Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apartamentos La Casa del Barrio 3 stars

Virgen de las Maravillas, 3, 29787 Maro, Spain

#2 of 8 hotels in Maro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 125 apartment reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    Quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overlooked a lot. Pool was tiny. Microwave was broken. Kettle was temperamental. Slight smell from bathroom. Switches on cooker were faulty.Quiet

    Location was good. Host was very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location with sea and mountains, a lot of space in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment (Sleeps 4)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    A little bit cold at the beginning, there were some minor problems with electricity.

    Great location with sea and mountains, a lot of space in the apartment, fully equipped kitchen. Quiet and very nice place to stay. We would like to come back for sure!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    We have stayed at Apartmentos La Casa del Barrio several times and plan to go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment (Sleeps 4)
    • Stayed 17 nights

    The electricity supply on the stairs tripped a few times, but we were given access to the trip switch cupboard so it was only a minor inconvenience.

    Location, location, location. Maro is a delightful unspoilt village with easy access to beaches, mountains and nearby Nerja. And the delightful host again gave us a big bag full of avocados he had grown on his campo.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Really enjoyed our weeks holiday in the Apartmentos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment (Sleeps 4)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Plug in kitchen sink. Terrace doors would not lock also additional security wrought iron opening. Minor problems really.

    Suitable for a late break

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    Very nice apartment, but missing some attention to details!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom has a smell in it, not terrible but need to leave the suction fan on. Missing some attention to details, such as toilet paper, dish washing soap, sugar, coffee and tea, washing machine soap. We had to buy all these things then left them when came to travel back home (abroad). WiFi is working but not in all parts of the flat, need to be next to the main door. Public transport to Nerja is only once an hour, I would recommend going with a car especially if family has children. 2nd room with bunk beds has no ventilation (fan or AC) and can get really warm, made my child sleep in the living room.

    Hosts were very kind, friendly and helpful. They responded to any queries quickly and are easy to reach at any time. Street parking was available for free. Near to Maro Beach which was very nice. Mini-markets around. Quite town, nice restaurants. Flat clean, nice view, all necessary facilities available. Nice relaxing pool! Very suitable for a small family.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.8
    We loved our stay in maro we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment (Sleeps 4)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was fine beutif ul village 2 great beaches no worries

    Met owner at property no problem nice 2 bed apartment lovely quite village chilled bus into nerja easily accessable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice apartment in Maro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The kitchen utensils could be easily improved, only the bare minimum was available. The private terrace that was announced in the description of the apartment was very small and part of - or shared with - the common pool area. This was sometimes a nuisance.

    Nice and quiet area with only a few minutes drive to Nerja. Clean apartment, friendly host easy to reach on arrival. Beds were good. The apartment had A/C that was needed. Good fridge and freezer and a washing machine in the basement. A small pool - shared between 6 apartments was nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Apartment was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no coffee machine in the kitchen. Apartement was quite small.

    Apartment was very clean. Air conditioner was inside the room. There was no extra costs for anything (bed linen, electricity, cleaning etc). This was final price what bookinghouse showd! Owner was very friendly and helpful (although his English wasn't very good. :-) )

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Great apartment in a great location. Wonderful views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment (Sleeps 4)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A change of towels mid way through our 5 night stay would have been good, but we managed regardless.

    The convenience of the location in the village and the close proximity to Nerja. The apartment was very clean and TV has BBC. Very good wifi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    Well worth a stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment set in lovely village. Host very friendly and although had limited English was very informative. Clean with everything required. No hassle with keys. Even several English channels on TV! Didn't use small pool as not too warm when there but a lovely addition

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    8.3
    Nice area to explore. Good beaches locally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs another heater. There is a small portable radiator and an air con unit but it got cold in the January evenings. No info given on dumping of general rubbish. There are recycle units nearby, but general waste disposal was not obvious. Parking was hit and miss even in January, summer you will struggle to park on the street.

    Lift available if required. The view was excellent. Everything we needed was provided in the kitchen. Shower worked well. Shop a short walk away.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    8.8
    Good experience as ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Realistically nothing. Perhaps the owner should have made sure we had 30 degrees Celsius sunshine every day for our visit in December.

    We have returned several times. What more need be said?

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    10
    Fantastic apartment in peaceful Maro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment (Sleeps 4)
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fabulous.

    Lovely spacious apartment, beautifully clean. Pepe was so helpful and friendly and easily contactable. He regularly dropped off fresh towels which were beautifully laundered. We stayed for three weeks and it was the perfect place. The kitchen has everything you need and we all loved the rooftop area and balcony.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Exellent apartment!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I don't know. I liked everything.

    I liked everything.Apartment is very clean and spacious. The kitchen is fully equipped. View is amaizing. Pool also. This apartment have all that You need for living in, not just for short holiday stay. I have only positive comments. Senor Pepe is positive and very frendly person. All the best for him too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    great location relaxing am sure will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment (Sleeps 4)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    local shops and bars Pepe could not be more helpful and always had a smile

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    Owner arrived promptly at the property with keys and was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment with Sea View (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Owner arrived promptly at the property with keys and was very helpful about how things worked and the village facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Great spot to enjoy some winter sunshine in a quiete seaside town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable stay in an unspoilt village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment (Sleeps 4)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult to park

    Sea view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Mr Pepe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Bedroom Apartment (Sleeps 4)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Sound isolation

    Mr Pepe

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    8.8
    Pepe, the owner, was friendly, informative and efficient.
    • Family with older children

    Parking was a little tedious as the area has an abundance of vehicles and very few spaces, but once I'd realised that the large public park about 200 metres away had shaded spots in the afternoon then it was no longer a problem.

    Pepe, the owner, was friendly, informative and efficient. The apartment was well located for my purposes, and had most of the necessary utensils for a short stay. It was also roomy and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    9.2
    We have stayed here many times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have stayed here many times. Maro is a great location. Unspoilt village within short walk to well sheltered secluded beach and convenient for walks into the mountains. Much better equipped kitchen than other nearby apartments. Friendly owner. Good internet connection.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    9.2
    Clean and nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    During the first day, the flat was a little bit cold, but after that the heating was enough

    Clean and nice place. Easy to be - everything works well and the apartment is well equipped. The host, Pepe is always only from the distance of the phone :)

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    9.2
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not the properties fault but a few nights I could hear a dog barking (its a small village) which was a bit annoying.

    Everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Maro still very much the same as our last visit 20 years ago.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maro still very much the same as our last visit 20 years ago. Adequate shops and four restaurants, two of them very good.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    7.5
    spacious accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    would have been good to have had a changed of towels; someone/bin liners to dispose of the rubbish.

    spacious accommodation. rooftop pool.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: