Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal La Perla Asturiana 2 stars

Plaza de Santa Cruz, 3, Madrid City Centre, 28012 Madrid, Spain

#108 of 372 B&Bs and Inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1878 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice old place in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small, but that wasn't really a problem; a cute old place like this is doing great to have bathrooms en suite at all!

    Fabulous location right in the neatest historic area; very easy to get everywhere. Excellent personable service from Antonio, one of the 24 hour front desk men.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    The hotel offers an excellent location in Madrid near most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel offers an excellent location in Madrid near most attracting and public transportation. The hotel is clean and the staff was amazing (very kind and helpful).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Always a great stay at the Asturiana in Madrid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! its my fav little hotel in Madrid! I come on business and like to be central and save money. It's like staying at a familiar place.

    I love the staff and how they welcome me and make me feel safe as a female traveler. The location is great and the place is clean and fresh. And the price is right!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Location is excellent, all what you need is very nearby,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t find anything to complain about.

    Location is excellent, all what you need is very nearby, very active till very, very late. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are cleaned daily and quite spacious. It is really value for money and would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    We found the place to be in Madrid at the right price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the place to be in Madrid at the right price The location is ideal in the heart of Madrid Antonio was very friendly and helpful with everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    - Perfect location, in the center of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Only one electrical socket in the room, second one was in the bathroom

    - Perfect location, in the center of Madrid - Staff was great - helpful and friendly - Free WiFi - Reception opened 24h - Hairdryier in the bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfect Location and very welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were slightly hard (for my liking) but overall get value for money.

    The location was perfect, the staff were amazing and very informative. The room had great facilities with everything you needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Useful and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    for me there was nothing like a problem. even if there was some problem. it would be very trivial and solved in a hurry.

    a helpful and comfortable hotel that deserves its worth with the kindest host i have ever met in the nice location close to nearly all places where you want to visit in Madrid. and there is a supermarket 2min Walk away where i went to because i had no toothpaste. also daily room cleaning, towel, soap, and shampoo provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Staff couldn't do enough to anticipate our needs and spoke very good French.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely central, perfect location to discover Madrid on foot and felt very safe day and night. Sad part of the trip was to come across so many homeless people.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant location & staff (Antonio) was super helpful...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed cover was really old & worn out.

    Brilliant location & staff (Antonio) was super helpful & friendly. Very clean room & bathroom. Furniture style.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    The location is great and the staff very professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They have very strict rules, e.g. they don't allow visit to guests in their rooms, so friends must wait in the lobby (too professional)

    The location is great and the staff very professional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    The location is excellent and the staffs are very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was rather noisy at night and we just could not sleep the first night. The second night we manage to get some sleep by using earplugs. There was no lift and it would be a problem if you have large and heavy luggage. The staff was kind enough to haul your luggage to your floor. There was no water boiler in the room. The staff at night was very kind to give us some boiled hot water.

    The location is excellent and the staffs are very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Staff were extremely friendly & helpful & spoke...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely friendly & helpful & spoke English very well. Excellent location right next to Plaza Mayor. Easy to find. Hostel is very security conscious & I felt very safe here as a solo traveller. Very clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Simple but clean in very Central position, very very very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price it was all excellent. Note there is no lift so old people might have some difficulties with stairs. The blankets were clean but could be renewed. In early morning (like all accommodation in central Madrid) you can hear the garbage collection trucks at work which might be annoying but nothing to do with the hotel though.

    Simple but clean in very Central position, very very very helpful staff. Excellent price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable quiet stay in the heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower had very low pressure. Reception called us 20 minutes before the check-out time to see if we needed to add another night to our reservation. Even though we were ready to leave, we felt really rushed and left in a bit of tailspin.

    The location is perfect for exploring the historic center and the hotel is excellent value. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. The hotel itself is a bit like time travel...very retro (in the literal sense, not the hipster sense!!) But for the price, I would expect a little bit of shabbiness. A little old school charm!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    The men on the front desk were not only knowledgeable but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The men on the front desk were not only knowledgeable but extremely helpful. If we had stayed there on our first night our trip wouldn't have been the disaster it was. Thanks men.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Location is perfect everything is near, STAFF is best of the...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only that power plug in room only 1, and not near beds.

    Location is perfect everything is near, STAFF is best of the best, never seen that helpful staff. Everything perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    Great!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What we liked the most is the staff in hostel, they were very friendly, polite and helpful (especially Antonio), they really made our trip even better. Also excellent location, it's very clean and comfortable and wi-fi is working all the time. I highly recommend this place, it's amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    Location is superb - right by plaza Mayor, Sol etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some rooms are not noise-insulated, mattresses are not very comfortable.

    Location is superb - right by plaza Mayor, Sol etc. Staff is friendly, wifi is fast. A kind of old-school hotel, sometimes I book these to use it as a time machine to get a better understanding of local culture.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    Overall, good stay. Location and friendly staff made up for the noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much sound insulation so if you’re a light or medium sleeper, you will be hearing noise from outside and inside.

    Location is great. Nice to be able to find a place with private bathroom for cheap.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    You fell like at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stafff was really nice and friendly with us I feel like my house ,, they help us in everything we need ,, I will be back to the same place again and again ,, I love it ,,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.8
    Right in the middle of Madrid, you can't stay more central! Great quality / price balance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small and a little old-fashioned, but comfy and traditional I would say. The bathroom was small and standard, with a unstable flow of warm and cold water, but we got clean towels every day.

    The location is right in the middle of Madrid, around the corner of Plaza Major and at a quiet little square, with some small shops. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Great place, great city, great atmosphere!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Great stay in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really have no complaints. Staff were amazingly friendly and nice, my room was enough for a single traveler like me.

    It was right near the city center, puerta de sol. Everything felt like a small walk from the center for the main attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    excellent location and welcome. thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes à bit of noise from the neighbouring bedrooms, but normal in an old building

    Excellent welcome. Polite, smiling staff. Excellent location just around the corner from the Plaza Mayor.Nice square in front of the hôtel. Old historic buildings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Extremely joyful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The most excellent hostel I have ever visited: charming, clean, really fine view, exceptional kind attendance giving a lot of good information about Madrid, Spain possibilities and interesting talks. From now on we will only stay at Hostal La Perla Asturiana!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location to all areas and the staff added to a great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far too cold for me... but the staff were helpful in sorting this out for me from the second night.

    The staff were amazingly helpful friendly and could not fault them. They would be the main reason for going back to this hostel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Our beds and the bathroom were being tidy up every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our beds and the bathroom were being tidy up every day. We like the place very much! It is one minute to Plaza Mayor, and two minutes to Puerta del Sol!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    We did enjoy our trip to Madrid, the weather was pleasant,and the people kind and helpful...
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I did not like to see all these poor people some sleep on street in night,and the gipsy walking between restaurant for money.....very sad to see it,in beautiful Madrid.

    I did like Madrid,great city,clean and the Museums is great.We did stay at La Perla Asturiana,the staff was very helpful,and La Perla is just in the old Madrid....great location..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Friendly, helpful staff and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no lift. Few power outlets.

    The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Some of the friendliest staff of any hotel I've stayed in. The location is perfect, within a 5 minute walk of Plaza Mayor, Sol & Plaza Santa Ana. It's basic accommodation and the rooms are small but if your just looking to stay in a central location it's great value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.4
    The hostal, managed by very friendly people, is located around the corner of the Plaza Mayor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because our room was actually too small for 2 people, the airco should have been working but did not. Open the door to the small balcony was no option because of the streetnoises.

    The location is perfect. The room was cleaned every day including clean towels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Everything you need and nothing you don't. Couldn't be more central. Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were amazing and make you feel very welcome. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they address everyone by their name which must take some remembering.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Review of this hotel has to start from Antonio, the great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom could have been bigger. Its extra small with no room to wiggle.

    Review of this hotel has to start from Antonio, the great host. He knows everything and has loads to share. We have not seen any receptionist who is so eager to help. From picking up your luggage to take the luggage to third floor (no lift), helping out with where to visit, helping out with tickets for bullfight and where to sit, and other lovely anecdotes, Antonio has helped us greatly. Ratings of this hotel are brilliant because of Antonio and location of course. The hotel is just next to Plaza de Mayor and all other central attractions are located nearby. Walking is best way to explore all of them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent people who makes you feel very welcomed in Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly, client - centric staff and convenient location for those who is in Madrid for the first time. Thanks to Antonio, Jefferey and others.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.8
    Very busy district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hostel is old and doesn't have enough sound insulation and you need to keep in mind that the hostel is in the very busy district. If you want to sleep well, I don't recommend it.

    The hostel is very center of Madrid and convenient for everything. The receptionists are very kind and friendly. Free WiFi was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Great location and a very nice hotel staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location and a very nice hotel staff. Everyone was very helpful with perfect English and rooms were nice and clean. Surrounded by lots of good food and great art.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    Good for easy people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is too old and need some improvements. Being in the very center of the town the sorroundings are a bit too noisy (obviously). The room was at the 3rd floor with no elevator. Impossible for handicapped people to access the structure.

    The position is perfect, the staff is very helpful and kind, the reception is open 24/7, the room was clean and had a private bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    If they have room for me, I will always return to Perla Asturiana when in Madrid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Albert and the other staff were the best hotel reception staff I have ever encountered. One forgets how pleasant a hotel can be until one visits the Perla Asturiana

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    I will definitely look for this fabulous Hostal next time I come to Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In our room there wasn't a lot of room for knees when sitting on the toilet - no problem, just sat slightly sideways! Wouldn't stop me going back!

    Very comfy beds, amazing location, Reception staff/Management extremely helpful and funny! Perfect location near Puerta de Sol. I would DEFINITELY come here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Considering location value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room very dark

    Could not fault attentiveness of reception staff plus cleanliness of accommodation was excellent. Bed cumfy. Was expecting a balcony but told single rooms do not have them. Only down Side Is!!! Whole property could benefit from fresh coat of paint. Especially entrance which could be off putting to some.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hostel locates on the city center, our room had balcony and view was to plaza de Santa Cruz, room was clean and bed was comfortable. 2 minutes walking distance to famous plaza Mayor and 4-5 minutes to plaza del Sol and metro station. Both receptionists, Antonio and Max were excellent people, supported on all appeared questions. Thanks to them. I would choose this Hostel with big pleasure on my next trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Excellent value in the cultural and historical Centre of Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the value it is difficult to fault La Perle. The shower was in the bath and was a bit squeezy.

    This property is right in the hearty of all the action of Madrid.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    3.8
    never ever!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ugly ugly ugly, they contol you completely, like you are a child. dirty room, i have pictures with holes in the wall, sometimes no wlan. window closed not good, it was loud. I booked for two persons, the allowed only one. booking.com gave me 50 Euros back compensation. never ever!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.7
    Convenient location for central Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was no hot water sometimes for a shower. There was a barking dog across the street with the beggars/homeless people all night. The dog was loud and barked until 2-3 am so it was hard to get to sleep. The plaza echoed so it made it worse with the dog barking all night.

    Convenient location for central Madrid. Close to main plaza and night life.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.8
    Not very pleasant at all, but convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff doesn't speak English. Not particularly clean. Lots of stairs. The shower taps didn't work properly so I basically had to choose between extremely cold and extremely hot water. Generally not very well maintained.

    The air conditioning is okay. The place isn't terribly expensive. The location is great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Welcoming, friendly and central for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are a bit dim, more to do with the old building design than lack of lighting. The decor is dated but functional.

    The staff at the Hostal were so friendly. I was travelling alone and they were welcoming, supportive and informative. They said they wanted this to feel like home and they certainly did that. The location is near Sol, the most central metro for sightseeing and very easy to get to.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    A good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you're looking for value for money accommodation in Madrid, then this is the place. It isn't 5*, but it's very clean and comfortable. The staff are very presentable and helpful, Max & Antonio can't do enough for you and will help and advise, to make sure your visit to Madrid goes well. Also, la Perla Asturiana is ideally located to enjoy central Madrid.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    Great staff good value for central location Madrid !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridors a bit dark but great central location.

    Jeffrey and Max were so helpful and lovely in reception-promised them good feedback as they were so pleasant when I stayed there on my own ! Will return with my husband !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Sol metro a few minutes away. A good central location for walking. Good room with tall windows opening onto the plaza. Good AC in summer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    A perfect stay in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at Hostal La Perla Asturiana were very friendly and had exceptional hospitality! Thank you for letting us leave our bag at the hostal while we went travelling. The hostal is centrally located near Plaza Mayor in Madrid and is very clean. I would highly recommend this hostal!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Incredible kindness from the staff and the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad smell as soon as I entered my room but it always dissipated within seconds. Room was too small, bathroom was definitely too small but all in all quality/price/location it makes sense

    Incredible kindness from the staff and the location is excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    The perfect place in Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom did not have a window nor a vent for the air change, but it was not a problem.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helped us a lot. The place is perfect, in a great location close to everything. The facility is very nice and comfy. Overall a very nice place where to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    Staff (Antonio) is very very kind n helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift but the staff will help you .

    Staff (Antonio) is very very kind n helpful.He helps us to book bus tickets, train tickets ,introduce the attractions nearby. He acts as a guide n tour round the places around the hostel with us. The hostel near Sol station n the view is really good .Our room faces the square n lots of shops n restaurants nearby. Room not so big but tidy n clean. A really good choice in Madrid.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Outstanding staff, all clean, very reliable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outstanding staff, all clean, very reliable. Wifi so-so, room on the small side. Fantastic location. You can adjust the air conditioned to your liking, which is great because Madrid gets very hot in the summer. No elevator. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Completely satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The usual suspects selling fake stuff on the streets in the neighbourhood.

    It's all about Antonio! Having worked for many years in the luxury accommodation industry, I can confirm with no hesitation that he is a Master Hotel manager! Big thank you, Antonio!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was dated but lots of beds in the room. I didnt realise I was booking a room with 3 beds.

    The staff were so very friendly and amazing. Location eas fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The truth is the room was quite small (and the toilet too), but as I mentioned we only needed the room to sleep so it was perfect for us.

    Everything was perfect. We only needed a place to sleep during our stay, so we were super happy that the room was clean, quiet and in a very central location. Good budget as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    Great service by staff, giving recommendations on places to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was a bit tiny and sometimes there was no hot water

    Great service by staff, giving recommendations on places to visit and helping me arrange for airport taxi in middle of the night. Also upgraded me to an air conditioned room during a very hot week. Location is just steps away from Plaza Mayor which is excellent and the rooms have a nice view out the front. Will stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    The location is just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no elevator and minibar in the room. Also room was little bit small.

    The location is just perfect. Only 5 min walk to Sol, Plaza Mayor and 10min to San Miguel. The concept is more likely hostel. Good for young couples or who does not really care of luxury and facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Everything you need from a hostel and more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location at the heart of Madrid. Friendliest staff. It has everything you need from a hostel. Clean and quiet. We got a good night rest after long days in Madrid with comfy mattress and good air conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location and amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed with the lack of amenities. No power in bedroom. Only in bathroom. I ordered a twin expecting two beds but got two rooms.

    This wasva great location. Friendly staff made all ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Perfect location, absolutely helpful reception team and very good price-quality ratio.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Only a mini fridge could be installed, but without one it is great.

    Perfect location - in the heart of the city - between Sol and Plaza Mayor with great view. Extremely responsive and helpful reception team. A clean and nice room - neither new nor old - you feel like at home.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Madrid's Little Secret
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the $ its a great deal. I had a single room with a balcony facibg the courtyard. Yes it was a bit noisy at times but that is to be expexted. Sure the furnishings look like you're staying with somebody's maiden aunt but the place is super clean and neat.

    The two concierges!: day manager Max and the afternoon /evening manager Antonio were AWESOME. So helpful and friendly, kind and positive just wonderful. Made a Huge difference in my stay. Those guys go above and beyond to help. The location is great.waking to Prado etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location and smiles all around
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like... The shower room was absolutely tiny but it was more funny than anything negative. It still worked.

    Excellent location, fantastically helpful staff. Antonio really went out of his way to make us welcome and answer any questions. Always greeted with a smile.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    The LOCATION was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small but It doesnt matter that much! You are at the staying at the heart of madrid so everything is so accessible!

    The LOCATION was perfect! Choose a room with balcony.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.5
    A very nice, simple hostal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting in the bedroom is pretty unsympathetic.

    A very nice, simple hostal. Obviously not luxurious but very good value for the price, and very clean. The staff are extremely pleasant and welcoming. Excellent location. The rooms even have a balcony with a nice view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.2
    Great central location for budget travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carrying cases up 3 floors (no lift). Originally given an internal room with no view (booking confirmation was for a balcony room) - make sure you mention requiring a balcony in notes when booking, Hotel was full when we checked in, but were moved the following day - staff were very pleasant and helpful

    Great view and location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    3.8
    Avoid--You can do better for much less in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the most cramped & expensive triple my family stayed in over the course of 8 days, including another night in Madrid & San Sebastian (which is generally more expensive than Madrid). So it’s easy to do better for less. In fact, this family room was more cramped than any single I stayed while traveling alone later in my trip. All furnishings were torn & frayed, but worse: the bathroom was ridiculously small—almost impossible to even dress in it. Worse yet, the the shower lacked hot water in the afternoon. My family arrived on cold day after traveling, but had to wait quite awhile to clean up. A major problem. Most front desk folks were helpful, but the bald man that didn’t speak English was not only unhelpful, but rude (not a language problem, I speak enough Spanish to get by), not only to me, but to my family. Wouldn’t recommend against it for families due these reasons. There’s much better places run by nicer folks in decent locations in Madrid that run substantially less per night—we know, because we stayed at one later in our trip.

    Not much about the place itself, though the location's not bad, once one makes it there.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.5
    Amazing location! Thin walls and cold shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower often goes very cold. Walls are VERY very thin!!!

    Best location!!! Good air con, and balcony. Good 24 HR reception staff. Staff have very good English! Really good hostel for the price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.9
    Pretty good for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The older fella that occasionally helms the front desk is unhelpful, sorta brusque, & speaks no English (not a big deal, but is contrary to what's stated). Some of the room features need updating, for instance, few & inconveniently-placed power outlets.

    Two of the front desk staff (Max & Antonio) were extremely helpful, spoke xlnt English, and had great patience with my limited spanish. Views of Plaza St. Cruz are nice & the Plaza is, thankfully fairly quiet, even on weekends. Close to some decent cafeterias, food markets, & the nice working-class barrio of La Latina.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    8.3
    very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    from the room I could hear the noise of the corridor ... a bit 'the unfortunate position in a zone of passage, a bit' the structure which of course is not new and is not very noise-proof.

    very friendly and helpful staff. Thank you Max!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.9
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    small and squeaky bed; one pillow, long, uncomfortable (i never met - separate pillows for each is better)

    location - in center, very, very nice staff - lovely

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying in this hostel made our short trip to Madrid really great. The location is simply excellent, staff was very friendly, helpful and professional, our room had a great view. I am very glad we stayed here.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    8.3
    pleasant stay in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    As a recommendation - sheets and blankets could be better. The bathroom could have some facilities such as hangers.

    The staff is very polite and helpful. Very good location. The room was been cleaned and tidied every day. Special thanks to Antonio, who made our stay unforgettable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    10
    Very central and worth staying here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have ongoing work and on seeing scaffolding surrounding the building is an initial put off. They are updating, inside decor dated. Wasn't aware weekend rates are double that of weekdays as got overall price from booking.com

    Very welcoming and helpful, spoke English too. Very central.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.2
    A very friendly place to stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decoration is a bit outdated, and there is no possibility of breakfast on the premises; there are bars and chocolaterias nearby, though.

    The staff is very friendly, i.e. truly so and they are very helpful (I was about to go one way to the airport and thanks to their help, arrived earlier for a cheaper rate) and are very nice and polite. The hotel is situated in the very centre of town, right behind the Plaza Mayor.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostal La Perla Asturiana traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: