Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kaype - Quintamar 3 stars

Playa de Barro, s/n, 33595 Barro de Llanes, Spain

#7 of 8 hotels in Barro de Llanes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 648 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely location and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We pre booked half board but the choice for dinner was limited and as they did not start the service until 9 pm --was too late for us to enjoy!

    Lovely location and views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was made even better by the Reception desk staff member Marta Garcia who (a) allowed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A larger selection of food in the cafeteria as we didn't always want to wait till 9 p.m. which is when the restaurant opens for evening meal.

    we booked a room with a seaview whichis well worth it as the beach at Playa de Barro is to die for - it is truly picture perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    A lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely beach location and hotel . Breakfast and meals very good. Will return next year for the 3rd time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Perfect location, good food, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location of this hotel is spectacular - don't on the beach of this beautiful bay. The staff were excellent, the room was lovely - with a balcony overlooking the sea and the food was good and very good value oh the evening and at breakfast. We'll be back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    2.9
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our honeymoon and we booked very well in advance but our room was terrible. It was tired and old and there was a view of construction site at back of hotel. When I asked the woman at front desk if we could upgrade she said no and when I expressed my disappointment at the room she could not have cared any less. We had a wonderful experience in Spain but this hotel really let us down. Not even a bottle of wine or meal offered to make up for our terrible accommodation. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and the staff at desk were terrible that afternoon when we checked in. One great server in the outdoor cafe was very appreciated. Horrible experience on a honeymoon !

    The beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable and would return if we were to visit this area again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nearby building work but should add to hotel facilities.

    We were on half board and the meals were generally good and portions were ample. Good self service breakfasts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    Lovely sea views, but incredibly busy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated room. Carpark not secure - in fact it doubles as a beach carpark, which was incredibly busy! A lot of money for a very basic room.

    Loved the view from the balcony, which over looked the beach. Staff pleasant. Cafe pleasant but incredibly busy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    4.6
    Wrong room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is in construction , the pictures of the rooms on booking.com have nothing to with the actual room at the hotel. When you state room with sea view this is a completely different block at this hotel than the actual pictures displayed.. You are in a hotel dressed as a boat , rooms , corridors.. I still cannot figure this out. Marta was helpful in taking us out of a room fighting for bed space into another that had twin beds.

    Location. The lady at the desk called Marta was helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Without building work which we were not told about on booking the hotel was OK but rooms tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Constant noise from workmen and work machinery in dangerous positions I.e Entrance to hotel, early morning and in the early afternoon. No allocated parking for residents in car park. One person who slept in his car numerous nights in the car park. Late start for evening meal. Due to building work some facilities not available.

    All but one staff member were great particularly Jasmin and Sara who worked very hard to please everyone. Lovely food but after two weeks the breakfast was boring.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location but disappointed with building works at premises. Too noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building works very close to our room which woke us up most mornings plus afternoon naps were difficult especially with children. The establishment seemed under staffed at times. Management didn't come across as wanting to welcome guests the place lacked positive energy. Breakfast was repetitive for a 9 night stay. Cooked breakfast such as eggs would have been nice. No music playing in cafe/restaurant, would be good to have as background to boost atmosphere.

    The location by the beach. Staff including reception, bar and restaurant seemed pleasant and work very hard. Cleaners do a fantastic job to.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    4.6
    Not at all as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room in a building behind the hotel that is shown on the website. Quite expensive considering no view, dirty room and no air-con. Breakfast was a disaster with molded bread and almost no staff present so there was no butter left, no cheese etc.

    Nice location next to the beach , free parking for guests.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    3.3
    Very noisy & disruptive building works
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is a massive construction site - something which they had not bother to contact us about despite our booking being made with them 7 months prior! The noise was horrendous, very loud drilling. It started at 7:45am & ceased at 8pm. You couldn't sit on the beach as the drilling was so loud & you could still hear the noise if you went & sat on the neighbouring beach. When I asked the manager why we had not been contacted we were told that they hadn't contacted us as we had booked through booking.com. I called booking.com & they sorted it out for us. Needless to say, we didn't stop for the 8 nights. The food in the restaurant is passable & the breakfast is ok.

    This would have been a lovely location without the mass building works. The beach is lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.4
    Do not trust the hotel photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel failed to mention the building work. The sea was a bit rough for relaxed swimming, and this did cause a rather scummy look to the water. The sun needs to shine to make this a good location.

    The beach-side location is obviously the main attraction of this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    I was walking Camino del Norte and this hotel was in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know it's a Spanish thing so this is my personal opinion - very late dinner for me. 2030. After walking for good few hours I wish I had a chance to eat earlier. I'm just not used to eating so late.

    I was walking Camino del Norte and this hotel was in a perfect spot. It's before season so not busy at all. Great room with a beautiful view. Very comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some building work is going on next door to the hotel and although we didnt really notice the workers some rooms did over look the site and at times the car park had building trucks in it making the ground a bit messy.

    A group of us stayed at the hotel while on a tour of the Picos we found the area and the people excellent and would use this hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    The staff, especially Mar, Anna and Jasmin are wonderful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, everything was great!

    The staff, especially Mar, Anna and Jasmin are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble for them and they make you feel very welcome. 10/10!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful view and location, but under construction
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we were there, the hotel was in renovation and construction. It didn't annoy us at all. Maybe we were lucky. Other guests, we met there, complained about a lot of banging during the week.

    We stayed for one night and had a room with Seaview. The location is really awesome as you are right on the beach, which has no other hotel as far as I saw.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    We would probably not return because of the dinner. Also did not particularly like fifty people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the package was very good value we felt the food was very disappointing. Did hear other people commenting negatively on the food. Rather trapped as no where else to go for a meal nearby at night.

    The rooms were very comfortable and we loved our covered/open balcony. Beautiful outlook.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic location and a great room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was too basic and unimaginative. The dinner started at 9 pm which in my opinion is very late.

    The location is mind blowing. The hotel us right on the stunning Barro beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    Modern hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing to mention

    Everything - food, large rooms, cleanliness, location on beach, parking, staff... all perfect. Half board was a great value option for us. One of our party was a vegan and although the evening menu was typically Spanish with lots of meat and fish, they were able to provide him with a suitable alternative without any fuss.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    7.9
    Would recommend if you looking for a hotel right next to a beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit poor and limited. Also it finished at 10am which may not suit those who like to lye in the mornings.

    The location was excellent and right next to an amazing beach. Didn't have to drive far to find more amazing beaches and towns.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    Poor room air conditioning unit in very hot weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor room air conditioning unit in very hot weather...very uncomfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable, would visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Great beach. Very efficient staff. Great room with balcony overlooking the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    On the beach, average service, OK for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Typical big hotel without personal touch.

    Great location, just next to the beach, free parking in front of the hotel, nice view from the balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    I will certainly stay at the Hotel Kaype - Quintamar again when next visiting northern Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel overlooking the beach was fantastic and the evening 3 course set meal was exceptional value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Super location right on the beach and a good restaurant .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super location right on the beach and a good restaurant .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Free parking, excellent beach, comfortable bed, good dinner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit cold in the room.

    Free parking, excellent beach, comfortable bed, good dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Estupenda
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La vistas a la playa.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Great surroundings, nice hotel, good value for money - hope the bed was just a one time mishap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was awful. Breakfast could be a bit better.

    Room size, bathroom size, location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous sea views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.7
    Wonderful view-to die for, but running crane in pic of season and really poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Running crane on the site

    The mattress is extra comfy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    A comfortable relaxing few days by the sea to end our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    The location mainly but everything else was fine. We had a meal deal which was excellent in quality and price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    On the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waitress in restaurant not so friendly

    Great location directly on the beach. Friendly staff at front desk and bar. WiFi works perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    A great place to stay in Asturias!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, helpful, brilliant example of all that's good about Asturias. The staff are fantastic and the food is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.4
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of additional blankets, pillows. Dirty hair dryer. Not the room I booked. Radiator that does not work. Food overpriced.

    View

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.6
    Excelent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best hotel in coast, excelent lokation, big room with balcony, very good dinner! All super! Recomended! I want to back again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, quiet ,comfortable and clean. Breakfast was great too :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    great view, friendly staff, breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    great view, friendly staff, breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.2
    Northern Spain, the undiscovered gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of a seaview.

    Wonderful location and a great breakfast. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    7.1
    Location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms. Poor internet. Toilet paper dispensers and soap dispenser in the shower.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful place right on the ocean beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful place right on the ocean beach. The beach is one of the best that I've seen in Asturias. We stayed there two nights and I visited many attractive beaches. The hotel itself is comfortable with good breakfast and spacey parking place.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    8.3
    The decor was quirky and the room pleasant with a great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were able to park but I think if you arrived at the wrong time you may be unlucky. They do seem to be extending next door so may have resolved the problem.

    The decor was quirky and the room pleasant with a great view.Food was good and service fair given that they were busy

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    10
    Location next to beach - friendly staff and very cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Quicksand on the beach! Could do with warning people - very close up to high water and unexpected. Fine when you are aware though

    Location next to beach - friendly staff and very cheap

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    7.9
    Waking everyday to the beautiful ocean view was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed 10 days and the breakfast never changed in that time. Extremely sweet and not always fresh. Fruit was on a tray with bananas half open and apples which were very bruised. The evening meal had a choice of two dinners which were mostly fish and pork. There was no taste to the food and presentation was very poor. Dessert had a few choices one of which was ice-cream which was frozen and in it's small plastic container. We thought this was very lazy. We were moved to the cafeteria for our dinner for the last four nights which wouldn't have been too bad if they had turned off the loud football on the TV. Wifi was very poor in the room. If I were to stay there again I would not choose half board and I would not stay there for longer than a few days.

    Waking everyday to the beautiful ocean view was fabulous. We stayed in the new part and the room was of a high standard for a 3* hotel. The staff were friendly especially the German/Spanish waitress.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is very good located, just next to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The parking lot is unfortunately situated between the hotel and the beach

    The hotel is very good located, just next to the beach. We couldn't complain about the breakfast The room we stayed in was quiet spacy and everything seemed to be new.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    The location is truly wonderful and the receptionists were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The dining staff were a little abrupt and rude at times and the menu options could've been improved (i.e. Perhaps serving meat with vegetables/salad as well as/instead of lots of fried potatoes) but otherwise a brilliant hotel!

    The location is truly wonderful and the receptionists were extremely friendly and welcoming. The value for money is great too!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Room had everything I needed including good internet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room had everything I needed including good internet connection, fridge, phone etc and excellent shower/bathroom facilities. Room was spotless each day.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    5.8
    Considering the rather high prices we would have expected a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Considering the rather high prices we would have expected a bit more than just the ordinary standard. Plastic chairs on the balcony are "a crime".

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    5.4
    just the location and nothing else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    on arrival on Sunday the hotel car park was full with the locals visiting the beach.After paying well over 500 euros for 1 weeks room and PARKING we ended up parking in the middle of a grassy field.The breakfast room didn't have a fly zapper.The flies were all over the food.The so called private balcony was not private.It only had a see through glass window to the next rooms balcony.

    just the location and nothing else.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    10
    Lovely location in a beautiful bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely location in a beautiful bay. Staff friendly and helpful. Good parking and wifi. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    9.6
    The situation of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a bit a chaos.

    The situation of the hotel.The room overlooking the sea.The menu of the restaurant,good value with a good choice.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    it is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it is perfect!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Hotel practically on the beach with mountains behind. Need a car to explore area. Helpful and friendly staff. Good food.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    10
    Fantastic locations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fantastic locations. Magnificent seacoast just outside the window - small isles, rocks and the ocean.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    being really picky, there was only 1 baggage trolley available!!

    excellent location excellent food excellent staff

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    7.9
    Location directly overlooking beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location directly overlooking beach. Car parking close by. Access via ramp for those with mobility problems.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    10
    New, modern, clean and comfortable hotel right on the beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    New, modern, clean and comfortable hotel right on the beach of a beautiful bay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    10
    Quiet place, directly on the beach.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Quiet place, directly on the beach. Helpful staff, very good dinner and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location! wake up and see the beach was fantastic, relaxing sound of waves

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: