Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Casa Grande 4 stars

Madrid, 2, 28850 Torrejón de Ardoz, Spain

#9 of 13 hotels in Torrejón de Ardoz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 166 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    It’s just like a castle from middle ages and the room we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am not very sure but the floors of the rooms seemed to be a little bit dusty.

    It’s just like a castle from middle ages and the room we stayed was delicately furnished. The staff is friendly even though they do not speak English, they were more than cute:) Do not expect a standard modern hotel room, even the facilities have a museum of their own downstairs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.1
    Hotel offers a nice restaurant as well as Taberna.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are fiited under the roof. The bathrooms have a low ceiling.

    Hotel offers a nice restaurant as well as Taberna. Also it hosts a musem for Icons.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.8
    Worthwile hotel in Torrejon.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom! Slanted roof in the shower does not work if you're over 6ft.

    Extremely quiet. Super helpful staff. Wifi is very good. Artwork and historical items.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic service !!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator.

    Very service minded staff ! When all taxi drivers were on strike, the hotel staff arranged with transportation with a hotel car and driver to get me first to the meeting place and later picked me up for transportation to the airport. Best ever service all categories of hotels !!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    We had a great tour of Madrid by Welcome Pickups.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived on a Sunday evening at 9 PM. Reception was closed! If our relatives had not checked us in and got the room key earlier in the afternoon, we could have been stranded.

    It was a fascinating old building with only a few rooms, but it was comfortable and very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    The staff is accommodating and sincerely polite, the venue is gorgeous and one of a kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too many of the staff spoke English well and my Spanish isn't the greatest but we figured things out

    The hotel is actually a 1600th century museum with beautiful artefacts and tapestries! There was even a wedding going on while I was there and I thought that the hotel made a beautiful and unique venue for such an event!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    Surprise tour of historic site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are in the attics and my tall partner hit his head on the massive timber beams - but this was part of the character of the place.

    We stayed here overnight as it was close the the airport. However it was much more than a place to sleep - we were treated to a private tour of a remarkable place with many exquisite function rooms, a museum of Russian icons and an incredible historic wine press and ancient wine cellars with massive terracotta vessels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    A charming property in an historical building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attention at the reception was very unprofessional. The price of the breakfast is too high.

    A beautiful and charming property full of antiquities. The room is cozy and comfortable. Wide and functional bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.5
    It felt like in museum.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It felt like in museum and at some time we had a feeling that we are the only guests in the huge hotel/museum, a little bit spooky :) Room service apart of the do not disturb sign anyway wanted to make my room in order.

    It felt like in museum. Was very nice design. Was very quite.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    Overall a great place with old world charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little too warm. I speak Spanish but if you don't it may be challenge as none of the staff spoke English.

    Really quaint and beautiful old building with wonderful inner courtyard. Room was quaint with many classical beautiful features. Nice walking path nearby. Close to the airport and a local shopping mall/grocery store.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    Not your run-of-the mill boutique hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They need menus in English. We could have learned so much more if the icon museum had English titles. They need a brochure about the incredible winery.

    This is a very unique 16th c castle-like home, in the basement of which is an ancient winery with multiple rows of 5000 liter vats, the original wine press, etc. There is also a museum of sacred icons, many dating back to 16th c and some earlier. We picked this location as it was close to the airport and we were driving in from Portugal to take a flight out the next day from Madrid. It is not for everyone as there is no elevator, but the rooms are on the second floor. But it you like well appointed rooms (filled with beautiful antiques) that have been uniquely adapted to modernity, this is the place for you. We enjoyed eating at the on-property pub. Limited English speaking staff. Very reasonable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    3.3
    Awful experience, staff were unfriendly & unhelpful, and tried to double charge me
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AVOID! They tried to double charge me, even though I showed them the "Paid" receipt in Spanish from booking.com - they tried to block my car from leaving. Staff were unhelpful, unfriendly and there was never anyone at reception. The hotel room smelled like faeces, I'm not sure why,but even with the windows open could not get rid of the smell. The mattress was as hard as sleeping on the floor - it was brutally hard, which meant I could not sleep at all, and had an aching back every day. There is NO breakfast and NO breakfast buffet - there is nothing at all to eat at breakfast - when I went to reception in the morning to ask where it is, they looked at me dumbfounded...then pointed me in several different directions, all which led to empty rooms / closed restaurants with no food because it was too early (9am). Each day I had nothing to eat, could not even have a coffee, because there is nothing at this hotel. The wifi is dead slow, so lower your expectations if you plan to check your emails etc. The booking.com description of facilities states clearly that there is a sauna and a hot tub - this is a LIE - there is NOT, and I don't know how they get away with stating they have certain facilities when they clearly don't. . This hotel was awful, and I cannot believe a hotel of this size and price does not offer its guests a breakfast. Also, I was very surprised and shocked when they tried to get the money a second time from me, and tried to block me from leaving. AVOID THIS HOTEL!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.8
    Lovely old property full of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be better if you had a choice of TV channels in various languages but this is a minor remark.

    Lovely old property full of character. The welcome was very friendly and the room very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    5.0
    Not what was on the packet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving on Sunday NYDay to find no restaurant. Closed for refurbishment. Not told beforehand. Difficult to deal with !

    Wonderful building, a museum piece.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.2
    Living in Spanish Museum
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi could be better

    This place is absolutely amazing Built in 1560 as a Summer palace for the Queen of Spain History abounds in this place It is like staying in a museum Wonderful staff Great food and wine selections from the Spanish wine regions

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Arquitectura
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arquitectura

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    No elevator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Sensational building.. atmospheric.. wonderful dining.. exceptional service and kindness..a wonderful find!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Really nice hotel near the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nice hotel near the airport. Quite. Really nice and helpfull staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.3
    My room had a weird smell like a cheese or trough up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had a weird smell like a cheese or trough up...I don't know what was it, but it bothered me so much. Everything else was awesome.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.6
    Unique hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hotel with unique atmosphere! Would stay again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.9
    Old residence with a lot of charm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The personnel was not always that easy to find

    Old residence with a lot of charm

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.1
    no sauna so false advertising on booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    no sauna so false advertising on booking.com

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    6.7
    Nice and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was so slow in the room.

    Nice and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cant think of anything

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was magnificent. Very old and grand interiors. Free parking and relatively close to Madrid. Nice to escape the city for the calm of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent including freshly squeezed orange juice.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    8.3
    The peaceful historical hotel building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The nasty smells emitted from the restaurant kitchen located directly below the guest rooms.

    The peaceful historical hotel building. Nice prices. Escape from the congestion of Madrid. Ample parking. Very secured gated facility. Built for royalty during previous centuries, as guest house.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.3
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Liked everything but watch out for the cabbies from the airport. They will GREATLY overcharge. Ask price before taking the cab and make them stick to it.

    Lovely hotel. Clean, updated bathroom. Only there for 1 night to catch a plane. Arrived late and left early so did not get to enjoy all the hotel had to offer. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    10
    A beautifully renovated building close to Madrid airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A beautifully renovated building close to Madrid airport. We always stay here the night before returning home. Great staff, and it is like staying in a museum. The free secure parking is a great bonus as well.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    6.7
    Good clean room with plenty of charactor.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The resturant, bar and gift shop in the main building are now all closed. A small bar and resturant in the building oposite which is where I had to go to find someone to check in. Appeared to be the only person in the main building all night. Breakfast very basic. Very hot so air con strugling to cool the room, and room safe not working.

    Good clean room with plenty of charactor.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    9.6
    Ever Montero, Manager, was so helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had no bad experiences here. My Spanish was dormant after a month in Italy, and would have been helpful. But I did not feel the need to venture from the property. I was here for an overnight between flights, and simply enjoyed the place.

    Ever Montero, Manager, was so helpful and friendly. My room was absolutely perfect for a solo traveler: quiet, perfectly equipped (free minibar, wifi, and a fabulous jacuzzi), in a beautiful and historic setting. Dinner at the restaurant was divine. Did not have a chance to view its icon museum but I hear it's great. Fantastic breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    10
    Very friendly personal, magical decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly personal, magical decor.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    9.2
    Very comfortable with taste of old days
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very comfortable with taste of old days

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    8.3
    Cleanliness, amenities, good bed, place to work in the room,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleanliness, amenities, good bed, place to work in the room, just like the fotos

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    8.8
    Ample bedroom,complete bathroom, plants part of decoration,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast should be included

    Ample bedroom,complete bathroom, plants part of decoration, museum all around.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Hotel La Casa Grande traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: