Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Ciudadela 1 stars

Paseo Pujadas, 5, 08018 Barcelona, Spain

#237 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 726 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice and cozy Hotel with abdolutely adorable staff :) The...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and cozy Hotel with abdolutely adorable staff :) The rooms were small, but you don't need more space, since you'll be out all day anyway. Some of the bathrooms were brand new others were older, but every room was clean. The location is great, there are Bars in walking distance, the metro stop is not even 5 minutes to walk and the beach approximately 20 minutes to walk. We'll definitely come back to this place!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location with restaurant and bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The morning staff in restaurant and hotel were VERY rude! The hotel staff spoke about us in Spanish not thinking we understood them. The morning staff in restaurant ignored us each time we ate in restaurant and served locals around us first even though we had been sitting for a long time. The last time we were there we got up and left. The lady at counter rolled her eyes at us several times. Even though it was a comfortable hotel we WOULD NOT stay there again due to how awful the staff treated us as tourist.

    Great location with restaurant and bar. Clean and comfortable. Night staff very warm and welcoming. **See below about morning staff**

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Excellent staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (interior)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent staff.very friendly and the best food ever tried.have eaten during the day in other restaurants but every evening came back to the hotel.they have the best paella and other food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    We’ll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    We have been to Barcelona before but this was the first time at Cuidadela. It suited us perfectly, clean rooms, fabulous restaurant underneath with best Paella in town. We could access the Gothic area but also have green and spaciousness of the beautiful Park over the road. The metro a couple of minutes walk with easy access to the rest of town. Highly recommend it!...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    2.5
    Just location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. As I know 2 single bed, hotel must put them near by near. 2. There is no window which looks outside of the building. 3. No air condition just ventilation and no options to close it. 4. There is no soap in the bathroom. 5. Beds are very old and noisy. 6. Room is so small.

    Just location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent service, staff were so friendly and keen to help...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent service, staff were so friendly and keen to help anytime, thanks Vanessa!. The best, the location!! close to all I wanted to see in Barcelona, walking distance to the Picasso Museum, Sagrada Familia, las Ramblas, Barceloneta beach : )

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    The location of the hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room they gave us had no windows. We Really dont like that.

    The location of the hotel is excellent. They also Made a great deal with the closest parking around the corner. For €15 a day you can park in the middele of the city. Everybody in the hotel was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    3-day trip to Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As beilng close to the Arc of Triompf, it was noisy until early morning. There was a bus stop under the window and you could hardly hear your thoughts with the window open.

    Location. The metro station is 5min walking from the hotel. Parc de la Cuitadella is on the other side of the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    nice hotel for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water faucet in the bath was not working quite well. The window did not completely isolate the outside noise. There were people outside at the street up to 1am talking and yelling and we could hear them.

    Good location. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    Perfect location, a lot of improvements required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel staff didnt care if we were in the room if we were sleeping or if we were not fully dressed, they would just ignore "Do not Disturb" sign on the door and get in the room to clean it, saying that they only got an hour until the end of the shift and they need to do it quickly. Also, it was extremely noisy at the hotel. I believe there was some maintenance works going on, which is ok, but they were extremely noisy around 6-7 am. It could be somehow acceptable if we were in a hostel, but service and attitude were not good value for money we paid. We are not going to stay in this hotel again.

    Would like to point out that location is actually amazing, just 1 min walk away from Parc de la Ciutadella and Arc de Triomf, can access the old part of the city and Gothic Quarter easily, as well as the beach is about 20 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    Stay was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were not provided shuttle at 3:00 am in morning which has not been mentioned on the hotel booking site or on booking.com. Its near to airport but far away from the city center. In Mid-night there were some noise of some stuff falling which woke us up in night and it was scary as nothing did fall in our room.

    We had reserved this hotel as we had a early morning flight so stayed there for less than 12 hrs. room was clean and perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location & helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise but expected some in a busy part of the city

    Easy access into the El Born area, park over the road, and staff helpful & friendly and obviously they get on well evident by the banter between them all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good stay for a short time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given that it is located above a restaurant and a bar it’s a bit noisy during the night ... you can clearly hear people’s conversations and early morning hours u can hear the store opening... would recommend ear plugs for those who are easily disturbed during their sleep... but in general, it’s very good.

    Location is central, staff are friendly, double rooms are spacious and rooms are clean!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall it was a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel restaurant menu seemed good, but the staff had difficulty conversing in English. But the reception staff were conversant in English, thus we did not experience any hassle in checking in or out.

    The convenient location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location and good staff, restaurant is vey nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom is very small and you can hear everything from outside, no natural light comes into the room

    Very friendly staff and very good location, walking distance to everywhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location, great price (for Barcelona), small rooms, bit old
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room we got was super tiny, for us it was okey but for some people it can be uncomfortable. We found difficulties during check in (Hotel didn't have our reservation)

    Superb location. Practically in Ciudadela Park, few steps to beach and old town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    The staff is very very kind!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room had a very old-fashioned furniture

    The staff is very very kind!! Great location in the city, 3 very near bus stops and not far from L1 metro. Rooms are quite silent (except in the weenkend) even at 1st floor and clean. Restaurant is good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall, excellent value for money, if you want a decent place to stay at a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (interior)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only two comments (didn't really detract from our visit, but worth mentioning) - the towels were thin and hard, and there's no mirror in the bedroom which would have been really useful.

    We booked an internal room - we don't normally spend much time in the room when on a city break so this suited our needs. The room was small but sufficient space for our needs. The bathroom, again small, but very nicely decorated with a great powerful shower. Bed was comfy. Excellent location - old town and beach within easy walking distance. Only 5 minutes walk from Arc de Triomf metro station - great for getting around and to/from airport. Not a luxurious hotel but for this price, excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location. Outstanding staff. Facilities could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was broken. In bathroom all but one light bulb was out. Thin walls.

    Location and staff were amazing. Restaurant below was convenient, delicious, and a good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    4.6
    location is good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (interior)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a family run hotel. The family is mother, father an dauther. The mother and daughter were extremely arrogant and not nice... restaurant in the hotel is horrible- poor food and unprofessional waiters. They were LITERALLY running in the restaurant like headless chickens, shouting at each other, breaking plates and glasses, rushing. It was impossible to eat in peace and comfort. My room had no day light. Window was painted. Cold room, without thick winter duvet. I was freezing my tots off st night. Waste of money and one of the worst hotels experience in my life. This family knows nothing about hotel business.

    location is good. But it’s nothibg about the hotels afforys.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Couldn’t have ask for better place with such an amazing location. And super friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (interior)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, I mean PERFECT! It’s just by the metro and it’s also a walking distance to many places such as La Rambla, Port, and has the beautiful part just in front. Staff was amazing, helpful and super friendly. Room was also super clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.9
    Great value-for-money hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The downsides of the hotel result from its main advantage - its location. It sits on a highly busy street, and just above the restaurant of the hotel. In other words, it is not the hotel for people who wake up early. There is noise 24/7. Similarly, if you come by car, parking is a problem in this part of town. The closest parking might be the one of the zoo/Universitat Pompeu Fabra which is highly expensive. Furthermore, there is no immediate metro station, leaving guests to walk either to the ones at Vila Olímpica or Arc de Triomf.

    This is a nice, small hotel at one of the main location of the lively, magnificent Barcelona. Sitting literally on Ciutadella Park (with the Catalan Parliament and works of Gaudi), short walking from some of the main universities and surrounded by bars, cafes and supermarkets. The comfortable rooms are reasonably priced for this highly-expensive city, and the staff is patient, friendly and speaks fluent English (not always the case in Barcelona!). The rooms and hotel in general combine modern functionality with historical style.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    Reserved a car park from the hotel, but it turned out to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (interior)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reserved a car park from the hotel, but it turned out to be too small spot for my car. There was an additional parking space near by with a bigger spots and with same price. I was happy with the solution until I asked what time the parking lot closes. Receptionist said that it is 24 hours. It was a very nice surprise when I left 3 am to get my car to go to the airport and the car park was closed. Luckily my girlfriend did not need to catch a 6 am flight so she was able to return the car ...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Exceeded my expectations for 1 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean rooms, aircon is working perfect, excellent location with nice restaurant downstairs and great location, just across Parc de la Ciudadela and aprox. 500 meters from Arc de Triumf.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Functional hotel with a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (interior)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small with no view but it was clean and functional.

    The location is great ... very near to the Arc de Triomphe and Parc Ciudadella and very easy to access by public transportation. There is a small restaurant and bar and tables to sit at outside. The staff was very friendly and the check-in/check-out process very easy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    Good location for a short Barcelona city stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls - sound from hotel corridor and residential apartments above the hotel floor

    Location of facility between the Beach & Gothic Quarter, and across the road from the Parc La Ciutadella. Accommodating Daytime Receptionist

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Great affordable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (interior)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was quite small by my standards and there was strong cleaning chemical smell from the bathroom.

    Great value for money during very touristy season. Rooms were small by other standards, but by European standards, I guess they were ok. Great for just relaxing after long day of walking and sightseeing. Haven't really tried the breakfast so couldn't comment. Great clean hotel with walkable distance to the beach, Las Ramblas and Sagradia familia.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (interior)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was pretty noisy, I could hear various noises from the kitchen etc. until midnight or so.

    Location is perfect. Close to everything. Staff very friendly, the lady at the reception spoke good English. Strong air conditioning, working WiFi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Basic room with bathroom that needed a makeover but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom sink faucet was very stiff and shower door looked very old but worked just fine.

    Basic room with bathroom that needed a makeover but everything worked. Restaurant was excellent! Great salad & gourmet pizza. Best location very close to Arc de Triomf metro stop & nord bus station. So close to so many attractions. Excellent value for $$.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    A perfect place to stay for 2-3 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit loud in the evening because of the restaraunt outside, but it didn't bother as we walked a lot during the day so we slept well ))

    Great location (close to the park, Gothic quarter, beach, Sagrada Familia), cleanness, room service, free wi-fi

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Good an clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (interior)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location although not bad is also not famous. For the nearest Metro station you still had to walk a few minutes. Not a big thing but i advise you search the map from the Metro station (Arc Thriomf) as it's not intuitive to get there if you are new to the area. Wifi although free was not famous. I would rather pay a fee and have a better connection. There is a Bus station in front of the hotel, but i didn't used it so i don't know where it connected.

    The hotel itself was a Hotel/Restaurant (the rooms being on the upper floor), so if you want to eat something it was easy. It was a simple room but very clean, cozy and very comfortable. The room was always cleaned the time i was there. Didn't had any problems speaking with the staff both in Spanish or English.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value, convenient and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is friendly, extremely helpful, and very kind. This hotel is a great value, clean and close to public transport including Metro and Trains. The accommodations are modest but the price is very fair and the staff are superb.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.2
    I enjoyed the location of the hotel and the staff very much.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (interior)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The website needs some correction to ensure that travellers find the hotel properly. This hotel is located on a corner at the intersection of two streets. Booking lists an address on one street, and the hotel web page lists another. I ended up calling the hotel to try to figure out if my reservation was for the right place. Travellers take note! Also, there is another hotel by the same name, but spelled differently. My taxi took me to the wrong hotel because of this. Note the spelling for this hotel is in Spanish (not Catalan) All the more reason to have one consistent address for Booking and the hotel web site.

    the staff was very helpful and I found the attached restaurant to be very convenient when I arrived late in the evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.3
    A good option but average value-for-money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Average value for money (although less expensive from other options)

    Everything was nice, above average. Friendly staff. Location was good. At the edge of the interesting area, in 1-2 klm distance. No real issues. I would recommend it, if you can't go higher in cost.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Good beer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door was on a self closing hinge and we had no way of keeping it open. Made it difficult to put makeup on and hold door open at same time

    Good beer. Clean, very comfortable and quiet. Good wifi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    Tremendous, friendly staff, great location, economical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms

    Kind, helpful, staff.Comfortable beds. Unbeatable location, near Estacio Franca railway station and Arco Metro stop with easy access to all major tourist sites.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    Great place in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (interior)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only concern is fire safety, there is only one additional exit, there are no evacuation instructions provided in the room and the window in our room had a window gitter plus electric blinds (so in case of a fire this isn't an optional escape route).

    Hotel room is small but comfy and has offers all you need, the shower had great water pressure and temperature stayed constant so no continuos adjustments are needed. The wifi was okay for streaming but got a bit inconsistent in the evenings. The restaurant downstairs serves great breakfast and dinner options (haven't tried lunch).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    Great for a short stay on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (interior)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room, interior - but we knew that; no frig or kettle in the room.

    Superbly helpful friendly staff, pleasant location, easy to find and walk from Arc de Triomf, attractive dining room and outdoor cafe; budget room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    6.3
    The hotel location is very convenient, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very small and not soundproof. We could hear everything that was going on in the hotel at all times. They provided only one tiny soap bar which disappeared if you washed your hands once!

    The hotel location is very convenient, close to everything. Very comfortable bed. The food at the restaurant had a great variety and was of good quality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    5.8
    Location is great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no ventilation in the toilet of the room. no natural light (interior room, very dark without natural air). However the air conditioner was nice. no elevator, however first floor. a lot of noise from neighbor room doors. two twin beds for a couple, however it was said before booking. But however 100 euros per night for such a property is too much.

    Location is great. great area and access to everything and metro and train. Nice staff at the restaurant and reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    Best value hotel in central Barcelona!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (interior)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints!

    Excellent location, very easy to get to (only a short walk south from Arc de Triomf station). Friendly receptionist on arrival who spoke perfect English. The most impressive thing was being able to stay in a lovely hotel, in a great central location for only 49 Euros! I had a single interior room which was fairly modest in size but it was fine for a single traveller. I was slightly concerned being so close to the main stairs and main corridor (room 113) that it might be noisy with people walking past my room door but I slept like a log and didn't get disturbed all night! Would have liked to have tried the restaurant as the food looked great but had already agreed to meet a friend in the city. Was very impressed and would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.1
    A Mixed Bag
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had trouble sleeping several nights (10:00-1:00) because of street noise. In addition, there was also noise from the restaurant downstairs. One night, when there was a party going on, the noise was especially bothersome. Another issue was that during restaurant hours, the reception staff was very busy - their jobs became split between the hotel and the restaurant. Because of that, we felt we couldn't enlist their help as much as we would have liked to. A couple of suggestions for the bathroom - make sure the fan works and replace the very scratchy towels with softer ones!

    Most of the staff were very nice and helpful (when they weren't too busy - more about that later). The hotel is located next to a lovely city park and the Arc de Triomphe. A nice surprise was that there was a food and craft fair going on when we were there. The restaurant is good - we enjoyed our breakfasts and dinners there (loved the little bowl of olives included with dinners). The location is on the edge of the old city but that was not a problem for us - we could walk to most places from there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.7
    Great location near the Arc de Triomf, not a great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was TINY with a window looking at someone's washer/dryer & patio clothes line. Window didn't lock had bars on it. It had 2 twin beds, nightstands, desk with chair and tile floor. The bathroom was small with a tiny corner shower, clean but without washcloths (I understand this is usual). There was a tiny bar of soap and single use shower gel & shampoo pack for one person. You can almost touch knees to the vanity while on the toilet. In addition, you could hear folks in the adjacent rooms & hallways. The hallway floor is also tile, so you could hear wheeled suitcases across the floor most of the evening. The meal in the hotel's resto was disastrous. We could have dined at a thousand other charming places but decided to support the hotel's restaurant. We were going to order paella, but ordered the pictured special which was a steal & fries for around €8,30. I pointed to the photo of the special several times during my order. I also ordered (at extra charge) Roquefort for the steak. The Roquefort was forgotten until I asked for it about half way through the steak. When the bill came, it was twice what we expected to pay. The waiter pointed out the 'every night' on the photo in the menu. We were there at lunch & assumed it meant 'all day' or that he would have at least pointed out the special was for night time only (after 7:30pm) when we ordered. He never said a thing. I felt that was an extreme discourtesy. We paid the bill & left. Buyer beware on this one.

    The hotel was a pleasure to check into. We arrived early and the desk person took our bags and had them delivered to the room for us while we went exploring. No lift. I think the 'hotel' is the 1st floor (up one flight of stairs from check in) in a apartment or condo building. The location is super, across the street from the city park & Arc de Triomf. Easily walkable to the Marina, Bari Gotic & Las Ramblas.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice place to stay 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (interior)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy during night and first hours in the morning.

    The location of the hotel is excellent 5 minutes walking to the metro and in the corner you have a bus stop. Close by to the gothic neighborhood. For sure if I visit Barcelona again I will stay there. Btw the food of the restaurant is really good and very affordable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    This is a no-frills hotel in the best sense of the term.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (interior)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a no-frills hotel in the best sense of the term. It offers only the basics, but these are all first-rate: bathroom fixtures, bed, air conditioning, bed, lighting.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    6.7
    Get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were frequently absent. A lot of waiting around waiting for them to arrive whilst being looked at by the restaurant staff running around you like you were in the way. Unfortunately had an unpleasant interaction with one of the waiters in one occasion and made us feel like we were not meant to be there and were a hassle, because we were needing to talk to reception. He scurried off three times after being abrupt to us and had no interest in trying to help us or even ask what we were requiring. Sure he is a waiter and not reception, but this interaction left a real sour taste in our mouths on the first afternoon of our stay. You get a bottle of water in the room on arrival but felt like this should be replaced with each service seeing as though you can't drink the tap water.

    Good location for some trendy restaurants nearby. Right next to Arc de Triumph where there was a Metro stop, didn't use it, but would be handy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location for a stroll, questionable value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise insulation (windows, doors) is relatively poor. The room was quite small, especially when the (required and provided) children's bed was put inside. On the first morning these was no hint of breakfast few minutes before 8a.m. The price this *extra" would have been charged (6.5€!!?) is a joke, bearing in mind that regular breakfast in tea/coffee place just few blocks was its in the range of 2.5 to 4€.

    The location is really good, the staff - friendly and accommodating. Wi-Fi coverage was really decent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    Great Staff, Great Hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have nothing to complain about. Some people might find it a little noisy but it did not bother me at all.

    Location was perfect for me, close to everything but not on top of everything. The staff were wonderful and very patient with me which I really appreciated. Breakfast choice was really good; watching the world go by! Great room, and bathroom. I hope to stay here again. 2 Supermarkets close by, the park across the road, El Born 3 minutes away!1 I walked everywhere, well almost everywhere! I loved every café and restaurant. Buses and taxis outside the hotel. Hannah.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    8.3
    The cheapest decent Hotel at a prime location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (interior)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed could be a bit bigger, I'm not especially tall, and it was... cosy. Some guests were also disrespectful and talked loudly on the floor late at night.

    The location is superb, just by the Arc de Triomf. The Hotel has a nice restaurant, which needs reservation if you don't wanna risk having no available tish. You won't get more for the same at that area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had coffee making facilities and a hairdryer would be good.

    A great small friendly hotel in a fab location to get around the city. Lovely food in restaurant .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Great location, great price, cozy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower cabin is a little too small, was fine for my wife but tight for me. It is a little too loudly from the outside but we were fine with it - it is because of the great location :)

    Location was super great, if you come to visit Barcelona and walk through it. The view to the park made me smile every day. The room was very cozy and everything needed was available. Staff was very nice and helpful. The bed was comfortable. The restaurant helped to have dinner/breakfast if you do not want to walk away to have something to eat. Basically, the restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Flawless
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nada

    We were in the triple room, plenty of space, looking over the park. Quiet street, close to underground and a nice, short walk to the centre. Great value and friendly staff - many thanks.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.9
    Convenient and cosy, old-style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (interior)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But not insulated against noise. At the first night, there were three neighbor girls laughing and talking very late, terribly noisy. During other time, human noise could be heard.

    Convenient and cosy, old-style

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    5.8
    If there is nothing else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On loud street and because hotel full couldn't change to interior room, even though I had requested a quiet room on Booking.com when I made my reservation. Room quite small. Block-out curtains didn't close completely so light entered room from large iodine street lights just outside room.

    Room clean, good location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    Just about perfect for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really - a bit closer to the beach maybe - seemed like a long 15 mins!

    Staff Location for old city/metro/airport connection Quiet at night Value for Money Restaurant Room was compact but well designed with plenty of storage Just about everything in fact!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a hair dryer 😉

    This was such a great little hotel. Loved the location...short cab ride or reasonable walk to main sights and close to Barcoleneta and a beautiful park across the street. My only complaint was there was no hair dryer 😕...but great price and great stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    6.3
    Good price, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper walls. Hotel is only one floor and has no sound proof. It is not only outdoor noise as mentioned in the other reviews but also the noise of the guests (slamming the doors, loud talks in the corridors etc.). I should add the noise of the cleaning staff in the mornings as well. It is not nice to hear them loudly calling eachother from one side of the corridor to other side or listening to music at 8am in the morning.

    Good price, good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    6.3
    dark small room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (interior)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very small room without daylight, without fresh air - windows to inner wall, no light, loud from neighborhoood. aircondition also loud

    clean room, good location, friendly stuff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.3
    Food is delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (interior)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small. AC is strong

    Food is delicious. Location is good near arc de triomph good area not very crowdy, 2min walk from metro station. There's a bus station near hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (interior)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small, window was too close to other building, all the time was dark in the room

    Clean, close to city center, good tv with language change option

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.6
    Brilliant place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom shower is a bit outdated and not much of a view through the window.

    Brilliant location, friendly and helpful staff, really comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    7.9
    Unbeatable location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff are often busy with the restaurant, so not always have someone at the front desk

    Amazing location (walking distance to beach, old town)- great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    pleasant journey and comfortable stay, thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location and good services

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    The restaurant and waiters were perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and waiters were perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel in the Heart of Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (interior)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, the staff and the cleanliness of the Hotel are excellent. I will come and visit you again :).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    The location and the cleanliness of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the cleanliness of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff was friendly, nice bed, clean, modest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (interior)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a hotel with restaurant, It's a restaurant with rooms above it.

    Staff was friendly, nice bed, clean, modest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    Definitely value for money concerning the hotel's location, very polite and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room but decent for its price!

    The location was very good since the hotel is in the centre of the city and relatively close to the beach!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect!!! Clean, friendly staff, location beyond perfect!!! Next time in Barcelona-this hotel definitely!!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Beds were very comfy, great size shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe a fridge in the room, a kettle and maybe a bigger safe

    Beds were very comfy, great size shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff really make the hotel special, Alfrado, Marco, Leo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff really make the hotel special, Alfrado, Marco, Leo and Diago are great guys.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    I hope we be back again and stay in same room
    • Couple
    • Double Room (exterior)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just bad weather when we get there!!!

    It’s really nice and near with metro and tourist spots!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good Sangria in restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good Sangria in restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    Room was without window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (interior)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room was without window. That was annoying. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    it was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room (interior)
    • Stayed 1 night

    most uncomfortable pillows ever. i had a headache in the morning because of it.

    the room was clean and it had everything i needed. bathroom was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse La Ciudadela traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: