Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Tartana 1 stars

Urbanización San Nicolás, 18697 La Herradura, Spain

#11 of 18 hotels in La Herradura

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 214 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.4
    Nice hotel, would be better when all facilities are operating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very disappointed to find thre restaurant and bar closed for the whole time we stayed. While I understand that this was due to staff illness, I think that ithis should have been made clear at the time of booking that this was the case as this was our main reason for booking at this hotel. We also found the proximity to the main road below the hotel slightly annoying due to traffic noise.

    Good Breakfast. Comfortable well appointed room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice place to stay
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fridge would have been useful. We were disappointed the restaurant wasn’t open as it had been highly recommended.

    Ellie was very friendly, approachable and attentive. The room was nice, but a little basic. For example, we would have liked a small fridge in the room for drinks, particularly as the bar was not open or accessible

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    4.5
    The hotel is very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very bad. One staff does breakfast and cleans then goes home.so.if you had heart attack, broke a leg ,there is no one there until next morning if you have clients booked I suggest you delicate, as the property is now sold. Who do we she!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    4.6
    If you want to travel back in time this is the place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Room up a flight of stairs which are hard to climb with bags as no lift. If staying here ensure your room is on ground floor. 2. Restaurant was closed at night I stayed. 3. Breakfast all cold buffet food. 4. No room service. 5. Not even a bottle of water in room. 6. Room very old, door lock looks like from another century and door not closed tight. Cleaner able to open the door with the door locked and my key in the lock on the inside. 7. Bathroom small, shower water all over bathroom floor. 8. Room furniture old and loads of cheap ornaments everywhere, very cluttered. 9. Window shutter open but broken to small balcony. 10. If you want to travel back a 100 years in time this is the place to stay.

    1. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing, the hotel has potential but it is not being used.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water in our room before 8am. Courtyard was pretty, but rather 'tired', many leaves needed sweeping up. Lack of plugs at convenient points in the room. We came back in the early evening intending to go out on the terraces where there was furniture to sit and enjoy the evening sun, however all the doors out to the terraces were locked and there was no way we could get out there ! we were either forced to sit in our room or go into the courtyard where there was no sun ! We felt 'captive' ! And that evening there was NO MEMBER OF STAFF ON DUTY AT ALL ! Our evening was wasted, we could have stayed out longer to enjoy the sun going down in the town. Very bad.

    The bed was comfy. The conti breakfast was good. Hotel was very Spanish in style, quaint, nice antiques inside...however.....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pavement from accomodation to the town. Restaurant and bar was temporarily closed during our visit.

    Nice building with soul and its own atmosphere. Really friendly stuff and owner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    2.9
    A total and utter let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best thing about this place was coming home....early

    I liked absoluty nothing about this very low rate bed and breakfast. This is not a hotel. It was a huge disapointment. You advertise facilities that are not there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.0
    A sad and hotel, a lonely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The web site is misleading, the bar and restaurant have been closed for a long time, and the terraces overlooking the Med are locked when the cleaner leaves, about mid day. Also hot water is only available until about mid day, no evening showers when you come back from the beach!? The walk from the town to the hotel is dangerous at night. No staff on site at all. Often there were only two rooms occupied.

    The rooms were comfortable and well furnished. The housekeeping was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    3.8
    Not a safe place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Arrived to an empty hotel with a number to call stuck under a stone. Eventually a lovely lady arrived to let us in. Owner had closed the restaurant, locked bar and all access to all public areas. We were left alone overnight with ringing of the bell, banging on the door and loud men's voices outside. it was very frightening. Only one lovely lady cleans and makes breakfast hotel otherwise deserted.

    The building is beautiful but now neglected. No staff other than one lady in the mornings. Bar, restaurant and terrace all locked up.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    3.8
    Avoid and stay elsewhere, take no notice of Booking.com descriptions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No staff at hotel , all locked up on arrival. Had to phone owner to come and let us in. Hotel is really a b and b. It is overlooking the main coast road on a steep hill on a junction. No hotel facilities other than room and breakfast. No hot water other than early morning or late night. Booking.com stated there was a restaurant on site as well as on site parking, neither was true. Restaurant only operates high season and parking is on the street behind hotel. On check out I was overcharged and refused to pay as requested because the hotel had not recieved my 1/3rd deposit from Booking.com. This is a very old building , bedroom was large but bed was not comfortable. Bathroom very poorly designed. Very difficult hotel for my wife as not designed for disabled.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful view over La Herradura and the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not super easy to walk to the beach.

    Beautiful view over La Herradura and the sea. Nice little courtyard, nice rooms. Very much not a nondescript chain hotel: lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.8
    Some of the staff were super helpful, some just gave shocking service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check in service was shocking...we weren't given any information by the man who checked us in. We missed breakfast as a result. I had to phone later to give my payment as no one asked for it at check in. Attention to detail would be appreciated. It was no advertised that it was on a main road and we felt a bit unsafe having to cross the main road at a busy corner.

    The place was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel near some beautiful beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the hotel is right next to a busy main road.

    Beautiful hotel in traditional house with lovely terraces for relaxing/eating. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Boutique hotel with good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was quite comfortable, but the bathroom was extremely small, much too small for comfort and did not have a proper door, but shutters. Some general repairs were also in order.

    The two very best things about this hotel are the excellent food they serve and the friendliness of the staff. The beach was within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel in La Herradura .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Leaving!

    Second time we have stayed there.. going back next month... Absolutely EXCEPTIONAL place to stay. You MUST try the hotel restaurant.. The best food in La Herradura... again, exceptional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice staff, beautiful charming small hotel, good value, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are indeed some ants in the room, and although we did not bother too much as the rooms were clean nevertheless, I guess this is something they should take care of.

    Nice staff, beautiful charming small hotel, good value, the city center is only a few minutes away

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Good few days. I would happily book there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My wife said the bed was a bit hard, I felt it was very comfortable. Don't know what is meant by Genius perks.

    The hotel was wonderful, it was very relaxed. The only staff we had was at breakfast time and late in the evening when we had dinner. The owner did all he could to make us welcome, he drove his car twice to the airport fetching new arrivals.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Week end break in the Sun
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not knowing that on Sunday after breakfast the Hotel is closed until next morning. On busy road have to be careful getting into town by foot.

    The room and views were very good, excellent breakfast plenty of choice,many terraces on different levels, excellent food at restaurant open at night, staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.9
    A pleasant stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is looking a little tired and could do with a lick of paint. Also the courtyard was untidy with an old fridge dumped & old crates & rubbish lying around right next to guests accommodation.

    The room was lovely & air con very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.3
    A super choice for a boutique hotel if you're looking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Communication could have been better. We arrived to find a number to phone on the door to the hotel and a member of staff arrived shortly. We were shown to our rooms and then the staff left. It was a Monday and the restaurant was not open and no member of staff remained on the premises for the evening or overnight. We were not informed about this and there was no information about the hotel in the hotel to explain this. A little strange but wasn't a problem for us. Finally, the hot water is from solar panels and is switched on twice a day for two hours at a time - again not a problem but useful to know (we visited in April - don't know if this is the same at other times of the year).

    A super choice for a boutique hotel if you're looking for something other than a modern box- this was full of character and traditional but not old fashioned. The hotel had a lovely, relaxed atmosphere. The inner courtyard was charming and our main room was spacious with a good view across to the sea (useful fridge too). Our second room was smaller and without the view or balcony but there were spaces to sit outside in the courtyard or outside on the hotel verandas (when the restaurant was open). The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast delicious and plentiful. We didn't eat in the restaurant (our two children wouldn't have appreciated the fine food) but other guests spoke highly of it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    A quiet and charming getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - oh! - having to leave this little bit of heaven to come home!!

    One of the most charming hotels I have ever stayed in, in all my travels around the world ! The staff were really nice AND helpful. The bread in particular at breakfast was delicious. For someone who has had a broken back, a comfortable bed can often prove difficult to find, the bed at the hotel was truly comfortable. What a treat it was to stay here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Lovely, clean, comfortable and friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel. Lovely owners and superb staff! Jed and Mandy are charming and very kindly gave me an upgrade to a beautiful room. Nice place to go if you are travelling solo.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not easy to walk to the town as no path along busy road and parking is on the side of a steep road not secure.

    Tea and coffee in the room and the room and hotel is lovely

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.9
    Great setting ambience and cuisine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too close to the main road perhaps but that didn't spoil our visit. Beach is a 10 minute walk if you prefer not to drive into town Sea view room supplement may not be worth the extra if you are on a budget but we only had experience of one room (room 4) Excellent staff and service

    Excellent food served on delightful terrace Interesting and original furniture and decor

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Excellent place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very good place to stay, very beautiful house and excelent staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Lovely and energising
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not to the standards of the hotel.

    The room with a view far from the maddening crowd

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful house well located, easy to walk to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners totally invisible The breakfast poor and repetitive

    The person in charge Professional and lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely room,breakfast value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Lovely room,breakfast value

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.9
    3 Happy days in Jaen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walk to the town was across a main road with no pavements.

    Friendly relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    8.8
    A traditional courtyard hotel with large, comfy bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A traditional courtyard hotel with large, comfy bedroom. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food was wonderful - Tasty and creative. We loved it ! The owners are great fun and enthusiastic. As we were the only ones staying on that particular week in Feb. and in the low season, the road in front was fairly quiet. But could be a problem when busy. Overall it was the best place we stayed at in Andalusia.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful, old building, attractive decor and lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The design of the shower meant it splashed over and saturated the floor and bath mat.

    Beautiful, old building, attractive decor and lovely room. We were upgraded to a room with sea view and loved it. The bed was comfortable, tea, coffee and water were provided,

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    4.6
    There is a very good restaurant onsite, with beautiful meal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No staff on arrival or departure, and no phone number. No hot water (though we tried for 6+ minutes), poor internet, not very clean courtyard .No one to speak with on problems. Average hotel, very high price. Hosts should stay with running their restaurant, which you can enjoy as a non-guest. Would not stay if free.

    There is a very good restaurant onsite, with beautiful meal presentation for dinner.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    9.2
    A Charming boutique hotel ideal for couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A Charming boutique hotel ideal for couples. Our room had a beautiful sea view and its own little balcony. Walking distance to both both the village & beach.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    Such a lovely hotel, with very nice people who really care.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Such a lovely hotel, with very nice people who really care. We borrowed some beach towels and additionally were even offered an umbrella. We especially liked the breakfast on the terrasse: croissants, coffee, eggs, fruit salat... all we needed was there. Special thanks to the lovely Maria :) We had a great stay!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    Everything!everybody was genuinely nice and friendly.Excellent breakfast,fantastic service,nice cosy room,everything I could wish for a calm and cosy holiday.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    5.8
    Quaint and authentic Spanish house - lovely courtyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was pretty but had no natural light. Breakfast wasn't great - expected more given the reputation of the restaurant. Think the restaurant is probably the focus of attention.

    Quaint and authentic Spanish house - lovely courtyard.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    lovely view, quiet, great staff, especially the woman who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast was great; the restaurant for dinner was not great. I think the chef was trying too hard - that is, it was a bit faux gourmet

    lovely view, quiet, great staff, especially the woman who served breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    8.3
    small size, interested and helpful managers and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    location by the main road, noisy dusty walk to the town and beach. Traffic noise eveident most of the town

    small size, interested and helpful managers and staff

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    8.8
    Dining experience, very comfortable area to relax and eat,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was fine but little things like lack of biscuits with the cheese board. Nobody available at the time of departure for us to pay the bill.

    Dining experience, very comfortable area to relax and eat, outside.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    6.7
    Bedroom door very insecure, supposed to be "aged"...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedroom door very insecure, supposed to be "aged" but anyone could open it by just pressing against it. Breakfast poor, I asked for a fried egg but was told I would have to pay extra! So cold scrambled eggs and cold bacon!

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    8.3
    Loved the decor, spectacular food, gorgeous terraces &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Downsides - as above.

    Loved the decor, spectacular food, gorgeous terraces & gardens (renovated & improved further since our last visit. Downsides - traffic noise (a low glass screen in front of some of the terrace woul help), little privacy in room 6 (you can see through the blinds & curtains from inside & out, straight onto the terrace), v small bathroom in room too, food v good & wonderfully presented but a bit pricey. Overall though this is still a great little hotel, but probably only for a one night stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    9.2
    good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast starts at 9, which may be a bit late of you are planning early activities around the area

    good room. perfect breakfast with plenty of variety. quiet neighbourhood. with respect the comments about walking along the road, it is no more than 100m, with plenty of space to walk through. also, to get la herradura, you must cross the road, and at the curve there is the traffic lights plus the curve allows you visibility in both directions. we did not bother about this issue

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    10
    A perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I would like to keen this georgeos place for myself. But in order for the owners to sustaiin a business I will tell everybody abort this hotel.

    A perfect stay This is the most perfect place to stay. Wonderfukl rooms and wonderfull food.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything. Mandy and Jed were wonderful hosts who were always available to ensure that their guests were very well looked after. Their staff are excellent, very friendly, helpful and polite. By far the best place we have stayed in during our 2 month visit to Spain. If in La Herradura stay here you will not be disappointed. We will be back.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.1
    Pretty hotel
    • Solo traveller

    No restaurant in sundays Dark room

    Pretty hotel

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    The location, the welcome,comfortable and spacious rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location, the welcome,comfortable and spacious rooms, the owners Amanda and Jed. Wonderful food, nothing to dislike!!

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.6
    Great place to stay food is amazing staff are great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great place to stay food is amazing staff are great

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.1
    restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi didn't work

    restaurant

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.2
    General feeling was very friendly and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to walk to or from the beach on main road in the dark.

    General feeling was very friendly and welcoming

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.6
    Room facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room facilities Comfortable bed The amazing food Romantic setting for our celebration meal The friendly helpful staff Parking

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.8
    The whole ambience was delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult walking the last section to the hotel . No sidewalk traffic close .ver

    The whole ambience was delightful.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    everything

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    7.1
    comfortable room with a nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    located on a main road so this made it difficult to walk into nearby La Herradura.

    comfortable room with a nice view

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    10
    Every thing was spot on
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Every thing was spot on

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    7.9
    The location and the shape of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lack of parking facilities

    The location and the shape of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    9.2
    Love the area, La Herradura main town a short walk away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The main road to cross over to walk into the town centre.

    Love the area, La Herradura main town a short walk away. Hotel very easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    9.6
    The feeling of being a valued guests for whom nothing was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The feeling of being a valued guests for whom nothing was too much trouble

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    9.2
    Location, staff, breakfast, bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked everything.

    Location, staff, breakfast, bedroom. Everything.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    9.2
    Great staff, good Spanish breakfasts and excellent wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff, good Spanish breakfasts and excellent wine.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: