Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunotel Junior 2 stars

Avenida Sarrià, 9, Eixample, 08029 Barcelona, Spain

#471 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1690 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    The hotel was practical for what you would need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con was awful. You have to ask at the desk for it to be put on and the room was alway very warm

    The hotel was practical for what you would need. Rooms are basic, would be good to have a small fridge in rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    4.2
    pricey adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - noise in the room: from street because bad isolation, and from the hotel elevator - bad smell in the room, dark room without light - bathroom not functional: we could not close the shower door, and the drain was blocked so watter stayed - hard pillows - roof pool and jacuzzi very small and dirty I think that this hotel wrote their own good reviews (giving 7-8), because I newer was disappointed traveling with booking.com like geting in this "hotel". I always read couple of reviews, but was not prepared what was waiting for me.

    Nothing at all. We stayed 10 days before in cheaper hotel and it was better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    The room was clean and serviced regularly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My room was a bit smaller than expected. I would have liked a fridge in my room. Air conditioning worked, but was not as good as it should have been. Breakfast dining room was in basement of adjoining Sunotel Aston which is linked to Sunotel Junior basement by series of short corridors.

    The room was clean and serviced regularly. The staff were friendly. WiFi signal in my room was strong and fast. Good location a few minutes walk from Metro...about a 30 minute walk from Las Ramblas Price of ad hoc buffet breakfast was 9 Euro which was cheaper than the 12 Euro that it would have cost if booked at time of hotel online booking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.3
    You can tell it's a budget hotel, but it was decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parts of the hotel, especially lobby + elevator, feel old and worn out.

    Good location and a pretty good room. The staff was nice and helpful. Big plus for the breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot really, the lift was a little suspect felt safer using the stairs

    24hr reception we was delayed by airline but had no trouble checking in at 2an!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel in good location. Good value for money. Just wish the pillows went so hard .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillow were too hard. They did not have alternative pillows. No kettle in the room for tea making.

    Very friendly staff, very clean, great location, good sized room, nice hot shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.0
    Not the best place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are old and not clean, people smoking at nearby rooms. Definitely not even a 3 stars hotel

    Rooms small and not very clean. Staff was good and helpful. Location near the Metro and busses.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    2.5
    Barcelona’s answer to Fawlty Towers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was completely disgusting, there is clearly a sewage problem in this hotel and it’s totally unacceptable. A strong smell of urine came into the room when anyone flushed the toilet and the water in the shower had a vile ‘egg’ smell. No apology was made by the staff for this problem and I am so shocked that a hotel room would be offered to guests until a problem like that is fixed. The lifts were incredibly bumpy and made noises to suggest we could get stuck in it at any second. Once again, no explanation of this was given to us by the staff. Additionally, a number of the receptionists couldn’t speak English and one had to use google translate to communicate with us. The decor was very old and drab. So so disappointing. Definitely would not reccommend for a tourist trip, a hostel would have been cleaner, cheaper and more modern.

    The staff were relatively friendly, not overly informative.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Would do it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool had cigarettes in it and the hot tub was green.

    Location was good, close to the metro. Lots of food options nearby and staff was friendly. The view from the roof was amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.7
    The price was very fair considering we booked last minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was extremely hot in the halls and in the room. The AC didn’t work (if there was any).

    The price was very fair considering we booked last minute.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    The room was clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didnt have any balcony and the receptionist didnt speak English The location was far from city center but the metro station was near

    The room was clean and tidy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    It was very pleasant stay. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the restaurant service is the absolute best, the food was below my expectations. The air conditioning was also not working.

    All people working here are super nice and friendly. You can ask them anything and they'll do their best to fulfill your needs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.9
    Clean, calm, near metro station, easy to get coffee and food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid the jacuzzy at all costs (smelly, greenish water). We ordered a room with a double bed but only got two single beds joined together - a gap in between them would form rather easily during the night.

    Clean, calm, near metro station, easy to get coffee and food nearby, not so far from main attractions if you don't mind to walk. Decent price, nice stuff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.5
    Had a nice relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed, clean, nice bathroom and even water in the room. The hotel where we were was Aston from the same Sunotel chain, not the junior where the reception looks very basic...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Reasonable value for money friendly staff rickety lift!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room small and had to change as the sink in the bathroom was faulty. Second room okish but still cramped bathroom.

    Good breakfast with friendly attentive staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    4.5
    With the price I have paid and after moving to the second room it was not excellent but it was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bookin.com should have more explanation and pictures of rooms so the guest could decide better to choose the room.

    I did not expect this kind of hotel, it was like non-facilitated accommodation. But when I report it to the receptionist after the first night, we were moved to the hotel part and it was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    The breakfast was very good and plenty of food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the problem was with the room, it was no 56(fifth floor), very little room, not as the one mentioned in the booking and photos. also the double bed wasn't provided as confirmed booking, only 2 single beds that were not linked together and always were apart because they are not framed ! In the room was very cold at night, no heating was provided. last day the elevator was broken so we had to carry our luggage by stairs... I think good rooms (good photos from booking) are not provided for the customers of booking.com, they are reserved for other customers, this is my opinion... ( i saw other double rooms from this hotel and they were bigger ) In conclusion, not a bad hotel in my opinion ( we used the room only for the night, as we visited all Barcelona attractions )

    The breakfast was very good and plenty of food. A plus was that every day , they cleaned our room also with new towels also a plus is the location ( bus and metro stations very close)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Remarkable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The hotel is simply awesome! It is very clean, everyday the sheets are being changed. The room has everything you need, it is really comfortable and cozy. The room is really well heated. The beds and pillows are comfortable, there is always hot water in the shower. Breakfast was amazing with a great variety of food. Staff is really helpful and friendly. They speak english very well. Also, the location is really good - just a few minutes to the metro station Hospital Clinic which connects you to the whole city. I am really pleased with my stay and definitely recommand it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Good value, friendly staff, clean rooms with just enough...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Keeping the room temperature down to below 20 degrees was very hard, the whole building was too warm for me, and I had to open the windows and suffer the traffic noise to get a temperature that I could sleep in. I would say this about most hotels I have stayed in.

    Good value, friendly staff, clean rooms with just enough room, good continental breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    We thouroughly enjoyed our stay and can not wait to return..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wish there had of been a mini fridge to keep water in but other than that it was fab.

    we required another pillow which was brought straight away. the breakfast was lovely,wasnt very hot though. The staff where all very helpful, especially Paul. He was so attentive at his job, helped us alot with directions,the bus tour. We will definatley be back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.3
    Acconodation
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't any gym or sollarium like the photos at the booking site and it wasn't friendly about the stuff

    It was warm and was to close to the center and at the metro station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    It is fair, the location is at ~ 30+ min walking of most attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was the 5th floor, near the lift, so I heard the noise of it. Every floor has a room near lift. Cannot open the window to put some fresh air inside, the window was not made to be open as we know.

    Every day: they cleaned the room, the bathroom, changed the towels you used, re-arranged the bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Unforgettable New Year in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We were in winter and it was very cold in the room though the air condition worked in a full power. We also noticed that the windows cannot be opened properly which can make problems in the summer time. The carpets and chairs are very old and had a lot of smudges.

    The rooms were clean, the towels were changed every day. The bedclothes and bed were pleasant and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts offered plenty of different dishes for all the tastes. At the last day we checked out before the breakfast and the staff provided us with the lunch-boxes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was at the back so could have done with it been a bit lighter but would stay here again

    Location was great. We stayed at the Sonitel Aston around the corner in the end

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    I would recommend the hotel to everyone who wants a great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sink was a bit clogged and the mattress was a little too hard. No major flaws, though.

    Great location. Very nice and helpful staff. Crispy cleanliness. Quiet room. Nice bathroom with a bathtub and a bidet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.6
    Very clean rooms. Most of the staff don't speak English but they're trying their best to help you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have a bad sound insulation. You can hear everything from the noise in the corridor or the conversations at the next room.

    Near the train station. Very close to the city and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    The hotel was a great price and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was very warm during the day, and at night you could hear sounds from other rooms, outside, and the hallways. Not a huge issue, however. It was never loud enough to interrupt sleeping.

    The hotel was a great price and a great location. It served every purpose that I was hoping for. 24 hour desk service was great, and the reception always spoke great English and were happy to assist when in came to finding our way around.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    3.3
    Not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy cleaners, poor quality pillows, could hear people from the next door bedroom talking. No heating control in the room.. poor quality hotel it should be a two stars

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.3
    A good choice for travelers on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In this first floor room, windows did not open and air conditioning was weak so room was stuffy at times.

    Very clean, comfortable, friendly. Basic accommodations, no frills, but very adequate for a short stay. Strong wi-fi. Easy access to transportation and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.7
    - Nice location next to metro and bus stops, not far from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Stuff does not speak much English (although I speak some Spanish, sometimes it was not enough); - Insufficient room furniture (lack of boxes and closed shelves, no dress hanger); - Breakfast is not included, should be paid separately. - Ventilation and air-conditioning didn't work properly.

    - Nice location next to metro and bus stops, not far from Sants station and main delights; - Good Spanish bakery and pastries on breakfast's buffet; - Bath in room; - Swimming pool (although we didn't use it) on a roof.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    It was quiet place, the reception staff was very polite and...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel direct site it's a bit complicated and only in Spanish, no englesh version. The breakfast it's a bit expensive but good and rich. The rooms were a bit small but clean. The pool it's not 24/7 open.

    It was quiet place, the reception staff was very polite and helpful, even if the hotel it's only 2 star hotel it was clean. The hotel is well situated, close to the city center. Breakfast very various and good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Good budget hotel away from the main tourist area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not in the main tourist area. Took about an hour to walk to the port area. Not as easy to get to from the airport by train as I had read. The train station is a long walk from the international airport terminal. We got a taxi from Sants station to the hotel. Unfortunately our stay was during the Catalonia vote and there was protests and police opposite the hotel. Very noisy and quite frightening when armed police got out of vans

    When we arrived we were told to go to the Sunotel Aston around the corner. Nice clean comfortable hotel. Nice rooftop pool and hot tub.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Very good and would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    would have been nice to have a bar / cafe on the roof which would have made us stay by the pool a little longer.

    Hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly, they spoke english well too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    2.9
    Would not recommend to anybody.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, very small. Bathroom bath was rusty. Closet sliding doors were jammed. A/C did not work and the control was in receptionist hand.

    Breakfast only.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.5
    Personal from the Hotel is nice and helpfull ,the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal from the Hotel is nice and helpfull ,the room was clean and comfortable, rich breakfast.The city and the people of Barcelona are very beautifull !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    3.8
    Extremely uncomfortable room, very disappointed. Checked out early and went elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny, I would expect a larger room from a hostel. Very noisy, extremely uncomfortable bed. Not suited as a hotel room!! Location is questionable.. definitely not 1.2miles to la ramblas.

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.3
    All receptionists were kind and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small and unconfortable. The Wi Fi connection was awfull. The aircondition did not work properly.

    All receptionists were kind and helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Unforgetable weekend in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotels' main benefit is its location. 2 minutes from the metro, with bakeries and stores nearby. The room was a bit small but cosy. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    Fab spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All day and all night we could here our neighbours knocking on each other's doors... But that is nothing the hotel can change..

    It is in a good location. Close the Hospital Clinic metro stop.. Easy access to the other lines..A easy walk to nice restaurants and the centre If like walking. . Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.7
    The pool on the roof and the location where great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The draining of the bathtub was not working properly. Not good value for money.

    The pool on the roof and the location where great. Close to bus and metro station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    A very good 2 star hotel. Has all the basics and ideal for a couple of nights away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dodgy electrics in room - some plugs sockets don't work and some hanging off from wall with exposed wires, especially in bathroom! No fridge or safe. Only one light bulb in bathroom so quite dark.

    Away from the hustle & bustle of the centre and metro station nearby. 24hr reception with lots of local information. Luggage store great if need an early check in/out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.3
    Good location, terrible AC
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning lady was loud and woke us up every morning while cleaning neighbouring rooms. AC doesnt work in the room and can be adjusted only by the receptionist for the whole flor.They turn it off/on every 2 hours, also at night. I do not like to sleep with the AC on, is not healthy, but I had to do so. For me, this is the biggest minus of this otherwise pleasant hotel.

    The staff was kind, always helpfull and the room was small, but clean and equipped with fresh shampoo every day. Metro station is near, also some shops.To Pg. De Gracia is a pleasant walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    4.6
    It is an ok hotel the staff are helpful but the hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and bathtub are too small and the fact I have to keep getting the key for the car park from reception.

    It is an ok hotel the staff are helpful but the hotel is weird. The parking lot is somewhat ok but you have to keep gettibg the key from reception and then driving back around to the car park. If you just want to sleep then yhis hotel is ok but anything else I would reccommend something else.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.9
    Good base for Barcelona trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on a main road so it does get quite busy and noisy first thing in the morning

    Good location and easy to get to from the airport. Pool was nice, never too busy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.1
    Decent but slightly overpriced hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WiFi worked intermittently, my room was quite narrow - barely OK for a single room - the bathroom was small too and the bathtub quite uncomfortable. Breakfast room was incredibly cold due to crazy AC; breakfast was overall nice but without much choice for basic food such as bread, jam and cereals.

    Only the hotel's good position. Didn't have time to check the terrace and pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.9
    Staff was very friendly and the cleaning ladies did a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition was not that strong, no working steam outlet in the bathroom. Shower had dark spots on the walls and the tap was a little loose. Pool was on the next hotel's roof and really small.

    Staff was very friendly and the cleaning ladies did a great job, everything was perfectly clean. The breakfast was tasty (we are really picky, normally staying in 3 or 4/5* hotels), lots of fresh fruit and pastries. The common rooms (lobby, breakfast room, corridors) had strong air condition. Free bottle of water and sweets in the room :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Where you recharge you batteries to the max .. peaceful yet close enough to Ingles and Meloneras
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late arrival procedures need fine tuning

    Key words .. New .. Clean .. Friendly .. Delicious Food .. everything to really pamper you .. Nice clientèle .. loved the open air fitness facility .. Go Now when the prices are still at launch level of this little oasis .. Will go back !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    The hotel was in a great location - close to a number of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was in a great location - close to a number of good restaurants, the tour buses, trains, etc - and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Simple but nice and clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could hear noise from other guests on the hall but it wasn't a big issue really and it wasn't all the time.

    It's a simple hotel but very comfortable and clean. The location is not very central but it's super easy to move around, very close to the subway. The staff was wonderful and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    satisfaction guaranteed at Sunotel Junior BCN!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i strongly suggest to have electric water kettle or hot water thermos. people like me, 62 years old need to drink medicines preferably with hot water and hot tea in the middle of the night and very early in the morning. i also need hotel slippers like any other hotels.

    buffet breakfast was remarkably excellent!!! With very attentive staff. I will recommend this place to my friends. Very accessible location too!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    Expensive for the offering
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Despite this hotel benefiting from shared facilities it is only a 2 star hotel meaning the room facilities are basic, no mini-bar/fridge, no in room safe and a poor selection of TV channels. Some Spanish French and German but a big minus for me was that the only English speaking channel available was Russia Today! If not familiar with this channel it is funded by Putin to peddle propaganda against the West and capitalism. I was fascinated at just how biased and awful it was but I would have liked either BBC Worldwide or even CNN. I did take this up with the hotel reception and even asked if the hotel was owned by Russians! I always do extensive research of hotels available, prices and value for money. I was surprised how expensive the Barcelona hotels were. I recently booked the K&K in Paris which was a four star hotel and paid virtually the same money for the same length of stay as I did for Barcelona.

    The location is good only 4 or 5 minutes walk from Hospital Clinic metro station on the L5 line. The hotel shares facilities with the sister hotel next door Hotel Aston. The plus points being a rooftop pool and Jacuzzi plus good breakfast selection and standard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    5.8
    good location, close to a metro stop and many restaurants,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Badly overpriced. AC did not work properly. Room service was poor

    good location, close to a metro stop and many restaurants, cafe, sup[er markets can be found near by. Staffs are really helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant time pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con didn't work,breakfast was ok, elevator was dodgey,

    Nice staff, room very clean, love the blackout curtains, 24 h reception great, wifi great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    5.4
    Hotel is very well placed, considering Barcelona is quite an...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff doesn't speak English and it's quite difficult to clarify even the most trivial matters.

    Hotel is very well placed, considering Barcelona is quite an exotic city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    4.2
    Not worth the $ - Wouldn't recommend if you have other options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was not great, Rooms did not feel clean. Not worth the price paid. I would have prefered to pay an extra $50 a night for a much better place. Across the street from the hotel is a car dealership and gas station (which was also the view from the room). Some of the staff did not speak English, which is fine, but when we had questions regarding public transportation or other things, they were not able to help us. It was a very isolated area. Also, the pool and hottub were not located in our hotel, we needed to walk through to the other building to access. The rooms were very very minimal and did not feel very clean. Very far from the city center. Especially for the price we paid for this stay, it was very much overpriced.

    Neighborhood was not great - but we were closer to neighborhoods outside of the tourist city center, although not located on a central street. Felt out of the way from many things. At least a 15 min walk to close locations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.3
    Small room, almost no facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, very noisy, Hard bed, Very cold at night, no heating, no safe, no minibar, no coffee facilities in the room.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.3
    Simple and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beware of pickpockets on the Metro in Barcelona! My friend had his mobile stolen from the front pocket of his jeans!

    Simple and clean rooms. 4 stops on the Metro to Camp Nou or a 25 minutes walk. Lots of café's and sandwichbars in the neighborhood.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.8
    Close to metro and bus stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too far from city center. Car parking should be free of charge. It's 18€ per night. Rooms can be cleaner.

    Close to metro and bus stations. Good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.1
    Great location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic hotel and the value for the money spent seems a bit imbalanced.

    Great location ... easy to get to the hotel via metro. Friendly staff and good facilities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    4.2
    This hotel need improvements or price drop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning, heating on full blast in the room with no option to switch it off - I had to go to the reception ... very noisy area, no chance to open the window. Restaurant in the basement - no windows. Old fashion design, old beds, definitely need refurbishment, tiny bathroom. Swimming pool on the roof, but in the second building not easy to get there. Unfortunately not impressed. Very pricey hotel .

    Good WiFi reception in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.3
    bien ubicado
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nos dieron habitacion pequeña y pegada a ascensor. Ruidosa. We had a room next to the lift so it was a bit noisy

    Ubicacion. El personal muy amable. Limpio Location and staff very friendly. Clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.3
    Essentualy positive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is so loud, and there are some rooms so close to it. We have had to change room because of it. The bed in new room wasn't the most comfortable.

    Fine breakfast.Correct locationt. Room size and equipments are enought. ✔

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.3
    Great location and quick easy access to the metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great friendly staff, willing to help you with any questions you have an fulfilled all requirements. We were upgraded to the Sunotel Ashton due to it being a quite time of year. A great gesture and a surprise when we arrived Highly recommend this hotel for someone looking for some where a little quieter than the main city of Barcelona. The hotel is 5 minutes away from the metro which has excellent links to Sagrada Famillia and Barcelona FC, both only 10 minutes away. Need to catch 2 tubes to Las Ramlba but still only a 10-15 minute journey.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.5
    Location of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could have been cleaner Some features in the room have seen better days - the hotel could do with a refurbishment

    Location of the hotel Breakfast - very nice selection of food & constantly replenished Helpful reception staff The bed was comfortable The bedding and towels were clean and nice smelling Value for money

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.8
    perfect location for a short trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift quite noisy. Busy road with a 24/7 petrol station in front of the Hotel; but come on, be fair -you are central and this is "part" of BCN ;)

    Friendly, helpful staff. Hotel is located central, next Metro just a 3mins walk. Lots shops and restaurants close

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was very good with lots of choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite small. Changed to room with proper shower. First room had shower over bath. Signs of rot at bottom of Bath door.

    Breakfast was very good with lots of choices. Parking was in the basement accessible by elevator . Plenty of room. Only one restaurant nearby. But good and reasonable. Exelent service.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    5.4
    Breakfast, customer oriented (when demand or ask something)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Complimentary water did not refresh every day. Our last day shampoo and bath gel did not refresh as well.

    Breakfast, customer oriented (when demand or ask something)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    7.9
    Very friendly and good value for Barcelona
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Traffic noise. I sure found no pool on the roof! If there is a pool, where?

    Very friendly and helpful staff, breakfast was really a good deal. Room is basic but was very clean and functional.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    4.2
    Stay in a hostel would have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conditioning in the room was controlled from the reception, our room was next to the elevator which caused so much noise we couldn't sleep at night. The furniture was damaged, especislly in the bathroom. I believe any hostel will look better than this hotel

    Nothing, the money we paid for our 3 night stay was too much for what we got

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    6.7
    Wi-Fi, breakfast (8€ but great choice).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furnitures, old plugs-in in the room. Bathroom not super-clean.

    Wi-Fi, breakfast (8€ but great choice). Nice jacuzzi at the roof of the hotel. Close to diagonal

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    8.3
    pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was quite far away from central barcelona with the main pubs, clubs and beaches.

    Pool area was a bonus and good feature of the hotel. However, sometimes the bottom of the pool was dirty, seemed to be cleaned once in the week we were there. Staff were brilliant! so helpful, suggested places for food, got us taxi's and tickets to the football.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    6.3
    Good in a pinch,or for single traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    thin walls, small bed, tiny PC monitor for TV, no free waters,

    staff friendly, the area was convenient to cafes and subway, clean, good wi-fi, brochures for city attractions, clean linen

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    5.0
    Well located but small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were very small even for a double one. Hardly space to move around.

    Very well located and friendly staff. Pool looked nice, although I didn´t have the chance to try it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    6.7
    I enjoyed my stay though the rate was a bit pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that i did not like was that when I went down for breakfast at 10.30, the waitress in charge at 10.50 started clearing the food items including the chocolate cream fiiled croissants which I wanted to try out. At the hotel where i work in Malta, the buffet food is not taken in until all clients have left the restaurant even if it is after 10.00am.

    The breakfast in general was very good. Quiet a good & varied choice of items to choose from.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    5.8
    Small,old hotel but near the metro station Hospital Clinic
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is old. The ceiling in the bathroom had damp patches.The bed was very uncomfortable.

    The staff of the hotel is friendly. The hotel overall is quite clean.Very close to metro station hospital clinic.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sunotel Junior traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: