Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of VP Jardin de Recoletos 4 stars

Gil de Santivañes, 4, Salamanca, 28001 Madrid, Spain

#16 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1293 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfty and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only detail was that we had to change the room key every time we returned to the hotel

    The hotel is comfortable and well located near Serrano and the Puerta de Alcalá. It offers good breakfast and very comfty rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    A super hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff were welcoming,friendly and very helpful. The position of the hotel was perfect for exploring Madrid. Large very quiet room spotlessly clean. We enjoyed the garden.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    VP JARDINES DE RECOLETO - REVIEW
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the pictures in booking.com made the lobby and garden look very bright and spacious... the gray sheers looked like dirty white sheers...

    It was very clean....

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel I’m definitely going to go back to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel is in a quiet location very close to a huge park and twenty minutes walk from the city centre. The room was large and comfortable with a large bed and a seating area with sofa. In addition there was a hidden kitchenette with microwave, hob and sink.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    I was so pleased with my stay that next time in Madrid I will reserve at VP Jardin de Recoletos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First floor room a bit noisy. Families placed in two consecutive rooms were leaving the doors opened to communicate creating an echo in the corridor.

    The beds are very comfortable. The breakfast is more than excellent. I was extremely pleased at the freshness and quality. I have never seen anywhere else such an assortment of delicious breads.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    A little Gem in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing just perfect!

    I can safely say this hotel is the best hotel i have ever stayed in I have been to many a city break but this hotel exceeded all expectations.The rooms were clinically clean,the beds were heavenly,the quality of the bed linen was top class,loved the fridge and kitchen facilities.The garden is fab to relax in and chill out,had great food there too,asked for a late check out no problem at all.The staff were so helpful and friendly.Fantastic value for money.4* is underselling this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing outstanting to say.

    This hotel is excellent, good infrastructure and service, good breakfast, very convenient location in the neighborhood Salamanca, close to many very good restaurants and the price is adecuate in relation to the quality offered. Internet works fine. I recommend this place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Boutique style property with a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This is a great location for central Madrid; close enough to walk everywhere but quiet at night, very safe and lots of restaurants and shops in the area. My room was very large, with a kitchenette and sofa, and a Juliette balcony facing the quiet street. Breakfast in the garden or drinks at night are a real treat. Staff are smiling and helpful always. Great value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Always feel at home in Jardín the Recoletos
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not within their control but there is a lot of construction going on in the neighborhood so you have to be careful in the immediate area surrounding the hotel.

    This hotel is reliable. The location is excellent, quiet while close to many important Madrid landmarks. Visited during the taxi strike and we were able to get to museums, restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Its a small hotel and the staff makes you feel at home.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Amazing boutique hotel. great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was one of the best hotel that we ever stayed. very clean rooms , very comfortable beds, nice breakfast , excellent service, very kindly and friendly staff at the front desk, allways helpfully with lot of patience. we absolutely be back again !!! lot of thanks for wonderful experience !!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Super nice city stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very good.

    Very nice hotel, highly recommended. Would stay there again when come to Madrid. Modern, made with good quality materials, rooms are very spacious. Staff is very friendly, breakfast is very nice. Nice district, hotel is very well located. In the centre but still very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    excellent! will highly recommend and I shall return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    can't think of anything!

    Easy check-in/comfy rooms/friendly staff/low-rise Boutique hotel near shoppes/restaurants/cafes/RetiroPark/Atocha Station etc...highly recommend!! walking distance...to every place we wanted to see! breakfast + dinner was great too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning helped...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning helped a lot in the hot Madrid weather. The best was the staff and customer service. We were there for just a night for a wedding and overslept and missed checkout! They were very understanding and didn’t charge us. Brilliant customer service! Also the locationnis right in the middle of Madrid with all tourism points very close by!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Madrid break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anytime we wanted to sit out on the terrace we were expected to eat..

    Staff were lovely, so clean, lovely area, couldn't fault it, and they got our room ready early..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Loved this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular

    Everything was great, staff, location (around the corner from the Real Alcazar & the Cathedral. This hotel is a typical Andalusian villa, light & bright with central courtyards where one could relax or have breakfast My room was spacious & comfortable The Santa Cruz area is full of tapas bars & restaurants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful garden restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the restaurant didn’t open until 20:30 ( but this is common in many parts of Spain)

    Huge bed in spacious suite & sunny balcony. Relaxing in the restaurant, away from the hustle and bustle of madrid.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Great Salamanca neighborhood location, clean, and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected it to be very luxurious from the photos, but I would call it more mid-range.

    Very easy and cheap to get to from the airport (Take the C1 train and exit at Recoletos - the hotel is just about two blocks away. This will save you 28 Euros if you don't mind carrying your bag up some metro stairs!!) Outstanding location in the Salamanca neighborhood, clean and comfortable, and some good dining options nearby (Try Faborit for a healthy, inexpensive breakfast). Also a quick metro ride from the Chamartin station if you're taking the train somewhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Just a quick stopover this trip en route to
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything but they don’t have tissues in the rooms which I thought unusual. The drinks in the room are complimentary. The front desk staff are the nicest you will come across. We have stayed here before and liked it then and will always stay here when visiting Madrid. Thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Except for the internet problem, this was a perfect choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I have major internet problems in my room. They worked with their provider each evening to try to improve the connection so it was consistent. They need to remedy their problem with the internet service.

    I loved the location, breakfast, and attentive staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Our second but definitely not our last stay in this excellent hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar could be a little more 'cosy' - it resembles more a fast food outlet than a hotel bar.

    Very friendly staff. Excellent restaurant. Nice rooms, very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    A rainy Madrid mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little too firm!

    The room is large and spacious in comparison to others in the city. A short walk from Recoletos (Renfe train) station which is a direct link from the airport. And other nearby metro connections for the city. Situated in a nice area with shops and close to Retiro park

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Very helpful staff with recommendations of where to go and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very helpful staff with recommendations of where to go and how to get there. Nice large rooms and comfortable bed. Good location for walking around the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Great location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was excellent, like in a better 5-star hotel. Simple but clean and large rooms. Only thing I missed was a bathrobe. Excellent location in the Salamanca quartier with lots of really nice restaurants, close to the Retiropark and walking distance to the city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    This hotel is located on a narrow quiet street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel is located on a narrow quiet street. My room was well sound insulated. I chose this hotel for its quiet rooms, and it met my expectations. It is located by bus lines that go to the Prado and the modern art museum (with Picasso's Guernica). Both of these museums are walkable from the hotel. It is also near Metro stations for transport to more distant parts of Madrid. There are many restaurants very near the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Very welcoming staff that have been there for over two years!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities in the last room we had needs some upgrading.

    My wife and I are frequent visitors to Madrid and this hotel is our first choice in accommodations... three times in this last 12 months alone!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    The location was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have liked one morning of coffee in the room. We were however given milk from the bar downstairs at our request after we bought coffee for our room. We had a taxi early in the morning and there was no place in the hotel to get a single cup of coffee on our departure.

    The location was wonderful. We found many bars and restaurants within a two block walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay with minor disruptions that the staff was more than willing to help
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In-room kitchenette was an added value, but it came without a corkscrew. A coffemaker also was there, but nothing else was provided to make coffee with. Shower controls a bit hard to figure out. Had to call the front desk for help.

    Beautiful room in a prime location with a lovely balcony. An excellent breakfast is offered daily at very competitive rates, as well as parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location with beautiful bright rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is wonderful - central and safe for walking. Minutes walk from Parque del buen Retiro. Staff were really lovely and helpful. We had a beautiful balcony that got sun right up until 7pm and a little kitchenette.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Cannot recommend enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can think of is that the air con played up a couple of times and wouldn't change temperature but this did work the majority of the time.

    The room was extremely clean, spacious, and modern with the biggest bed that I had ever slept on! The staff were all incredibly nice and helpful. They were happy to help at any time and also recommended lots of lovely restaurants and things to do. We had an incident where the people staying in the room before us accidentally left their passport in the safe. Obviously, we were more concerned about getting the person's passport back in time and not missing their flight so we were happy for a member of staff to come in and get the passport out of the safe. However, after this just to say thank you they gave us free drinks at the bar which we really appreciated and felt was a very kind gesture. The location couldn't have been better, with plenty of restaurants, bars and shops on your doorstep as well as a stunning park which was a 5 minute walk away. We also opted for the breakfast option which was delicious and there was such a wide variety of foods. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and I couldn't recommend it more!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is located in a safe, posh area of Madrid. Restaurants are expensive; so are the stores.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant was mediocre, although the staff were wonderful. I enjoyed talking with several of the servers who were very sympathetic to my awkward use of the Spanish language.

    Screaming children ran around the lobby; their parents unaware of how rude it was for other hotel guests. The staff could not act on this, and I don't blame them at all. But I did not enjoy the screaming children.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Great location, great hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, surrounded by really good restaurants and walking distance to many of Madrid's attractions. Tram station really close for travelling further afield around the city. Staff very friendly and helpful also. Very large rooms and very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice place to stay with an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room wasn't cleaned to my standard and there was mold in the shower as well as a missing tile in the entry way. There were also no English channels on the TV - not even a news station.

    The breakfast was very good and there was an outside place to eat as well as inside. The wait staff were very accommodating although there was limited understanding of English. The beds were comfortable and it was an easy walk to the city center. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was beautiful, spotlessly clean and staff, friendly and accommodating. Room was huge and very comfortable for two girlfriends travelling together. Very good breakfast. Close to Prado , restaurants and cafes. Front desk will gladly call you a cab which usually arrives in a minute or two. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Large, well equipped and very quiet rooms in a terrific...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large, well equipped and very quiet rooms in a terrific location. Close to metro, great restaurants and the magnificent Madrid museums. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Beds were comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were comfy. Rooms were big and modern. In a quiet place of Madrid but not too far from the busy Gran Via area. Few restaurants within vicinity of the hotel. Easy transfer to the airport via Recolletos station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Madrid is a good value and friendly city and this hotel is a great location from which to explore it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved it.

    Nice selection of cereals, breads, pastries, meats and cheese at buffet breakfast and hot food is cooked to order. There were some issues with the coffee machine on the first morning but staff sorted quickly and, in the interim, made coffees at the bar. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, providing maps and directions when they realised this was the first visit to Madrid for 2 of our party. Hotel location was great - close to Rotiro Park but down a side street so away from the busy main road.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Good position and greattach hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could do with having a better screen as the bathroom floor got wet

    Great hotel withe everything we needed. Large room and comfortable bed. Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    A lovely hotel in an excellent city center location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very pleasant and extremely helpful. They helped make reservations, arrange for a taxi and ordered flowers for my husband for my birthday. They sent up a gift of a bottle of Cava from the hotel for my birthday!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    It made my trip to Madrid!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are friendly and most helpful. The breakfast is delicious. The room and bathroom are spacious and clean. I had a wonderful stay at the hotel, and highly recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Absolutely a wonderful experience! Beautiful location & hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn’t like was the rain but can’t blame the hotel for that!

    Hotel staff & restaurant breakfast was amazing! We required some admin. assistance warranting scanning documents and we found staff very professional and willing to help us! Hotel perfectly situated for a wonderful Madrid Experience! We had rain all week but the location and accessibility to everything didn’t stop us! We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Madrid! Thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    This hotel superior to 5***** R&C Hotel Orfila w Michelin chef: Avoid at all cost!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Prefer garden view rooms on previous visits to street view room this visit. Hallway carpets need replacement.

    Can't beat location; large, comfortable, well-lit BR and Ba; and helpful staff for the money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic location and spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cafeteria employees could be a lot friendlier.

    The front desk staff are extremely friendly and professional. The location is fantastic, with convenient parking in the same building. The rooms are very comfortable, spacious and quiet. We usually stay at this hotel on trips to Madrid. It’s not cheap, but prices at prime locations in downtown Madrid are creeping up overall. The neighborhood is filled with lovely shops and restaurants, and the Retiro park is right around the corner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel in the very centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food for the dinner could be better, but its not the hotels fault as the restaurant is a bit independent for lunch and dinner. And the bathroom needs some improvement.

    Very nice located, very friendly staff. Beautiful garden. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.8
    for hi standard shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the only bad thing was the room service call centre they don't speak English , but also the reception staff was helpful to solved this issue

    the location in the middle of the shopping street , and the car parking easy to reach and to get the hotel as it's on the basements the breakfast was great , even the room service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    Feeling great in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room temperature was very hard to adjust. Leaking from the shower to the bathroom floor.

    Location, staff friendly and helpful, nice bed + bath + breakfast. Excellent choice in Madrid.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    Will come again if I plan a long stay. Very neat, clean property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle would be very welcome in the kitchenette

    Friendly staff. Very helpful. Forgot something in the room on checkbout which was recovered and later collected with minimum fuss or hassle The rooms have a kitchenette which is super

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant and comfortable and we LOVED the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was near something that generated a banging sound intermittently (just above the front desk on floor 1) but it ended by the time we needed to sleep so we didn't ask to move.

    The room was very comfortable and large. It has a mini-fridge and mini cooking area. Staff was helpful and nice. The breakfast was Euro and quite a spread but they provided American eggs really fast if wanted.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous hotel in fabulous Madrid location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee machine at breakfast often had a bit of a queue. How about adding a second machine.

    Location and the most friendly staff we have known in a hotel. They even sent some bubbly to our room as one of the reception staff noticed it was my birthday! They were all so good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    A cosy, comfy, clean and modern place to stay at end of a long tiring trip. Felt nurtured.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast on some days at 8:00am! REALLY? International visitors can find this very late. Coming from Australia we eat breakfast at 6:00 am. We were not told that it would be at 8:00 until we came down at 7:00am. International guests could be told this when they arrive as a special "to note" in the check-in. Smoking in the garden around food was disappointing. The Wi-Fi almost never worked for more than a couple of minutes. Very disappointing and inconvenient.

    The hotel felt comfortable and was modern and clean. Staff very helpful and friendly. It felt like a safe haven after a busy time in Europe. The room was comfortable and fantastic beds and linen. The hotel is off the main street but still close to everything. Being off the main road meant less traffic noise which was a godsend. Very quiet at night. The kitchenette is a bonus. Though we didn't really use it it was nice having it there for the few times we did.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended, I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My bed had a slight squeak when I laid down but that was the only time I heard it and could have asked the desk to have them adjust, but wasn't really a big deal.

    Large variety of breakfast foods/drinks, also can ask for coffee drinks such as cappuccino. My room had a small balcony overlooking the street and a mini kitchen. The bathroom was very nice. The front desk staff were all very helpful and nice. The location is good, near many shopping areas and the large city park Parque del Retiro and very close to subway stop. There is an excellent restaurant just a few doors down the street called Flavia, and I would highly recommend it. I ate there twice! The hotel also has an outdoor seating area in a courtyard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    ten days of being looked after with every attention to detail being attained
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    nothing

    ease of check in , the friendly staff always there to attend your request or provide information to help plan your day. location superb within easy walking distance of eating places + plus their own romantic garden to enjoy an evening meal which was delicious. very comfortable room with pillow menu

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    The three and a half days I spent at the hotel and its location couldn't have been better. The
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything. The only disappointment was that the dollar had lost a lot of value against the Euro since I booked the room. Consequently, the room was more expensive than I anticipated.

    The room was huge and gorgeous. Everything--the marble floors, the bathroom, the bed, other furniture, the kitchenette--was immaculate and in excellent taste. I especially liked being able to open double doors to a small balcony and being able to fix simple meals in the kitchenette. The stove, sink, dishes, etc. are behind shiny white doors, so the kitchen is unobtrusive. In fact, if you didn't know the room has a kitchen, you would assume the doors were additional closet space. I bought wine, fruit, veges, yogurt, coffee, cheese, nuts, etc. from a fruit/ vegetable seller and a small grocery store several blocks from the hotel. I enjoyed having simple dinners and breakfasts in the room. The maid and front desk staff were exceptionally warm and helpful, always greeting me when I entered or left the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Superb experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all!!

    The location is probably the best in Madrid, especially if you are looking for nice shopping and chic cafes. The room was very comfortable and spacious (we were three adults in one room) and the breakfast buffet had a great variety. All in all it was an excellent experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    The neighborhood is very nice and within walking distance of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The neighborhood is very nice and within walking distance of all major sites. Staff very personable and helpful. This is the second time we have stayed here and will do so again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more space in the lobby or extra sitting area would have been better

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was quite large and there were drinks in the minibar for your consumption

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Altogether enjoyable and will return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Colors of accessories on bed , brown , my least favorite color scheme

    Big room , garden setting to enjoy, kitchen and fridge to make a light snack, easy walking access to good shopping and restaurants and retiro park. Close enough for those who enjoy walking to go see many museums including the prado,a 20 minute walk Also rooms facing garden are very quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    very good location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    private event on the terrace one evening and hotel guests were not able to use it; bed on the wheels:) ; water in the fridge only at arrival, they did not re-filled the fridge; bathroom small and bath tube quite old. I guess the 4 stars were trigegred by the size of the room...

    very good location; big room; very nice terrace

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    We are looking forward to our next stay and will recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the perfect hotel for us. Very friendly and competent staff, spacious and clean rooms and great location next to Retiro Park and Salamanca etc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor detail, Hairdryer , best to bring your own

    Great place only had one night , would love to have stayed longer easy walk to many of the tourist spots, rooms were great , clean comfortable and quiet, drinks in the mini bar where courtesy of the hotel, nice little sitting area would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Now this is our favorite hotel in Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Now this is our favorite hotel in Madrid! Everything is wonderful! Responsive friendly staff! Spacious indoor parking, including for large cars. See you!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in Salamanca area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the room--2 full beds pushed together and a full pullout couch. Also had a kitchenette and the fridge was stocked with drinks when we arrived. Beautiful neighborhood of Salamanca with all of the high end shops. Close to the Parque de el Retiro, which is lovely in the morning for a walk, run or bike ride. And only 10-15 min walk to Prado. Lots of little bars and restaurants around the back of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    My daughter and I stayed at VP Jardins on the 15,16,17th of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter and I stayed at VP Jardins on the 15,16,17th of July. The young man working the Pm shift went above and beyond to make sure our stay was fantastic. Thanks for a great stay we will be sure to recommend your hotel to our friends and family in New Zealand. Warren

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Since a long time one of the very best rooms that I ever had
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quite room. Very good breakfast. Friendly staff. What more to say. Service is very good. They are taking care of the guest. You can feel it all the time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Hotel was centrally located, beautifully appointed and the staff could not be nicer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Did not like shower set-up; it was a wand that could be taken out, however, just standing under it sometimes meant it sprayed and was not easily controlled. This is minor compared to the rest of the hotel's services and wonderful staff.

    Amazingly accommodating and welcoming staff. Conveniently located for stores, transportation, etc. Hotel Garden is lovely. Highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Enjoyed our stay in Madrid! It was an excellent hotel! Great breakfast, also had a lunch and dinner at the hotel, quality food and reasonable price. The location was ideal, easy access to all the tourist sights! The staff were very helpful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Stylish and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a bit tricky to find by car, one way streets etc so check your route in advance. Breakfast staff were a bit off-hand, and food not as good as our last visits.

    Lovely hotel in an excellent location with onsite parking. There is a large patio area for dining and drinks. Room comfortable and a lovely bed!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    Good location, great beds, don't go just for the garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow service in garden - hotel guests not made to feel welcome in garden in evening if just having drinks, and not allowed to have breakfast there at all, and the garden was one of the main reasons we booked this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't find any because everything was very good.

    I like the size of the room and helpful stuff. Location was perfect near by beautiful park, many cafe, and very comfortable. I'd like to stay again if I go to Madrid.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Comfort & style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hotel in an upscale area of Madrid. They provide an excellent breakfast of fresh fruit, custom-made eggs, pastries and champagne served up in a relaxing garden oasis from the busy streets. The staff is very accommodating and the room was large with a sofa bed and kitchenette. They even provide a daily news service in several languages!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location, small hotel in the silent street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel organizes celebrations for guests from outside the hotel. If you have a room above the restaurant it might me noisy!

    The location is perfect, close to the city center and Prado museum, located in the silent street. The room is huge and comfortable. The breakfast was tasty with y lot of fruits. The cafe machine not really suitable for a hotel. You can ask the personal for a coffee made from bar machine, it tastes a lot better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    An oasis in the heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WiFi was quite slow, but a tech had started working on upgrading the whole system the morning we checked out, so hopefully problem solved.

    Exceptionally well run property. Rare to find a hotel - or any type of property - that does everything so well (and we know; we have travelled extensively over the years, especially Europe). All staff are cheerful, friendly and helpful at all times. Perfectly located - walked to most sights during the week; otherwise, Metro close by. Wish other properties would make the effort to provide this level of quality at this price-point.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.5
    Good size room, good location, friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't great, bed not fixed to the wall so impossible to sit up without it sliding away from the wall

    Good size room, good location, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.8
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If there is one minor thing, although parking is underground, the parking spaces for a large vehicle are a little tight.

    The hotel is centrally located, close proximity to public transportation. The garden to relax and have a glass of wine. Restaurant has very good food. Staff is friendly and efficient. Room is spacious and clean with great shower and comfortable beds. Breakfast has a good variety of food, including fresh made eggs and or omelets with bacon. For those that would like to indulge there is also wine and champagne for that special morning start.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    The staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The internet is very very slow, they could do something about it. It's frustrating.

    The staff was very friendly. The position of the hotel, the cleanliness of the room, all were pluses.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel 2 steps from El Retiro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was unbelievably comfortable, the room spacious and the staff exceptionally helpful and nice. My husband was feeling sick and reception kindly accepted a late check-out without extra fees. we will definitely come back for our next Madrid city trip!

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse VP Jardin de Recoletos traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: