Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Polar 2 stars

Avenida Juan Carlos I, 20, 33212 Gijón, Spain

#12 of 44 hotels in Gijón

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1228 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel for an overnight stay with secure parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a slightly larger room but as we only spent 1 night this was not a problem

    Very friendly welcome especially as we were a late arrival. Somebody took us to park the car in a secure garage near to hotel. Nice friendly cafe available for breakfast without having to go into the town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    Ok for a night .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door wouldn’t shut ! The room and its balcony looked out onto a derelict building.

    This was a clean and comfortable hotel , quite basic and impersonal. The staff were charming and helpful especially with the parking. Nice cafe attached where we could get a drink and breakfast the next day .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    4.2
    We were given a room with a queen size double bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room with a queen size double bed. Our request to change the room with two separate beds was denied. The only receptionist was neither friendly or helping and did not speak English and the language barrier made things worse.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.3
    Location and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a very unusual car park arrangement. The car park is next door's block of flats and it is incredibly narrow and dark as a result of which our car was scratched. The lady in reception works in the cafeteria of the hotel as well as opening the garage to customers so reception is often unmanned.

    Location and cleanliness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Modern hotel close to the beach and old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a bit small for a couple, but OK

    Close to the old port area. Small but well designed rooms. Cafe downstairs does breakfast things. Helpful reception staff & underground garage parking for motorcycles - no lift to reception though. Good restaurant recommendation from receptionist close by - Tierra Astur.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Great value, incredibly quiet and big room
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very big, comfortable rooms, spotlessly clean as well. Located in Poniente, the second most important beach in the City, it is a convenient, lovely walk to the city centre. While the neighbourhood is not as pretty as other parts of town, it shows its history: it is a working class area with traces of the class struggles (and great, cheap local sidrerias with gorgeous food!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are thin, so I can hear the TV (if it's turned up) from the neighbor.

    Easy, free street parking. Staff are really friendly and it's an easy walk to the center. Rooms were cozy and very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice room with terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was OK

    Nice room with terrace. Clean bathroom with toiletries provided. Nice shower with good water pressure. Room cleaned every day. Staff very friendly. Overall, a great hotel close to the beach and the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice property, unbearable bed.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, the bed felt like they had placed a pad over a plank of wood - I slept poorly the two nights I was there. If the bed were more comfortable, I would highly recommend this property; however, unless you like your mattress super, extra, incredibly firm, you might want to look elsewhere.

    Staff is very friendly and helpful. The modern room had plenty of space. A nice touch is that when you order coffee, they include a couple of small snacks - a small tortilla (omelette) on a slice of bread, a piece of mini-french toast and a mini-beignet - and they start serving at 7 am! In Spain!!!! The location, for me, was good - on the outskirt of the center city, though still close to the beach and a 10 min. walk to the actual center - there was a fiesta while I was there and was thankful to be a bit remote from the noise. However, this may not be ideal for those who want to be right in the center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    We would come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very nice, quiet, and clean. The hotel was about 15 minutes walking from the city center. There was a very convenient public parking lot across from the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Liked the location of hotel, very easy to reach the seafront...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Liked the location of hotel, very easy to reach the seafront and close to recommendable restaurants. Despite our stay coinciding with a a busy period "Semana Negra", (we were totally unaware), we found 24hrs parking available close by (they even offer a nice discount to clients staying at local hotels).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Staff great (Paula at reception most helpful);
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location at busy junction and room on 1st floor over a busy bar

    Staff great (Paula at reception most helpful); facilities good; location near beach & town good with nice walk aling sea front.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.3
    This property needs sound proofing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property needs sound proofing. Voices in the hallway echo and we could hear the bathroom next door/upstairs far too well. Even with earplugs it was noisy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money, the hotel is very clean and tidy, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing actually.

    Great value for money, the hotel is very clean and tidy, the rooms are great, there is an onsite cafe, it's walkable into town, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Underground secure parking too, handy for the motorbikes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.1
    Great value way down the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too far down the beach away from downtown for my liking. Felt like an industrial area. It was an ordeal to get the car in and out of the parking garage.

    The price. Cleanliness. Fairly new building. Proximity to waterfront.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel with good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean budget hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, clean room, No internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was able to connect to the Wi-Fi however the internet was not working. No air conditioning

    Great staff, clean room, good bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Tot en general
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tot estat be

    Tot en general

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    Kind professional staff, good central location and nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind professional staff, good central location and nice room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was great! We could park our car in their garage. Staff was so friendly. It was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Super location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Very noisy, as hotel is on busy junction with a lively cafe/bar right outside my window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking available for me.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Solar hotel Gijon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could perhaps be a bit bigger.

    Friendly staff and Secure underground parking for my motorcycle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Clean comfortable easy parking friendly handy bar cafe on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Clean comfortable easy parking friendly handy bar cafe on ground floor

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Sleep without noise at night and a very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    little room

    Sleep without noise at night and a very friendly and understandable staff. 8/10

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Nice hotel and accessible to all
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accesible to all, Good staff and free parking. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Easy to find - exceptionally clean and well presented - good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Great location - very clean and comfy beds - warm and friendly - would highly recommend

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the blind was broken.

    Staff is nice. Room is clean and confortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were very nice and helpfull but had very little english.

    close to bus station , sea front and on the Camino Way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location ,good food menu and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hair dryer!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    clean and comfy right on beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This is a very clean hotel 2 min walk from the beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    excellent quality price! very good location near old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included, but price is already low.

    Internet quality is good. Good staff, helpful. Good lunch recommendation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.6
    -
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Nice and clean place! Ubicacion perfecta! Personal is very very friendly! Recommendable!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance to the car park. I have a very large car

    Friendly and helpful staff. Position. Clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    Can't be any better for this price. I truely recomend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was really close and helpful. Everything was very clean. Flat TV with USB port.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    Great hotel with great staff in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ... for the price it was fantastic

    Staff were excellent and very helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    8.8
    Nice people im recepcion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice people im recepcion

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    7.5
    In a twin room we got 2 double beds so we could stretch out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I know they probably don't have many brits staying but an English channel on the TV would be good as only currently the BBC news channel

    In a twin room we got 2 double beds so we could stretch out in a lovely comfy bed each, it was lovely. Also the balcony with chairs and table was great.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    7.9
    The room and bathroom were both large;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is well situated to reach the train station easily, but not in a great location in order to explore the city centre on foot. I had a lot of traffic noise coming from the road my room overlooked. I wanted to have a drink and a snack in the bar half an hour before it closed, but had to contend with two cleaners cleaning up around me, which was disturbing.

    The room and bathroom were both large; the bathroom modern and clean.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    8.3
    Nice location in walking distance to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hard floors and corridors outside the room amplify the noise of loud hotel guests and so it can be a little noisey at night if there are crying children or guests that arrive back late. Certainly not the fault of hotel staff, but something to keep in mind if you are looking for a good quiet night sleep.

    Nice location in walking distance to the centre. The room has everything you need for a short stay. Cleaning staff were very good. Overall, a good experience.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    9.2
    The hotel exceeded my expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't know about other rooms , but our double bed was uncomfortable and had a dip in the middle , we'd both wake up with mild back pains but other than that overall the hotel was fantastic .

    The hotel exceeded my expectations! Very friendly and helpful staff , the size of the room was just enough for us , very clean and modern. Can't really comment on location as we drove everywhere , but it seemed about 5 mins to the city centre driving !!! Fantastic hotel , will be staying here again when I'm back in Gijon

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    6.3
    Not competent staff (it took 17 min to issue/print the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not competent staff (it took 17 min to issue/print the invoice after the check-out). Nor English nor German nor Italian nor French spoken by the staff during the check out.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    6.7
    staff available all the day from early morning, good position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    roads close to the hotel are so traffic and it's very difficult to find park near the place. you have to cross the bridge to park the car. this regualar but a little bit uneasy

    staff available all the day from early morning, good position

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Easy walk from bus station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Easy walk from bus station Staff really friendly & helpful Great location across from the beach Modern & clean Spacious bathroom English news channels

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    6.7
    Price was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Because of the location you are almost obliged to use their parking and pay 10 euros. You can only get to it after you check in. Until then you have to park illegally or if you're lucky you find a spot.

    Price was OK. Location not the best but OK.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    10
    They-maria-spoke english- could help me with everything-...
    • Solo traveller

    They-maria-spoke english- could help me with everything- made a great salad for me in the cafe- very close to the pier- I was walking the Camino which was right outside their front door

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    10
    staff is amazing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff is amazing

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    9.6
    The staff were fantastic, just what you need after a long...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were fantastic, just what you need after a long journey. The cafe was well stocked and the food v tasty

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    8.3
    Very helpful staff and a comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit of a walk into town but close to the beach

    Very helpful staff and a comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    7.9
    Very pleasant place to stay & in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very pleasant place to stay & in a great location.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    10
    Fantastic staff, clean spacious room & walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic staff, clean spacious room & walking distance to restaurants etc...

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.3
    So do cheiro a fritos nos corredores.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    So do cheiro a fritos nos corredores.....

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.2
    Fantastic staff and owner,could not do enough for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    Fantastic staff and owner,could not do enough for you.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    5.8
    Good location, close to the harbour of gijon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small, no airco, very noisy and busy street. Expensive for what it offers.

    Good location, close to the harbour of gijon.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.6
    Excellent for short holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent for short holiday

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    10
    Can't use credit card in bar/café.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't use credit card in bar/café.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    7.9
    Good, quiet, nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing really bad

    Good, quiet, nice rooms

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    7.9
    Nice staff, clean and good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice staff, clean and good price.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse Hotel La Polar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: