Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jardin de la Abadia 4 stars

San José, 3-5, 47195 Arroyo de la Encomienda, Spain

#3 of 3 hotels in Arroyo de la Encomienda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 374 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.0
    The bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren’t enough staff to cover all areas. The bar and restaurant were disappointing in their choice and service. Breakfast was not good and there was no service really.

    The bed was comfortable. The room was quite a good size.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    a star
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location -it was difficult to find evenusing 2 Sat Navs

    Once you manage to find it it is a gem: the receptioist wes very helpful and the waitress in the restaurant was a star : the restaurant was unfortunately empty so the ambience was not good bur it gave us plent time to admire the amazing decor. The food was first rate and the wine excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Good for an overnight stay,but no more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are a fan of architecture you will need to keep your blinkers on since this barrio of Valladolid is truly awful. The hotel is housed in a very old building but surrounded by stick a brick style recent structures. It is really better not to leave the hotel! Staff are friendly but not always apparent. In the bar area there is a small shop part where locals buy bread. So they choose what they want and then walk about seeking someone to pay. There is very limited choice of tapas at the bar and you have to ask what they have. We had cured beef and cured cheese. All very good but expensive. There is no comfortable seating in the bar area. The restaurant is open for lunch and dinner but the hours seem rather short. We ate dinner at 8.30pm but were the only occupants. The restaurant lacked atmosphere, service was slow and the food was fairly indifferent.

    Useful location if travelling to and from ferry ports. Very quiet so good after a busy day driving. Food choices good and staff quiet and helpful. Whole place is very well looked after. Staff and locals happy to engage with clients. Some very good beer and wine is available with a large choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    Interesting hotel in a quiet setting only a few kms from Valladoilid, which is a great place to vis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, as we enjoyed the experience. Having someone with good English skills, in our view, would have detracted from the authentic Spanish nature of this hotel.

    Friendly staff who did their best to make you feel welcome. Breakfast was very good and great value for money. Speaking some Spanish helped with communication, this added to the experience and was fun trying out our language skill.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay, looking forward to return visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More food/drink easily available at breakfast. we had to ask for some items

    Friendly, helpful staff & good food. Excellent location & easy parking. Lovely ambience in keeping with historical roots.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    awesome looking building.friendly staff
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent.we had car trouble when we were leaving the property and despite the laguage barrier we were directed to help and were soon on our way ..awesome

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is an excellent overnight stop if travelling towards the south. The hotel is very cofortab
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really convenient for the motorway. The restaurant was closed on Sunday evening but the staff prepared a salad for us. Found that we could have ordered a takeaway pizza as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.1
    lovely place but could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel was very nice but is in need of a lot of tlc, it appears to be run on a shoe string, silly small things needed repair or maintenance (e.g. room wash basin plug not working, toast machine only one row of heating elements working etc.) At dinner time menu in Spanish with no one there who spoke English. would I class it as a 4 star hotel currently no, but accept it should be able to achieve it with some work etc.

    the hotel has a nice ambience and the facilities generally good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.9
    Good accommodation and food but if you don't understand Spanish then you may want to look elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of English spoken in restaurant and reception. Consequently we were charged for room again on leaving when we had already paid when booking!

    Spacious & convenient location for our travel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.5
    Good view of a wedding included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows.

    Very good half-board meal, including wine. Good size room. Good internet connection. There was a wedding reception taking place, which was not at all noisy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.9
    Room was comfortable but meal not very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal wasn't very good. Luke warm and poor quality. Breakfast was satisfactory.

    Easy to find. Good overnight stay for travelling to Santander from Portugal.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    7.1
    Good hotel, but stay away from the restaurant
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay away from the restaurant in the hotel!!! The food was awful as a quantity and quality and it was really expensive. The bar is ok tho and atleast the drinks are cheap

    The location was perfect for us because we traveled from Portugal to France and it's not far from the motorway. The staff are friendly but can barely speak any English. Good value for money. Rooms are clean and wifi is good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Great location, nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, nice place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food choice limited and other facilities limited

    Easy to find Nice big room Clean Good for purpose of overnight stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic place very handy just off motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place very handy just off motorway.Staff could not be more helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Jardin de la Abadia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We liked that the hotel was on the route we had chosen to take into Portugal. The staff were super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    We just needed somewhere to stay near the motorway before heading off early the next day.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.7
    Ok for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult communication in restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in the room

    The building

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    CAFETERIA MEAL, ROOM.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    CHILDREN NOISE FROM RESTAURANT CELEBRATIONS

    CAFETERIA MEAL, ROOM.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Bery helpful friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bery helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    typical, quite and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean quite, service, nice people,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    family insists on returning every year
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    had reviewed previously - Outstanding, same great experience as always. Value is the keyword.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Staff were friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    5.8
    Conveniet for access but a bit drab
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Conveniet for access but a bit drab

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.6
    .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    8.8
    good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little small, but that's all

    The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was good, it was good value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.9
    Dani from Algarve-Portugal
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Colour of the bedroom, very dark blue, but it is not my bedroom, just the hotel taste.

    Beautiful reception, cleaned bathroom, Comfortable Bed..

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    Restaurant which offers tasty dishes, private garden, free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant which offers tasty dishes, private garden, free parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.9
    Interesting decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had booked the room a long time ahead but should have been informed as soon as the hotel accepted a wedding reception booking for that Saturday night. Our room took the brunt of the noise - trundling trolleys outside, children yelling and running indoors, women screeching, men vomiting noisily, chairs dragged across tiled floor, doors banging and all until 1.30am. Reception telephone number was not in room to speak to night porter. Air con was inefficient, dinner was poor, breakfast selection limited. Receptionist only apologized for noise until the final moment when, ungraciously, she took no payment at all.

    Interesting decor. Bed comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    5.8
    great position just outside of valladolid - quiet and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were very firm and the air conditioning seemed to only blow out hot air , also the breakfast was disappointing after the quality of the evening meal (no cheese in spain !!)

    great position just outside of valladolid - quiet and residential. the evening meal in the restaurant was good quality at a good pric.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.2
    This is a beautiful little hotel in a historic building with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was hard to find as our satnav, for some reason, didn't recognise any part of the address or the post code and we ended up driving through Valladolid. We received directions from some very helpful people however.

    This is a beautiful little hotel in a historic building with lovely wall paintings everywhere. The evening meal was very tasty and the waitress could not have been more helpful despite her limited English and our limited Spanish.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    8.8
    not far from autoroute, very individual style made a change...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No set menu was offered in the evening so the overnight stay didn't end up cheap.

    not far from autoroute, very individual style made a change from everyday rooms. Nice bar area.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    9.2
    Ideal stop over travelling from Northern to Southern Spain...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ideal stop over travelling from Northern to Southern Spain or Portugal. Parking is easy and the Hotel is just 1min off main route. Have stayed here 2yrs running and been very pleased with the service.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    10
    Good parking at rear of hotel, breakfast was fine, good old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, just a little hard to find with our SatNav.

    Good parking at rear of hotel, breakfast was fine, good old Spanish decor. Great value. Good evening meal in the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.8
    Sin Gluten bread !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service a little lax sometimes. Did not have our choice of starter (on menu) -goat´s cheese salad.

    Sin Gluten bread ! Lovely accommodation. Pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    10
    A really characterful hotel with lovely helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    A really characterful hotel with lovely helpful staff. Pre dinner G&T was beautifully prepared ( would love to post photos) and huge. Dinner was spot on lovely wine and comfortable room. Breakfast was possibly the best continental breakfast we have enjoyed.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    5.8
    all fine until i left the hotel at 5am to catch flight home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    all fine until i left the hotel at 5am to catch flight home..night porter insisted i hadnt paid and kept me there 20minutes....poor service from unexperienced staff

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    9.6
    Rustic bedroom and bathroom of good size and with a...
    • Solo traveller

    Not offered the choice of cooked breakfast so went continental. All ok

    Rustic bedroom and bathroom of good size and with a comfortable bed. Excellent reception and good breakfast spread.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    9.2
    For an over night stop it was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a lot around the hotel to visit.

    For an over night stop it was brilliant. The hotel restaurant food & quality were just outstanding. The hotel I just loved, an old religious place with lots of character.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    6.7
    Good location, great park by river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charging extra for meals on Fri/Sat/Sun!

    Good location, great park by river

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    10
    Quiet, comfortable, friendly, clean, good parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bigger choice of breakfast cereal and bread, but not a big issue.

    Quiet, comfortable, friendly, clean, good parking.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    9.2
    We have stayed at this hotel 3 times and on each occasion...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We have stayed at this hotel 3 times and on each occasion have been well looked after. Much nicer than the normal chain hotels.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    8.8
    The bed was comfortable, the water was hot and the room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was comfortable, the water was hot and the room, hotel and bar were clean and heated. This was a good hotel for an overnight stop.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    10
    Very easy to find close to the motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very easy to find close to the motorway. We stopped when returning from the Algarve to Bilbao. Very good value menu of the day.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    10
    I have stayed here twice now and always we've been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    I have stayed here twice now and always we've been welcomed warmly and the place is just excellent. Restaurant brilliant too.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    8.8
    Very helpful and pleasant staff, the hotel was very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful and pleasant staff, the hotel was very clean and room very comfortable!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    Staff very friendly and easy location to fond.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very friendly and easy location to fond. Very comfortable bed and big room

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Junior Suite was great, with 3 rooms and a living room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Junior Suite was great, with 3 rooms and a living room. The hot tub was a nice extra. We had lunch, and menú was affordable and worthy.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    A fabulous last minute find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A fabulous last minute find. Small village, very quaint and peaceful. Very accommodating staff. Unbeatable price/quality.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    6.7
    Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    To be informed that breakfast was not included. Dead light bulbs. Water closet malfunctioning.

    Nice room.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    10
    Lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bed a little firm.

    Lovely room. Seating areas for guests inside and out. Nice and clean and looked after. Breakfast was great even at 5am!

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    7.9
    Being a mature couple it was good to have a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being a mature couple it was good to have a stool in the bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff and lovely food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately the Wi-fi signal was not strong enough in my room and kept cutting out.

    Friendly staff and lovely food

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: