Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Malcontenta 5 stars

Platja De Castell, 12, 17230 Palamós, Spain

#4 of 24 hotels in Palamós

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 314 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would suggest is to have a kettle/coffee set in the rooms, and consider removing the cats from the breakfast area as they are quite intrusive and walk under the tables and chairs

    Very comfortable, and super friendly staff. A short walk to a beautiful beach. Breakfast was delicious and the hotel feels like you’re in an old mansion.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfecto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Garden
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We love la Malcontenta, its a perfect spot to relax and connect with nature. The light in the rooms, the furniture, the beds, the aroma, the birds in the garden all perfect!!! The waking distance best Cala in Costa Brava. We are for sure coming again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Very large and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very few staff around during the daytime, had to search for someone to get served

    Very large and comfortable bed. The room had a large quiet terrace. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Stunning area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    New curtains at the porch, some smaller details, but overall great

    Stunning area. Quiet, but still close to everything nice around. Beautiful beach around the corner. Simply nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Frequent this hotel often - testament to its location / ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing (perhaps) missing is a small Spa - and our dinner menu was limited (Sunday evening) but I guess this is to be expected low season.

    We have frequented MalContenta on a number of occasions, probably totaling 4-5 times. This time we brought my Mother along - who was visiting from the UK - as we were confident she would enjoy it. She certainly did. Once again we were not disappointed - the location is just superb if you are looking to escape the madness and get back to nature. The walk through the woods to Castell beach is great in itself but then we turn right and take the cliff path to Palamos for lunch. It's just magical. The colour of the sea and the landscapes, rocky outcrops and coves you come across on this walk are truly breathtaking. We always take a taxi back to the hotel from Palamos though as it's a good hours walk - it's pretty safe and we take my five year Son old but close guidance in some parts is recommended. Back at Malcontenta it's lovely to relax in the gardens and in the nice ambience of the hotel. Breakfast is substantial with a cheese / meat / bread platter, fresh fruits, coffee, fresh orange juice, mix of pastries and a choice from a hot menu - omelettes, fried eggs, waffles ... and more! This time we stayed in one of the garden villas which are great. They open out onto the gardens with bay doors and you can sit on tables just outside. Awesome swimming pool but too cold on this occasion for a swim!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    A superb hotel in idyllic surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is really gorgeous and we enjoyed every moment there. The staff were extremely accommodating to our needs, not only by giving us a room that perfectly fit my needs as a person with a mobility disability but also by preparing a lovely vegan breakfast for us. Five stars!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay very much because it was low season and we needed quiet time for our work.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were asked if we wanted to experience the menu at restaurant and had to reserve because they cooked with local products we were excited. Our experience was great but we had found out only when we sat that there is only one menu of the day no alternative which could be an issue if you don’t like fish . ... Also in our bedroom there are needs for repairs: the toilet seat cover was broken, the faucets nobs were broken .

    It was low season so we were by ourselves pretty much which was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    Escape to the country in a lovely hotel, close to a number of places to visit. Enjoy the tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 'a la carte' breakfast menu is reasonably limited. Other than that I can't have any grumbles.

    We've stayed here on a number of occasions. We love the fact it's out in the sticks, very close to woodland with access to some amazing walks which take you to the beach, and further should you wish! My Son loves the location and he can run around free without any concerns for his safety. We always take the cliff top walk which starts at the beach near to the hotel (just turn right when looking at the Sea) to Palamos where we stay to eat lunch and then get a taxi back (it's a good 1.5hr walk). Hotel is lovely, great rooms (we've stayed in both the main building and the garden properties) and the pool would be great in warmer weather! Breakfast is set each day, they provide a platter of meats and cheeses to your table, along with breads, fresh orange juice and the like. There is also a small choice on the 'a la carte', such as omelettes, eggs, bacon. Staff are very friendly and we have got to know a few quite well. We ate in the restaurant opposite the main building on two occasions and the food was superb! Very good quality. Parking is secure on site. A great place to recharge the batteries away from the hustle and bustle of city / town life! We will most certainly return (again).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.1
    Something special with a few tweaks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We originally booked 4 nights because we believed the restaurant was open in the evenings. We later found out that this was not the case, and had to go into the local town for dinner. The hotel did offer to do snacks but this really wasn't what we wanted when we booked. Because of this we only stayed the one night. The management and staff were very welcoming and friendly. We did think however that there were a few issues with the property maintenance and cleanliness which we mentioned, and l am sure this will be quickly rectified. Breakfast we were disappointed with. This was brought to us on a tray, and although there was a good selection we much prefer to help ourselves from a buffet. A personal choice however and one that others may not object to. Our room was away from the main house and a little more lighting around the property wouldn't go amiss.

    The position was lovely. A beautiful old house in a quiet setting surrounded by countryside. We had a great welcome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Paradise in Costa Brava
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would only improve the room service food; we ordered nachos with guacamole and eggs with mushrooms. The quantity of guacamole and the eggs was very small compared to the price.

    One of the few luxury hotels to allow pets! Biggest bed we have ever slept on. Amazing breakfast with a variety of breads, cheeses, fruits, etc. Staff was very friendly. Hotel located in excellent location, ideal to start a hike in the coast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant not open in evening at this time of year but did not detract from stay.

    A most fabulous place with beautifully attentive staff who care for you every need.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful getaway at an old spanish estate in a countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one "off" detail - unpleasant odor in a lift. Things that I can't blame hotel for, but some may consider this a minus - no doorman (I didn't except one in a countryside), hotel restaurant was closed for dinner (due to low-season) but staff warned about this in advance.

    Spacious room with high ceilings, setting itself - you really feel being a guest at an old estate. Pretty close (some minutes ride) to very picturesque Platja Del Castell Palamós which then allows for a stroll in a hills that overlook beautiful ragged coastline, also Jardins de Cap Roig is some 20 minutes ride. Breakfast was decently served

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable rooms, but restaurant and eating options a big disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only restaurant in the hotel was closed on the Sunday and Monday, and there's nowhere else to eat within easy walking distance. The other days of the week it doesn't open until 8:30 in the evening which means residents back from the beach or the pool have to wait about 3 hours to have supper. If it opened at 7pm it would make a big difference.

    Wonderful rooms and walk in power showers, the swimming pool, parking just outside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    To relax in the nature with amazing room and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    All service we received at the hotel was amazing (reception, bar, pool, etc...), but the restaurant service may need a bit of improvement as a standard of 5 star hotel.

    We find so comfortable the room and felt not leaving from the room!! The bed was amazingly big and the sofa as well. The room was really big and the ceiling was quite high (5m?!). The location of the hotel is just perfect in the middle of nature and nearby the beautiful beach (Es Castell). On site pool is also nice and big to relax. The restaurant has a choice to enjoy the local famous prawn (Gambas Palamós). The interesting fact that the restaurant corroborates with a local famous restaurant, Casamar (LLafranc), which is our favorite the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for a peaceful break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a lot of choice for breakfast and the coffee was never hot enough. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room, however the staff were happy to bring to the room but it was chargeable.

    Very peaceful hotel, Staff were extremely helpful and kind. The pool area was excellent. The room was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Beautiful restored farmhouse with every comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful historical farmhouse with all the amenities in a peaceful setting. Sit by the pool, ride into town on bicycles or take a short walk to the beach. Then enjoy a 5 star dinner at the restaurant next door. A delightful, restorative stay!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful Hotel with wonderful rooms!
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Beautiful Hotel with wonderful rooms, we enjoyed our stay very much. the staff was so helpful and friendly, very good breakfast - the restaurant nearby for dinner - great food and drinks! we loved it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting. Lovely rooms. Great staff. Loved the pool!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    EVERYTHING
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    EVERYTHING

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location, beautiful building and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, beautiful building and great surroundings

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t enjoy the food in the restaurant but everything else was superb

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay and looking already forward to next visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved our stay, everything was excellent and so friendly staff! Many thanks, the only thing we missed was the gym.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    The atmosphere in the hotel and the staff in the front desk,...
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere in the hotel and the staff in the front desk, restaurant, breakfast and dinner were great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service and friendly staff. Beautiful and comfortable hotel. I will be back soon!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.0
    Amazing bed and room service breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant, the installations and the general ambience of the hotel.

    Amazing bed and room service breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    A luxury stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Friendly and efficient staff, luxurious lounges, a stylish room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    quite special, wish we could have stayed longer, will return and reccomend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    attitude of staff throughout our visit, food, superb breakfast presentation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel and restaurant in Palamas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent restaurant for dinner Quiet rooms Lovely Property

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    7.9
    Relaxing hotel with lovely decoration, fresh garden and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check-in was very poor and we had to return 3 times to find out about basics like wifi, reception number, restaurant booking, swimming pool towel....It's a pity as we found staff very helpful otherwise. A view from the restaurant terrace would add to the experience - cut the high hedge?

    Relaxing hotel with lovely decoration, fresh garden and view. Great brkfst. Restaurant is good although menus could be better balanced.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    8.3
    Location - just off the main road so easy to get to but in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room has a private garden but is still joined to the other 2 rooms. I would recommend putting in a fence so that children or dogs can make the most of that garden without going into the areas of the other rooms. Having the garden is a real USP so I would make the most of it. Not all of the options were available on the breakfast menu because it was bank holiday - I would think a 5 star hotel would be able to cater for a long weekend and know the number of guests better than that.

    Location - just off the main road so easy to get to but in the countryside with access to lovely walks and to the beach. The hotel has a very relaxed and peaceful atmosphere.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: