Ecology values has vanished in this hotel . Price of the room is quite high if you compare with other hotels at the same level. Briefly, I felt disappointed and never the staff at the desk front gave an appropriate answer to my enquirers .

    Definely, this charmant hotel is well located . I have stated many times and each time I realized that main spots to visit are very close . Furthermore, metro stations are just 5 minutes walk . Also,breakfast still very good and varied .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Problems with the wifi that made it unusable. I had to use my phone for Internet connection. I gathered that other rooms were having problems as well. In fact, while I was checking in there was a guest at the front desk trying to resolve a wifi connection problem.

    Love the location and the facility. It has been recently renovated and has a modern and clean feel. I miss a little bit the traditional decor but since I have not stayed at the hotel in a number of years, it may have been getting tired and in need of renewal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was a bit slow at times

    Great location for visiting the major tourist attractions. Rooms recently refurbished. Very comfortable bed and excellent shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower is the usual hand held wand with a holder on the wall if you want to shower hands-free. The holder was not properly installed. If you left the wand in it, the entire bathroom was soaked. You had to hold it by hand or soak the bathroom floor and everything else.

    Good sized room, nice view of San Martin square, very comfy bed, no noise heard from other rooms, great location, good breakfast, nice lunch option, helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air-conditioning didn't work at first took a day to fix and there was some water dripping ...but fixed eventually and they did say if couldn't would change room

    Fantastic location. Very clean and comfortable.Excellent breakfast.Helpful staff who even arranged an early breakfast when we needed to catch an early train

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean. Beautiful bathroom and shower room. Room very hot as no access to outside fresh air, instead window only opens in the atrium which is enclosed.

    Lovely building and very central. All important tourist attractions close by. No need for public transport. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not super clean, the handle of the shower tap fell on my feet, breakfast start only at 9am, impossible to get an iron and must wait until house keeping start (at 9 like breakfast). Got my shirt only at 9.45. The should just give away iron it would be simpler

    Nice location, large rooms, great breakfast, reception staff was helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The seating area of the breakfast room is rather limited in rush-hour time (9 am to 10 am).

    Excellent location. The are around the hotel is a pedestrian zone, offering lots of dining options, cinemas or for your shopping needs. Excellent breakfast with ample selection of food, and drink. Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are firm. We wee in room 103 which was a bit noisy, above the check in desk.

    Great location away from the super busy area. Room was very spacious. We wee in room 103 which was a bit noisy, above the check in desk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping not upto scratch. Bed was well made but coffee cups not washed/replaced for 2 days, coffee sachets not replaced and mini bar not topped up regularly.

    Fabulous location. Beautiful old building. Reception staff helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, all very good

    The whole experience was wonderful. Lovely location, central but quiet, great staff, room, breakfast fresh and varied. Would recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron or ironing board in the rooms nor any that you could check out from the hotel. However they will handle it for you for a fee.

    Excellent location, less congested than surrounding area and fairly quiet. The staff are friendly and curteous. Rooms are clean and neat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Possible have a hot selection at breakfast i.e. eggs, bacon, sausage etc? I know you can order eggs but it would be good to have a hot option by default.

    Recent refurbishment has really helped. Excellent rooms and a great location. Bar service (whilst sitting outside) was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron available to use and the staff couldn’t care less. No toilet brush. Plastic coffee cups. No tissues, you expect these things in a 4 star hotel. No in room information e.g. the room service menu or any instructions or tourism info. We had water leaking through the light fitting in the bathroom. We reported it but nothing happened while we were there.

    The restaurant staff were good. The location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was in a lovely little square but superb central location. The room was really nice with a welcome tray, safe, mini bar, fridge etc. The breakfast was the best we have experienced in European hotels in that price bracket, even offering champagne along with a huge selection of both cold and freshly prepared cooked items! Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Madrid city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym only open 9am-10pm Limited gym space and equipment

    Very clean rooms Comfortable bed Perfect Location; 5-10min walk to Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol and San Miguel Market, and 2 El Corte Inglés stores Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Skimpy on tissue supply (5 sheets per day) - had to ask for extra everyday. Also toiletries, no new bottles on second day until asked - no hair conditioner either.

    Lighting: many switches and night light. Quiet inside room (#515). Good supportive twin beds. HVAC worked fine. Window can be open to let in fresh air. Never heard the church bell from the Monastery next door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee at the breakfast bar was not what Americans think of as morning coffee but that is my only complaint.

    Just about everything. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No English chanel on TV

    perfect location, which you get to the Sol in 5mins and the big department store in 2 mins, also walk less than 10 mins to Plaza de Espana and the Palace. There is multiple metro station nearby. The hotel locates in the small plaza which is quiet from the street noise. The room is modern and stylish and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would definitely stay here again if I return to Madrid! Beautiful hotel in a great location in the centre. Clean and comfortable- perfect for a city break.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, I prefer when older places do not modernise in order to keep the old world charm intact

    Nicely maintained building, a blend of old and new. Cool elevator

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A monastry is located on the other side of a street and the bell ringing is starting rather early; but, on the other hand, who would like to spend time for sleeping in lively Madrid?

    A nice hotel in the center of Madrid; everything is nearby. A excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only disappointment was our room window opened into another wall so natural light into the room was limited.

    The hotel has been newly refurbed as is very nicely done to our taste exactly. Location was spot on as well very central to everything we wanted to see.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The connection to wifi kept dropping off in my room. Sometimes , if I walked into the hallway outside my room, it would re-connect, but not always. It worked perfectly in the main lobby area and breakfast room areas.

    Front desk/reception staff are extremely helpful and well informed. The lobby and sitting area are very attractive and comfortable. The plant wall is beautiful and well tended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing.

    Excellent hotel, newly refurbished interieur in beautiful old building. Really right in the middle of the old center, 7 mins walk from Plaza Mayor to one side, 2 mins walk up to Gran Via on the other side (Metro "Callao") - yet the square itself is beautifully calm, an oasis in the middle of turbulent life all around it. The room was beautifully appointed. We had a room with view to the square (we had asked for it beforehand), but also the rooms with windows onto the inner courtyard should be OK, the inner courtyard is quite large.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived at the hotel, they offered me a very small room which was not even in a room shape. The bed was located in a strange position. It had a very small window. The room was very dark and unpleasant. I asked the staff to change the room. They changed it to a little bit more spacious room with no window to fresh air. The room was extremely unventilated and suffocating. I am kinda unpleasant with my stay. Other than this everything was fine.

    The room and the bathroom were clean. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly. The position of the hotel was great, it is in the city centre. It is close to everywhere. The hotel was in a quiet location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like the Hotel location , Staff , Food , Cleanliness .

    I Have no complain . Mr ALIEN at the reception Was extremely supportive in providing me with all information I requested .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Executive Service
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all. Was amazing. The staff, the location, the actual hotel, we could find no fault .

    The location was brilliant, just round the corner from everything. The hotel was spotless, very clean. The decor was stunning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small.

    Location is perfect!! Staff is very kind. We got to hotel around 12 am ang received the room immediately. Very nice lobby. Shower in the room was great and big!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold, and the staff showed no interest in anything much, certainly when I complained to them about it. Also the Breakfast was not good.

    Nice foyer, quite quiet, close to the shops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No listing of the TV stations. No instructions on using the phone if you needed to call the front desk in case of emergency.

    Fantastic location. Excellent breakfast with fresh cooked eggs to order and freshly squeezed orange juice. Clean, bright room with lots of light, wood floors and modern decor. Desk people very helpful with directions, etc. Felt very safe for a woman traveling alone. Loved the plaza patio for wine and chips in the afternoon. Great place to sit and enjoy the city!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    gym was not open - yet. still undergoing renovation during our stay.

    Location was great being around plaza del sol and gran via. Everything is just a short walk away. The rooms are newly renovated and well kept.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to any ironing facility other than expensive hotel laundry service.

    Excellent room, staff very friendly and helpful, very good central location but quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The re-fit isn't quite finished yet. We were told the room safes arrive next week and the room guide to the hotel are at the printers. The new gym is not yet ready either. But give it a few weeks and these things should pass.

    This re-fitted hotel is in a perfect position in the centre of Madrid. We had an amazing room at a great rate. The staff were helpful and cheery - not a given in Madrid. And they had the best continental breakfast buffet I've ever seen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant was disappointing for anything other than breakfast. Unimaginative décor and food to match

    Excellent location- very central but quiet. Comfortable bedroom. Helpful staff. To be recommended for a city centre stay. Lots of good restaurants within 2 minutes walk

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was an additional 16.5 euro, but no big deal because there are plenty of places to get a more reasonably priced breakfast nearby.

    The room was small but nicely designed, emaculately clean and quiet. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to think of

    They have novated the rooms, they are modern with a good design. The new Italian shower is really nice and big enough. The location is central yet quiet and the staff members are helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not as described on Booking.com. There were no safes in any of the rooms - apparently these are arriving soon. Our room had quite a strong odour, eventually resolved with a room spray. There was no information in the room and no tourist information in the hotel. The staff were keen to help and did give us a good discount in recognition of the problems we highlighted.

    Great central location, near to metro stations. Newly refurbished so felt nes (some issues)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sauna and gym were not available as refurbishment of hotel had not been completed. Also very stingy in providing tea and coffee for the room....one sachet each and 1 milk portion each.

    Location ideal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bring earplugs if you don’t want church bells to wake you up in the middle of the night.

    We loved the smoothies they made to order for breakfast from chopped fruit in a jar. Also, the beds were super comfortable. Excellent location and beautiful plant wall in lobby. Room was large compared to many European triples. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complimentary bottled water, tea or coffee in the bedroom; wifi intermittent

    Room was spacious with nice big bathroom; breakfast was fabulous; hotel foyer is stunning; location was brilliant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we would not recommend the tour to Toledo that is advertised at the front desk. You leave the hotel at 8 am, but do not actually arrive in Toledo until 11:30. The tour company has several meeting areas where you wait for passengers and then change buses at a different location. They advertise that you can return at 1pm, but that is almost impossible time wise. You then have to stay for a 4:30 bus back to Madrid. The guide is with you for only 20 min once you arrive in Toledo, which is fine, but she was less than enthusiastic on the trip. Find another was to get to Toledo.

    The hotel was very comfortable and clean in a great location. Our room faced inside, which was a little dark, but very quiet. We particularly enjoyed the location because even though you are in the heart of Madrid, the plaza on which the hotel is located was relatively quiet. Yet, you are steps away from the Grand Via and a short walk to Plaza Mayor. El Cortes Inglese is just around the corner! The hotel also has seating on the plaza which is great for a morning coffee, an afternoon drink, or tapas later at night. Great place to people watch. The staff was very helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was built in 1886 so has a charming old world elegance but still works efficiently. The location is great and within walking distance of beautiful Madrid landmarks and tourist destinations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of our party had rooms which looked out onto the atrium but these rooms were a bit dull and gloomy, they needed to have lights on during the day.

    Well located, fantastic attentive staff, clean, comfortable, abundant breakfast - all good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was ok, but the pillows were too hard for me, got a sore neck as a result. The shower was leaking so the bathroom floor was always wet.

    Great location. Close to all the sights and lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waterpipe is big so the water comes out big, but madrid needs more water. Please be considerate, changevthe water pressure setting.

    Helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small bedroom with threadbare carpet around the bed. Had to squeeze between the bed and the dressing table to get around the bed. Thought the price was expensive - but it is central Madrid!

    Lovely building, very central, great location. Staff very pleasant. Fabulous shower and bathroom with all required toiletries.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had asked for a double bed and got singles, I had asked for a room overlooking the plaza but didn’t get it. We asked if we could change rooms, one receptionist said they would check and let us know, the next time we asked we were told ‘it’s not possible ‘. I had even checked a couple of days prior to arrival and received an email back confirming we had a room overlooking the plaza! So was very disappointed. The breakfast lady wasn’t very pleasant, we paid for 3 nights bed and breakfast but because we had to leave by 7:30 a.m. we couldn’t have any breakfast, she wouldn’t even lets us have anything, not even a drink or any toast! Very abrupt and unhelpful we thought. All in all we found most staff a bit unhelpful and unfriendly. Could do with an update, some areas are looking a bit tired.

    The location is perfect for the city centre, for shopping, eating out and sight seeing. So close to everything and yet pretty quiet. The terrace outside the front of the hotel is lovely and sunny, a nice place to sit and enjoy a drink. A lovely old building. The room was quite spacious, clean and comfortable, with fresh towels daily, that were always soft and fluffy! The maid was very helpful and made our beds up into a double bed when we asked her. ( we had requested a double but had two singles pushed together and made up as singles). We were able to check in early and that was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fried breakfast was greasy and served on cold plates so was quite cold when it arrived. The coffee was too strong and quite bitter.It would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    The bed was firm but very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room didn't have an iron and this wasn't available at the reception either. Only paying pressing service available. This is quite impacting especially for business travel.

    Excellent location, beautiful vintage staircase, clean room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having requested a double bed we got what looked like one with one headboard and one bedspread but, when we came to turn down the cover, it was two single beds pushed together and still made up as two single beds......

    We've stayed here several times as the location is so good and the rooms are very comfortable. It isn't the best spot for nightlife, although there are plenty of places within easy walking distance, but it is right in the middle of monumental and shopping areas with good transport links from Sol.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast is relatively expensive and not worth the price. The staff is ok but no more. Even the mode that they are sitting (in an internal room and not at the desk) is not welcoming. they are correct, answer to your question politely, but no more.

    The hotel is very central, in the middle of everything but very quiet, looking at the beautiful plaza san Martin. You can feel the real Madrid. The room was big, clean and nice, facing the beautiful plaza. There is a small fridge in the room and a safe. the lobby is nice and welcoming. you can order drink or food and relax outside the hotel in the nice plaza. 3 minutes from the hotel you have plenty of restaurants, cafes etc. the metro is 5 minutes walk. So are Gran Via, the Palace, Puerto del Sol and Mayor plaza.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    unfortunately terrace closing at 11.00

    Excellent location to visit Madrid. Centre of Madrid but still a quiet area. Excellent terrace for a last drink.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We two guests were the only thing we didn't like, as, through lack of care, we had in the room at some moments sliced, raw garlic that was not adequately sealed. The hotel managed our error with only the slightest, butlerish reaction. We would thank them for their cool and class.

    I liked the old-world savoir faire, the professionalism and discretion. We and, we noted, many others liked the feel given by the lobby lounge, where hard-core, very-much-at-home guests read a good range of paper newspapers and I could get a big glass of orange - natural and with no sugar - at a strange hour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing facilities for tea and coffee making in room. Restaurant was fair. Room was very cosy when you have a case each and need to open them. Had to move furniture to make more room.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is disappointing and very basic Continental. I would have loved a coffee machine in the room.

    Great location. Close to metro's & lots of restaurants to choose from. Room was clean with a nice balcony looking over San Martin square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was not cheap but just about worth it.

    The rooms were very quiet and the hotel is situated in a nice square VERY close to everything. The design of the rooms is classical and the beds were comfortable. The staff were very helpful with directions etc. We took the tourist bus to have an initial look around Madrid but you can reach most tourist spots with a walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No ironing board in room - only on request. A/C was not very powerful, just about did the job. Couldnt connect to wifi although I belive it was available but not discussed/offered during check-in.

    The hotel is in a brilliant location, tucked in a quiet square but only 4 minutes walking from Puerto del Sol square and all the shops etc. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and very spacious with good amenties, toiletries etc. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Executive Service
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea or coffee facilities in the room would have been nice but didn't affect our visit

    Breakfast very nice, hot food available to order, but a good selection on the buffet side too

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very average No window Only open bathroom door halfway General condition of room not good given price

    Love the breakfast Love the staff assistance Loved the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I forgo few items in the room hope to get them back I was in the same hotel 2 days before Although I reserved a room with shower I got a bath I could not shower properly I expect a compensation from booking.com for this major mistake

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location, and only a few minutes walk from Plaza Mayor and Gran Via, and although very centrally located it is in a very pleasant, quiet square. Easily walkable from Sol Metro station too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was a bit pricey.

    Extremely comfortable, quiet hotel with spacious room and great shower. Warm, friendly unobtrusive staff. The hotel is in a central location for exploring Madrid with lots of restaurants and bars nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't friendly. No real help about tourist points of interest etc. when I had trouble with wifi the guy on reception was abrupt and rude. General feeling of being unwelcome.

    Great location in city centre. Can walk to everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing that was slightly annoying was when I was there a few times, odd times the kitchen wasn't open. It said 24/7 but that wasn't quite correct.

    Really liked the room, it was a surprise as to how nice it was. Close to everything and the room service food was great!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room isnt very comfortable. The bed is hard and the linens are second rate. The laundry service was extremely expensive.

    The staff is nice and the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is in an excellent location. Our room was over looking the Playa so we had a lovely outlook. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable with lovely linens and pillows. For breakfast there was a very good selection of fruit, yoghort,cold meats, cheese, lots of cakes, pastries and breads too. You could order cooked eggs with bacon and sausages and all washed down with copious amount of juice, tea or coffee. Staff are friendly, polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms should need updating (paper walls and carpets). Anyway bathroom is updated (quite new) and the room is big and the bed confortable.

    Situated in a quiet square in central Madrid. Excellent situation. Big room. Not parking in the hotel, but a public parking in the same square with reduction for hotel customers. Restaurant in the hotel with tasting and generous dishes. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet and furnishings were good quality but old and needed renewing. The carpet was threadbare and had obviously been there since the hotel opened.

    The room was large with a high ceiling. The decor was traditional and stylish.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to say about not liking it

    We keep coming here for the last 3 years. Great location on a not so busy plaza but just few meters away from action (places to see and be )

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms slightly faded and in need of redecoration. Doors slam very noisily. Fixed shower head only without hose shower.

    Nice spacious room, comfortable bed, really good air con (with 38'C temps outside, essential), terrific location for the oldest part of Madrid. Quiet (surprisingly). Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI was less strong than expected, we had issues (that were quickly resolved) with shower functioning.

    The view of downtown Madrid could not have been better, the room was full of nice amenities. They have done a nice job of blending the original palacete with a modern hotel, lots of old charm and new comfort. Plus: one of the nicest hotel breakfasts we've had!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is getting tired and there were a number of simple things that we thought were deficient - lighting (poor); fridge (cool, not cold) and switches/ entry that took several goes. It is quiet but apart from that, there is not much to recommend it for.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Intur Palacio San Martin traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: