Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Joyosa Guarda 4 stars

Rua de Medios, 21, 31390 Olite, Spain

#6 of 10 hotels in Olite

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 503 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Olite is a charming little town. We managed to fill a 2 night stay there easily. Worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could do with a lounge or somewhere to sit, even in the lobby would do but access to the public restaurant I guess precludes that. If I had to complain about anything it would be that the bathroom floor could use a scrub. The mini tiles seem to have caught a lot of dirt in the grout but a quick scrub I am sure would work wonders. Everything else was beautifully clean.

    A really nice little hotel, comfortable, well located and very easy to find. Room was spacious with a lovely little enclosed balcony over the street. On site underground parking which is nice, although a little tight if your car is larger. Staff are lovely and very helpful as are the staff in the on-site public restaurant. Our meal there was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable stay in the centre of this small historic town. Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    Central position. Parking in the basement. Separately-run bar and restaurant in the building. Large room with balcony. Comfortable bed. Large entrance hall. Very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.1
    Not as advertised, clean, friendly, but not 4 star- but at a four star price. Do not book a suite
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We been okey a suite with a garden view. The room was very basic and was obviously not a suite just a family room with the second bed removed. The bed surround was still in place and two chairs were placed in that room. It had an opaque window that could not be opened. The room was completely overlooked which meant that in he absence of any net curtains we had to keep the blinds shut unless we wanted to be on display. There was a round bath as advertised. I stay in hotels all over the world for my work and this was not 4 star. Comparable to a low end Premier Inn in the UK. We had a coffee in the three star Paradores it was of a far higher standard. So we felt well and truely ripped off. This obviously reflects on our confidence in booking.com. A small addition when we arrived the room was being prepared- no big deal. At that time there were no chairs unit so I guess things were being moved around to suite-n it up a bit. Come on booking sort it out.

    The hotel was very clean and the staff friendly. The restaurant which I understand is a separate business was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice large room and quiet sleeping!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This town was sooo quiet! We slept with the windows open to hear the silence! The room was much bigger than we expected, with a hallway, bedroom, and bathroom. The furniture was all very comfortable. The town is small, so any location is centrally located!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.2
    They only had 6 clients, so it was very quiet. Dead, in fact !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big space between curtains and window, which, at the time of the year, wasn’t a problem, but expect to be woken up at day break. No tea or coffee facility in the room, no fridge or mini bar. The shower head didn’t stay in place. But the massage jet worked. There was also a plug damaged/missing in the room

    Lovely staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really but the underground car park is a challenge to get into the first time. It would be useful as travellers if the restaurant in the hotel opened before 2030 even for a limited menu.

    The hotel was rather like the Tardis. An absolute treat! Centrally located in the old part of Olite which is beautiful. Only 150m away is a fabulous bodega. One of the best we’ve ever visited. The wines of Navarra are stunning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent choice of hotel with friendly staff and good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We always miss tea and coffee making facilities in the room,it is such a simple gesture and it's always a disappointment when there aren't any.

    Staff pleasant and helpful.spacious quiet room,nice bathroom,short walk to town centre.private parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room only had a small window with limited views and also no balcony

    Very large and comfortable bed and also very large shower with additional side showers. Reception was very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel but uncomfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no A/C. Bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. The room could do with another bin - there's only one in the bathroom. One of the lights in the room wouldn't turn off when all the rest did! It would go on a sort of night mode...very annoying.

    Room was very big and so was the bathroom. Shower in the bathroom was the best thing! It had water coming from every angle. Staff were very nice - they helped us get tickets for the Festival de Teatro.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    A very friendly lovely place to stay, perfect location :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The airconditioning was not strong enough to fight the heat

    The personal was very very friendly! She arranged us a room on the shadow side of the building because it was so hot that day. They were very helpful. The breakfast was nice, the bed was good. Perfect location!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in beautiful town, but stay room only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food - Dinner was disappointing, only a few fried potatoes with main course and no vegetables. Breakfast was poor quality and very little choice. Neither was value for money. Better to stay room only as there are plenty of good cafes nearby.

    .Central location. Spacious bedroom and bathroom, and small terrace

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.4
    Not 4* be careful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony not swept and no cushions on chairs. Shower head virtually blocked. Breakfast room dark, plastic chairs and tables not cleared - had to be cleared for use. A lot of breakfast food wrapped in cellophane and you were left to your own devices. Waiter wore track suit bottoms. No help with luggage. Car damaged underneath due to nasty hump at entrance to garage. Didn't try restaurant as menu didn't suit us. Not 4* in my opinion.

    It was clean. Close to old town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    We travel to Olite to visit the Palace of the Kings of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travel to Olite to visit the Palace of the Kings of the Navarre and an overnight stay was perfect. The meal in the restaurant was fantastic and the car park was on site - but a little tight for our van. Still not a problem with sensors all round and under the watchful eye of the staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All we want for breakfast is a large cup of coffee and some toast, not the huge range usually offered. We would have had breakfast in the hotel if we such a simple choice.

    The staff were extremely helpful and kind. The Receptionists spoke English and the evening waitress was talented at mime, we had no problem at all understanding her. Their enormous friendliness added to our pleasure.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.1
    Disappointed with not having a good nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from outside dining area until early in the morning. Do not book a room overlooking this area as the hotel has no control over the catering company.

    Close to town centre

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    A very good Hotel in an outstanding small Town of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The central location and character of the Hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.7
    The stay was adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damp on ceiling.noise from outside.

    Greeting

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Average?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garage was difficult to access. Not much of a view from the room and very dark.

    Location was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Big, comfortable and quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big, comfortable and quiet room. Friendly and efficient staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Very Spanish and very nice staff at hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good selection for breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many restaurants around

    Beautiful little hotel in a fairy tale village 😘

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location and very comfortable large clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charge for parking a bit expensive

    Amazing location and very comfortable large clean room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room with balcony, all modern and well. Very good service also, nice persons

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    6.0
    Not much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Virtually impossible to find.Terrible dinner.

    Not much

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    Would be good to have a kettle and fridge in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be good to have a kettle and fridge in the room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.2
    Superb spacious room, with great materials used.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Superb spacious room, with great materials used. Very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Just off the main square and five minutes walk from the fairy-tale castle.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    10
    Very well located, less than 3 blocks from the Olite castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast doesn't offer too many options

    Very well located, less than 3 blocks from the Olite castle. Had on site free parking Very nice staff Very clean Attention to detail

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    The hotel was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Restaurant linked to the hotel had a limited menu.

    The hotel was excellent. A small hotel located close to the center of Olite down a small narrow street. The rooms were very comfortable,well furnished and warm. Staff very helpful and considerate.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.2
    Situation was near small town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was good

    Situation was near small town centre. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I had left something at my previous hotel which they sorted for me.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    9.6
    The staff was fantastic and very kid-friendly (we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff was fantastic and very kid-friendly (we were travelling with our five-month old daughter). Its location is absolutely perfect for a visit of this beautiful old town.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    10
    First rate hotel with very knowledgable staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First rate hotel with very knowledgable staff

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.2
    Olite is a lovely safe walled city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Trying to park the car in the garage was very difficult.

    Olite is a lovely safe walled city.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    9.6
    location, rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    breakfast: limited choice, industrial pastries wrapped in plastic...no table when we came in.

    location, rooms

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi inoperative.

    Helpful staff. Very clean. Tastefully decorated comfortable room. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    10
    Location is good, parking at end of street, 100 m.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor breakfast.

    Location is good, parking at end of street, 100 m. Staff is extremely polite and helpful. Dinner was good. Nice decor.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: