Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Fuente del Sol 4 stars

Paraje Rosas Bajas, s/n, 29260 La Joya, Spain

#1 of 4 hotels in La Joya

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 270 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location, lovely food, friendly staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a lovely time. Added bonus was that they have rooms that take pets. Our dog loved running on their green grass and we enjoyed our swim in their salt water pool. What a lovely garden they have. The food was great too, though not cheap, I think it was reasonable considering its location. Shame I was too full to try their desert. Staff were all very friendly and knowledgeable too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money, extremely pleasant stay and engaging, very polite staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spa shower was under repair so not able to use.

    Extremely helpful staff who let us use the hotel facilities after checkout for the whole afternoon as we had an evening flight out of Malaga. Food excellent, room excellent, location and views excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Piece of paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without a doubt the best place we stayed at in andalusia. The drive to the hotel itself is not to be missed. Make sure to follow the sign to the hotel 6km ahead. The surround and the garden of the hotel is a reflection of Edens garden in spring time. The staff er very friendly and helpful. The restaurant uses own organic crops. All supplies in the rooms are environmental friendly and rooms are very clean with a personal touch. On top of all these, we were upgraded to their superior room with no extra cost. Definitely the best stay and our only regret is that we were not able to stay longer due to our trip plans. Thank to hotel staff for a wonderful stay. We will not forget this place and have already recommended it to friends and family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    the hotel is very very nice and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    location. far a way from the main road. but in the middle of a very nice landscape. breakfast was a little poor.

    the hotel is very very nice and comfort

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Just stunning!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The spa was the only thing that I didn't really enjoy. It seemed to be lacking in the sense that we were provided bathrobes but not towels, flip flops or shower caps and there were no lights in the changing room. It was not the worst spa I have ever been to but I feel it just needs a little TLC to make the experience more enjoyable.

    The bungalow was a special place to stay. It was separate from the hotel but still close enough if you needed anything. Staff were excellent; very friendly, welcoming, helpful and always smiling. Breathtaking views!!!!!! Overall a fabulous hotel. I would definitely go back without a doubt!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one thing - no vegetarian courses in the restaurant.

    Staff was very friendly. Room was beautiful, as was whole surrounding of the hotel (a must-see :) ). No vegetarian courses in the restaurant, but cheff prepared someting special :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely country retreat with a great restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The perfect country property to relax in between our city stays. All fireplaces were lit and the property was nice and warm on this cold January evening. All staff were very friendly and helpful. We took a walk through the gardens and enjoyed the tranquility. The food in the restaurant was delicious - the waiter very attentive, knowledgeable and professional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location out in nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road to the hotel was a bit rough with lots of potholes, so I suggest to do the drive during daylight.

    Beautiful location and a very warm and welcoming hotel. They had a restaurant with great food and even offered horse riding trips. The room had floor heating which was especially pleasant as we were there in the winter.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.5
    Great hideaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Handles for safety on bath/shower. Some sort of curtain to stop water showering onto floor, though this dried up due to Underfloor heat, it still left puddles. Some shower soap etc in Spa showers

    A wonderful out of the way relaxing place to recharge. Very friendly staf, very cheerful and helpful. The spa was not open between 2-4 pm, though it had a nice pool small sauna and a steam room, the view was lovely from the giant windows. No water availableto drink nor towels, bathrobes were ok if you are a bean pole. Rather basic but nice none the less. Food was not out of the ordinary but lovely waiter/waitress. Could do with inspiring the cook. Overpriced for what it was. It is quite difficult to find and some clearer sinposting would be great . We a had a lovely 3 nights even if almost hidden in the mist for nearly 2 days in which we relaxed in front of log fires

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Location was very remote with beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was poor unfortunately. Breakfast adequate. Rooms we good size, but slight uncomfortable smell. Not much going on in the area due to the remoteness, but didnt mind that as the establishment is great.

    Location was very remote with beautiful views. Quite difficult to find but when we go there was worth the views. The fireplace kept us warm. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.7
    The location was a visually fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The local town had limited dining options when were were there (Oct) and so ate at the hotel restaurant. It did feel that we had gone back in time. The food was OK, but more less trying to be clever and better cooking may prove to be a better option

    The location was a visually fantastic. Drinks on the terrace overlooking the valley are one of the top memories that we will take away with us after a months travel. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable exipience, also with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eccelent location, splendid soroundings. The hotel arranged the taxi to meet us at the airport and take us to the hotel, and back again, this was very easy and the price was very reasonable. We enkoyed the restaurant and do not share the opinions in the other reviews.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Extremely happy with all aspects of this hotel and enjoyed the Crocodile for dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 2 nights

    just perfect !!

    Absolutely Fabulous, loved it and will return in the not too dostant future, tranquil. peaceful and wonderful friendly staff and service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Rest, relax and rejuvenate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely gem away from crowds, noise and shopping. Perfect romantic get-away with beautiful drive to Torcal Park. Very nice staff and service. Wonderful breakfast with many choices and really great coffee cakes! Also the restaurant offers great dinning experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    A delightful peaceful retreat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better!

    the receptionist upgraded our room, we over looked the gardens which were beautiful. A great place to retreat for some peace and tranquility!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.5
    Country style with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A long way from Antequera and the El Torcal natural park. The kitchen was okay, but nothing special, in particular considering the price level.

    Really a fantastic surrounding and view of the Mediterranean in the far. Absolutely quiet. Nice pool. Spend some time at El Torcal if you can.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Breathtaking view and relaxing atmosphere - we had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is truly stunning especially in April/May when it's surrounded by green fields and flowers. You have the option to relax in the Spa, swim in the pool, ride on a horseback, rent a mountain bike, go on a hike or simply enjoy the quietness reading a good book. The food at the restaurant is delicious and you must try the locally produced olive oil. We will definitely come back!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were delightful and gave us very useful information. Location in the mountains was just what I like. Also reasonably near to Antequera which is a stunning city / large town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.2
    A piece of paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too hard for my liking, wi-fi worked well in our bedroom, not so well in the common areas

    Spectacular location, attentive staff, big room and bathroom, nice spa with views, architecture and style, it's a gorgeous building very well maintained

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    Lovely location!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pets allowed in dining room, therefore had dinner from room service menu in our small room. Only one chair in room and one very small side table which my husband used. I ate my expensive dinner from my lap, sitting on the bed, I was not amused! Also, arrived to a very cold unheated room, which took ages to heat from a small electric fire. Breakfast was very average! It's a nice hotel, if I returned, in order to get a better room, it would have to be without my dog, so I guess I won't be returning! Shame!

    Beautiful building and surroundings. Friendly and efficient staff!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    5.8
    Disappointing; didn't live up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor access road, though well signposted. Beyond the (rather expensive) bed and breakfast rate, just about everything else - use of the indoor pool, spa etc - is extra, and expensive. Given there is little else to do around La Joya, it feels like they are taking advantage of a captive clientele. Not at all what we expected (and at odds with other reviews on Booking.com - perhaps we were unlucky). Dinner is adequate, but overpriced. Breakfast was OK, about average for our week's tour (though it seemed impossible to get a hot coffee, despite repeated requests). When we arrived, our sons' room had a double bed, which we were expected to separate. Two of our rooms had bedside lamps that didn't work. The rooms we were given were rather dark and unwelcoming, without the promised 'Mountain View'. This really was a most disappointing experience - we left after one night.

    Wonderful grounds. Very pleasant public areas, indoors and out. Peaceful. Convenient for El Torcal (approx 20 minute drive).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Easy walking access to the city but just out of the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy walking access to the city but just out of the city frenzy opposite a lovely green space.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    I didn’t want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views are spectacular

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole atmosphere. It was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    The best place to relax and have a romantic time
    • Couple
    • Suite with Jacuzzi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to go

    Everythink was perfect couldn't of been better

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    Location and excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was basic. The Spa didn't open until 16.00.

    Location and excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Great place to spend a couple of days or more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car needed to get there.

    Staff, location, view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    Stunning views from hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vegetarian options on menu.

    Stunning views from hotel. Pleasant gardens. Friendly reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    This is the place if you want peace and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didn't stay a few more nights

    Lovely and peaceful location, friendly staff and excellent restaraunt with fab wine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Amazing place !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place !!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Beautiful. Perfect for a relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting wasn't that great in the washroom

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Brillant hidden jem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel with very nice restaurant in gorgeous setting!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.5
    We visited the hotel in november.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We visited the hotel in november. The room was cold.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic location. We will return for sure.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    5.4
    The scenery was beautiful it was a stunning location with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In room 3 there was a bad smell coming from the drains. This spoilt our stay as the room smelt. When we informed reception to do something about the smell nothing was done. Maybe as we were only there for a night. Breakfast was very disappointing for a 4 star hotel. There was no hot food and the choice was limited.

    The scenery was beautiful it was a stunning location with breath taking views

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    10
    Beautiful location, hotel was authentically Spanish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were a bit disappointed with the breakfast.

    Beautiful location, hotel was authentically Spanish. Friendly staff. We were looking for somewhere remote up in the mountains and it was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    8.8
    Staff was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was very hard and not that comfortable but we have been finding that everywhere in Spain so may be just the norm.

    Staff was lovely. Grounds were lovely. Food was good. Very rural so you gave to want that kind of place. But if that's what you're looking for, it's a great break.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.3
    Peaceful, nice location high in hills, lovely (cold) pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Extra bed for child was expensive at 30 euro per night (he is 3). Evening menu could do with a special each day.

    Peaceful, nice location high in hills, lovely (cold) pool although indoor is available at extra cost, room quiet, gardens, plenty of space to park. Local village about 1-2 km away.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    5.4
    Setting and surrounding countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much else! Room was starkly furnished and basic. Bathroom very unattractive. A/C and fan because of the height of the room ineffective. Quality of food at dinner and breakfast was very poor. Double bed was twin beds pushed together. Floor tiles in the lift badly chipped. Very overpriced.

    Setting and surrounding countryside Two swimming pools

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    8.8
    Rural Peace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food is okay. We ate in 3 nights but the mains are not usually fresh as I discovered when ordering a tuna steak which having been frozen could not be cooked medium rare due to the defrosting time. Veal was perfect

    Rural Peace. Close to the 3 major natural attractions and loads of walks

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    8.8
    Staff went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We felt that perhaps the cost of using the spa facilities should be included in the price of the room.

    Staff went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay, even keeping the restaurant open late for us after we got lost on the way from the airport .

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    4.6
    the food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Paying 30 euro for my dog to cover cleaning costs, when there wasn't even a rug in the room to make dirty! I paid 100 euro for one night, had I paid 40 I would have said it was reasonable. The free toiletries were pathetic with only one tiny soap, towels were small, toilet paper not soft, I had to ask them to turn the water heating up and I had to make my own bed as the two blankets were in the cupboard and just sheets on the bed (it's February!)...nothing to make my stay feel special...and because i had a dog I couldn't use any of the hotel's facilities and even had to pay 5 euro extra to eat dinner in my room.

    the food was good...although not the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    8.8
    The solitude and the quiet atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedrooms need to have a couple of comfortable chairs to sit on and a mirror over the writing desk/dressing table.

    The solitude and the quiet atmosphere. The food was excellent and the staff were always more than helpful. The common area was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    7.9
    Friendly and helpfull personel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was somewhat small.

    Friendly and helpfull personel. Quality of food generally high.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful,peasful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave. But will return

    Beautiful,peasful setting. Friendly helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    7.9
    the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast

    the pool

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    10
    The surrounding countryside, peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The surrounding countryside, peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    8.3
    Friendly and professionel waiter in the restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The receptionist was very cool.

    Friendly and professionel waiter in the restaurant!

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.8
    Atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.6
    A lovely rural hotel in a beautiful location with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A lovely rural hotel in a beautiful location with outstanding views and fabulous food

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Browse La Fuente del Sol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: