Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jardin Las Hayas

Carretera Las Hayas, 38869 Valle Gran Rey, Spain

#37 of 42 hotels in Valle Gran Rey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 358 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    4.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photos of the rooms give a nice and bright impression. However, our "Superiour Double Room" was dark and gloomy and a bit worn out. We were happy we had booked for one night only.

    The TV and the heater.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for only one night which was fine. But for a longer stay I'd recomend that you book a slightly more expensive room with a mountain view. Our cheaper room was very dark and demp. A bit depressing for a longer stay I reccon.

    The hotel excists out of two parts. One where the restaurant is located and one location a bit further down where the sleeping area is. What we liked the best during our stay was absolutely the restaurant. The food is good and all home grown and prepared!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacking thought. Microwave and fridge in room plus coffe cups but NO KETTLE.! I was told no rooms have a kettle....it was suggested i heated cups of water in the microwave! Myself and another solo traveller were put at the back of the purpose built units in rooms with no view whilst all the rooms with a view over the beautiful valley remained empty. "Schitzer" as my 'neighbour' said ...just a little thought from the host would make a big difference.

    Clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When taking a shower the whole bathroom flooded.

    I liked my stay in Las Hayas which is a small village at 1000 metres from the sea level. There are hiking routes starting just from the hotel e.g. to Arure (route 11) and the laurisilva forest is just around the corner. You can go to the forest following the route 5. The forest also starts from the bus stop at the crossroads of the big road. I took a bus from San Sebastian de la Gomera to Las Hayas and the views on the way were magnificent. The bus stop is just in the crossroads and then it's all 400 metres downhill to Las Hayas. It was also doable walking uphill when I went to the bus stop on my way back to San Sebastian with my small luggage. The hosts don't really speak English and my Spanish was a little rusty so the communication wasn't very good but we got by. One evening I had the 10 euro vegetarian dinner and I liked it. If you need to take a taxi from Valle Gran Rey (which is such an amazing tropical palm tree valley with restaurants, beaches etc.) it cost 23 euros to Las Hayas. The garden of the hotel is very beautiful with lots of palm trees, roses and other flowers. Spring (the end of March-the beginning of April) is a wonderful time to visit La Gomera.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed. In short, this is an un-serviced hiking cottage, very different from the glowing description on Booking.com and certainly not worth the price quoted. The cottage was stuffy and dimly lit. No windows except bathroom so had to sleep with the door open each night. Had paid for 9 nights unfortunately and refund was not an option. No linen change or cleaning for the entire period and the bins only emptied after we insisted. The Cottage is 10 minutes down the road from the main building so no WiFi except at the “restaurant”. Another misnomer since only fixed fare and overpriced at that. As a hiking hut for half the price this might have been OK, not otherwise. As a final note, the reception staff spoke no English and seemed totally disinterested. The only saving grace was a young handyman who tried his best to help things along.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and place is so calm and peaceful. You can really escape completely if you wish to. The owner Efigenia is an amazing lady. She is so welcoming and lovely. You can even try local Gomera food in her restaurant which was so delicious! Definately would recommend to others :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A shame we couldn't buy some bread or odd bits of food for the following day's walk as no shop is nearby

    Able to make tea and coffee after a long days' walk

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    February is a bad time to be in the mountains,if you have a car your ok .the weather can be very cold

    The People, the accommodation was average but adequate

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff only speaks Spanish, so we didn´t really get any help for our questions during our stay. Breakfast was ok but quite expensive. If you are travelling without car, please note that there is only one restaurant in the village (that is pretty good actually) and no shops or anything.

    If you want to do hiking, paths are going through the village. Nice rooms and beautiful surroundings. There is only one restaurant in the village but that is worth visiting (great service and restaurant is open from morning till late evening).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was dark with the only window facing a mini enclosed patio against the mountain. The bathroom smelled of dampness and the lighting in the room was not pleasant. No internet access in the bedroom. A gloomy stay in my experience.

    I was welcomed with a cup of tea made with garden plants. Family managing Las Hayas were reserved but relaxed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning cooler outside on the house roof was much too noisy(, due to worn out bearings in the unit?)

    Nice quiet Village with pleasant view over the valley

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not friendly staff and welcome..seem indifferent to people waiting even not busy.They gave us the wrong room than we booked first... a doublebed room away from main building 5 mins drive....we booked 2 singles bed room. we booked from the nice pictures and this was not nice..it was dark, no natural light ( facing a mincourt yardwall ..high up 3 meter you can glimpse the light)it was humid and cold and worst of all.. the worst soft beds ever..huge backpain for both of us. The beds are not fittet for avarage northeuropean people weighing about 70 to 90 kg. Like us, so im guessing small people working there weighing less than 45 kg tried it 2 seconds and think its okay. But they are much too soft. There was not enough light on the many steps up to front door. Stumbled 2 times. So hard both to walk in dark and find the keyhole. As 2 male travellers sharing we made sure we booked 2 separate beds and they puts us in a smallish room with one doublebeds first..I complained..it was like a faulty towers episode ! So we got the room next door but only after a hole trip of dragging our luggage down in the car and following the driving spanish man back to the hotel..yes. The room are not near the hotel..so you cant pop over easy for a coffie..you will have make one in the microoven in the closet ! back to hotel ..waiting forever forever for them to talk with us ..like at checkin first time. Follow driver again in our car. Park again..Up the steps and into the dark room right next to the room we just left ! only difference was we could separate the beds half a meter. Ourselfs ! I guess the mobile phone is not invented in las hayas to talk to staff...lost the sunset hour ..could have had an hour left..infront we walk past the rooms we booked with doors and terasse outside every day...maybe somebody was moved and they think 2 men like us will not mind getting the darker rooms...second day we had no water for shower in the morning..not a drop !

    Quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a pitty noone speaks English. The atmosphere in the dining room.is a bit cold with white lights and no music.

    It's nice to have a little fridge and microwave in the room. The vegetarian menu was very nice as well. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet does not work at this accommodation , so you have to go to the main house to get e mails and send them , the village does not have a shop so beware if needed , it could get cold as you are 3000ft up .

    We liked the traditional cottage ,it is very well done and has the most amazing views

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst the location of the cottage was excellent for our needs, it was some 800m plus from the main hotel and we were not provided with any directions. We were driven to the cottage by a member of staff along a windy road and didn't take too much notice of the way, initially not realising how far it was. Later, returning to the centre of the village in the dark we missed a turn and took ages finding our way. We asked for a map to explain the way but were not provided with one. Instead a member of staff showed us the way again in the car explaining it was just straight on along the road ... but it wasn't quite. I strongly recommend that future guests staying in the more distant cottages take note of the right hand turn towards the end of the journey!! With the toilet being downstairs from the bedroom it was a bit of a trek if you needed to make use of it during the night. A relatively minor inconvenience (pardon the pun).

    The location of the hotel and the cottage where we stayed was really good. A quiet, rural area served by a local bar (which had everything we needed - beer and food). The rooms we had were some way from the hotel and had really good views of the countryside. Perfect stop off location if walking the GR 131 or other more local routes. The kitchen facilities seemed comprehensive though we didn't make much use of them. The accommodation was spacious being over 2 floors.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi, nearly impossible without a car, the first bus stop is around 2 km away and the buses are very rare. No shops, only 2 restaurants. Local people are not very friendly. The atmosphere is completely different compared to the places you get in actual Valley Gran Rey. Better stay in the centre of Valley Gran Rey and go there separately if you want to do some hiking. In one of the restaurants, we were overcharged. When we went to discuss, they eventually corrected it. But they were very nasty against us that we discussed it although we approached them really kindly about it. The balconies are nice, but mostly unusable, because it is either very hot and sunny or windy. Last but not least, on our check out day, the cleaner man appeared at our entrance, looking inside through the window when I was in the bedroom getting dressed which I didn't appreciate. In the end, he knocked the door at 11 and asked when we are leaving although the checkout time was at 12. Then he took the keys from us at 11 and asked us just to close the door and leave the place. On top of that personal questions regarding my passport and nationality were quite irritating.

    A nice, comfortable apartment. But wouldn't go back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had room H which I'd avoid in good weather as views from the rooms with big windows or patios must be stellar. FYI imagine P also dark. Possible those are the cheapo rooms.

    The 'Queen of Las Hayas', the old owner, is a delight, even though we shared only a little Spanish. I had a dinner which was large and delicious with lots of local flavour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Wifi, breakfast even on request not available early. Had to search for an alternative

    Perfectly located for hikers on the GR 132. Apartment located 300 meters from the check in desk. Clean, great terrace, nice view to the south in the ever bending palm trees. Great original canarian food at the main Hotel / restaurant. Exceptional. Few guests at 1100 meters at the junction of the northern passant-wind-current and the southern dry and hot climate, extremely stormy at night in the middle of may. Breakfast at 07 am not possible at the restaurant for early birds, all doors closed, 200 meters above good basic alternative.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom made it difficult to use without knocking into something, no heating in bathroom made it difficult to shower as room too cold, large gap under front door with no draft excluder also contributed to cold kitchen. Toilet did not flush properly.

    Comfy bed, nice large bedroom, picturesque setting.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Odd reception in the restaurant. Surly staff. Sheets hadn't been changed, or washed since previous occupants, as evident by stains and short and curly hairs! Synthetic fleece sheets and pillow covers. The latter was one long tube for the two pillows. Tea and coffee supplied but no kettle. Horrible and dim lighting - warmer, brighter bulbs would make a huge difference. Private terrace was approximately 3 sq ft. Outside stairs to door was dark and dangerous at night. Lots that needs improvement at little cost to the establishment. Could be a charming place to stay.

    Good location on a good day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We took the cheapest room left and got the one in the back with a window actually looking to a wall. It was very humid and cold (there were other nicer rooms with small terraces, so we were just not lucky). The floor was awful with paint pealing off and if you walked with your bare feet - peaces of paint would get stuck on them... it was not particularly clean neither. Staff was ok but not more.

    The place is just next to the Garajonay national park, so you actually can just start your hiking trips from there. The only place available to eat is owned by same people as the hotel, it is delicious but only offers one type of meal each day and closes early for Spain's standards.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception area is at the terrace restaurant and we arrived around 4 pm. The staff member that checked us in was not particularly friendly or helpful in explaining that we were waiting on another person to come to drive us to our cottage.

    The cottage was very nice. It was great having a small kitchen. It was conveniently located by Garjonay National Park which was why we selected this location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The staff, except the owner, was not that frendly, which gave us a slightly bad impression of it all...if they can improve all this (and if they can clean the appartment during the stay...), this place would be a terrific place to spend a week or more as we did...

    The location is just perfect. The view from the appartment is just amazing, it is so quiet, we stayed 8 nights and we really enjoyed our stay except for what we mention above...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean when we arrived. The reason why I rated the cleanlyness not as so good is, that the room wasnt cleaned once (we stayed 3 nichts).

    The apartments are located very practical because you can reach the national park and several hiking routes very quickly and easily by foot. The restaurant is only a 2 minute walk away. They serve a healthy and vegetarian menue and a great lemonade! The omlette for breakfast is really good. Once we recognised that the aircondition is also a heater, we were very happy since it can get chilly during the night time. The room was very cosy!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In autumn it can be chilly

    Nice location, friendly people, in a small Hamlet with two restaurants. In the restaurant that goes with the place a nice vegetarian local meal is served for a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange shower arrangement!

    Convenient when walking. Close to trail. Good breakfast. Pretty location. Great local restaurant with delicious goat meal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Awesome location on beautiful surroundings, very good shover and air con. Superb friendly Stuff!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms we had wasn't non-smoker rooms. We didn't ask for other rooms, though

    Amazing vegan food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic accommodation. Mould on ceiling in bathroom. May be nicer in summer but avoid it over winter.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom , cold water in the morning , small size

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    had a very friendly welcome, felt like belonging to family

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely fantastic place! Would certainly want to visit again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty bed linen & teaspoons. Lack of kettle. Only microwave.

    Wall mounted aircon to warm the room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not the best place to stay in winter. Cold and humid. Better to find a place in lower part of the island.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful owner, a real character

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owners were not friendly, they asked for passports and money but said nothing else! Not even hello.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit chilly...a heater for winter nights

    Notes showing the way to our room...no check in requird..only see staff if a problem...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner had only Spanish which made requesting my requirements difficult. The restaurant. The rain!

    Central location for accessing walks.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room had no hot water or curtains and was cold and damp. The hotel is not suited for walkers as some of the rooms are over 0.5 km from reception (at the linked restaurant). The staff were rude/aggressive and demanded payment up front. There was no apology or recompense for the lack of hot water in the evening or the following morning. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar is cold in the winter but our room was warm. Room itself was small and had no outlook so very dark

    Unique, this is a very traditional bar restaurant with rooms and apartments set in a rural location in the highlands. Entering the main building is really like stepping back in time. Facilities are simple but you get a taste of traditional La Gomera. All the food is grown by the owners who also make and sell palm syrup, wine, jams etc. Owners are keen to share the traditional lifestyle, they had little English but we managed fine with our Spanish

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No one spoke English or German on the Steph and could hear our complaints. The room smelled like sewer gas and there were numerous worms on the floor in the bathroom and in the bathtub. some of the guests had no hot water. There was no one there to hear our complaints. We left for elsewhere two days early

    Location was OK

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is a lot of humidity in the room which causes mould and the paint peels of the wall. There are woodworms everywhere - dead and alive. The sheets had been washed but not well enough to eliminate stains.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the fist night I had to remove about 20 worms/millipedes (circa 5 cm long). On average weather conditions the heating was insufficient. Landlord said to use the wood stove but this was broken (exhaust was disconnected off burner). Smokey smell in the rooms. Roof beams were sooted. Dark rooms. Wet and humid, everything was damp and clammy. Towels did not dry - even not good on a sunny day. Old towels. Dirty facility. Cobwebs, dust and dirt on walls and floor. Dead worms laying on floor and in bathroom - indicating that it was not properly cleaned. Wardrobe contains no boxes, only a single rail. Staff and personell at the reception only speak Spanish. They truly know why they don't show images of all rooms/apartments on their website! Don't go there! Heavily overpriced!!

    Close to national park. View. Hot tap water.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Room was in a whole; the little patio was looking at a dirt wall 3m tall - No view - the room had a weird smell, especially the sheets - The staff was overworked and it was hard to communicate with them (only Spanish speakers)

    - The view from most rooms was nice - Great for hikers, really far and high up from the coast

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We Didnt have enough towels. One of the bath gels had been used and not replaced. Old lady was lovely, young girl Who took payment very nice but another lady Black hair with glasses was horrid with us. Made us feel very rushed, nasty tone! My Partner Is spanish so cannot even say language barrier as there was none!

    They had a Heater in the room And really hot water

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    THE RESTAURANT WAS OVER A KILOMETRE AWAY FROM MY CABIN. THE NATIONAL PARK MENTIONED AS CLOSE, WAS 7 KMS. SO NOT GOOD UNLESS YOU HAVE A CAR, WHICH I DID NOT. THE OWNER QUOTED ME 40 EUROS FOR STAFF TO TAKE ME TO THE BEGINNING OF A WALK -15 KMS. THERE WAS A MEANNESS IN THE PROVISIONS - 2 T-BAGS, 2 DECAFFEINATED COFFEE SACHETS, 2 CONDENSED MILK - I WAS THERE FOR 4 DAYS!! A FUEL STOVE, BUT NO FUEL AND IT WAS COLD.

    THE CABIN WAS CLEAN, QUIET AND COMFORTABLE

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hostile atmosphere. The 2 middle aged women working there were so rude and unwelcoming we were relieved to leave. A shame because it's a beautiful place, and the young woman was doing her best for the guests.

    The location

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed in December and the rooms were pretty damp even though I had the heating running; the damp smell even stayed in my clothes :/ Felt a bit like in Ireland... Bring time for checkin and breakfast, it's as if you're staying at someone's home, you'll wait a while. Rooms are 5 min walk down the hill though.

    Great food and authentic restaurant experience. Friendly staff. Rooms are well equipped and with heating.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The quirkiness of the restaurant meant that service was a bit slow and a little unfocused.

    Location on the edge of the national park, size of room and heating, the quirkiness of the nearby restaurant and quality of food (Cafe Montana-Efiginia)

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They didn't clean the room in a whole week. We got new towels, but no new sheets.

    Nice staff, super delicious and authentic diner. For hikers: the ideal location to get everywhere on the Island in short time.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check in was slow for us. Seems to be virtually shut down but probably time of year.

    Good room, freshly decorated with good furniture and bathroom facilities. Terrace would be even good in better weather.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    high humidity level in the room, the floor was very dirty, not enough parking spaces for guests. Please note: the room was inside Las Palmeras complex 100mt far from the reception, if you want breakfast you have to pay 7€ pp (only fridge and microwave in the room). The property is inside garagonaj national park, it's usually rains during evening. Disabled people: please keep away.

    good starting point to visit garagonaj national park. good price/quality ratio

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Second time we have stayed here in less than a year which sums it up as I've never been to the same place twice before. Hostess and her family very charming and helpful if you require any assistance or local knowledge

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much to do in the area No kitchen for cooking, only a microwave and a fridge

    Nice little apartment little outside of the more popular restaurant. We didn't try the food but in the guest book there were only comments like 'best lunch ever' so we were a bit disappointed we already had lunch that day :)

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Confusing check in, staff didn't know what to do until boss showed up, didn't give us much of a professional impression. No wifi in cottage. All heating turned off at arrival so it was very cold and damp and it took hours for the bed to go comfortable. Cold at night despite the heaters set on full. More blankets, please!! Kitchen cabinet falling apart. Mould issue in the shower and someone had attempted to hide the musky smell with heavily perfumed candles or something. Sorry, we could smell it all the same. Nice try though. Cottage hard to access with very random crooked narrow stairs. Disabled? Stay elsewhere.

    Loved the kittens visiting in the morning! Fantastic view (when the clouds lifted). Great scenic location.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Accommodations are different. I have stayed three nights in spacious cottage with excellent facilities and view close to the hiking trails. Great owners hospitality. Organic food.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location too high in winter- chilly and misty. In the evenings only 1 nearby restaurant run by friendly owners and its vegetarian only . Bathrooms adequate but basic.

    Convenient for the Garajonay National Park. You can walk straight from the door. Comfortable little Canary style rooms with fridge and basic cooking facilities . Good value.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room didn't have a few (rock wall) and not much daylight.

    Kind hosts, very nice food! Comfortable and warm room, whuch was important because it was very cold and windy with rain when i was there!

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our sheets and towels were not changed after 3 days which felt a bit grotty and we had to ask for more loo roll. one out of two of the hob plates in our cottage was broken which was a pain. luckily we had the wood burner so could use the top of that too.

    we liked the friendliness and generosity of Efigenia although sadly the restaurant was shut for 5 days during our visit ( a burst pipe!). There is not much up here which is wonderful.. but plan ahead with sourcing food if you are self catering. Great hot shower and cosy blankets. totally peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Could not get wifi in my cottage The local buses were not very reliable The restaurant was being refurbished whilst I was there Bit remote for solo traveller

    The owners were very kind and generous The cottage had a balcony with stunning views over the valley and mountains Very tranquil location The owners gave me food parcels to make up for restaurant being closed They let me use their wifi whenever I wanted Beautiful walks

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The weather was very cold and windy which spoiled our stay. Food in restaurant lacked variety.

    Good location for access to a range of walks.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    best food of the island!

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely comfortable room and the perfect location for hiking straight out the door.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very offhand

    Good locatión, spacious and clean

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    room at back of property with view only onto cliff about 1 metre away

    good central location for walking in the National Park

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    disyance from supermarket and aggressive dogs outside on an evening

    Perfect for using as a base for hikes. Lovely view and quiet

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom has no drain and oddly designed. No WiFi. Cabins located a few blocks from main building.

    Natural location with beautiful views

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unspoilt tranquillity , unpretentious

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the matrasse was to slim but all in no complains.

    Good vegy natural food in the full nature. The grandma and owner of the place was just AWESOME.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property was described as having a lounge and satellite TV. IT had neither.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As now would have been good to supply wood for log burner as we had to buy loads of wood!

    The little cottage was very comfortable

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Browse Jardin Las Hayas traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: