Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of PortBlue La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa - Adults Only 5 stars

Urbanización Son Xoriguer s/n, 07769 Son Xoriguer, Spain

#1 of 7 hotels in Son Xoriguer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 193 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Very good and would probably stay again when older
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Majority of cliental on the older side with majority appearing to be retired Large pool was nice but the central design has every room overlooking it so when you swim you become the passing entertainment. Pool bar limited menu and did not serve any food / snacks

    Good dinners in large comfortable Restaurant with choice of indoor or outdoor seating. Good breakfast selection from buffet. Friendly and professional staff. Nice quality hotel. Large comfortable bar area with both indoor and outdoor seating. Good for groups, but also possible to find quieter space for two. Hotel is for adults only.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Elegant hotel, peaceful and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elegant hotel, peaceful and relaxing. Food was outstanding. Great to have the marina to walk to for a few drinks and the odd meal, some good Spanish food there too. Easy bus service to Ciutadella, hired car locally too. Mostly great entertainment in the evenings. Service from all staff friendly professional and super efficient. Attention to detail everywhere was apparent, this hotel definitely deserves its 5 star status. Had a really relaxing stay and recharged our batteries.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent staff, comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main courses at dinner were sometimes inedible. I don't know if it was the quality of the meats or the skills of the kitchen but they were dry, over cooked and the veg barely cooked at all. The buffet was good for the salad course and there was always a good choice of fresh fruit.

    Always sun beds available even though hotel full. Reception staff very helpful. Breakfast was excellent although coffee tasted highly chlorinated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    2.9
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested services and the lady at the front desk left a key tho the next shift and no one ever cared to follow up on it and the one and only day I was there’s was totally ruined. I received complimentary services from the director but unfortunately I could never recommend this hotel to anyone ... ever!

    Please don’t ever refer this hotel as a 5* one. For costumers like us that usually stay and gladly pay for 5* services, this is not even close to a 4* one. I regret having stayed at it and sadly brings me bad memories of Menorca which I so much were looking for to visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, would stay again, just a couple of tweaks would have made it truly 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con wasn’t brilliant. The room did cool down to be comfortable but it took a while and we couldn’t make it any cooler which would have been our preference. We went in shops which were cooler. We would have liked a late checkout (would even have paid) as our flights were late evening but when I asked, this was simply not an option. The hotel didn’t seem full so this was a bit disappointing as we ended up using the showers in the spa and having to scrabble round in our hand luggage in the luggage room for what we needed as we couldn’t take our bags with us. That bit didn’t feel very ‘5 star’

    The staff were very friendly. The room comfortable and just about big enough for 3. The general luxury feel to the hotel and this being adults only made it very peaceful. Good choice at breakfast - both buffet and a cooked to order menu. Welcome cava on arrival and a further complimentary glass in the bar later.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel wouldn't call it five star, but good 4 star, would return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    had towels but no face flannels, no bottled water provided, but tea & coffee is? could do with poolside snack bar instead of sit down lunch dining only, have 'no reserving sunbeds' sign up, most people didn't but when a few started everyone else joined in, but not allowing would put a stop to the people who get up at the crack of dawn to get their favourite sunbed?

    nice hotel and pool, staff reasonably friendly, quiet surroundings, excellent location, rooms and beds good, and good breakfast choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing stay in Son Xoriguer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure in bathroom was low. Dinner level variated over the days - some days good, others average.

    Hospitable and friendly staff. Great pool. Relaxed atmosphere. Easy shuttle service to ciutadella and day trips. Bus 65 stops right in front as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent would strongly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, hotel, excellent sevice

    Excellent location, hotel lovely, great food, staff friendly and nothing too much trouble. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Welcome, pleasant efficient and genuinely pleased you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome, pleasant efficient and genuinely pleased you returning Cool drinks offered on arrival Wonderful area for beach walks and swimming. Close to Calan Bosch for all your needs Adults only makes for relaxing peaceful holiday

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People still placed towels on sun loungers to "reserve" them. The hotel should do more to stop this. They do have a rule that says it is not allowed, but no-one seemed to care. In the hottest months, perhaps a relaxing of the long trouser rule for men in the restaurant terrace, to include tailored, single coloured shorts and an appropriate polo shirt?

    Everything. I love this hotel; the staff, the facilities, the food. Everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.3
    It is a nice location and easy to get around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    SPA is a fake. We didn’t manage to book just one treatment doing our stay if not separately or in strange hours. They only had two therapists so I guess limited and they of cause need to take lunch breaks :-) If they can’t provide service off-season it’s better to close it.

    It is a nice location and easy to get around. The hotel feels “old” fashion and being back in the ‘90 but overall it’s ok. Restaurant is very tourist alike and can feel a bit “all-inclusive” though we didn’t have any arrangement. 5 stars feeling is something else.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Swimming pool the water was too cold very uncomfortable plus the was no matrices on the sun dick which made it very uncomfortable and no pool service to give you towels They need to improve on the restaurant food defiantly

    Overal was good except for the swimming pool area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.3
    While staff were polite and helpful the meal options were a disappointment and the hotel overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shower over bath was slippery and old fashioned. We are vegetarian and found the meal options were second class to meat dishes and a little dull. There was a failure to accurately label choices i.e.: pasta salad that after dishing it up contained small pieces of meat. We paid around 350 euros per night which was overpriced. No lounge area to sit and read when weather is poor. Overall: dissapointed.

    Staff were very friendly. Reception staff were exceptionally helpful. Pool area was very nice but most sun beds were reserved early morning by guests putting out towels: many before breakfast. There is a hotel policy not to do this but this was ignored. Some people who had finished with a sun bed left their towels on the sunbeds so others had no way of knowing if the bed was finished with.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    Sumptuous breakfast and nice pool but not ideal for a quiet stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They only have 5 rooms with king sized beds. Considering this is an adults only hotel catering mostly to couples, it makes little sense. Also, the mattress was a little on the soft side and the bathroom was cramped, especially compared to the space in the room. Communication is not their forte, in any language. Just one example, pool towels. Nowhere does it say where to get them replaced. The surrounding area is very touristy and far from the main roads for getting around the island.

    The breakfast buffet alone is enough to make your day. The rooms are large and it is nice to have a private balcony or terrace, and we appreciated the choice of pillows. It is also good to have a selection of restaurants just a couple of minutes walk away on the small Marina.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    I had a super stay for my planned quiet holiday - I would recommend it if looking for a chilled stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel offers entertainment every night - unfortunately it's dated and extremely loud - there is no bedroom that can avoid the sound - it rebounds all over the complex - it's from 9.30 to 11 and you feel like the entertainment us directly in your room. There is no need for the PA system

    The hotel was fab because of all the friendly and very helpful staff - all the waiting staff in the restaurants for brekkie, lunch and dinner, the housekeepers, spa therapists and lifeguard. Always greeted with such friendly faces and fun chat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Absolutely fantastic and look forward to my next stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was immaculate, staff extremely friendly and couldn't do enough. Nothing was a problem. Food delicious and a great variety. Hotel was tranquil and relaxing. Lovely room and all rooms overlooked the pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Very Relaxing Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food at the hotel was very good, BUT the portion of the main course was beyond small. No joke. I had lamb one evening. I thought they served me a piece of lamb jerky. My partner had cannelloni. There was two flat empty small tubes. The two other nights we ate at the hotel it was the same. You do have a buffet for the starters and desert, and thus you are technically well fed.

    Room very clean. Pool and Spa excellent. Very much a hotel for adults looking for some peace and quiet. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Best place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at La Quinta last week of July 2017 for 3 nights and we found it a very good value. We arrived and were asked if we wanted a double or twin bed (booked a twin, but maybe the circumstances changed?) and got a twin one with no waiting time. First of all we'd like to sincerely thank every member of staff and the management for making our little break ultimately relaxing. Frequent and rather spoiled jet setters from central London we were truly surprised how professional the team was and its possibly because there's no staff rotation on this place, most of them joined this business upon its launch 15 years ago. That shows. They are invisible yet at your service the moment you need them without trying to befriend you. Ideal. My usual criticism tried to switch on a couple of times upon arrival but totally failed :) The place may feel a little old-fashioned without being dated but in a little while you feel so at home that your mind completely relaxes. The decor is very well maintained and not overpowering: all is to embrace you. There's a tea/coffee making unit in each room. I'd recommend the hotel to also provide bottled water. You get toiletries, a pillows menu, good quality towels, robes, sleepers and beach/pool towels. Adding sleeping mask may bring additional luxurious feeling. Your get blackout curtains, the daylight is sorted. It's just I feel a million dollars when I wear a sleeping mask. The beds are great, wide and very comfy. There's high quality professional central climate control in the rooms (not single units air conditioners like in most places) which means that you can keep your preferred temperature day&night without getting a cold.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff, clean bedrooms with comfortable beds, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    With the potential to accommodate circa 160 visitors and only circa 100 sun loungers, there was always an issue of availability. The management say that they will remove any towels from loungers deemed not to be in use, but this never happened. So unless you were up at 08.00 to claim a space you would struggle later in the day.

    Friendly staff, clean bedrooms with comfortable beds, great breakfasts, good size pool and a really nice wellness centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning could have been a little cooler and fan more powerful considering it was July and over 34 degrees but keeping curtains closed all day certainly helped.

    Professional and proficient staff. Quiet hotel - a little oasis Comfortable beds and room with terrace was great- easy access to pool! Breakfast was really good with plenty to choose from Didn't use the restaurants in hotel so cannot comment on them. Spa facilities were fantastic and free.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    No laughing at the poolside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like being asked to keep the noise down when we had family visiting our suite and we were having some laughs on the patio - the pool attendant also told us it reception who had requested but we found out it was one individual- nowhere on the rules did it say you have to be silent at the pool side???

    Suite was excellent - opened on to the pool Spa was very good Breakfast choices were excellent Millenium bar was good - Paco was top class Pool area was very good and relaxing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Perfectly relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing relaxing hotel to visit. Staff wonderful nothing to much trouble always willing to please. Food excellent as catering for very mixed holiday makers. Always plenty sun lounges available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful, relaxing environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No provision of bottles of water in rooms which really should be FOC and available.

    Breakfast was sumptuous, everything you could wish for. Warm welcome and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Must stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The minute I arrive I was treated so professionally and the service carrried on for my whole trip and I would highly recommend this property to friends

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.1
    Nice facilities / guests are mostly pensioners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The clientele was largely elderly and the hotel, understandably, caters to them - strict dinner dress code and dirty looks if you laugh too loudly! I would not recommend this hotel for a young couple.

    Nice swimming pool, good breakfast, and 2 nice beaches within walking distance

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Delightful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Everything was just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was just perfect

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Overall standard is very high and staff very pleasant and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall high standard of food but they fell short on the odd occasion.

    Very clean, very comfortable accommodation with friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff Amazing food Very peaceful and quiet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Very restful and friendly hotel within easy walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very restful and friendly hotel within easy walking distance of the beach and marina.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    The hotel was excellent as was the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was excellent as was the staff. My wife and I have no complaints. We really enjoyed ourselves.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    Excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems at all

    Adults only Location Food Cleanliness Well managed and efficient staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    3.3
    Avoid unless you have zero personality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being chastised for laughing too loudly. Nothing in mini bar except one bottle of beer. Not available anything else??

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Lovely La Quinta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our third stay at La Quinta. It's the perfect place for a relaxing luxury break.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.5
    We liked the room, pool and spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We liked the room, pool and spa. The restaurant and food overall was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    10
    Great food, attentive and friendly staff, fantastic service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great food, attentive and friendly staff, fantastic service. Every evening meal served from a menu like high end restaurant food rather than the usual all you can eat buffet found in most hotels.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.6
    The pool area was fabulous and so quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The pool area was fabulous and so quiet. The options available for breakfast was never ending and all excellent. live music on each night in the bar lounge on the terrace.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.6
    Quiet and quality of the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Quiet and quality of the rooms. Staff friendliness and efficiency. Also, as an adults only hotel the pool is always a pleasure to swim in as there are no dive bombing children in it! The spa is great too, I enjoyed an excellent massage there. Wonderful place to go and relax.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.2
    We booked a suite and asked for a ground floor, south facing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately the food served in the restaurant in the evening was not at all to our liking and we therefore ate out in local restaurants most nights. The room had everything we needed although I would have liked to have a mirror above the chest in the bedroom rather than a second TV. Also, it seemed a bit stingy to provide tea making facilities but not to provide tea bags or coffee.

    We booked a suite and asked for a ground floor, south facing room if at all possible and that is precisely what we got. It couldn't have been better. The outdoor pool was glorious and the indoor pool and spa were also very good. It was also great to have English TV channels which allowed us to keep in touch with Wimbledon during the heat of the day.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast, pool, always plenty of sun beds, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The resort itself was a little disappointing although this is nothing to do with the actual hotel which was super

    Breakfast, pool, always plenty of sun beds, beautiful gardens, staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    9.6
    The hotel offers a serene experience compared to other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel could be a little more relaxed about providing towels for pool and beach use. Most 5* hotels have a stock poolside and trust guests to behave themselves!

    The hotel offers a serene experience compared to other hotels in this development. The outdoor pool is good, but gym a little small. The breakfasts were excellent!

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    10
    Staff was great, polite and careful people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was great, polite and careful people. Very quiet hotel, we are young but we appreciated that most guests were mature couples.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    The Overall feel of the place when you arrive is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Overall feel of the place when you arrive is very relaxing and nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.6
    The staff were impeccably trained and made our stay special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were impeccably trained and made our stay special.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    9.6
    Excellent staff all very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent staff all very helpful and friendly.fantastically relaxing holiday.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    10
    Staff very good, food excellent, facilities what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Staff very good, food excellent, facilities what we wanted

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    Everything about the hotel was excellent particularly the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything about the hotel was excellent particularly the breakfasts and the spa facilities - hope to return next year.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    10
    Breakfast selection;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    Breakfast selection; pool; availability of sun beds; spa; cleanliness; balcony all great.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    9.6
    From the moment we arrived, I travelled with my 18 year...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    From the moment we arrived, I travelled with my 18 year daughter, the staff couldn't have been more helpful and charming

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.6
    Friendliness of staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All fine.

    Friendliness of staff; Quality of rooms and leisure facilities; Quiet and peaceful ambience.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: