Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Colina 2 stars

Ctra Salamanca (A-62) Km 140, 47131 Geria, Spain

#2 of 2 hotels in Geria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 507 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could always have been cheaper.

    I like everything about the place. Price, Wifi, Location, Food, Staff, bar soap.... I wish I could down grade something because my ratings will just cause the place to get busier making the price go up and making it harder to get a room. Downside of finding a hidden diamond.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was a great experience.

    We really enjoyed our stay at La Colina. It is literally right next to the motorway, but even though we had a room facing the motorway, the noise did not disturb us. The 3 course dinner can be bought for 12.50 Euros, or choose steak for 3 Euros more. The breakfast, which was a traditional continental breakfast was only 8 Euros for two people. We felt really safe with leaving our car there overnight as the hotel seems to be the coffee stop for the local police. When we arrived there were 3 police cars there and there were 2 at breakfast time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Use km 139 junction to arrive at this hotel Excellent stopover travelling to ferry at Santander Staff all pleasant Food good Menus in English use Bar restaurant good value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little.

    I use this hotel at least twice a year and I am especially able to commend the staff, who are friendly and obviously enjoy their work, and the bar food which is particularly good value for money. Indeed, the bar-restaurant, rather than the actual restaurant, appears to be the hub of the hotel and of the locality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about . Ideal for what we wanted . Longer stay may be a problem, it depends what you expect.

    Ideal for one night stopover . Parking in front of hotel excellent , secure and free . Quiet, even though a short distance from motorway , Restaurant and a snack bar excellent from a burger to steak dinner , bar snacks , reasonable price , good value . Small shop next to bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The doors to the bathroom had been modernised to be glass, but this was a bad move. It was impossible to open them in the night without waking my partner. They sort of went clatter clatter no matter what I did.

    This seems at first to be a very noisy hotel, right by the motorway, but if you ask for the middle of the front of the hotel and close the window shutters, it is lovely and quiet, better than most other hotels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed at the hotel several times before. But now they will not take pets. I told them that I had brought her many time before but they would not let her stay. I waited until after my meal and took her in anyway. Will not be going back. The boss tried to charge me 59.99euros. but returned my money when I showed him the booking price.

    The meal at the Restaurant was good and a good price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted a convenient stop off on the way to the ferry. This surpassed our expectations. It was greAt value but the room was of an excellent standard and food was good and easily accessible. After a day of travel and sightseeing it was just what we needed thank you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the rain when we arrived!!

    Easy access from the autovia. Friendly reception, excellent restaurant, recommend the solomillo de tenera with lightly battered vegetables (tempura) and the bar/cafe for a great choice at lunchtime.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Towels were a little small for grownups but there were plenty of towels. A little far from Valladolid (15km).

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean, parking was ample, internet was fast and reliable, drinks were inexpensive, food was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure in shower is adequate but not overly powerful. The TV is Spanish channels only. Ideal for overnight stop - in middle of nowhere otherwise so not for local sightseeing.

    Have used this hotel for several years and never been disappointed. Great restaurant (opens 2100 weekdays, 2030 Sundays), excellent values for food and wine, BUT be prepared to exercise your Spanish as most of the staff have little or no English. Hotel is by the side of the main road but not overly noisy. Rooms have good aircon; beds comfortable; windows open but take car when it's hot - best to keep the shutter down. Parking is right outside. Elevator to upstairs. Super cafeteria (bar) for breakfast, snacks and drinks.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com promised a queen room ??? Maybe I got it wrong all rooms were the same at this hotel , maybe another time another location !!!L

    Fair value for money ,staff helpful and were very good .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no real complaints about this place. The bath is too small for a 6 footer like me but there is the shower.

    This a very convenient hotel travelling to and from Santander or Bilbao. The accommodation is reasonable, clean and value for money. Food choice is ok and prices very reasonable. It's not the Ritz but the beds are comfy and it's clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As it was only 1 night stay, I have nothing to say bad about this hotel.

    Internet was very good, room was clean, big parking, everything was perfect for us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the restaurant is excellent, the set meal is good value for money. The hotel is next to the motorway and is an ideal stopover when travelling to and from ferry ports

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a room with a bath but did not get one, and there was no hairdryer as there was on previous visits I have made to you , so had to ask for one, The new bathroom shower took a long time to get the water to flow evenly at the right temperature, and was not as convenient as your older style bathroom, no shelf for your toiletries, the water sprayed all over the floor from the shower making it uncomfortable. when using the toilet.

    We like the location of this hotel as it is so convenient for the motorway, and it has the restaurant and cafe if required.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were small and not overly comfortable. The bathroom ran out of toilet paper and we had to go down to the front desk for more. When we booked it was advertised that breakfast was included but it was not. Parking sparse.

    The hotel being right off the highway was very convenient. Friendly staff and nice restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast only available at the bar. Evening food not great.

    Location. Just off the motorway, but excellent sound insulation. Pleasant walking area behind the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic accommodation. The wifi reception is appalling, no signal at all most of the time

    Location is great for one night stopover if you are on the road. Food in the restaurant is actually amazing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got the impression that they hadn't change the sheet before us because there was hair on it and it was wrinkled.

    We stayed there on our way back from Portugal to the Netherlands and it's ideal for overnight to have some rest.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No telephone in the room (we thought it is mandatory). If we operate the aircondicion we have a big lick in the bathroom from the ceilling to the hair dryier which stopped us from using it, and the airconditioner only at times. We put a plastic shower cap over the hair dryer in case of electrical problem, and towels on the floor. Front desk offered another room but we were too tired to move. The shower head support rotated on the wall making it very difficult to take a relaxing shower. The stopper of the bidett was loose, No ¨do not disturb ¨ card to insure privacy.

    The location, the staff very friendly and attentive. Very generous and tasty breakfast. Good free parking. Nice firm beds.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception person not a very happy one could not manage even a smile until it was home time

    Easy to find perfect en route stop , food and bar very good and value .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the restaurant was great. Everything was clean. The staff were friendly. Great for just a stopover and some food after a long day's travelling

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, except that this year we had an employee who had worked all night on his own (due to a colleague who was prevented from working). We guess his fatigue caused that we weren't treated with the hospitality we are used to at La Colina. Fortunately, shortly thereafter more experience staff arrived who could solve everything. The place is next to the highway from France to Portugal, so no idyllic landscape, but that was well known. The place is fine for travelers going through, and the highway didn't bother us at all.

    As usual, the staff were very friendly. There was a misunderstanding with a new employee as to the availability of breakfast, but this was resolved. Please note that in quiet periods, guests should request breakfast at the bar and that the breakfast buffet is not available. Every year we feel very much at home in this hotel. Staff is friendly, rooms are very clean and there is air conditioning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no real dislikes for me.The lack of English spoken was made up for by the enthusiasm to understand and menus written in English.Should we be trying harder !

    The food served in the restaurant was excellent value for money and of a high quality.The cafeteria was open at 8.00 am so early start could be made.Also a little shop just off the cafeteria selling olives,olive oil,legs of ham,artisan type products.The cafeteria was also meeting place for locals.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good night sleep, good standard of cleanliness and fulfilled room request.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to the motorway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a really budget hotel, all very basic, no food available apart from sandwiches

    Location right by the highway

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location food bar all good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy from motorway, but ask for quiet room and all is fine.

    Good situation. Staff friendly and helpful. Good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a regular visitor to the property I am always satisfied with my time spent there. The staff are always pleasant, and the food is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food and tapas

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just need to remember Spanish opening times for hot food

    Amazing tapas

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient for motorway. Large clean room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was reasonably priced

    Easy to get to, shame they didn't cook fresh eggs and bacon especially as a lot of english use this place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable stop on the motorway. However what was exceptional was the food and excellent wine. Quite unexpected!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was not as welcoming as on our last stay. Bar staff were great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tinto in the bar & free tapas . Very easy to find.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area needed a good sweep floors were unkempt

    Near to major Road through Spain

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff very helpful and the food was delish. The room and bathroom was clean and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money place with a buzzing restaurant. Noise of the motorway wasn’t bothersome as it’s location was a plus for our travel onwards.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food excellent . Overall value for money, will book on return journey .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very noisy, especially from the passage. Beds are worn

    Easy parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    requires a lot of updating

    close to motorway

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to like?

    Never any surprises.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good food in the bar, and a fair price, reception friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    High standard of cleanliness and we'll maintained.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything good and had a good meal . Ideal position en route from south coast to Santander.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the in the main dining room is fantastic . try the set meal at around 20 euros, including wine.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed and great shower

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To much olive oil on food breakfast has gone downhill no buffet anymore

    Comfy beds good size rooms

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient stopping off point en route from southern Spain heading north

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As always, a pleasant stay and a good location to break the journey. Friendly people and good service.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    could do with updating

    the food we found to be very good set menu was excellent value

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Couple

    Evening meal was awful. It turned out to be a fatty piece of lamb with chips. Exactly what we did not order. The cheese cake ordered was creme caramel. We had paid for breakfast but they were reluctant to offer this. In the end they gave us one croissant and a small cup of coffee. Would not recommend.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food in the joining bar was a real disappointment. Burger was cold, meat was raw, staff seemed to care only about their friends(?). Breakfast that was advertised as a buffet was just a few slices of ham and cheese on the plate that was served on the table probably since 7.30am (we came down at 9.30) for us only. Better to just go to the bar and pick what you want yourself, without taking a "buffet" (will be cheaper as well). Or try the fancy restaurant instead of this bar (we were under impression breakfast would be served there..)

    Room was nice, spacious and clean. It's just off the highway, so good stopping point for long distance travel (we were on the way from Portugal)

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a slightly unpleasant smell when you first entered the room, but you didn't notice it when you'd been in the room a while.

    The location, near the motorway, and the evening meal.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was adequate but rather basic particularly bathroom. Silly position of shelf over sink &the shower curtain fell several times tho the shower was lovely just in the wrong place.

    The restaurant food was excellent truly excellent some of the best food we have had in Spain

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent stop-over hotel. Friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms. Good meal in the café/bar in the evening and an excellent breakfast in the morning. Excellent value for money....will definitely use La Colina for an overnight stay again.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed and bedroom too small we thought we'd paid for a king size bed but to our standards it was only a double size. Accommodation needs updating otherwise an excellent place to stop over to and from ferry.

    Friendly obliging service

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food choice was ok but as usual The food always arrives at the table cold even a burger and grilled salmon. The room walls are paper thin and the noise of people talking and loud to made sleep impossible.

    Beds ok clean room warm lift used as Wife is disabled

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room has a bad smell when we arrived; we had to open the window, and the bathroom continued with the bad smell. The dining room was very cold; I had to eat with my fur coat over my shoulders.

    The location and staff, and the food delicious and great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent bar service and a good steak dinner. Though dinner not served until 8.30pm......a bit late after a long drive.......but still a very long cocktail hour is not cause for too much hardship!

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although a small hotel, little things like toiletries, good lighting, temperature control, shutters that kept out light and noise. For its rating, this is an excellent bargain with nothing to not like. We come here at least twice a year and never disappointed. Room 109 is really quiet

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ideal for an overnight stay en route between Spain and France. Very good evening meal at a bargain price and excellent breakfast. Friendly welcoming staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we checked out the bill was prepaid, the money had been taken when we booked. Now whenever we have booked we have paid, almost always in cash, euros, as we leave.Was it you, Booking.Com, or the hotel that took the money from the credit card or the hotel.What must we do to ensure that we can pay in cash always?

    The new 24 hour service. The improved bar and restaurant areas and the excellent english spoken which made checking in so easy.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Couple

    As per our previous stay, we suffered with traffic noise if the window was opened.

    Good location and easy parking. Restaurant is excellent quality and good value. Staff are friendly though spoke no English and we speak no Spanish!

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy hotel because of thin walls and very noisy guests slamming doors and talking very loudly until 1.30 in the morning, also breakfast was awful, worst we have ever had. The staff were very unfriendly. Didn't like it one bit.

    Comfy Bed

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing major, hotel best described as ideal for overnight stops. We used it for 8 nights but found nothing local to do and had to travel to the local towns for entertainment.

    Conveniently located by the motorway, easily found. Staff were very attentive and were keen to give service. Costs were very reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    I liked that they allow for late check-in and had the restaurant open until 11pm. We had a great dinner on our arrival and the next day we had a great lunch before we departed. For people like us that were travelling through Spain this is a great place to stop over - just on the side of the highway and with a surprisingly fantastic restaurant. The food was amazing! I had the best prawns starter I have had in my life (ask for gambones a la plancha).

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No problems at all. For the oprice it is amazing value so you can blind eye the odd feature!

    We have used this hotel for some years as it is an ideal stopover by the ain route through northern Spain. The price is so cheap and the faclities are ok. The retaurant is very good and the staff friendly enough.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Ideal place to spend a night when travelling to Portugal. As always staff are friendly. Rooms are airconditioned. Also, the hotel has real family rooms, which contrasts with other hotels that just put extra beds in rooms to accomodate a family of 4. We wouldn't spend an entire vacation here, but for travelling this is a great place to stay overnight.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    In the process of decorating so lots of disruption.

    Very convenient location just off motorway, easy to find. Staff very helpful. Good place to stay if in transit.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As only one night stay didn't find anything to dislike.

    Ease of access, just slip of & on motorway.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: