Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Cabaña 2 stars

Avenida de la Mar, 29, 12598 Peñíscola, Spain

#21 of 30 hotels in Peñíscola

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 519 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 65

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Property is stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is stunning. Rooms are full of character and charm.Staff were brilliant and very helpful.Food in restaurant was excellent. Parking right on site. Loved our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location - average room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was very hard and the airconditioning would not stay on, it turned off after about 30 minutes; neither contributed to a good night's sleep.

    The hotel is located across the road from a fantastic beach near the Templar Castle (600 meters). There is on street 1 hour parking out front, off street above ground parking around the corner and underground parking across the road, parking is quite expensive. The staff are very nice and the hotel is clean, however the room facilities are at the bottom end of 2 star.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Superbbbbb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Absolutely nothing.

    This hotel is just amazing. Beautiful view, nice restaurant, large beer 2.3 euro. Nice breakfast. Amazing position. Definitely comming back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant. Would book further in advance next time to ensure balcony and sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything. Pleasant clean airy room. Excellent breakfast choice, however you wouldn't like it if you are 'fry up' fan! Staff pleasant and helpful even though our Spanish is minimal. Location couldn't be better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Secret i dont want to share
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Palm tree bocked view of the castle. Go for lower floor for the great views.

    The views of everywhere else the breakfast the staff. Location is awesome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    very happy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    As often in these seaside towns,parking can be a bit difficult.Just across the road is a large underground carpark ,expensive if the car is left all the time,but possible to find cheaper parking around the nearby streets.

    We had visited before & were very happy to find the hotel still excellent.A very warm welcome,excellent room overlooking the beach & promenade,& an excellent range of food for breakfast.All in all,a lovely experience ,to be repeated when we can.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Best location to enjoy Peñiscola
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next time we will get a room on a higher floor. People on the terrace were smoking.

    The staff was friendly and professional. The breakfast buffet was good. The hotel is well situated to enjoy the beach and Peñiscola old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay in a nice town and close to all the attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dificult to find a parking place on the street behind the hotel as our vehicle was to high for the parking garage. Should have asked for a room on the higher floor.

    The location of the hotel is great, with a nice view to the beach. Unfortunately, the view to the castle was not good from our room in the second floor. However it must be great view from the upper floors, so next time when I come I will certainly ask for a room in the third floor or higher. The hotel restaurant was very good, the dinner was perfect and served quite late in the evening, as our arrival was late. Breakfast was good as well, enough choise and good fruit. The parking at the street may be a problem but there is a parking garage on the other side of the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was noisy, but this was because the hotel is located directly against the flats and houses in the town - for the cost, not unreasonable

    Excellent food and service - portions in the restaurant were large and the food was beautifully prepared - better than normal 'tourist' food. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location was excellent, right onto the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Staff were most helpful but stay let down by poor maintenance of the room and no parking facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one flat pillow provided, so the first was night uncomfortable. Staff provided an additional pillow. The bathroom was smelly due omissions from the drain so we had to keep the fan running. Showerhead fitting not secure. Parking is a problem with no facilities at the hotel and parking in remote locations can be expensive.

    Staff helpful and good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent. Basic price but better than basic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Excellent position with beach/sea only 50 metres away. Plenty of good food in the immediate area. Room had good sea view which we enjoyed from our balcony. Parking was on the road behind the hotel but very convenient and accessible. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    Location was excellent, we had sea view which was lovely,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking, public parking was very expensive

    Location was excellent, we had sea view which was lovely, staff were very friendly, would stay there again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Excellent, loved Peniscola and La Cabana
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was included and although there was plenty we would have liked a little more variety. There was only a couple of types of cereal, bread (toasted or fresh with jam/marmalade), pastries and fruit. The coffee was good! There really wasn't anything else not to like.

    The location was brilliant, the veiw of the Castle and old town from our balcony was stunning. The hotel is situated overlooking one of the busiest parts of the promenade, there was always something going on to watch. We asked for a double bed and actually got a proper double bed, not two singles pushed together! There isn't any parking at the hotel itself but you can either park in the expensive underground carpark just opposite (under the promenade) or from about two streets back there is ample free on-street parking. We will use the hotel again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Great very pleasurable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no fridge in the room which is needed for medication. The only problem.

    Room was good the staff were excellent especially Sandra. Ate in the hotel for breakfast and dinner. Right on the beach. Great location. The old town was close by and was wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.8
    Two night stay in Peniscola
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Patio doors to balcony did not lock. Asked for two extra pillows but never received. Breakfast not very good.

    Central location very good right opposite the beach, plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Extremely well located for exploring the old part of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    In order to get free overnight parking we had to park about half a kilometre away. The AC unit in one room was too noisy to leave on at night but fortunately as I was in a back room there was no street noise when I left the window open instead.

    Extremely well located for exploring the old part of town. Just across the road from the beach. Withing 500 metres there are more bars and restauranants nearby than you could go to in a lifetime.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    Life is a Beackh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking . almost impossible in the end I parked opposite in the wonderful car park under the beach . Big shock next morning 24euro to get out . I guess its my own fault I should have asked the staff but after 4 hours driving I just wanted to drop my bags in the room and relax in the great outside terrace area and drink some ice cold beer .

    The outlook from the balcony was second to none . Right on the beach with a fabulous view of the Castle . Hotel was small with great feel and typically Spanish . Staff were first class .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee at breakfast.

    Basic but clean and comfortable. Reasonably spacious room and with an absolutely fantastic location and views. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    Ideal to see the sights of Peniscola...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking bit of an issue, but we knew there wasn't any on site....and was particularly busy as it was bank holiday, but as we knew the town, we knew how to get around.

    Great view of the front of Peniscola and the castle, walking to everywhere, great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.9
    Friendly , family run hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking at the Hotel. Nearby parking in underground car park for 44 euros for two nights or parking in an open air car park about 300 yards down the road . We chose the latter , which was fine .

    Lovely , friendly staff . Restaurant closed first night so ate out both nights . Good breakfast . Attractive room on fourth floor with outside , enclosed terrace with great views . Pity about the weather .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.1
    No frills hotel with fab vistas, bring your earplu!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise was terrible I felt like the couple next door were in the same room as us! Street noise too was a bit much due to all the restaurants. So avoid the 1st and 2nd floors. Very basic no frills hotel.

    The beds were comfy the location was excellent with fabulous views. And it was clean. The continental breakfast was better than I thought it would be but the fruit could have been fresher, this is Spain! Where you are spoilt for choice when it comes to fresh fruit and vegetables.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    The Terrace was very big and lovely breakfast was good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Terrace was very big and lovely breakfast was good according to the money that we paid. I would even say much better than I thought it would be very good value for the money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.6
    Perfect two days in Peñíscola
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff don't speak English. Basic, old fashioned hotel.

    The view and location are excellent! Good value for money. Clean room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice room.great hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Great terrace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got given the air conditioning on night 2 which improved things immensely!

    I made my own pan con tomate - yummy!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Location was excellent, overlooking beach & castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent, overlooking beach & castle

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    The staff was really nice and they even gave me a room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was really nice and they even gave me a room upgrade with sea view. Fantastic place!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    It was a very pleasurable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could have been a fridge in the room also a safety deposit box

    The bed was really comfortable and the room was a good size

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    We got a better room as we booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels looked dirty

    We got a better room as we booked. Nice view to the waterfront

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.8
    The staff was really unfriendly, rude and bad manners
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was really unfriendly, rude and bad manners

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    Near the see, castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast.

    Near the see, castle. Good beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.0
    Parking extremely limited ended up paying $60 for 2 days parking.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited coffee was offered

    Close to beach and castle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.5
    Free parking is not around the site, so we just choose...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free parking is not around the site, so we just choose street parking beside the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concierge was rude. Were not helpful with the parking.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Best place to stay in Peniscola.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marvelous location, right on the most happening part of the beach. 10 minutes walk from everything in the town. Excellent service tops it all off.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.3
    It's wonderful location and service was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's wonderful location and service was perfect. I'd loved to stay in here a lot. thank you🙂🤗

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    5.0
    Not our favorite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not very clean, small, very old

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff, breakfast, room with ocean view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, breakfast, room with ocean view

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    10
    The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was the best end of the town and very near to the old town. Lovely view from the balcony best to pay the extra would not like the back view. Breakfast was good didnt get round to trying evening menu. This would be the hotel we would stay again if travelling to Peniscola. Lovely beach just across the road just a few steps. Old town magical, very pleased with our choice of Hotel and Town.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    6.3
    Great location facing the beach and good agreement with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staying at the hotel is like stepping back in time to our first holidays in Spain 30 years ago. Hotel was clean but felt grubby because it needs an overhaul and although gluten free bread was provided there is no real understanding of Coeliacs as no alternative means of heating the bread was available than the rotating toaster used by everyone else for normal bread.

    Great location facing the beach and good agreement with a local lady to use her garage to park the car

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.2
    Agood room with private terrace & stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The very limited parking close to the hotel was a concern,but in the end we had no problems in the public parking around the corner.

    Agood room with private terrace & stunning views.. Breakfast very good & we were pleased with the safety precautions taken in controlling keys .

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.5
    Hotel situated in the city center easy access to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although they say WIFI, the reception is very poor. Breakfast typical continental not for me thanks.

    Hotel situated in the city center easy access to everything. Clean and modern rooms.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.3
    Wonderful friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to complain about.

    Wonderful friendly staff. Great Restaurant. Having spent the previous week in France it was a surprise to get such excellent food at a fraction of French prices.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    9.6
    Fantastic location, only 5 minutes to the Castle and old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No problems at all, good value for money.

    Fantastic location, only 5 minutes to the Castle and old town, the beach and sea are right in front of you and the bars, restaurants, shops and everything you need is on the doorstep. Really good sized room for my family on the first floor with a brilliant view of the castle and sea. Will be booking again next year.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    7.5
    Excellent position facing the beach and castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking problem although a private garage arrangement nearby can be made for about 6 small cars.

    Excellent position facing the beach and castle. Very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    6.3
    The staff were lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Aircon didn't work needed more gas Balcony didn't close so couldn't lock Shower leaked all over the bathroom Food was terrible only one menue with chose of two things but when complained the staff made something different for use Last year went to a beautiful hotel further along the beach thought we would go nearer the castle this year big mistake last years hotel would have been 100euros cheaper

    The staff were lovely

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    8.8
    I reserved a top floor sea view, very much worth it, hard to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pillows, hardest pillows I've ever seen, also hot room, sleeping with balcony door open invites mosquitoes, it was early in the season for air conditioning.

    I reserved a top floor sea view, very much worth it, hard to leave the balcony

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.9
    Habitaciones amplias y confortables
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Habitaciones amplias y confortables

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    Weather was awful but the situation and staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weather was awful but the situation and staff were great. Will go back and hope the weather will be kind.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    8.3
    Location by the old town and sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything.

    Location by the old town and sea view.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    9.6
    The area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The area

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    10
    perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    perfect location

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was a but smelly and beds were not comfortable.

    Great location. Nice breakfast. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    9.6
    We have stayed at La Cabana before and it was just as good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WE only stayed one night so had nothing to complain about

    We have stayed at La Cabana before and it was just as good as last time.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.8
    It's ideal for what we want.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    It's ideal for what we want. Location is great staff friendly. We stayed extra night

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.3
    Beach-front location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beach-front location Large room

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.9
    Great location , loved the castle and the restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location , loved the castle and the restaurants and bars were very friendly .

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    Lovely friendly staff, great room with fantastic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely friendly staff, great room with fantastic views. Great food.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    This is a fantastic hotel with a great location and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, a perfect hotel for our stay

    This is a fantastic hotel with a great location and fantastic staff. Should be rated higher than 2 stars

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.2
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff. Very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    9.2
    Great view & location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great view & location; friendly staff - good value

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    excellent location on beach front and nearby bars and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no near parking, but it is by the sea front, so to be expected

    excellent location on beach front and nearby bars and restaurants

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.3
    Location - excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wi fi - rarely available

    Location - excellent Staff - excellent Food - kitchen closed for meals until 8 pm; sandwiches available most of day

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing specific value for money

    Location

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: