Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel J. Balmes Vic 3 stars

Carrer Francesc Pla, 6, 08500 Vic, Spain

#8 of 9 hotels in Vic

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 665 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    ROOM - Triple room was too small and claustrophobic. BREAKFAST - We added breakfast on room price, that was big mistake! Breakfast was poor. One morning there was no bread, eggs, milk or fruit on the buffet. Girl from the kitchen didn't seem to care at all, she was talking with local police officers and didn't even bother about the guests (unless you specifically asked for something). It is better and cheaper to eat in the city. HOUSEKEEPING - they would leave our room wide open while cleaning the entire hotel floor!! We went down to eat breakfast and one of us had to pick up something from the room. When we got there the room was wide open and there was nobody in the room. We had valuable things inside and this was not acceptable! The staff is very nice, but obviously not trained for hospitality services. LOCATION - too far from the city center

    Free parking and toiletries in the bathroom. Close to hospital (if that is what you need).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a bit further from downtown than I would have liked but nothing major. Weird semitransparent sliding door to the loo.

    A nice quiet place. My room had a view on the mountains.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is very old and noisy. Also, it only supports three persons. The room is very warm and uncomfortable, it's impossible to change the temperature. The breakfast was standard but the coffee was really bad.

    The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean and bigger than expected

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was okay, nothing much to say about it.

    This is a comfortable hotel within walking distance of the old city center. It is located near a hospital and is not in a particularly interesting neighborhood. But because of that, parking was easy and it was easy to get to. Restaurants were closer to the old city so we pretty much spent the day and evening in the old city and just went back to the hotel in the evening.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a complaint, but the hotel is located a 10 or 15 minute walk from the downtown restaurants. My wife was a little tired for walking because there was a hill, although I didn't mind.

    The hotel was comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complains. The keychain was a bit too big.

    The room facilities were brand new. Everything was clean and recently renovated. The staff was friendly. We had no problems at all. The neighbourhood is nice. A bit of walking to the centre but not so much - less than 10 mins.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi-fi was spotty but a minor inconvenience.

    We were traveling between Andorra and Roses, on the coast and looking for a nice stopping point along the way. Vic (pronounced "Beek" according to the hotel desk), was perfect. The hotel is directly across from the hospital and easy to find. It is a short walk to the town square and the day we were there the square was packed with families, everyone enjoying themselves. There is plenty to see and do and a number of excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. The hotel itself is not remarkable architecturally but the rooms are fine, clean, and a great value. Others may have mentioned the "farm" aromas that go with the territory. You get used to it quickly and it adds to the charm of the place. The hotel staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. They recommended La Tagliatella for dinner and it was excellent as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking is difficult, breakfast could have been better, the area and hotel were noisy and it is situated behind the main hospital, so traffic can be heavy, the lift is a problem as it does appear to breakdown, but this may have been through overloading by guests.

    Easy to get to clean and comfortable, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was very hard to keep room at a good temperature! to hot most of the time. Parking although we found it everyday sometimes had to walk 100m or so to find it.

    The buffet breakfast was fantastic, location ideal as a base. Room and Wifi we good enough to stream movies.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect stay, since parking in the centre of Vic is expensive and difficult. This hotel is 15 minutes on foot away from the city centre. Very comfortable, large room with a large bathroom and huge bath.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevators are a bit old, only one floor can be pressed at a time "first pressed - first served". Also they were shacking a bit and sometimes it was a little scary ;)

    The room looked even better than on the photos - super spacious and new, the bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was big enough as well. The personnel was very lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a bit out of town, and they don´t have parking, but parking close by was easy.

    Loved the size of the room, the air-conditioner, the breakfast and the staff. Someone said the breakfast was a bit average. I thought it was perfect! there was fruit, hot beverages, different kinds of bread and even bacon. They even had soy milk! which is amazing as I am lactose intolerant. We enjoyed our weekend visiting the "embalse de sau". The town is so calm, it was nice to escape the madness of Barcelona. They allow dogs but they charge for it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel had a bar and said it served food but never seemed open, would have been useful.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good and rooms are comfy. Location is OK, 10 minute walk from the old town. Some nice little cheapo bars just outside that are worth a go.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada

    Todo en general

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ac was not working! We had to open the windows, because it didn't work!

    Hotel facilities and location!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    expensive breakfast and coffee

    Would like all rooms to have tea and coffee facilities and a fridge Ironing board and a steam iron

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included

    Close to the centre , very clean , very nice staff and it's all what we needed breb

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice staff and close to the city center position. Will choose this hotel again for the future stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Great location of where we needed to be. We didn't really spend so long here as it was for a wedding.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bathroom was big and refurbished and i liked it. Breakfast was self-service anf pretty good. In general everything was good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Difficulty parking close to hotel. Shame no restaurant or cafeteria in the hotel for lunch or dinner

    Staff helpfulness and overall cleanliness. Comfortable beds, lots of hot water. Plenty of fresh fruit for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't expect views of the countryside!

    Good location outside the town of Vic. Parking is relatively easy. Friendly and helpful staff. We'd go back.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Price! I think the rate was really good for what you have, but isn't Barcelona city! Cheaper rate will help to become perfect!

    Vanity case with amenities :)

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    el desayuno no vale la pena, el ascensor no se mantiene hace mucho parece y hace muchisimo ruido y paraditas...

    está limpio y es tranquilo. Por lo demas justito

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I don't smoke but I stayed in the smoking room, please next time take that into account

    The rooms are very clean

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Helpful and friendly staff. Location is about 10 minutes walk from centre, but is good for access out of town. Situated opposite the Hospital

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    The staff. Everyone i encounter from the staff were very well trained and really nice. They were incredibly helpful.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Hotel J. Balmes Vic traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: