Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kursaal 3 stars

Avenida Sant Joan de Deu, 119, 43820 Calafell, Spain

#10 of 21 hotels in Calafell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 734 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    good rest time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No to many beach umbrella often ocupated by eldery ladys even left vacant... but still ocupated during lunchtime. Selfish habbit but that doesn' t refers directly to hotel. Biger number of umbrellas propably would solve the problem of "overocupation".

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    The half board deal was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room. Ten euros a day for parking. Parking on street free, except in July and August.

    The half board deal was excellent. The location was perfect. Staff friendly and helpful. Shops and cafes a short walk from hotel. Beach at front door. Would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location, right on the beach. Room was small but it was the cheapest room
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are excellent

    Room was small, but it was cheap so no complaints, bed was most comfortable hotel bed I slept in for a long time, staff are super friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay, even though the hotel is a little tired, I can’t fault the value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little tired and the bathroom in particular could do with some refurbishment.

    The Kursaal is excellent value for money. It’s clean and the bed is very comfortable. Amazing position in Calafell and wonderful views from the balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Perfect - will be back next week
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little slow wifi

    The stay was magnificent. I was taking easy and working from my very enjoyable room, i would have enjoyed a little better wifi connexion for that. Everything else was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Worth visiting but if you are not able to walk to the hotel with your luggage you may want to recons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You cannot drive up to the hotel and it was difficult to find the entrance. After we realized it had no road accessibility we had to double park and walk with cases to the side entrance then take the car back to the main road to park.

    View, breakfast, location, area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable stay in a lovely spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit old fashioned and you can't drive your car right to the front of the hotel but we'd stay there again

    Lovely spot overlooking sea. Warm and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Just the perfect beach spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great service. Excellent location. Kursaal is just the perfect place for a scape to the beach; surrounded by small businesses, restaurants and a place to walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    Will be back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not staying longer.

    This was my second visit and the main reason I went back was to relax on the lovely balcony listening to the waves and enjoy the view of the sea and beach which are almost under your nose (room with a sea view worth paying for ! ) Being early June it was very quiet which was what I wanted . The staff are very friendly and helpful ( there was a little problem on arrival but it was sorted out immediately ). Good size room , comfortable bed ,good wi-fi , and a good bath and shower . About a 10 minute walk from the station . There are buses to Barc. airport from the station ( they are quite frequent , stop at various places ( like Vilanova....) and take less than 2 hours ...... OR get the train ......pretty coastal trip to Barcelona Sants station then train to the airport (also quicker than the bus ) There is a "sightseeing train " but GET the local bus which takes you all round Segur de Calafell ..round the lovely residential area , up to the castle and back through Calafell ...an HOUR well spent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    3.8
    Bad - avoid
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything else. It´s a dump. Lumpy bed. Noisy, mis match furniture. It is a one star and two at a push. This place is nothing like described. Bad. I would be embarrased to let a place out like this. Do not waste your money.

    People working there ok. That really is it. Fails on all other levels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful surprise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    This property was a pleasant shock. We had traveled around Spain & France and usually spent much more for a nice room for the night. When we made the reservation on line we were questioning whether the price was a mistake. When we arrived at the hotel (which was at least 1 km off where our gps brought us) we were stunned that such a beautiful, well kept, clean beachfront hotel could exist for the very favorable price. They have parking about 2 blocks from the site in a secure yard and the staff was truly wonderful and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful and you could enjoy it on the beach walkway or inside the restaurant. It was decently priced @ 8 euros/each. We absolutely loved this hotel and it was close to many restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    Perfect beach location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel upgraded us to a bigger room with a balcony and a beautiful sea view. We stayed last time and paid less per night and had breakfast included. This time it wasn't.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.5
    good value out of season
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was closed in the evenings and there was the noise of a pump running in the sevice shaft next to our room and was noisy, bathroom old

    Location was fantastic, overlooking the beach etc

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.6
    A beautiful place to stay for at least a week
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi broke down and that was a nuisance

    The Staff were lovely, helpful & supportive. Room, balcony & view were out of this world. Breakfast was good but scrambled eggs were at times too scrambled

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    One of the best hotels I have EVER stayed at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Absolutely fantastic hotel !!! Great location. The staff are very nice and friendly. The room and bathroom were very clean. Very big thanks to all the staff, especially Rita at the reception. Very comfortable. I'm definitely going to stay at this hotel next year. Aleks :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    No towels, no hairdryer, small room (I took without balcony)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No towels, no hairdryer, small room (I took without balcony)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel directly at the sea. Had a great room, and a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delicious breakfast next to the sea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    It was very clean, very nice view from the room, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of choices for the breakfast

    It was very clean, very nice view from the room, friendly staff, very good food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful friendly staff good food in the restaurant .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful friendly staff good food in the restaurant . Superb sea views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    we stayed 2 times already and probably will stay again when will be in this region
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Attitude of the personnel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely sea view room and lovely receptionists
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could be lightly modernised

    Great costumer service, lovely hosts, sea view :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    very good location, comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good location, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous friendly staff & a wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great to be back in Calafell at the Hotel Kursaal. Always fantastic service, value and the location is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Ours was an early season stay, not everything was up and running yet. I would visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Clean, comfortable and reasonable. All the staff were friendly and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Air con not working
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con not working

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Great staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No swimming pool but brach in front of Hotel

    Great staff and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Our stay in this hospital was very pleasant, staff were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like the location, friendliness of staff and most important the location is fantastic our stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money... fantastisk beliggenhed👍

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Hotel right on the beach witch a beautiful sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    Hotel right on the beach witch a beautiful sea view. Rooms big enough. Staff very very nice! Food in restaurant great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent position in friendly resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was pretty small No mirror in main room

    Position. Advice about free parking Very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Good location and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room but everything else was perfect.

    Good location and good value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and location were excellent!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Exactly what I expected!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For what I paid, it was exactly what I wanted! A clean room, balcony overlooking the sea, and the ability to just walk onto the beach. It was great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Very Nice Hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms were very well presented. The staff extremely friendly and helpful. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really

    Staff was really friendly and the location is amazing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Different eggs apart from scrambled every day

    Beds comfy

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach view

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.9
    Tucked away and quietly efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We were on the first floor and could hear a lot from the floors above.

    Quiet location and laid back atmosphere

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    9.2
    Smells like cigarettes
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smells like cigarettes

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    10
    Lovely spot, great staff and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent and helped my wife who was very poorly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    10
    Everything
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    5.0
    Not suitable for work travels.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashion, breakfast with high diversity of products but low quality. Ultra slow internet.

    Well placed in front of the beach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.6
    Everything was fine apart from dust in the corners of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Head of cleaning could have had floors swept thoroughly.

    Everything was fine apart from dust in the corners of the tiled floor and cold water on the first morning. Reported both to reception. The water was sorted on the day, the dusty corners with fluff and some electric wire cuttings were never swept in our three night stay. Location superb; spacious room with spacious balcony (sea view room and wonderful waking up to the sound of the sea); beds and linen first rate; all staff attentive and friendly apart from head of cleaning who was a bit surly but could force a smile.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.9
    Good location and general standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reading the ad. unless you read it very carefully you get the impression that all rooms face the sea. This is not the case. You have to pay extra for this, or in my case live with a room on the side of the building as all the front-facing ones were full.

    Good location and general standard.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booked sea view room but although room was nice it was very noisy at night. The bar below was closed and all shut up but the night watchman allowed Irish guests to reopen the bar and drink all night till 4am shouting and swearing and even after we complained to the night watchman nothing was done. After we complained in the morning We had to book out early as the night watchman when confronted by a lady on reception (who was helpful and understanding) didn't take it seriously. Would not go back.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    8.3
    Looking at the beach from the terrace, and the friendliness...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On a more personal experience I would mention that I found the beds to be a little to hard.

    Looking at the beach from the terrace, and the friendliness and readiness to help of the staff at all times.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    7.5
    Comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Double classic is very small! Breakfast very poor, didn't liked the juices and coffee!!! LOcation was average, nothing special nearby.

    Comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    8.8
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. We have stayed here several times now. Love the sea view rooms with balcony.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    8.3
    staff's availability
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff's availability

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    8.8
    Staff is very positive and friendly, room service is Ok,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not all staff speaks English

    Staff is very positive and friendly, room service is Ok, beach is only 30m.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    8.3
    Just what we wanted for short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really could of done with tea/coffee facilities in the room.

    Just what we wanted for short break.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    7.5
    Location and balcony great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bath tap not working

    Location and balcony great

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    8.3
    My sea view was worth ever penny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My sea view was worth ever penny!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.1
    great location,, close to beach, shopping and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms nedded to be cleaned a bit more thorough.

    great location,, close to beach, shopping and restaurants

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    I loved listening to the sea as I fell asleep, oh anda...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved listening to the sea as I fell asleep, oh anda cracker of a storm to wake up to. Good fun

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.3
    Suited our needs, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not supply beach towel

    Suited our needs, great location. Safe . We Like the locals. Very friendly and helpful staff. Plenty of nice restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    6.3
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small bathroom , small room,

    Great view

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.5
    Location and most staff were pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was not nice. Cereals or hot food

    Location and most staff were pleasant

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.5
    Close to the beach,seaview
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Close to the beach,seaview

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    Excellent location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    9.6
    The sea-view :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The sea-view :)

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    6.3
    Ideal for a quick stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ideal for a quick stop over. Helpful staff, the hotel was under going modernization whilst we stayed. Basic and confortable.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: