Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Fructuosa 2 stars

Luis de Armiñan, 67, 29480 Gaucín, Spain

#1 of 2 hotels in Gaucín

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 162 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Loved it, totally amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like anything, it was absolutely amazing!

    The spacious magical room with magical view, the very comfy bed, the walk-in shower, the amazing food, the super friendly owners!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Will definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No faults from us

    The location and views were excellent ,staff really helpfull and could,nt do enough for you and our room was fab too ,we had a fantastic overnight stay .Would recommend La Fructuosa to anyonewho is visiting Guacin

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    exellent location with stunning views towards the sea and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    exellent location with stunning views towards the sea and Gibraltar very charming interior decoration and very friendly and helpful owners & staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our room was right at the top. The view was wonderful. The bed was really comfortable. The staff were lovely. We want to go back here we liked it so much

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. Breakfast was very good, rooms were confortable with good temperature. Heating is very important and very difficult to find in other facilities within the montain villages in Andalucia

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    April 2018 visit La Fructuosa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property maintaining an authentic Spanish outlook. Lovely warm welcome from our hosts Daniel and Catherine was replicated by their staff. Dinner on our first night was memorable. Gaucin itself is a beautiful place to explore. It's also quite steep in places with lovely bars and restaurants. Already looking forward to a return visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    This was a perfect stay. I recommend you book early as 5 rooms fill quickly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La Fructose is a lovely 5 room hotel with a great view across the valley with Gibralter in the distance. Our room was beautiful with various art pieces, a large shower, lots of hot water, thick towels, a towel heater and so many special details it makes one want to stay forever. The location is great for exploring the town and as a base for the many nature walks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    You need to stay HERE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything.

    The view was outstanding. The rooms were beautifully decorated. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was modern and large with a huge walk in shower and rain showerhead. The breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.2
    We wished we would have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no parking on site, however there were several places to park not too far away. Since we went in November, it was wasn't very busy - parking was not an issue. Most of the travelers in the town were actually bicyclists stopping for a coffee break during the day.

    The rooms were amazing. I felt like I was in a home instead of a hotel. They were spacious and of the 3 rooms we booked, each was uniquely decorated with beautiful bold Spanish colors. Each room also had an amazing view of the Andalusia mountain country side. There was also a lovely roof top terrace for people to relax and enjoy the view as well. Breakfast was nice with hot tea or coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice, and a small buffet with fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, and Spanish ham/cheese. The location is right in the center of the town - it was perfect for walking to the near by castle or several restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous. Thank you so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly the resturant was closed for the season. Slightly annoying generator noise from the village at night. But otherwise so peaceful and fabulous.

    Heavenly holiday. Super friendly staff, very accommodating. Phenomenal views, gorgeous breakfast terrace. Fresh flowers in our bedroom and bathroom every day. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    A little gem in a stunning place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little variety in the breakfast menu would have been good.

    The evening meals were excellent and the avocado and mint mousse was just brilliant. The staff were very polite and helpful😀😀😀

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Our visit to Gaucin was like stepping back in time and La Fructosa was the icing on the cake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The drive up the mountain through Casares is a bit daunting, not for those who get nervous when they have a sheer drop at the side of the road! But, that said, it was well worth the effort.

    This boutique hotel is a monument to style and good taste, filled with antiques and original pieces of art.The view from our bedroom was nothing short of spectacular. I stood in the shower early in the morning looking out of the window at one of the most breathtaking and expansive vistas I've ever seen...all the way down through a series of valleys as far as the coast, with Gibraltar standing clearly on the horizon and North Africa in the hazy distance.Unforgettable!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    I would go back in a heart beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the room out over Gaucin and the Mediterranean is special. If was pleasant to hear the sounds farm in the evening and morning. There is a roof top lounge area as well as the lower restaurant/bar area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    a lovely time in this romantic village huddled against the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the parking is a bit of a drawback. otherwise everything was of good quality .a lovely time in this

    lovely location with great view from balcony. Great food and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful view from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best accomodation ever! Beautiful view from the room, you can see 5 countries and 2 continents... Amazing! Authentic furnitures and really nice staff! We loved it really much!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.1
    for a weekend with a country feel this was a great pick. People made it a wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit more rustic than I was expecting. Bathroom sink felt a little like it was carved from a rock! lots of steps down to the restaurant.

    old rustic home in the centre of the town so part of the local neighborhood. well located for all sites of interest and local tapas bars. Nice atmosphere during the local feria. Very friendly people in the village. Hostess provided excellent restaurant recommendations and the taxi driver they called was extremely friendly and kind. Phenomenal views from the terrace at breakfast and from the rooms. Very special views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Best place to stay in Gaucin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely hosts and staff. Great breakfast, and very nice terrace restaurant. I would recommend the lamb! We were only there for a couple of nights, but I would say definitely the best place to stay in Gaucin. Fantastic views to the sea. They took care of us very well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You park for free on the edge of the village and walk (3/4 minutes) to the hotel. There is no air con but there is a modern (quiet) fan, and a lovely gentle cool breeze from the window. Take mozzie spray just in case!

    We rang Pilla when we arrived and she was there to greet us within a couple of minutes. This is an old but beautiful traditional house on a small street in the middle of a stunning mountain village with exceptional views. There are some fabulous (traditional) eateries on the doorstep that are excellent value and even better quality! The hotel has its own restaurant (we didn't eat there but the menu looked good!) Breakfast was good - cereals, bread, meat, cheese etc taken on the hotel terrace (and those beautiful views!)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    a fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i understand they are building a pool...this would be amazing, could do with more loungy chairs on the roofterrace

    staff are very welcoming and the hotel is very pleasant. Gorgeous courtyard restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Stunning!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was beautiful from the perfect view from the bedroom to the lovely breakfast and most of all the fantastic welcome by Pillar who greeted me and made the stay a joy. Nothing was to much trouble. I would highly recommend this gem of a hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant stay with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no parking available except on the narrow streets of Gaucin, which I think is generally safe. It's a small village with minimal but sufficient services.

    La Fructuosa is a lovely hotel in Gaucin overlooking the valley of the Guadiaro river. On a clear day, they say, you can see the Mediterranean and Morocco. We were not so lucky with the weather, but it was still a lovely view. Our room was spacious and comfy with a lovely view. The bed was very comfortable. We had dinner at the restaurant in the hotel. The food was good and the setting was very cozy surrounded by the old mill. The staff are friendly and helpful. If you get a chance to walk around the old castle it's worth a peek.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Authentic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Felt like we were living in a piece of history! Beautifully restored village inn. Lots of attention to detail. Amazing views, even from the bathroom. Piri, our host, is a real asset. Friendly and excellent local knowledge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    6.7
    Nice clean and comfortable accommodation but not quite worthy of the price charged.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hairdryer. No tea/coffee facilities in room, nobody to welcome us on arrival, door locked (luckily my cousin who lives in the village knew where to locate the restaurant door to summons help) otherwise we would not have got in, telephone number was not answered on calling. Next day a notice was on the door telling whomever that the bell wasn't working! Continental breakfast a bit 'samey' after three days, would have liked a cooked breakfast or at least an egg! ha ha

    fabulous views from room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    What an excellent little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderfully situated in one of the loveliest mountain-top white villages, with stunning views. Beautifully decorated throughout in rustic style. Very comfortable, with lots of great touches. Very generous and delicious breakfast. Great walks from the door. Excellent restaurants in the village. Couldn't be better!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    Hasta la vista Fructuosa. We will be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I didn't like was that sadly the restaurant at the hotel had closed for the Winter. After eating here on a previous stay, I knew what we were missing. Jesus and luis were very helpful though in booking us in to a nearby restaurant which was also very good. I will be sure to be back next year when the Fructuosa's lovely restaurant re-opens!

    This hotel is such a gem. The love that the owners have for their business radiates from every corner. There is a book in the communal living area/library showing the renovation of the hotel which was undoubtably a mammoth task. Delapidation to delectable! It has such a homely feeling and you really are made to feel at home by the lovely owners. Nothing is too much trouble and hospitality is given in just the perfect amount and in no way intrusive. Jesus sent us an email a few hours after we had checked in, letting us know that there was a classical music concert that evening at the church in the village. We were thrilled to find this out and it was a beautiful evening. Stunning views and peace and quiet equals batteries recharged! Total relaxation.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    10
    Stunning hotel with amazing views and excellent hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!! Wish we could have stayed longer :)

    Traditional Spanish house in the heart of the village. Beautiful, clean and homely decor and an amazing restaurant. Friendly welcoming staff too, we will be back!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    10
    Superb, Superb Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Everything from the friendly welcome, advice on where to visit and eat as the restaurant is closed on Tuesday nights, the accommodation, the breakfast, the setting, I could go on and on. This is superb. You must visit Guacin and this Hotel, views are spectacular from room and terrace.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    10
    More like a family home than hotel. Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautifully and authentically restored individual building with lots of soul. It feels more like a family home than hotel and the views are amazing - all the way to Gibraltar and Morocco. Very welcoming and interesting owners. Felt very lucky to stay there. Gaucin is very laid back pueblo blanco. Restaurant is fab too but in peak season you will need to book. Breakfast top quality (fresh fruit, local meats and cheeses etc) and informal.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Lovely small hotel in a beautiful village.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were traditional decorated and very tasteful. The views, even from the shower, were fantastic.

    Lovely small hotel in a beautiful village.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    One of those places you hope to come back to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    A really nice place to stay in this beautiful village.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    This was our second trip. We were delighted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great bed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Great little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting checked in was an issue nobody around

    Great little hotel, real character

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    The owners were very careful to make us feel welcome and at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only regret was that we did not stay more than one night. Go for a week at least.

    The owners were very careful to make us feel welcome and at home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quietness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view was amazing. We just wanted to gaze all day

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect 10/10

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    A lovingly-kep traditional country hotel in a beautiful and historic town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints at all.

    Beautiful location overlooking the hills, with Gibraltar in the distance. Lovely terrace for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Comfortable, homely, unobtrusive, calm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable, homely, unobtrusive, calm

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Great place, cosy and comfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting in, having to call and wait for owner to arrive.

    Bed comfy Nice cosy sitting room Good views Great location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    Top notch treat in the mountains
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    stunning room with stunning views. Super comfy beds. excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Gaucin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Beautiful old building with all the original features carefully preserved in the renovations

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing stay in Gaucin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely quaint, comfortable hotel with great views. Very friendly professional staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.2
    Worth a trip up to the mountains. Fantastic views and gorgoeus village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous quirky room, reconverted mill. Breakfast and service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.2
    A lovely spot to spend time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The barking dogs ar night.

    The atmosphere of the hotel is unique- very artistic.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.5
    wonderfull place, staff could put more helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the reception they don't realy make an effort to let you feel welcome

    the view, the interior, the vllage

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    10
    Lovely friendly owners who, along with their team, conjure...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely friendly owners who, along with their team, conjure up a friendly, helpful and relaxed ambiance. They have sympathetically restored, and added a lot of interest, to create a delightful property which has wonderful views across to GIbraltar. It is set in a lovely white Spanish village that offers an authentic feel and choice of bars / eateries, although we were very well served with food and wine at the hotel. The village is surrounded by gorgeous countryside making our route from GIbraltar to Ronda memorable. The area is a haven for wildlife. We visited in the spring. Jesus the owner directed us to a county walk that took us along a path stuffed with views, windflowers, butterflies and birds. The area is also a flight path for migratory birds coming from Morocco and our room had a view of their flight route along the valley. Jesus also put us in contact with a local lady who leads foraging walks. The hotel restaurant is used as an artists studio during the day ... Lots of reasons to go back ;-) Thank you so much Jesus et al. xx

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    8.8
    - the atmosphere in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - quite tricky to park around if you're not a confident driver - quite expensive

    - the atmosphere in general - spacious rooms in a classic Andalousian style - superb view from the room in the direction of the Mediterranean

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    The staff are terrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was only open for two nights of the week at the time of year we went. This was fine with us as we were happy to eat somewhere else one night and were reccomended another great restaurant.

    The staff are terrific. The views are breath taking. There's a lot more going on in the village than we had thought there would be. Great walks.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    9.2
    We liked the large quirky bedroom with great views towards...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the large quirky bedroom with great views towards the sea. Lovely complimentary toiletries and the large bath (very welcome after a hard days cycling). Best breakfast of our cycling tour served in the downstairs dining room which housed a interesting range of art and also an ancient grape crushing machine. Nice meal at the local bar/cafe.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic location with the beautiful view over the valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad to tell about!

    Fantastic location with the beautiful view over the valley. The renovated building in old style. Breakfast. Do not forget to visit El Castillo, wonderful view over the little white village Gaucin. Do not bring the car to the hotel stay at the parking lots above, it is not possible to park in front of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    9.2
    This little hotel is fantastic, the best of our trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet had outages and weak signal, but this is understandable given the remoteness of the town. There are some spots in town where mobile phone reception is OK.

    This little hotel is fantastic, the best of our trip! Our room faced out over a mountain basin, I could watch people working in their gardens down below. You wake to birds singing, then roosters crowing, then dogs and motorbikes and voices of pedestrians. Its a happy village noise which is not too loud and you can shut it out if you close the windows. The room was very spacious & bright, as was the bathroom, and very nicely decorated. It had a sofa & coffee table and a small fridge. We drank the sherry in the fridge, which I don't usually do, and the cost was completely reasonable. I would have liked to stay a week here! The deck is more fabulous than you can tell from the pictures. We could see to the Mediterranean from there as well as from the room. The breakfast was excellent, generous and diverse. The dining room which is a restaurant space also in the evenings, was very pleasant. The staff, Pilar and Alex, were the best of all - helpful and gracious. Pilar even met us at the bus stop when we arrived. They both speak English. Ask about walking routes from Gaucin - there are lots of options = a good place for walks in the countryside. We arrived in Gaucin by bus (Comez Co.) from Ronda. An inexpensive and scenic way to get there. The train station nearest Gaucin is a 3 hour walk or 25 euro taxi ride. The hotel will call the cab for you.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    9.2
    We really enjoyed the delightful lady who met us at the door...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Wish the attached restaurant had been open for dinner, but it was understandably closed for the low winter season.

    We really enjoyed the delightful lady who met us at the door and who was managing the place at this time of year. She showed us our lovely large room upstairs with many windows having a fabulous view of the surrounding countryside. On a clear day (there was some smoke in the air from the November field burning) one apparently can see the mountains of North Africa and Gibraltar. The same very nice lady also served us a very appealing and varied included breakfast buffet in the morning. This is a very picturesque and cute hotel in tastefully renovated quarters in a very old moorish style hill town with narrow streets.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    8.3
    A very interesting and well done restauration of a 150 year...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking could be a problem in peaktimes.

    A very interesting and well done restauration of a 150 year old guest house, very tastefully done, spectacular views from the room. The casualness, no reception on our arrival, had to phone but we looked at this as positive, no gazing on computer screens like 5 stars

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.8
    Good breakfast on the terrace with wonderful views and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The entrance was locked and though there was a notice to call a tel. no', one of our party had walked down the street and noticed a sign to a lower entrance so we all walked there pulling our suitcases. It would have been helpful if the notice had said that the lower entrance was for the Restaurant only.

    Good breakfast on the terrace with wonderful views and the fresh flowers in the bedroom and bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.6
    Beautifully restored hotel with careful attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fold out bed was not very comfortable.

    Beautifully restored hotel with careful attention to detail. Excellent location with amazing views and friendly staff!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.6
    Staff very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking the car 100+ metres away was not ideal, but that is Gaucin. Unfortunately the view from the terrace was lost in the mist.

    Staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    9.2
    Jesus was so welcoming and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Jesus was so welcoming and attentive. The intimate nature of this small hotel was very relaxing....more like staying in a small private country house. The views from the rear of the hotel.....out of this world.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.5
    Quaint hotel with an amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you have a hire car there is no parking near the hotel. There is street parking 10 mins walk away - Ok, as long as you can handle your suitcases!

    Quaint hotel with an amazing view. Spacious room, bed very comfortable, walk upstairs to enjoy the rooftop balcony. The breakfast is amazing!! It is a "Casa Rural" and has old world charm and is within walking distance to restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    9.6
    Relaxed, beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was difficult to get information from the owners.

    Relaxed, beautiful location. Plenty of other places to eat. Plenty of other places to visit. The driving was also good.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    The location was spot on and the hotel is a jewel in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    The location was spot on and the hotel is a jewel in the crown. The whole experience was better than we imagined the staff were helpful and friendly and the food superb as we had our evening meal in the restaurant with stunning views what more could you want

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    8.8
    Room is massive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking anywhere near the hotel is an impossibility as far as we could see. We did manage to find one parking space a 5 min walk from the hotel and dragged our cases back. When we rang the hotel on arrival into the town while still in the car - to request help parking, as they asked, no one answered the phone. We sorted it out eventually, though. It would have been nice to have had some form of instant heating in the bathroom, such as a wall-mounted fan heater - I could not work out how to get the old-fashioned radiator on, and in any case, did not want to have to wait 20 mins for it to heat the room so I could take a shower. But this was a minimal issue.

    Room is massive! Décor beautiful. The welcome we had was lovely from the lady waitress that assisted us. The view from the room and the bathroom was superb. Breakfast was lovely and the setting unbeatable. It was a great place to spend my birthday and I would certainly stay again. We shall recommend it to all our friends.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    7.9
    Tasteful decor,comfortable room and fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Steep steps. Lack of information when booking that evening meals only available on Fridays and Saturdays.

    Tasteful decor,comfortable room and fantastic views

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    10
    The rooms were fabulous, each individually furnished, The...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The rooms were fabulous, each individually furnished, The breakfast, served on the terrace was great, a good selection of fresh food well presented. The hotel was quiet and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    9.2
    Great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Trying to find the hotel among the narrow streets of Gaucin.

    Great views. Tastefully restored village house. Splendid dinner in a welcoming atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful restored building in a pretty pueblo blanco...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Beautiful restored building in a pretty pueblo blanco village. Lovely room with fantastic room and roof terrace. Charismatic host and great service. Loads of restaurants to cater for all tastes nearby.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.6
    Stunning views from the bedroom, charming and helpful owners...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stunning views from the bedroom, charming and helpful owners (and their staff), furnished and decorated in an eclectic mix of styles, but very good taste.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    9.6
    wonderful old house chock-full of art and antiques with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wonderful old house chock-full of art and antiques with a spectacular view. a bit cool in February.... The owner and staff make up for that with their warmth and helpfulness

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    10
    The quirky but stylish decor, the view from our room, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A longer stay!

    The quirky but stylish decor, the view from our room, the attentiveness of the staff. Excellent dinner menu and creative dishes

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    7.9
    breakfast limited but good
    • Couple

    bed could be a lot more comfortable, pillows likewise

    breakfast limited but good restaurant largely closed but excellent views stunning

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    10
    The delightful and helpful staff and owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The difficulty in parking

    The delightful and helpful staff and owner. The breakfast was delicious

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    10
    The view from our room was breathtaking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view from our room was breathtaking

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    10
    Great rooms decorated with flair and nice extra touches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great rooms decorated with flair and nice extra touches. Delicious breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    5.8
    Room was lovely Views spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not served till 09:00 No coffee in room Dangerous step in room

    Room was lovely Views spectacular

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    10
    Charming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charming hotel. Very nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful location, great views, charming town, made for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location, great views, charming town, made for a thoroughly relaxing evening and morning.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse La Fructuosa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: