Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Isla de La Garena 4 stars

Galileo Galilei, 18, 28806 Alcalá de Henares, Spain

#13 of 19 hotels in Alcalá de Henares

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 430 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice Hotel would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bright clean and modern looking hotel. It is situated approx. 3 kilometres outside of Alcala De Henares, on an industrial estate. The staff are very friendly, and the rooms and beds are very comfortable. There is a mini bar and safe in the room. Breakfast is excellent with a very good choice of hot or cold items. (although we did ask for the scrambled eggs to be heated up). The web site stated that there is a restaurant available, however we were informed it is closed for dinner, and only open for lunch. There is a cafeteria, to get a snack, or the hotel will order in snack from outside (Telepizza). There is only one cafeteria at the end of the road, that closes in the evening. Having investigated with google we located a large selection of restaurants nearby, (approx. 10 minutes walk), where we found a great choice of different meals, and it is worth walking to these as there isn't anything in the locality of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    •Good services of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    • It has the distance from the center of Alcalá de Henares

    •Good services of hotel •Very quiet location near Plaza Garena •Nice view outside from the balcony

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.5
    Useful overnight stop en route from Alicante to Santander ferry port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Instructions to find hotel, which is in an industrial zone. We finished up having to find a local resident who led us by car to our destination. 2) Long walk from the lift to the bedroom - we should have mentioned mobility problems

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice, quiet location, with views to Madrid in the distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi connection was slow at times. Bed wasn't totally clean and the bath was patched up and old. Inside swimming pool was empty and unusable and shower area was old and dirty.

    Nice, quiet location, with views to Madrid in the distance. Easy to park. Nice, big swimming pool and area which was never busy. Good sized balconies and value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Sleep near the airport with swimming pool in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not a real restaurant and the cafeteria staff was not really friendly during the lunch time. The spa was only available in winter time and with the use of swimming hat. The water of the outdoor swimming pool was a little oily.

    The room was nice with a good balcony. The reception staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    6.7
    Clean tidy and tidied everyday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked this hotel for the pool but the pool was closed for refurbishment when we queried this they told us it was disclosed on the booking website but on my return i cannot find this piece of info!!! Am not happy!!!

    Clean tidy and tidied everyday

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only criticism was that there was no in room information so when I needed to contact reception I had to go downstairs as I did not have the phone number.

    Stopped at this hotel for one night travelling through Spain back to the ferry at Santander. The location was perfect as it was less than a mile from the journey route yet in an area that was ideal for the dog to be exercised. The desk staff were very polite and were keen to help. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of both hot and cold foods.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful and enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a long distance from the city

    Unique and wonderful rooms and the balcony hotel and also a bathroom and a large swimming pool, reception and everything is wonderful and is also employed in the morning they are smiling and very nice I would advise him to calm and relax you must have a car because everything is far better that it is far from the hassle

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    The pool
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Quite hotel, shopping mall is 10 minutes walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gym is very small, the swimming pool is too hot and without windows :(

    Quite hotel, shopping mall is 10 minutes walk

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Quiet good sized clean room with a balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tee/coffee set up in the room

    Quiet good sized clean room with a balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Receptionists were very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Receptionists were very nice. Lent me a phone charger as I had left mine at home.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel terrible location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not eady to get to. Located in industrial area.

    Comfortable bed. Clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    3.3
    Location
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location Old shabby interior Minimal breakfast and not fresh for a 4*

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    5.0
    Not a nice hotel at all
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was bad, old hotel and not very nice staff at all.

    Not a lot at all.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    4.6
    Why didn't you state the hotel was a building site ,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why didn't you state the hotel was a building site , pool no water in cement mixers , skips ,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.9
    It was a good one.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was boring

    I liked the WiFi, the bed and the bathroom. The view was great outside the balcony.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    10
    Perfect for business travelers in Alcala
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decent breakfast. Proximity to El corte Engles. Comfy bed. Plus they also have Spa though I didn't had a chance to try it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    7.5
    nice setting with pool (closed at that time);
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bit noisy on saturday evening...with family Communion celebration, typical spanish ! restaurant closed for dinner

    nice setting with pool (closed at that time); quiet area but close to shopping area near Alcala de Henares; interesting visit to Alcala historic center, using railway line at La Garena station".

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    7.1
    It has a gym with enough machines to get one sweating.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The gym is right next to the pool on the underground floor. As a result it is tropical in the gym - hot and humid. And it also smells of chlorine (so does a good part of the hotel too). There is an air-conditioner which softens the training experience a bit. The location of the hotel is downright terrible.

    It has a gym with enough machines to get one sweating. The staff was nice and the hotel is good. Would be even better in the summer. Has swimming pools inside and outside.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    10
    Everything is very well maintained.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything is very well maintained. I have stayed here for a several times and it always was perfectly clean. Nice stuff, decent breakfast. Close to El Cort Ingles.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    4.6
    Nice rom and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lots of noise from the highway The beds were uncomfortably hard Tea smells and tastes like coffee 28 degrees but swimmingpool was closed Industrial area

    Nice rom and bathroom Enough parkingspace

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    8.8
    Clean, friendly staff, spoke English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our stat nav had a problem locating the hotel but that maybe because it is a little out of date! To get the coordinates on the confirmation would be very helpful.

    Clean, friendly staff, spoke English. Good stay 10 main walk to station and straight in to Madrid. We stayed overnight on a Sunday and didn't realise restaurants would not serve food in the evening on that day.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    4.6
    We liked the fact that it was not to far from the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The outdoor pool had dirt inside it. We couldnt even go for a swim. The souna did not work. The tiles for both indoor and outdoor pool where coming off. The reason we booked was for the spa. But we where not impressed at all

    We liked the fact that it was not to far from the train station.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    6.7
    Staff was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It wasn't valeu for money

    Staff was really nice.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    4.2
    Hotel need maintenance.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel need maintenance. Spa area real dirty

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    5.0
    mainly heater not working,, & response from people was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    mainly heater not working,, & response from people was no action.. breakfast was not so good..

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.1
    It is perfect, that we can have oure dogs withe us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In week-ends it is difficult to be outside the party because the staff is only focused on that.

    It is perfect, that we can have oure dogs withe us

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    7.9
    In general, the hotel is fine.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was quite simple as for 8.50€...

    In general, the hotel is fine. Clean, comfortable room, very good WiFi, friendly personnel.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    5.0
    Proximity to the airport, but beyond that there's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Proximity to the airport, but beyond that there's nothing else nearby except warehouses.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: