Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria 1 stars

Roke Deuna, 1, 20808 Getaria, Spain

#6 of 13 hotels in Getaria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 358 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple more espresso capsules would have been appreciated but that is nit picking

    Great location with car park secured. Room was excellent and staff were great (Rosa at reception was lovely and helpful).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Superb, family run, boutique style, hotel in a good location. The staff are welcoming, friendly and so helpful. Our room was spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and well appointed. Breakfast is good value for money and served on a terrace overlooking the sea. We hope to go back. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are very few hotels in Getaria, and the position of this one is ideal. The family who run it are charming and super attentive and have been slowly but steadily modernizing and upgrading it in a gently modern fashion for the last decade or so. The rooms are light, spacious, quiet and airy - the beds super comfy - and when the weather is right there are not many other places anywhere where one can have a simple and delicious breakfast sitting at the top of a cliff with the most fantastic view of one of the local bays and the panoramic Atlantic beyond.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all. I don’t think the rooms had air con so might be hot in summer, ocean breeze was fine for us in April though.

    Great location and facilities! Amazingly friendly staff with some very helpful recommendations. Can not believe how perfect everything was for such a low price. The deck has a beautiful view over the beach and you can take your own drinks out there to watch the waves and sunset in the afternoon. Getaria is a lovely town and staying here definitely made our trip. Would love to come back and stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The approach is a little tricky by car, however you can park free almost anywhere in the village.

    This is an odd old hotel with very good rooms and excellent staff. Breakfast was exceptional. You are just a few steps from the delightful fishing port. Would we stay again - oh yes!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Geeat location. Friendly and attentive staff. Breakfast excellent and great value at £6! Loved having breakfast on the terrace overlooking the ocean. Room very spacious

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay too short!!

    Fabulous location, staff and breakfast, nothing is too much trouble in this hotel! The place is immaculate , fab terrace with super breakfast too. Its gives a very warm welcome and each member of staff plays their part 110% to make it a memorable stay , well done and thank you all so much !!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room with balcony and views of harbour and beach. Very comfortable and well fitted, superb shower. Outstanding communal balcony overlooking beach. Perfect for breakfast. Help yourself and pay later bar.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a really nice hotel, with very helpful and friendly staff. I was walking the Camino del Norte and wasn't sure whether to stay in Zarautz or Getaria. I'm so glad that I walked the extra few kms to Getaria and also glad that I had a hotel night here. I loved Getaria and I was really impressed with this hotel. My room was very comfortable and had everything that I needed. The girl at reception gave me really helpful advice about restaurants and about where to swim. Unfortunately I didn't get to experience breakfast on the terrace as I left early the next morning - but the view from the terrace is as spectacular as other reviewers have said. A few tips for those walking the Camino: 1. When you reach Zarautz, have a little lunch/pintxo stop at the Carlos Aguiñan restaurant. You can then walk along the beach before rejoining the path to Getaria. 2. Staying in Getaria has another advantage - It gives a little head-start on the next day's walk. I walked to Albergue Izarbide (after Deba) and was glad to have had started from Getaria, rather than Zarautz. 3. This hotel is in a great location - it's practically on the Camino.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very helpful and friendly helping me with parking and getting settled in. This exceptionally unique, lovely hotel is set in the medieval walled city of Laguardia...so unique! The village itself is interesting to walk through...shops for tourists or small markets, and places to eat(wine and pinxtos), apartments. In the lowest level of the hotel, tours of the old wine storage area are available, as well as a small, very interesting gift area. The room itself was cozy, comfortable and beautifully furnished. Great breakfast included. I would love to stay there again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    The hotel was well situated in the old town. Staff were very helpful and there was a very relaxed family atmosphere. Breakfast, taken on the terrace overlooking the sea, was excellent value for money. Highly recommended and we will visit again. Getaria is lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a small, very old village so the roads in the old section are narrow. Parking for the hotel is in another newer ( close ) location so you have to drop the bags off and get the instructions for parking. It's not too hairy to park outside the hotel to do this but just be prepared.

    This is a family run hotel, we met the son who speaks perfect English and the mother ( who doesn't ) is absolutely lovely - you are made to feel welcome. We were given lots of information - bus timetables, restaurants etc. Breakfast was excellent, as was internet. The weather was good so we had drinks and breakfast on the terrace overlooking the ocean. We actually caught the bus to San Sebastián for the day from the bus stop across the road- very easy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price, a little on the expensive side.

    As has been said before, Breakfast on the terrace! Great views!!! The breakfast itself was great and the staff very helpful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is absolutely nothing to fault here.

    It was a return visit and we travelled 200 miles off our main route just so we could go back. This hotel is a gem on the North coast, amazing views, beautiful rooms and made to feel so welcome. The breakfast is fantastic and the owners cannot do enough for you. Just want to go bAck again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking in Getaria near hotel is problematic, but hotel provides secure underground parking close by which is fully satisfactory.

    Superb views from restaurant/bar/garden area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking at the hotel is not possible, on request the hotel can book parking space in the underground garage about 5 minutes away (parking for a fee).

    The hotel is situated on the edge of the old town of Getaria. Rooms number 304 and 305 with a balcony on the third floor offer lovely sea view. But the best view is from the terrace in the hotel’s small garden high up on a cliff above the sea, where breakfast for hotel guests is served. One can feel there like in a paradise, a magical place. There is no restaurant in the hotel, however many excellent restaurants are nearby in the streets of the old town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything

    Excellent hotel - lovely staff who are very friendly and helpful. We needed to book bus tickets to Bilbao which they did so effortlessly. Breakfast is fantastic - mum's cake of the day definitely having, the staff where so lovely and interested in where we were from and what we were doing. We will be back - our room was superb- everything that it promised from the website photos, fantastic views with a wonderful hypertonic saline breeze.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly & very helpful staff. Comfortable rooms. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views were amazing. And the outdoor garden overlooking the ocean was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service. Good rooms with coffee machine. Excellent breakfast with wonderful view over sea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little disappointed with Getaria as a destination.

    Beautiful hotel with wonderful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattres was very uncomfortable, could have been cleaner

    We upgraded to a room with a view of the bay which was amazing to wake up to!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly Family run Hotel. Excellent location. Beautiful Terrace

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best bathroom ever!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on the Terrace overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't really fault anything.

    Clean comfortable and welcoming, friendly staff. Great breakfast overlooking the sea. I would come again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location Facility and Staf

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location and value

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very well located and the staff were great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The garden on floor 1 is a great place for breakfast and an evening drink. Staff were all around excellent. Convenient location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent family run hotel. Attentive and kind at every moment. Breakfast was great quality and very good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have been twice at the hotel and every time I get there I enjoy the beautiful view from the terrace and the friendliness of the personnel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather but outside any of our control

    Wonderful location and very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking

    View of sea

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely fresh breakfast on delightful terrace, authentic spanish experience and everything spotless.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast terrace view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing terrace

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    breakfast, staff, terrace

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast for 6 euros with the most amazing view was icing on the cake

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annie at the front desk! She was so helpful and nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast on the terrace. Very friendly family run hotel .Immaculate clean comfortable, modern room and shower. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic roof garden serving a good breakfast with views over the sea

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having jacuzzi bath as well as shower in our room was wonderful after a long day of hiking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    no fridge in the room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best hotel experiences we have had. Friendly and very helpful staff, great breakfast, good locaton and exceeded all our expectatons.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little close to main road, sometimes noisy.

    Excellent breakfast served by lovely staff on terrace with fab views. Very nice room with private patio.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was excellent near bars ,restaurants and beach with bus stop nearby for easy access to San Sebastian The Tourist Information is opposite the hotel and staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was relatively noisy in considering this hotel located at the coner of the main street and street from a marina.

    An accomodation A prior bus reservation at a front desk

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the water was really special. The staff was very helpful, the room had everything we needed and the bus to San Sebastian stopped outside the door. Getaria is a nice little town, a good base for visiting the coast.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our stay could have been longer than the 3 nights we were there!

    Friendly, accommodating, hard working staff. Amazing location in beautiful Getaria and views of the Atlantic from our room as well as the outdoor breakfast patio. Walk to everything;the beach, great restaurants, museum, bars, etc.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad could be said this hotel is lovely and would return with joy.

    Amazing gem of a hotel, nothing too much trouble.Beautiful room and view from terrace amazing.private parking at a fee but worth it. Breakfast is a feast not to be missed, lovely friendly hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking is a little inconvenient, but workable.

    Great location. Helpful and friendly staff. Terrace has a nice view of the sea. Good wifi. Best 6 Euro breakfast! Very comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had the choice between two rooms, One on the 1st floor the other on the 3rd. Both were very nice and we opted for the 3rd floor although we were warned it could be more noisy than on the first floor. For those fragile to street noise, I don't recommend the 3rd floor. For us it wasn't a problem.

    Everything! The authentic decor of the rooms (we had room 301 - all wood sealing), the delicious breakfast served on the terrasse with an exceptional view on the sea, the wine/drinks self-service we could benefit from (we had the terrasse to ourselves one night and drank a great bottle of wine just contemplating the view and the sound of the waves), the shower, the staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very comfortable , friendly, informal atmosphere, with fabulous views from the terrace available to all the residents at all times. Well placed to explore the fishing port and village on foot. Plenty of very good restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave

    This is a fantastic, value for money Hotel with a beautiful location and the most helpful, caring and friendly staff. Breakfast alone is worth the stay, especially the cake!!

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free parking is a problem in this village at 10 euro a day unless you park out of town however the buses are fantastic & very cheap so a trip to San Sebastián was only 2.35 euros

    Lovely village with many fantastic fish restaurants

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In peak season there is no free parking nearby (even on the coast area you have to pay) so it's worth to use the garage offered by the hotel. The variety of the breakfast was not that good, but with the view it is worth. The floor of our room was dirty when we arrived, maybe the wind brought in the dust.

    The view from the terrace is great, having a breakfast there is recommended. The staff also let us spend our time there in the evening/night. The bathroom is nice with great shower box.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly deceptive description of the room. Little atmosphere in hotel.

    Location, friendly staff. Very pleasant room and excellent bathroom. Coffee machine in room.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air-conditioning, although there was a fan which worked well. Remote parking

    View from balcony and garden. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extreme road noise all day and all through the night. Major construction work in adjacent apartment block priduced even more noise through the day

    Very polite & helpful family run business. Spotlessly clean

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much insulation between rooms.

    Lovely location with unbelievable view. Must have the breakfast, good view and good value. Service was wonderful. Everything within walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners were wonderful- extremely hospitable and helpful. Breakfast on the terrace was generous and good quality. We visited other hotels in the area as we were there for a wedding and felt really lucky we has chosen Itxas Gain. Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Bathroom could perhaps do with a little updating. Very welcoming and helpful family. Fantastic sea views and very convenient for the town.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Tub is not sealed and if not careful you will end up with water all over the bathroom floor. We were "locked in" in the morning and unsure what to do to get out.

    Personal service, honor bar, the view.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    next time I would ask for a room facing the sea. The size of our room was adequate but there were larger rooms with better views which I would have preferred. Not really a criticism but something to be aware of.

    The view from the breakfast balcony was amazing and the hotel was very central. The breakfast was delicious and the staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was spotless, welcoming people. Beautiful little terrace overlooking the ocean. beer and wine and drinks, help yourself from the fridge and write down and pay at checkout. Nothing bad at all to say. Beautiful new bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff (I believe it was family run) was kind and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable with an incredible shower. They have a beautiful view of the water from their terrace where you can enjoy drinks and breakfast. The breakfast was well done.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Traffic can be noisy in the early morning so the double glazed veranda doors need to be kept closed.

    Breakfasting in the open air on (over!) the very edge of the cliff is a not to be missed experience. The hotel staff were extremely helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not hace a tea at the terrace as it was reserves only for breakfast.

    Jacuzzi is great!

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable room in a great location. We loved sitting in the garden - beautiful view!

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The people handling the hotel was extremely kind and helpful. Nice location

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The owners are extremely pleasant & helpful. Good breakfast on terrace overlooking sea.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No hot water in the shower

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view from balkon in first floor

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sour staff/ owner Noisy from road

    Generous breakfast Close to town

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: