Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Katxi 2 stars

Barrio Andra Mari, 48115 Morga, Spain

#1 of 1 hotels in Morga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 128 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    We have stayed in 17 hotels during our Camino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Adults Only
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed in 17 hotels during our Camino. All of them were great and good value for price. So I put the marks comparing all this 17 hotels on our way. The main differences are in breakfast, room design and old of the room. This hotel is one of the best from 17, but also it is little more expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful Basque country retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View - Adults Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive stay. No coffee in room or hotel. All meals required walking to local bars or restaurant. Dinner served after 9pm at hotel owned restaurant. Meal there was excellent!

    Stayed two nights in this small private hotel. Room 5 was large & quiet room on first floor. Easy to find and provided several free parking places. Lovely Miriam made us feel welcomed on arrival and provided assistance for our drive into Bilbao. Small TV had poor reception but provided one english channel. Modern bathroom with lots of toiletries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    All the comforts, spotlessly clean, with a very gracious host
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View - Adults Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spotlessly clean, all the comforts, great ambiance, with a charming and very gracious host. Silent at night - hidden away in a small village, with a good restaurant adjacent to the inn.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.2
    Located in the beautiful and quiet native Basque countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Adults Only
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast area, although charming at the same time.

    Located in the beautiful and quiet native Basque countryside. Excellent hospitality. Comfortable and nicely decorated room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    The owner is delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View - Adults Only
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    excellent service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely boutique hotel in a small town, convenient to restaurants and bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Adults Only
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was down the street instead of in the hotel.

    Excellent personalized service. Very well decorated and appointed room. Nice bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Excellent base to see the Basque country with a great place to stay in quiet rural and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Adults Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect

    Wonderful room, charming hostess

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    landlady very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Adults Only
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was so so

    landlady very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    We will be back. Loved the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Miriam was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful place in the mountain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite - Adults Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place in the mountain. Very good service from the hostess.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.6
    We were given a warm welcome to a large room with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Adults Only
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a warm welcome to a large room with a comfortable bed with a glass of cava. As a place for the night after Bilbao it served us well.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.6
    A beautiful room in a tranquil hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fab owner, little touches made the experience special.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    10
    Miriam was so kind and hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Miriam was so kind and hospitable. We'd had a tough day walking the Camino and although it was a small detour it was well worth it for the wonderful stay and hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    10
    When we arrived Miriam met us and was so lovely and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived Miriam met us and was so lovely and friendly throughout the four nights we stayed. We had room 4 which was large with a huge bed. It looked even more spacious with a giant mirror on the wall. Great bathroom with lots of toiletries. A small bottle of fizzy was left for us to enjoy on the first night and then everyday water bottles, fruit and sweets. She was able to give us help and information when we needed it. Sunday and Monday night the restaurant next door was closed so she told us a great place to eat in a fishing village 30 minutes away. The other two nights we ate in the restaurant. Amazing food and wine and people there also very friendly. We also bought breakfast there. Toast, tea and fresh juice was €10.20 for two of us. The one day it was shut Miriam left us tea and cake outside our room. Whilst there isn't much in the village it is perfect for driving to all the other places nearby. Really enjoyed our stay here. When we left we had even more presents waiting for us in our room. Such a lovely thought.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful welcome and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The adjacent restaurant is closed on Sunday nights...a bit uncomfortable as the near by restaurant is 12 km away...

    Wonderful welcome and service. The room was spacious and nicely decorated with country view from the window.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    9.6
    A well designed hotel - designed by Miriam, who provides...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel restaurant was disappointing. It only offers an a la carte menu and the food is expensive, poor quality and without vegetables and only starts serving at 9pm! We strongly recommend dining in Gernika, where you can find good food at 7:45pm on the C. Industria - look for the checked table cloths at Jatetxe Gernika.

    A well designed hotel - designed by Miriam, who provides excellent hospitality and encouraged us to try her great CD collection of music. She speaks English and provides help with your itinerary. We liked the spacious room and evening gifts from Miriam. The location is very peaceful and scenic. Parking was easy in the hotel car park. The terrace has a good view and is a great place to relax. We strongly recommend this hotel - we stayed a week.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful stay at this quaint hotel in the hills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful stay at this quaint hotel in the hills. The owner, Miriam, is thoughtful and kind with a lot of helpful advice about activities to do in the area. Simply delightful.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    10
    Immaculate hotel with very good quality fittings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Immaculate hotel with very good quality fittings. The warmest of welcomes and constant attention from Miriam (does she ever stop being "on duty"?). Peace and quiet in tiny village surrounded by fields, hills and trees. Jose Ramon's cooking in their restaurant was some of the best we've had in Spain in 26 years of travelling around the country. The hotel goes that one step further in looking after its guests; and then another step and then another. They could teach some larger and grander hotels a thing or two. Working out when we can next return.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    10
    the owner, Miriam was amazing, really kind and thoughtful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the owner, Miriam was amazing, really kind and thoughtful. We arrived hot and tired after walking all day on the camino del norte- although slightly away from the route- Hotel Katxi was well worth the extra walk. The hotel is lovely, quiet and very clean and comfortable, the shower was excellent and Miriam was able to give us good advice about the local area.We were made to feel very welcome and little extras like cold bottles of mineral water, chocolates on the pillows,fruit in the room were all very much appreciated.Excellent restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    without a doubt,,,the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nil!

    without a doubt,,,the staff..Mari-anne at reception was incredibly helpful and it was wonderful tat the chef reopened the kitchen for us on a Sunday evening as we were late and all else was closed

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    The lady, Miriam, was most helpful, kind, and pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It rained - even the lovely Miriam could not help with that

    The lady, Miriam, was most helpful, kind, and pleasant. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. It was spotlessly clean and was very comfortable. There was a lovely lounge to sit in the evening.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.6
    The lady in the hotel could show larger hotels how to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was expensive for what it was.

    The lady in the hotel could show larger hotels how to be attentive.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    9.6
    The staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff!

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    10
    Attention to EVERY detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Attention to EVERY detail. Very nice indeed.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    The hotel manager was very kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some hooks to hang up jackets would be great.

    The hotel manager was very kind and helpful. The rooms were spotless, we felt very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Wonderful large comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Wonderful large comfy bed. Lovely room quiet air con. Miriam very kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Lovely host, small thoughtful presents each day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely host, small thoughtful presents each day

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.8
    Very relaxing and tranquil.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant serves food after 9pm.

    Very relaxing and tranquil. Miriam is a delightful and helpful host.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    9.2
    Everything else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Located in sleepy hamlet, immediate surroundings not very interesting, yet convenient for visit to Bilbao.

    Everything else!

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Browse Hotel Katxi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: