Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Casona de Calderón 3 stars

Plaza Cervantes, 16, 41640 Osuna, Spain

#5 of 10 hotels in Osuna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 169 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Good value, well appointed hotel, very friendly staff, easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to dislike

    Good value, well appointed hotel, very friendly staff, easy location to find and parking easy good size bedroom and large shower room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Querky hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our evening meal took forever to arrive at the table. Indeed our starters arrived 10mins apart. Also, the main meal was cold. We wondered if there had been a problem in the kitchen.

    It's a lovely place, very querky. The guy on reception was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Hotel full of character & history in a stunning town, would love to visit again and spend more time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that you had to step into the bath for a shower and the plumbing being quite ancient! Also needed a rail to assist getting in and out of the bath, which when wet was especially slippery and could be dangerous, we are under 65yrs and struggled so anyone older or with disability would be at risk.

    The courtyard and historic features in the general areas and in the bedroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the ad said private parking was available without reservation, there was none when we arrived so had to search for street parking

    Comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Couldn't have improved on the whole situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceeded expectations

    Great location in a stunning town. Lady looking after the whole situation was outstanding. Superb break on the route to Seville from Malaga. Would return at any time. A special place to savour.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.1
    Attractively-modernised traditional building on the town's main street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was rather dark. We were very lucky in finding a parking space just opposite the hotel when we arrived, but parking places are at a premium in Osuna, and it was difficult to find another space after we had been out in the car. We ended up some way away.

    The hotel was excellently placed, and interestingly quirky. The staff were friendly and helpful with information about the town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    7.9
    Special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom had obviously been cleaned, but rather sloppily in some places. They could do with the suegra from the Sanytol advert. If they renewed the matress, it would be amazing. It was still a comfortable enough sleep, though. If they served freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast, that would be great because it's one of my favourite things about breakfast in Andalucía. Breakfast was good - I'm just nitpicking.

    Beautiful and unique hotel with a lovely atmosphere in the evening when they light the candles. Our room (and bathroom!) were very nicely decorated. Osuna is beautiful for a day trip, too. They have good heating which the guest can control, and the shower was good with plenty of hot water. There was lots of choice at breakfast. The staff were organised and polite.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    8.3
    Overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little dark but tastefully renovated and comfortable .

    Staff were very helpful and friendly .very informative about the area .Breakfast was nice just usual average .whole hotel was beautifully restored and had a nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel, poor service,
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked a superior room with balcony/terrace but given a very dark room with the only natural light coming from a small window high up on the wall. No fridge in the room. The restaurant was disappointing. Ordered Beef with almond sauce, what arrived was a homemade beefburger on stewed peppers. Wife ordered Chicken Tandoori, what came was strips of chicken stirrfried with peppers.The menu was cheap but very misleading. The guy on reception was having to double up as waiter and he hadn't got a clue. I think the management was at fault because they did not have enough staff on. Pity, because the building is lovely but customer service is very poor.

    Beautiful old 16thC building, good location, easy to park, and very good breakfast. Young lady on reception very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.9
    Out of the ordinary family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have had more lighting in the bedroom and bathroom but as we were upgraded into a suite not a bedroom, this was of little consequence for a one night stopover.

    Almudena was extremely polite and helpful and we managed to send her the Sunday Times review of this hotel via email after our visit. She had not been able to obtain one from the Times so was very happy that we had come on their recommendation and can display the article in the hotel. The whole place is very atmospheric and out of the ordinary with a beautiful pool and the sound of running water and an abundance of plants in the patio. Breakfast was also plentiful and of excellent quality. If you want something non corporate, this is the place for you with a plaza outside to sit and enjoy watching life pass by.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Lots of interesting features in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of interesting features in the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff - big room - good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff - big room - good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.1
    Not really to recommend if you have a room to the back yard,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really to recommend if you have a room to the back yard, very dark atmosphere because of poor lighting

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Recomendable 100%
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada

    Todo estupendo, recomendable 100% .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was great. The staff was very kind and helpful. gluten free breakfast included (plus they adapted the dinner menu for coeliac desease).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Great character and atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great character and atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.9
    Location was excellent and staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rather cold

    Location was excellent and staff very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.8
    Some rooms were dark but we had a choice of 3 rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It felt we were the only guests in the hotel on 2 nights, whilst Saturday night it was mobbed.

    Some rooms were dark but we had a choice of 3 rooms

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    5.8
    Helpful and friendly staff but hotel lacks comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get 2 single beds as requested. Bed uncomfortable. Poor lighting in room. Breakfast basic

    Helpful staff. Atmospheric hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.3
    only one night in Osuna travelling through but we plan to return to same hotel in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful courtyard, with lovely plants and swallows flying in and out of the hotel and courtyard. Relaxed easygoing atmosphere. good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.2
    Nice smallish hotel in the middle of the town, 2 hours drive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No off-street parking (but no hotels offer this). managed to park close to the hotel.

    Nice smallish hotel in the middle of the town, 2 hours drive from Malaga. Very helpful staff. Nice small courtyard. Good meal in the evening, excellent breakfast, all very reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    7.9
    The staff were very helpful, providing us with all we asked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we were allocated was above the courtyard area so had the potential to be noisy. There was some noise, mostly in the morning. The wifi upstairs is a bit slow.

    The staff were very helpful, providing us with all we asked for and going out of there way to get an extra item we asked about at breakfast. The room included a bathroom with a bath and the water was hot.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    9.6
    We loved the feeling of stepping back hundreds of years as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to dislike!

    We loved the feeling of stepping back hundreds of years as you leave the traffic behind you on the street and walk through the front door into a world of spacious courtyards. The elegant décor in the dining rooms, the beautiful room we were given (La Caporala) and exceptionally helpful receptionist made our stay here very enjoyable. We would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.2
    The staff are very friendly and helphul
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant was closed

    The staff are very friendly and helphul

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Browse La Casona de Calderón traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: