Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa Grande de El Burgo 3 stars

Mesones, 1, 29420 El Burgo, Spain

#1 of 2 hotels in El Burgo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 159 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    A classic country hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice, comfy, traditional country hotel. No problems. It is easy to park nearby in this very quiet town surrounded by magical panoramas along the road from Ardales to Ronda.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    A nice little hotel who feed you well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much.

    We had dinner here and it was great, with lots of wine and extras thrown in. Also the breakfast buffet was very generous and good value. Ideal for 3 hungry cyclists.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    good overnight accommodation but limited comforts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no kettle in room, restaurant closed for dinner (in avery small town with few options), not very good breakfast - watered down notfresh juice and poor bread - given that wonderful bread is available everywherein Spain.

    great welcome

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower area could be enclosed with a brick high barrier to prevent water going everywhere in the bathroom (room #1).

    We did not eat at the Casa Grande, but rather at the splendid barbecue just across the street. The thick old walls of the hotel made it not necessary to use air con though it was a hot day. The hotel staff very friendly. We gave five stars to Libertad! Hotel location is wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Discover El-Burgo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much. Might have liked a bit more menu diversity at the hotel restaurant.

    This is a renovated old hotel. Very clean, modern and well laid out. The staff was more than helpful and accommodating. We simply loved this hotel and would have stayed a full week. El Burgo was simply one of the highlights of our trip. Picturesque village set in the Siera Nieve mountain range from where we took day trips to destinations as far as Gibraltar.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    5.8
    Reasonable with reservations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the reception staff needs to go back to training collage, she was extremly rude. Key security, left in a pot on a table. Payment, my credit card was charged without my knowledge and consent, I wished to pay cash.

    Beds ok room large, night porter nice, breakfast adequate

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    A beautiful mountain hotel and super friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    The hotel is absolutely amazing. The staff was extremely helpful and we felt welcomed and cared. The village is a tiny pueblo gem in the middle of mountains. On the way to the hotel we passed through a a flower field. We arrived late to the hotel and requested our dinner in the room. We had a very pleasant night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    9.6
    A delightful hotel in a lovely mountain village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The coffee and the rather scary road SAT NAV brought us in on - there was a much better road.

    The room was delightful with its vaulted ceiling and view over the village square. The staff were extremely friendly (a little short of English but I consider that a good thing in rural Spain). The restaurant and breakfast were fine, if not inspired but overall it was a lovely hotel in a beautiful location within easy access of Ronda, Malaga as well as rural pursuits.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    First class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Real orange juice and proper coffee at breakfast

    Everything was first class. Dinner 'menu del dia' was very nice and good value as it included a bottle of wine to share between two

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Old but nice old building in good shape!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner ok, but very bad bread! Could be far better with simple ingredients

    Old but nice old building in good shape!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Well situated in the middle of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking always a problem

    Perfect situation for visiting Sierra de Las Nieves

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.0
    Too noisy as it is an old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy as it is an old building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Virtually gave up eating breakfast due to poor quality.

    Location. Standard of hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The meals in the restaurant were very good value and very enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    5.8
    Able to store bikes indoors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flies on breakfast buffet table. Service amateurish.

    Able to store bikes indoors. Good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.6
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is excellent, spacious and cool in the summer heat. We had a perfect night in their restaurant with delicious food and wine.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    10
    This place is a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This place is a gem. Great staff, great hospitality, incredible view. Worth the 20-25 minute drive to stay outside of Ronda in this white village. Highlight of our 10 day trip in Spain.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    7.5
    Room was very comfortable and hotel had easy access from...
    • Couple

    The manager had a very brusque manner. The evening meal was not as expected for the price charged.

    Room was very comfortable and hotel had easy access from main centre.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    3.8
    The staff was very friendly and willing to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If the hotel is from the 18th century, then so are the mattresses. They were very small and completely worn out - we didn't have a proper sleep for two nights. The rest of the place looks very outdated. Let's just put it this way: Casa Grande, and El Burgo as a whole, turned out to be a place we will never return to or recommend to someone else.

    The staff was very friendly and willing to help.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    8.3
    Quaintness and attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The mattresses were a little thin and not very plush, but they were clean and linens were fine. Bathroom and decor were nice.

    Quaintness and attention. We had dinner at the hotel prepared and served all for just our family! We felt like family and well served. Great place to go for a little walk around the town and we wandered down to the rio and saw a bunch of goats!

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    8.3
    Gorgeous traditional elegant house;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Since breakfast was included in the tariff and we had explained at the booking stage that we don't eat meat, it was a pity that the only options for us were cheese and tomato which unfortunately ran out before the end of breakfast.

    Gorgeous traditional elegant house; a privilege to stay in. Heating in the bedroom, essential at this time of year. Good location, central to the village. Although technically no private parking, street parking was easy.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    8.3
    Friendly staff, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tiny double bed!

    Friendly staff, great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    9.6
    friendly staff who spoke English, secure bike storage, fast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    friendly staff who spoke English, secure bike storage, fast wifi

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    7.1
    Room pleasant good bathroom with bathtub
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant food dissapointing. Staff all in too much of a hurry Not a relaxing atmosphere in hotel

    Room pleasant good bathroom with bathtub

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    8.8
    Excellent cooking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Excellent cooking. Parking very close

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    Friendly staff, spacey room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, spacey room

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.6
    Lovely old Manor house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely old Manor house.Staff excellent. Would recommend to anyone

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.2
    The surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The surroundings. The building is full of history and the courtyard a great place to sit with a beer.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.1
    Lovely traditional room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking is very difficult. The wifi was unreliable. We had to ring the bell to enter the hotel.

    Lovely traditional room. Good food.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    6.3
    Character of the house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely bad bed, really needs replacing mattress and fixing woodware.

    Character of the house.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: