Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Torre 1 stars

Passeig de la Torre, 26-28, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Spain

Review score

Based on 107 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Best location in town: right next to beach, short walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are many better restaurants in the area for lunch or dinner, so eat out

    Best location in town: right next to beach, short walk to centre, good start point for stunning walk (or swim!) to Llafranc, and great spot for sundowner drinks Staff were friendly and helpful Buffet breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Stunning Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is good but could be a bit more diverse & premium in term of croissants, delicatessen, marmelades & fruits.

    the location is absolutely stunning. You can stay easily 2h every morning enjoying the breakfast with this view + the beach is super close for an early swim.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All good, but if you want bling don't go.

    Couldn't believe this was only 1*, have paid more for a lot less, lovely location, good parking, plenty of storage in room and bathroom to put things away, and coat hangers enough for 2! Helpful staff, made a phone call to find an English paper for Bob, happy Bob. Nice relaxing stay, will definitely book again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay in a stunning location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only thing that would have improved our stay would have been aircon - having to sleep with the window open and being disturbed by the sound of people coming off the beach at 5am was a bit of an issue some nights

    The location of this hotel is perfect. It overlooks the bay, and the coastal path to Llafranc runs alongside. The terrace is a beautiful chilled spot to have a drink or snack any time of the day. The rooms are fairly basic but we found the bed firm and very comfortable. Good breakfast with loads of choice of fresh fruit each day. Useful tip - Beach umbrellas are available to borrow! We would stay here again.....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedding could be more comfortable. We only had one pillow each and it wasn´t very good quality. The bed covers are very dated.

    The hotel is situated right on the seafront which is fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic location with lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a large, older hotel which probably needs an update to the bedrooms. But this gave it a faded charm. I could hear next door's TV late at night, though.

    Excellent location and views over the beach and town. Very good continental breakfast included and the outside breakfast area has spectacular views. Had a slightly faded charm. Staff very helpful and organised us a very early breakfst on our departure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    A priceless location, nice roomas and good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only thing that could be improved is if the signs do not disturb were available, as the cleaners would sometimes knock at the door at about 9am asking whether someone is there, that was quite early for us and not the best wake up call. Otherwise, it felt like the room we had had quite thin walls, I could hear noises from the room next to us, and if your room is oriented towards the bar it might be a little noisy until about 1am, so if you are sensitive to that it might be best to request a room which is turned to the other side.

    This hotel is a perfect place for a quiet, calm vacation with amazing views, nice and clean rooms and very friendly staff. They were very happy to discuss and answer any questions we had. The hotel has a very nice bar area overlooking the sea and a restaurant, although we did not try it apart from the included breakfast. The room had everything we needed, there is no air conditioning but personally I did not mind, the temperature outside at night was not that warm so when we left the balcony open we really had no problem. I would really recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a calm vacation right next to the beach and a very short walk to the village center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    The above experience really spoiled our stay although we liked the hotel ,location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a mix up in our reservation as we had deliberately booked two double rooms for one couple and one person who was unaccompanied. The hotel altered the booking to 1 double room and 1 single room. the single room was very small and was unacceptable to us as we had booked two double rooms and had confirmation of same from booking .com . We informed the manager of this who was unable to change this as the hotel was fully booked. We registered our complaint to the management who were polite but unable to assist in any other way. However they provided a large beautiful bouquet of flowers for the single room and a box of chocolates which went some way to cheering up our friend in the single room. We were assured that if there was a cancelation then our friend would have the benefit of this. Unfortunately there was no cancelation.

    the breakfast was very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon. No pool.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    very pleasant stuff in the hotel and its restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    no air condition and safe in the room

    very pleasant stuff in the hotel and its restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior decoration rarher dull

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    o

    perfect

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable, friendly staff, clean environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music playing all day is rather off putting if you just want to relax.

    Perfect setting, beautiful views. Great place for a family holiday

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    8.3
    This is the third time we've booked La Torre because of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were not warned by booking.com that the restaurant might be closed. We needed a stress-free four days with no problem at finding other restaurants. We have always chosen hotels with restaurants on the premises..

    This is the third time we've booked La Torre because of its position, not too far for my disabled husband to walk to the first beach to sit down and rest. The restaurant overlooks this beach, a stunning panorama!. The breakfast, as usual, was excellent, although there were few people in the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.3
    the staff was very helpful at every turn;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    as most have reported, the beds aren't comfortable and there's no safe in the room; a fridge would have been a nice addition; I didn't like the keys (skeleton key) - charming but a nuisance and didn't provide a feeling of safety; while the staff was truly so helpful they weren't as warm as they could have been

    the staff was very helpful at every turn; the rooms are very clean; I enjoyed the breakfast in the morning and found plenty to eat in a beautiful setting; the 3Pins bar directly adjacent to the hotel is lovely with super staff; you can't beat the setting, absolutely stunning

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    8.3
    Absolutely stunning location with sea views in all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception staff are perhaps, a little less friendly than at other hotels in the area

    Absolutely stunning location with sea views in all directions, a stone's throw from the beach

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    The perfect location and so relaxing sitting on the terrace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Every thing was perfect even the weather for our short stay.

    The perfect location and so relaxing sitting on the terrace whether having breakfast, tapas or evening meal looking out over the sea.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    8.3
    The excellent location, so close to the sea and the pathways...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although the breakfasts were excellent, we thought the starters and desserts of the evening meal were repetitive and rather mean. The main courses, however, were good.

    The excellent location, so close to the sea and the pathways along the headlands. There were many comfortable seating areas, both inside and outside. The restaurant's location was particularly good, overlooking the bay. We were pleased to be able to park inn the hotel's grounds.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    9.2
    Location, outdoor terraces.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No aircon in room, but I was lucky to get the last portable fan from Reception. Service on the terrace at night, 11pm, was slow. It took 30 minutes to be asked for a drink order and another 10 minutes to receive my a glass of wine.

    Location, outdoor terraces.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.3
    Location is excellent and overall gives a couple of 4-star...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only real issues we found (and we are travellers who like our comforts) is lack of aircon and room safe. There is, however, a safe at reception and if you ask, they will also give you a very handy electric fan (free) for your room, which you will need!

    Location is excellent and overall gives a couple of 4-star hotels I've stayed in a run for their money. Nice sized room, comfy bed, good bathrooms. Try for a room with a sea view. Staff were really very helpful indeed (e.g. did their best to organise an early breakfast when we were leaving). Terrace bar is he best viewing spot in the town. If you can find a better one-star hotel, I'd like to know about it.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    8.8
    great location, clean room, great shower, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    decor is slightly dated but very clean so not big problem. it's a shame rooms don't have air con

    great location, clean room, great shower, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    9.6
    they put us in a room to the side of Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    they put us in a room to the side of Hotel. I explained I really wanted sea view as this was a special holiday. They moved us to sea view which was perfect. Thanks Francis you are very kind!

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    8.3
    Very simple small family run hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress was extremely uncomfortable!!!

    Very simple small family run hotel! Absolutely spotlessly clean and tidy, simply furnished sea facing room with a little balcony. Wonderful position overlooking Canadell beach in Callella, within very easy walking reach of shops, bars and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    10
    Wonderful location with great views from its position on a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location with great views from its position on a headland. Yet within easy access to the beach & town

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: