Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Barracuda 3 stars

Avenida España, 1, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain

#38 of 52 hotels in Torremolinos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1689 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    4.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child up to 11 years old)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi had to pay, had to put deposit on air conditioner control, no kettle in room, no tv, the food was disgusting and the costumer service saff were rude

    Nice location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late check out mentioned on booking. When requested fee mentioned of E30.00. the receptionist was not at all welcoming on our arrival. Very cross with no smile or word of welcome

    Facilities super

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would liked to have bathroom cleaned regularly. Towels & sheets were changed when requested.

    Plenty of choice for breakfast. Our party of senior ladies enjoyed entertainment so we didn't have to leave hotel at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No wifi in rooms. €20 per device to get wifi in room. Pool area not great. Only 2 news channels on TV in English. No light on any balcony to sit out at night and read/drink. Remote for air con costs €10 deposit. No kettle but you can hire one for the price you can buy one locally. Tennis court booked up by non residents for hours every evening so kids couldn't play basketball. People not staying in hotel using facilities and taking up sunbeds.

    Location was great. Rooms spotless. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Towels are past their best use dates, better food selection at breakfast

    hotel in prime position , We are a senior couple found this hotel caters very well for seniors jim

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I felt we were sold a puppy. Didnt realise that our balcony would have such poor views ........................ overlooking the side of another block of apartments. A side sea view was available if you wanted to risk your life and lean out over the balcony from the 8th floor. We always book rooms with seaviews but understood this is what we were getting. My husband tried breakfast once and that was it. It was included in the package, however.

    I am racking my brain to think of the upside to this property. Location very good. Comfy bed. that's about it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children up to 11 years old)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening entertainment

    Great location within walking distance to all the places we visited. Friendly staff cleaned room every day fresh towels daily. Good choice of breakfast and kids loved the pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh fruit not readily available. Slotted spoon needed for fried eggs as they were very greasy.

    Beds comfy. Rooms cleaned daily proximity to beaches and restaurants. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child up to 11 years old)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunch/dinner menu was very poor. Hardly any vriety very disappointing. Need to review lunch/dinner options they were very basic no choice. Worst I have seen in any hotel in the area. Reception staff upon arrival (2330) quite rude and vague. No information about meal times or anything.

    Fantastic location. Beautiful views from room, very clean hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expected view of Marina from room (as in picture showing view from room when selecting room on Booking .com). On arrival told not so, room booked only gives small view of sea and beach (down a side road). Paid for upgrade for Marina view, (which I should have had anyway, according to advertisement on Booking.com. 174 euros for 2 nights is more than enough to pay for best room in hotel without paying for upgrade. TV in room rubbish. Only English programme was Sky News. (this is 2018 not 1808).

    Never had breakfast even though had to pay for it. Prefer to have breakfast at Beachside café. (My choice, but no option for 'room only' booking). Young male receptionist Excellent, helped me out with advice re problem with shops. (shop exchanged goods after I quoted what Receptionist had told me to say). Rooms much better than last visit to hotel now rooms have been upgraded.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel should remove towels from sun loungers to stop people taking up beds they don’t come back to until the middle of the day. Would have liked a kettle and hairdryer in the room.

    We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again. The pool area was great. The buffet style breakfast was plenty good enough. The front desk staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fresh fruit or juice at breakfast. Poor coffee. Noisy renovations at hotel start at 8am in the week.

    The best location. Excellent staff and value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food could have been a little better as there was no fresh fruit in the mornings, only tinned fruit cocktail.

    The hotel was well situated just across the road from the beach, and lovely prominade for walking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very friendly helpful staff, couldnt fault the place a great value 3star hotel at a very reasonable price .. thanks for a great stay will be back.😊😊😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comfortable place to relax to read or just sit. Reception area had seating but was very cold to sit, and nowhere to get a coffee. Bedrooms could have been cleaned a lot better. Pool area was a bit rough and ready and not clean.

    Where its Situated. Food excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable and room were no big but spacious enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and restaurant area . Food looked good . But tried breakfast once and was confused what to do and it was very. Busy

    Excellent location friendly staff good facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was badly in need of painting and updating. There was rust on radiators and chips in the bathroom tiles.The bathroom was generally in poor condition. We had to hire a kettle and cups. Rip Off!!

    location excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child up to 11 years old)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for half board... food is ok..but selection is 😒 Breakfast is very very simple and sooooo boring !! Fresh fruit is a big lack ... After 5 nights we got really bored of the same food...

    Good location, beachfront, close to benelmadena port, arroyo miel, clean and rooms r cozy...as we had some cool days / nights heating was on...pool area is well kept...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no tea with breakfast or at evening meal. Had to pay down in lounge . first time I haven't had tea at breakfast . Meals in the evening were poor quality. Rental of kettle was very expensive so went out and bought our own.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child up to 11 years old)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the rooms very dated. Tv was only in Spanish. Cleanliness was a big issue for me. Cleaning was only done were the eyes can see. Places like under the beds were absolutely filthy.

    Tv channels in English as well. More active for children. The rooms to be modernised .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I have a disability and I would like a proper accessible bathroom. I would also have liked a room nearer the lift.

    The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful. The position of the hotel is excellent and everybody I met enjoyed their stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I stayed at La Barracuda few times now. Always meets my expectations. Great value for money, delicious food and very close to the sea. I would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rubber/plastic sheets on the bed and the breakfast hot food was not good, we went to local cafe for breakfast.

    Beavh location with only a 2 minute stroll to the mariner and then on to Benelmadena. Torremalinos centre the other direction was only a 20 min walk

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi not too good, needs improving to make it worthwhile. Breakfast room lovely but could do with more healthy options such us fresh fruit or fruit salad. Where is your wonderful original Barracuda on the side of the hotel??!!

    Loved our upper floor room, nice to have views of the sea and balcony. Staff excellent, friendly and helpful. Generally good upgrade of hotel, always loved the Barracuda, still do! Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar hours were rubbish shut at 11 and bar staff were ignorant unless you were Spanish.Breakfast wasn’t great and not a great choice.

    Evening meal although not a large choice was very good however breakfast was not that good. Dining staff were brilliant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food very same not too big choice . Builders start work early ...

    Close to beach and pubs , shops ... very good sea view rooms . Recommend upper stage. Personal very friendly and speak English.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Christmas night Gala dinner was not great.

    Staff support - top class at all times, especially at mesl times. Room location (4th floor ) - overlooking garden / ocean view Entertainment - very enjoyable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    the bar wasn't very accessible if youre disabled because you could only access it via the stairs.

    very fast check in. the room was spacious, plenty of room for 4 people and comfy beds. we were situated on the second floor which was ideal as my son is disabled. there were three lifts that worked perfectly. the food was okay, there wasnt much choice but the food that they did put out was very nice. the staff were very friendly and helpful. clean and tidy hotel and the location was fantastic as only a 10 minute stroll into benalmadena. we will be returning this year

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    acoustics were poor. noise travelled along corridor. generally dated but at the price not too bad.

    brilliant location. easy access and pool. nice view from room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast was very repetitive, but there was always something we could eat even if it was just jam and toast. The entertainment was fine if you enjoyed Spanish music and flamenco dancing, it would have been nice if there had been something for the English holiday makers even if it was only for one night.

    We had to change rooms as the 1st one looked onto a side street and other properties. We paid 6 euro per person per night and were moved to a lovely room on the 1st floor overlooking the pool and beach. We were also given a bottle of champagne, a basket fruit and a bottle of water from the hotel. Very nice indeed..!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is not nice. Never saw a smile on their face. Price of the rooms is OK but everything is at an extra cost. (WI FI in the room, using the computer in the lobby to check-in for you return flight: 10 euro, not including the print of the cards of course: 0.50 euro/sheet) No fruit at breakfast. Juices are no more than coloured water.

    Great location neaar the sea. Rooms are fine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Bed was very comfortable, room clean, bathroom spotless and all staff at reception very helpful and pleasant. Cleaning staff provided a great service and again lovely people giving of their best. Transferred to sunny side on second day and was delighted with beautifuf View Great holiday. Many thanks will be back all being well. John McGrath

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fresh fruit available at breakfast. The room was only partly renovated, so it had some brand new furniture and some quite dated furniture.

    The hotel is located right on the beach and our room had a large balcony with nice views of the sea.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were only on B&B basis but looking at evening food we would be disappointed. This being a spanish hotel it is to be expected.

    The location was perfect. We had a balcony overlooking the pool and a view towards Belamadena. The grounds were very clean and well looked after. Plenty of seating although not a lot of time spent there. Facilities when leaving were very good as our flight was not until the evening.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    excellent location comfortable room next time i will pay extra for a pool side room we had bed and breakfast food good but bit monotonous definitely use again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child up to 11 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food all in all was absolute trash. I think they need to invest in seasoning. A little salt will go a long way. The staff in the dining areas were also equally trash. I feel like food time was not exciting (and ill love food more than anything)

    The man at the reception was amazing. He made the trip for me! Plus the pork on the Tuesday was second best to non... Fantastico! And the views were just dreamy. I really lived my best life at this hotel. I can't believe it was that cheap

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have a sea view room..ours was at the side where it didn't get any sun..couldn't afford to pay another 70 euros for a sea view room..was cold all the time😨

    Really nice hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We missed a lounge to relax after the day visiting the surroundings. The poolbar is OK but we want something more so to say familiere.

    The location Close to the Beachwalk. Easy to take the bus to ex. Mijas. Marbella and Malaga

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I believe the personnel at the reception (apart from some) were rather ignorant, tired and not service-people minded at all. My room had black mould (funghi) all along the bath tub, (picture uploaded) I reported it on the very first day. It was wiped off and re-siliconed on the third day only. I was hindered in using the bath tub on the day of this repair which was actually the third day of my stay. The balcony door of this room 411 does not close properly. It was inspected on my claim twice, but not repaired at all. After all these problems I just gave up. No other room was offered in exchange. For me the hotel room is home away from home, definetely should be in better shape than this. The waiters shone off when I did not order drinks to the meals and made ignorant faces afterwards (drinks are extra). There was entertainment in the evenings from 9:30 pm till some small hours, which is a noisy nuisance to those who are not interested. The noise was very loud, could not sleep until midnight or so. Hairdryer is for a deposit of EUR10. I got a very old-looking, rather dirty set, which should be withdrawn from use, this is a disgrace for the hotel. (Picture included.)

    Location was superb, right next to the sea. Nice well kept and very clean beach. However construction work went on 1 block from us, meaning relentless noise from morning till afternoon. Repair and renovation was going on in this hotel itself on the highest floors on the North side, but my room 411 was facing to the South on the other side, so it was not bad. The sound of the waves was filtering through the window day and night, sun was warm and nice on the balcony. The food was delicious, I think. I had half pension, and dinner was well varied. Fish, vegetarian and 2 kinds of meat dishes every day, with fresh salads, I can really say only praise to the Chef. Coffee, however tasted artificial, as well as juice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you have to pay for wifi in the rooms. And breakfast wasnt very appealing in the hotel also there is very little plug socketa in the room that acctually work so when 2 of us wanted to charge or phones or also blowdry my hair one had to plug out their phone

    I liked that the ataff were extemly helpful kind and genuinely intrested im helping you with anything you may need the pool was fantastic cleanbig and safe with the fence around it its literally on the beach so perfect location near restraunts and beach bars everything is close by

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not a lot wrong. Better towels with some pile on them.

    3star hotel with great views if you book a room overlooking the pool as we did. Breakfast was average buffet menu. Evening meal was very good. Room was large and clean with a good size balcony. The beds were very comfortable. A nice touch was the bowl of fruit in the room and the large bottle of water and bottle of cava in the fridge

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in room, include air conditioner, and coffee maker in room

    Very satisfied. More than met expectations, based on description and reviews of others. Will return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be improved as the cooked breakfast items werent that tasty,all other meals were nice enough though.Parts of the hotel do need updating(mainly room/balconies and beds were slightly uncomfy but the hotel was nice and clean and the house keeping was very good!

    The hotel was perfect for us,5 mins from the beach and the hotel had all facilities needed.Reception and bar staff were all friendly so overall we had a great holiday,we even won the halloween fancy dress and won a free holiday next year. The beach is one of the nicest I have seen,very well kept!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child up to 11 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lady at reception was ignorant. Room was big and quite nice, but the bathroom has not been cleaned well for centuries... Very low knowledge of English is characteritic for almost everyone in this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not much. I think that anyone who writes anything negative is generally forgetting that this is a 3 star hotel not a 5 star hotel and I think that it is excellent value. One of the towel rails in our room and a shelf in the cupboard need a little DIY attention, that sort of thing.

    Lovely location. Staff at the reception were friendly and keen to help, as were the restaurant staff. This is a three star hotel and I think that it perfectly deserved its rating. We were high up on the 10th floor which we loved - there was quite loud entertainment below us, if you wanted to go to sleep early. Room was cleaned every day. Pool was lovely and at October half term was relatively quiet. You can rent paddle boards and bikes just outside, which is straight onto a lovely beach. I had a cheap hire car which was easy to park for free in the roads around the hotel. It is only a 10 minute drive away from the sea to park at the entrance to the hills which were lovely to walk in. Also, a 10 minute walk to Benalmadena which is a beautiful marina with lovely shops, especially at night. 20 minute drive to the airport - far enough away not to notice the planes! Overall it is a very nice hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit noiysy in front of reception when taxi's drop or pick up customers late or early in the morning.

    Very good location.Excellent breakfast every morning.Excellent roomservice and very tidy.The staff is very helpful and friendly.We enjoy every moment and have a peaceful rest at your hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children up to 11 years old)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast wasn't the best. It alternated every two days so got quite boring. The rooms was quite small for a family of 5 we couldn't get moved as there was so much beds. The biggest down fall was we couldn't let our 2 year old out on the balcony as we weren't provided with a safety guard after asking 3/4 times. She could've crawled underneath the barriers. Not the safest of balcony's.

    The beds were comfy, the bar was great especially happy hour. Good value for money. The entertainment wasn't the best. More for an older generation not really much for kids at night time in the hotel. Rooms were clean. The hotel is right on the beach which was very handy. I would stay here again but not for any longer than a week with kids.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Breakfast great, Barman Abraham was the friendliest person always had a smile he worked late in the bar and he would be on the next morning for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Like all Hotels in Spain the concept of hot bacon, eggs etc is beyond the understanding of the catering staff but if you like fresh fruit salad from a tin and a choice of two cereals at breakfast and then add in toast lightly done , well that is what you get.

    The room had a pool view which also meant it was close to the evening entertainment sound. The hotel was in a good position close to the Marina with its restaurants and shops and also close to the pleasant pedestrian walkway which took you through to Torremolinos.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child up to 11 years old)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    a better variety of food for evening meal would help. fresh fruit in morning instead of tinned would be nicer! label foods in english.food adequete but not very appetising.o.k for week,

    staff in all areas veryfriendly and helpful.location excellent, plenty of sunbeds.couple there with child in wheelchair and dining room staff very attentive.goodgarden area around pool and always clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn’t book half board again as the food wasn’t the best so we ended up eating out at night and paying twice for my dinner!! No kettle in the room or hair dryer but you could rent both but not cheap!!

    Nice hotel right on the beach. Rooms clean and modern, staff friendly and helpful. First hotel I’ve stayed in where you get a sun bed no problem every day. Very laid back and relaxing place. Five minute walk to Benelmadena marina with great shops n restaurants. Drinks very fairly priced and a good happy hour.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to nit pick I would say the breakfast needs improving as you can get a full English for €2 around the corner. It was very repetitive you would have bacon , some sort of egg and beans as well as croissants and pan au chocolate and donuts. Fresh fruit and cereal was disappointing. And the bath could do with updating as there was a piece missing. Entertainment was focused more on the older customers that were there however 5 minute walk to the right and you were in the centre of it in belmadina. Great bars and restaurant.

    Our room was basic but perfect for us as it was our first holiday together and we got a corner room looking out into the ocean with double doors that we opened every morning to let the sun in. Air con was also a plus! .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was only clean in the middle of the floor,around the edges could do with a good hover and clean. The bathroom had had a leak and was not repaired to a good standard and the stains and cracks were still showing. The balcony needed painting and repairing, not a nice place to sit and admire the view. As for the bedroom ceiling, this had been painted recently however the artex had been painted over, were there had been a leak. As the artex had not been sealed were it had been damaged by the leak it is now peeling off and looks very poor. The dining area was also to a poor standard with paint peeling around the beams, dirty plastic ceiling tiles, dirty floors with ants crawling around. Again all round the edges of the dining area floor are very dirty and in need of a thorough clean. Needless to say I will not be staying here again, I travel to this area 2 to 3 times a year. I have stayed in a number of 2 star hotels/apartments in the area which have been cleaner and 1/2 the price.

    The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    food a bit limited=pool beds hard

    this was not a luxury hotel.so no pool towels no thick cushions on pool beds. serving staff had limited English tinned fruit cocktail at breakfast, baked beans-no tomatoes. but it was well run-lots of hot water and good pressure-quick to provide a safety mat for the bath/shower. entertainment every evening-even the comedian who had little English made us welcome and my sister and I had limited Spanish.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child up to 11 years old)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service was non-existent. One light bulb out of four in the room was working! Requested new ones and the answer on all 4 occasions was, “maybe tomorrow”. Breakfast soley for Spanish / Euro guest. No tea / coffee making facilities in the room. Hire charge for a kettle, but they didn’t have any! Free WiFi only in reception, there’s a premium charge for WiFi elsewhere. Would not use this hotel again.

    Spacious comfortable room. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needs some renovation, it is possible to hear the show at night of the hotel. The beds are not specially confortable. Breakfast is seems very cheap: coffee and juices are made of powder and water. There is no fresh fruit to eat.

    It is very near to the beach and a couple of chiringuitos (beach bar)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay extra for air con and safe, never had that before. Bathroom and towels were poor for a three star hotel, not cleaned behind bathroom door all week. Beds were ok. No poolside towels.

    Food was ok but the same no variety. Ok for the older generation I suppose

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only real criticism is the quality of the sausages, juice+jam at breakfast they seemed very processed.

    The location is fantastic, the staff are all very friendly, the pool area is nice+clean. The view from our room was amazing+the room was clean, spacious with plenty of storage. The bar also do very nice cocktails+the prices are very reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel had no lights on balcony. Queried this and was told to stop people having parties!!! Pretty pathetic.

    Plenty to do and nice walks along promenade

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not true king size. You had to put together two separate single beds which kept on sliding apart and sometimes I'd fall in the middle - not good! The food was terrible! Absolutely disgusting. Went to Burger King down the road for the most part.

    Staff were amazing! Except one or two waiters. Location is great and amenities are spot on. Air con in the rooms was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was horrible we where half board and ended up eating out the staff where extremely rude with the expecting of one or two this hotel is catered to Spanish only

    The only thing good about this hotel was the location right across from the beach and pretty central

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was very poor quality. Very small variety.,. Fruit was almost gone off watermelon was dark red and squishy. Food was repeated a lot during the week so I felt like the food was remade and not fresh. A lot of it was deep fried and oily or just tasted warmed up from a can or from the night before. Towels were dirty and no English or Russian channels on the tv.....

    The beach was nice and sandy and the fact that the hotel was On the beach was good! There was a decent amount of water sports to do! Taxi service to and from the airport was very quick and good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos were very deceiving not at all what you get! Tiny room , horrible beds. The first night we had a box spring only. The staff was very unfriendly and didn't care if we had any issues.

    Location only

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We liked nothing about hotel. This hotel is not for english speaking people. The reception people were ignorant when they knew we were not spanish. This hotel is only for spanish. The hotel room is not for 3 adults and 1 child and is only good for 2 people so it was a disaster and the rooms should not be sold for anything more than 2 people. Booking.com should not be advertising this hotel to english speaking people as they will be very disappointed like us.

    The only thing we liked was location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    property was just ok, very dated. needs updating. On arrival the couch was covered in crumbs and fridge shelf was dirty. first thing we did was cleaned the place ourselfs nightly entertainment was a joke sun beds were at a minimum information regarding tours and exscursions was poor

    bed comfy; pool and garden nice staff were nice and helpful( but embarressed that they could do nothing when there was a complaint) very good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signs at the pool said people were not allowed to reserve loungers at the pool, but when I went to the pool All loungers were taken and was very hard to find a vacant space. Check in time was stated at 1pm, but my room wasnt ready until 2pm on the day when I arrived.

    Water pressure in the shower was amazing, although choice of food at breakfast wasn't large, baked beans and crossiants tasted yummy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window pane faulty nearly fell on top of me this had been stuck with selatape so problem was known. Contravene health and safety standards was told keep curtain drawn until am to stoop being hit by the glass Room dirty, toilet seat broken We're not offered any compensation

    Pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Work was going on during our stay which looked like a new patio bar area. Small 'make shift' bar in replace was tucked away in corner. There was not enough parasols and beds. People hogged the ones that were out on lawn by the pool, with their towels starting from 7.30 in the morning. Most of these people never came back until it suited them and left them vacant but unavailable to any one else most of the day. This we found was very annoying. As there was nowhere really then to shelter. New sunbeds were stacked away still in cellophane out of use. Bit wasted therefore. The hotel has a mix of very dated and then more modern decor. Breakfast was the same each day. Limited choice.

    For the price the location was great. Staff were helpful. Clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast luke warm and poor choice. New bar area being built during our stay. Very noisy. Why do it in the high season?

    Nice pool and right on the promenade by the beach. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was over bath. Very bad getting in and out. Shower poor quality pressure made it move all over. Very often change of water pressure. Dangerous. Can only get internet down in foyer otherwise pay to have in room. The connection was Abysmal.decent hotel internet poor.

    Very good location. Very clean bed linen changed each day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    NO KETTLE OR HAIR DRYER IN THE ROOM - HAD TO RENT A HAIRDRYER (DEPOSIT GIVEN BACK ) AND HIRE KETTLE AS WELL. THESE SHOULD BE FREE WITH THE ROOM ! HOTEL IS DATED AND VERY BASIC - PROBABLY MORE LIKE A 2 STAR HOTEL ( EXCEPT FOR POOL AREA ). HOTEL NEEDS PAINTED IN A LOT OF AREAS. FREE WIFI WAS VERY POOR AND ALMOST UNUSABLE ALTHOUGH YOU COULD PAY FOR PREMIUM WIFI AT RECEPTION - 1 EURO PER HOUR OR 5 EURO PER DAY.

    VERY NICE POOL AND GRASSED SUNLOUNGE AREA. HOTEL IS SITUATED RIGHT AT THE BEACH AND CLOSE TO SHOPS AND THE RESORT OF TORREMOLINOS.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolute rip off for the room. Others offered to use were equally in poor repair. Building Works around outside bar area unsightly and made sunbathing area very congested.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Need WIFI in the room not on the ground like to have tea/coffee machine in the room

    perfect location to the beach and restaurants. have been there five times in the row :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The holiday is ideal for older customers ( 60 plus) very dated idea of what people want from a holiday. The entertainment in the evening was terrible. Pool bar always needed restocking so service was slow . Sunbeds were so uncomfortable we paid for them on the beach

    The location made this holiday

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Towels provided were very small Wifii was 20 EURO for 1 week for 1 device so 40 euro for 2 phones for 1 week Room Service was very basic..fresh towels and bed made

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse La Barracuda traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: