Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Exe Laietana Palace 4 stars

Via Laietana, 17, Ciutat Vella, 08003 Barcelona, Spain

#392 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1934 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just small points that the bed and bath tub is too high to climb up especially when one is pregnant. May be inform the team that you will need low height bed and shower..

    Staff are very Friendly and really look after you. Rooms were decent with a great view of gothic cathedral remains. Location is brilliant, very close to many great restaurants, pubs, shops and tourist locations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment me and my partner stepped in the hotel we were impressed. The location is amazing, you are right in the centre of the gothic quater. Room was very spacious and lovely. Lady in the reception was beyond nice. The hotel made our holiday even better. Highly recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the “double bed” is just 2 single beds pushed together. The edge of the bathroom door, where people have held onto it to open and close it, was visibly dirty.

    Great location and lovely room and shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a great deal to be negative about. Not at all fancy, but adequate for dropping off your bags and wandering about town. Didn't eat here or even have breakfats, but friendly staff at all times.

    Ideally situated for Santa Maria Del Mar and the surrounding bars and restaurants.....2 minute walk. Easy walking distance to La Rambla and El Born also.Basic bedroom but fine for a base and getting out and about.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    As it is in the city centre, it is an old building, but very comfortable. Close to the Cathedral and La Rambla. Breakfast was wonderful, good healthy fruit salad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts are a little slow, but otherwise no issues!

    It was very easy to locate. The bed was very comfortable with the perfect amount of pillows! The bathroom was good, plenty of hot water. It was immaculately clean too. Breakfast was pretty decent too, with lots of variety! Great place to stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a corner suite which felt a little claustrophobic, there are giant windows on the ceiling (we were on the last floor) that were shut, as soon as we figured out we could open the shutters and bring in natural light, it did not feel as cramped as it felt when they were closed.

    Location, location, location! This hotel was close to everything. About a 10 minute walk from the beach, right around the corner the gothic quarter, and across the street from El Born. The staff was super helpful and friendly. The hotel rooms were cleaned very well every day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t want a street view as i knew it would be noisey as the hotel is located on a main road. However it was fully booked and this couldn’t be avoided. The receptionist was apologetic which was very nice of her.

    Clean and locations great! Ordered room service at 7am and told it didn’t start until 7.30am and as promised i got my coffee at 7.30am on the dot! So impressed by that!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries were pathetic—just a cheap combine shower gel and shampoo that left me feeling gummy all day. The room was very small and cramped, and the mattresses felt like unsupported futons. Shower was hard to operate without soaking the floor.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful—even gave us a complimentary glass of cava each day in the lobby. Breakfast was pretty good—cold cuts, fruit, and pastries mostly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small and the air conditioning does not work. It was way too warm during the night. The lock was broken and staff was not very keen to fix it. Some power connections didn't work.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC didn't work which should've been ok considering the time of year but with windows open couldn't sleep because of the noisy location. Breakfast, although good, wasn't worth the cost.

    Location, Clean, & Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect. Rooms was infected with ants.. (it’s the season..) bed was too bouncy for two persons to sleep. Staff seems interested and met very few smiles except in the reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    food section at breakfast was lacking if you are vegetarian. Unsanitary behavior from breakfast staff , a member of staff sneezed into his hand then went to food buffet and began touching plates and serving spoons yuk !

    great room , lovely friendly reception staff, poor breakfast food selection,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mabel Murcilla gave us all the information to see the highlights of Barcelona because we got in at 7am changing our flight. When we got back, Érica Navarette gave us a room beyond our expectations informing us on next day activities and a complimentary welcome drink. They are the hostesses with the mostesses deserving raises. Hotel is located in an excellent part of town. I would go back and back again. Friendly and professional service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well, this is not really a 4* hotel. A bit funny example - The cleaning lady forgot to give us toilet paper for several days so we had to ask at the reception to have it delivered to our room. The receptionist simply gave it to us, even though we were headed to the dinner out. I do not expect this behavior from 4* hotel. Another example - big hole in the bed sheets. The breakfast selection was very basic when it comes to savory options. Overall - if you are looking for good location, than fine. If you are looking for 4* service, I do not recommend this hotel.

    The location is nice - between El Raval and Gothic quarter, walking distance to Plaza Catalunya and also to the beach (a bit longer walk). Next to the metro station Jaume I., but be careful, this station is not easily connected to the airport metro station so it is better to take the Aerobus and to walk down from Plaza Catalunya (return ticket online is cheaper:).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only thing that was disappointing was the breakfast. It is exactly the same every day. It was adequate, but much less than what we expected for a 4 star hotel. For example, the eggs were always scrambled powdered eggs that were tasteless and at room temperature. It would have been better for them to hard boil real eggs and leave them for guests. I appreciated the good choices of cheese and charcuterie and breads. Coffee was never hot enough. The bacon was barely cooked - it should be crisp.

    We were delighted with the staff - they were very accommodating, always available and did not hesitate to help us when we asked for extras. They never told us no. Also, the bed was one of the best we've ever had in a hotel. And it was surprisingly quiet. And you can't beat this location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bar at the hotel. No coffee in the rooms nor was it possible to have a coffee in the lobby. For me I would never have chosen this hotel had I known about that. This hotel should not be rated as 4 star hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelt of urine despite telling the staff we had to put up with the smell Hotel room too hot couldnt leave window open as too noisy outside building works going on! As we were next to stairs guests leaving early hours of morning thought nothing of banging their suitcase down every stair!!! Couldn't eat it get home to have a decent nights sleep

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The toilet didn't flush (was fixed) the shower water didn't drain and the room was too hot and stuffy. We asked why the air-con didn't seem to work and was told it wasn't on in any rooms for the time of year and we couldn't keep the window open as the main road was too loud at night time. The road was too loud for the windows to be closed also, need to get double glazing perhaps?? Overall the hotel was a disappointment - i wonder how it is 4 stars?

    i appreciated we were able to check in a couple of hours early. And the location is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy and quit small room facing the main street. The extra services that many hotels offer for free were quite expensive.

    Excelent location, confy bed and fancy shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress was very hard, it seems I felt the springs in the mattress. Even my husband, who likes hard mattresses, felt this one was a bit too hard. The artificial airfreshener/ fragrance throughout the hotel and in the room was overwhelming. I'm afraid a person sensitive to that, would not be able to stay at the hotel. For some strange reason, the bathroom smell reminded of a cat litterbox. The safe was located at the very bottom of the closet...For more mature people, that is difficult. Plus it was too small to put a laptop or DSLR into it.

    The hotel was nice and clean, but: Walking in, one was immediately hit by the fragrance of some kind of airfreshener. I loved the view out of our window onto the old city wall! Room was just spacious enough. The location was great to reach historic parts of the city, and Gaudi's La Pedrera can be reached walking!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise. Could do with better double glazing.

    Cleanliness. Friendly staff. Comfortable bed, spacious room, good ensuite. Good breakfast. Hotel in extremely good position.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A small cosmetic repair at bathroom is probably required.

    Friendly stuff, perfect location in old city center. We have excelent view on old roman city wall, it was very romantic at early morning and at evening. Room was quite big, clean and quiet with two comfortable beds. A big advantages of the room are climate control, small refridgerator and electronic safe. We were enjoing during our stay in Barselona.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic. No bar or even coffee sold. But when asked given a kettle. One plug in whole room . Given an extension!! Small room even tho paid for a upgrade. Bathroom flooded leaking bedel. Then no water in bathroom

    Clean central to town

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor, limited choice...no ketle/cups tea bags/coffee in the room...receptionist gave wrong info on major tourist attraction discounts/time table

    Location is central and handy for turist walk

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way overpriced for hotel in this condition. You only get the street view or “the wall” view. No idea how this is a 4 stars hotel, needs some renovation. Rooms are small and not as impressive as in pictures. DO NOT include breakfast in your booking, not worth the money, you can have a good breakfast for lower price elswhere. Only good thing is location and that is it.

    Location only.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small details - a hole in the curtains, not perfectly clean towels with some stains, quite dirty shower facility.

    Great location, nice hotel lobby, great marble floors. The price is great for this kind of the hotel. Perfectly clean bed comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was far too hot and heating could not be adjusted. AC was no good either. Had to leave window open for whole stay, which would have been fine except the noise from the streets below was so loud and continuous all day and night. No bar or restaurant. Not much by way of facilities.

    Right in the middle of the Gothic Quarter and close to a number of amenities. Room was very clean and well kept. Stocked minibar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is next to the street and at night we could not sleep well as the sound of the cars. And also there was a weird sound in our room every night. Last night I called the reception and told them but they said now is night and morning we should bring the technician to check. The only thing they say it was sorry. Room was too hot as well.

    Location was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing breakfast, good heating in the room, warm even in the january, locality is just perfect, very helpful nice staff, we are looking forward to come back! :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise from outside the Hotel, was a bit louder than I expected and the matrass was pretty hard.

    The location of the hotel was great, the harbor, the Ramblas, Place de Catalunya, all in walking distance. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is poorly designed, likely a consolidation from its "palace" days. There was a chair placed in the middle of the hall, no where to put it as the mini fridge was under the desk! The bathroom is also poorly designed and water from shower flows all over the matble floor creating a safety hazard.

    Nice staff, good location but busy street and cathedral bells for light sleepers.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not sleep due the terrible noise of traffic. It felt as though you were actually sleeping on the street. We were both exhausted and it ruined our break. The noise insulation was non existing. Staff were rude and not at all helpful. We would not recommend this hotel ever.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very nice and clean , you could smell the the perfume in the air(literally) from the entrance . Very close to all the main attractions and port . Staff was very nice and helpful! Highly recommend!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Perfect location. Friendly stuff. Later check out. I asked for a quite room and they gave me a very nice room with Church Views. Was perfectly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel. Lovely room, amazing breakfast (booking.com asked about the bacon, there wasn’t any, not that I was expecting any) fantastic location. Not good reviews on trip advisor, they must’ve stayed in a different hotel!!! It was fantastic!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that as a 4 star hotel, it didn't have any heating. So, at 12 degrees Celsius at night it was uncomfortable without heating.

    Great location in the city. Close to the important places to go in Barcelona like Gothic Quarter and LA Rambla and all attractions. The staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT !!!!

    The management and staff were MORE than helpful and accommodating. We had accidentally booked the wrong dates and the hotel staff took care of EVERYTHING ! They did not charge us any more and they called Booking for us!! THEY WERE SIMPLY AMAZING !!!!!!! Most places would have turned us away and said there was nothing they can do since we booked via third party but NOT Exe Laietana Palace... !! I would go here EVERYTIME we visit Spain!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar, room was a box room, wardrobe not big enough for clothes, duvet was ripped & filthy, staff with the exception of 1 were ignorant

    Location was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1-2 star motel somehow deceptionly passing as a 4 star hotel. 1. Mislead and overpaid for a low end motel, as this does not qualify to be listed as a hotel as that requires accomodations and hospitality which this place lacks. Forget the pictures and good reviews other people supposedly posted as it’s all a facade as. There are walls, doors, beds and a bathroom but it’s a scam. 2. Do not book as non refundable as I tried to get a refund from them and by calling Booking.com and could not as I had prepaid. Wanted so desperately to check out and find something else but a) could not get a refund for the remaining 3 days b) couldn’t find a place nearby as all decent places were booked. Was willing to sacrifice monies lost, even called Amex but they could only find availability far away from the city center 3. A/C does not work. Luckily I visited in October where the nights are cooler but during the day there’s barely fan air coming through the duct. Maintenance came twice, 1st time he said ok will turn on central since it’s apparently not on, give it a few hours. Turned on level 3 and left, btw there is no thermometer. Came back to hot room. 2nd time I called they said maintenance needs to come inside the room to check. As I had just woken up I asked they please just turn on the a/c, as I needed to shower and get ready, nope maintenance needed to come into my room with Manager. He puts a thermometer up on the fan exhaust and says a/c is working. I explained it needs to cool off the entire room including the bathroom. He walked around the room with a tiny thermometer speaking Spanish to the Manager. Snobbish rude Manager sticks her finger up in the air in front of the faint fan not a/c and says, a/c is working yes? I then realized that under no circumstances were they willing to rectify the situation as it appears a/c either was damaged, did not exist or they did not want to turn it on.

    Nothing place is a structure with thin walls, doors, a disfunctional bathroom with no air, hardest beds and terrible deceiving people.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our view was a Building site, the works at back of building where our room was situated was very loud in morning Lack of hot options for breakfast No bar in hotel couldn’t even order a non alcoholic drink Room although clean furniture was old, tv unit was very unstable

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I paid in advance via credit card the hotel fees and the taxes. When I checked out the clerk wanted me to pay again until I insisted that I already paid. She checked the hotel computer and said okay but she said I still had to pay additional local taxes of 4.86 Euro. If I did not check my records, I could have double paid the hotel bill. Why is the local taxes not included in the original hotel bill disclosures? The internet connection in the room did not work properly and had to be fixed.

    Nice location and clean facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is in a great location allowing you to walk to all sectors. The staff were super friendly and helpful getting us a quiet room and allowing a late check out. Very happy to stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi didn't work. The tea cooker at breakfast was put at low temperature, had to change it myself.

    My room was to the back. You should always ask for a room to the back, as in front is a busy street. Lady at reception was so nice!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kettle, coffee and tea in the room would cost too much for the hotel but would certainly add value for money

    Staff is welcoming, professional and extremely helpful. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee making facilities in the room would have been useful but the staff were very helpful bringing me coffee very early in the morning.

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some makeup went missing from the room No bar to sit in and have a drink

    Good location central to beach area, gothic quarter and ramblas Friendly and helpful reception staff Room at the back of The property away from the Noise of the road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms should be cleaner, it was dusty under the bed! Little overpriced room in relation to the amenities of the hotel! Should include water dispensers mashine, in case someone wanted to make coffee or tea. Another thing is the paid balance machine in order to weigh the luggage, i found it very odd honestly to pay 1 euro, it should be free and considered as a facility from the behalf of the hotel! Other than this, everything was good

    The staff are extremely helpful and gentle, very professional The location of the hotel is perfect!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were completely unhelpful and couldn't answer any of our very basic questions. For instance, we asked about transfer to Tossa de Mar and receptionist shrugged her shoulders and said she didn't know. We easily found information ourselves later. The room Was barebones with a very hard mattress. The evening receptionist looked like a teenager in cutoff jean shorts and Tshirt. This was not a four star hotel.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast very simple. Prices were not as per confirmation. Please check once at check out for the value on the Booking.com reservation!!

    Very clean hotel and nice confortable beadrooms in a very central position

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was so loudly. Cleaning starts so early and u wake up with that noise. Actually It wasn't look like 4 star hotel. It should be maximum 3 star. Just location is good. Don't recommend

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms on the front are noisy. Basic Hotel doesn't offer any facilities so if you want just a clean room no fuss then its fine. Staff are efficient, not overly friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was absolutely nothing like the photos shown on this website for "view the room". Instead of a sizeable room with large windows and a view, I was in something the size of a cupboard with one small window with no view and basically no light. When my friend tried to book an extra night, they offered a price and when she didn't take it, they haggled her down. I don't expect expensive hotels to be haggling and giving what are essentially inflated prices to try to con tourists, but that is clearly what they did. For one whole day we had no water, which we didn't know was the case until we got there, and they offered no compensation beyond a two-hour extension for my checkout (which we all know hotels can give anyway). If the rooms were realistically presented and the prices according to this - and then if we were compensated when there was no water - I would have less problem with the hotel. But they are con artists, pure and simple. I'll never come back. You've been warned.

    Nothing because the whole thing was a con.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    THE ONE LADY IN BREAKFAST AREA WAS LIKE A MATRON !!! AND SUSPICIOUS OF US TAKING FOOD CAUSE ON THE FIRST DAY I DID NOT KNOW I COULD NOT TAKE A MUFFIN WITH ME OUT OF BREAKFAST AREA THE MARBLE POLISHER/DRILLER WAS A BIT OF AN IRRITATING ONE-2 DAYS WORKING OUTSIDE OUR DOOR THE TV HAD NO ENGLISH CHANNELS WORKING AND THE TECHNICIAN SENT WAS NOT KNOWING HIS JOB SO NEVER GOT TV TO WATCH ENGLISH/BBC/CNN NEWS OR SPORT

    PROXIMITY/CLEANLINESS/VIBE/PRIVACY

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was relatively basic for what we paid for it. However, was clean and staff were helpful when required.

    The location was excellent, walking distance to lots of the main attractions and easily accessible to many metro stations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, the hotel was excellent.

    Very conveniently situated - walking distance to old part of city and port area. The hotel was comfortable, very clean, and served an excellent breakfast with hot and cold dishes. The bed was rather too firm for my taste but the bathroom was very smart. On the whole it was excellent value for money and I would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually my bracelet went missing so put everything in the safe cause the staff couldn't do anything and ofcourse the bracelet was never found

    Breakfast- AC

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny, no more than 50 cm around the bed. Tiny space to hang and store clothes. Old fashioned shower (telephone style shower head in narrow bathtub - nothing like the photos of the modern showers/bathrooms in the web site. Cleaning was well below par

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were first given a room on first floor facing the street. Due to poor phonic isolation and dense traffic, was difficult to get decent sleep. The following day, we were provided with a quite room at the back, but when we went back from dinner, we were shocked by the awful sewer smell coming from the shower... too tired to change room. Outcome: an outrageously expensive place considering poor standing if rooms When we signaled this to the lobby attendant upon checkout, no reaction, mere indifference

    Location is ideal to start a visit in the old city center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On surface room clean, but corners filthy. Tear in duvet cover. Windows dirty inside and out. Shower water went all over floor made it treacherous. Breakfast only one cereal, cheap cornflakes. Had better breakfast in a 3*. Poor complimentary products. Had to ask for a kettle. No tea, coffee, sugar, milk offered. Bathroom door edge and around handle dirty and sticky.

    Lovely staff. Great location. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    maybe have a tea/coffee machine in the room. better beds - ours was slightly creaky if you moved the slightest bit. wish they had spa/gym/pool facilities.. but without it still a great hotel!

    the location is great! Via Laitenna is a prominent road in Barcelona city, very close to the beach around 15 minutes walk.. local amnesties. great food close by.. can walk to sites like barcelona zoo, or arc de trimof in 20 minutes. the room was lovely - spacious, and had a great open door window for the breeze to come in. had air con aswell :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed (mattress) was really uncomfortable. The shower area badly designed, the water ran out all the time. Not enough shower gel, and no shampoo.

    Rooms were small but cost and nice chilled!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    The hotel is located on the Laietana, 5 minutes walk to the seaside, 5 minutes walk to Plaza Catalunia, in brief it is very well located within the touristic heart of Barcelona. The room was ok, not so spacious but definitely not small. The bathroom was clean and modern. The staff sas helping and smiling. The breakfast could be improved, considering the price, but still acceptable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a terrible disappointment. Powdered tasteless eggs and not so good sausages. Fruit was fine. Coffee was not nice and only available after 730am. Needed earlier.

    Location. The staff were nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As kettle in the room would have been nice in the morning

    The views over the roman wall, the beds were comfortable,staff were kind when husband was unwell

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deposit of 25 euros in order to receive the room safe box key. I was really surprised With this...in this type of hotel. It is the first time I gave a deposit to use a safe box...and The worst is that while paying the hotel bill before leaving for the airport, I forgot to return the key and get my 25 euros back....I phoned from the Prat airport as soon as I realized I had the key ...but in spite I offer to send the key express mail from London and get back my money, they said that they were sorry....I wander how many people staying at the Exe hotel forget about returning the safe box key.....I think it is a must for the people at the reception to remind the clients about returning the key. Another issue is the importance of having bottles of water available at no charge....😒

    The location, the cleanliness, the friendly personnel,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows don't close well and you hear the street very loud. We complaint but they couldn't change the room. There is no sound insulation between rooms and you can hear everything from the corridor. The rooms are a little bit small.

    The fact that was a very clean and modern hotel, close to everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room is too small, to avoid the 2 floor - too noisy, and not enough day light coming in.

    The hotel is perfectly situated , right in the heart of the Gottic district, close to the port and numerous bars, a supermarket is next door, the open bus tour stop is 50 m across the street , 10 min walk from the Catalonia square to take the shuttle to the airport . Friendly stuff, comfortable bed, clean rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could be a little more interesting. At present it is ok but not exciting.

    Great little hotel in very convenient location. Staff super friendly. i called asking for a balcony which i was told was not possible as there are very few room with balconies. but to my happy surprise on arrival i was given a beautiful room with view on old baqrcelona and two balconies. Staff super friendly and helpful. Everything was perfect. Gracias!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel fronts onto a main North/South road through the city. Parking was awkward even just to get out of a taxi and rooms on the front would be very noisy.

    The location, in the Gothic Quarter near the cathedral, was excellent and put most attractions of Barcelona within walking distance. Our room was clean and tidy and looked out over the old city walls. Breakfast gave a comprehensive choice although the scrambled eggs were pretty rubbery.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Shower stalls were set up kind of weird. The "fixed" glass shower door was not secured to the sill, allowing the huge glass panel to swing in and out, which let water spill on the bathroom floor.

    Located right in the heart of the old city, Barri Gotic. Couldn't beat the location. We changed rooms and got one that directly faced the old Roman Wall. What a view, especially when it is lit up in lights. Concierge was especially helpful, getting us taxis (very tough during the rush hours), and letting us know when we should be going to various attractions so we wouldn't have to wait in line.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no place to sit and have a coffee, no bar. Did not replenish the room. I drank the bottled water first day and never replaced. Had to ask for toilet roll. The staff appear to be indifferent and the hotel needs some TLC as it is generally tired looking.

    The Location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived from Morocco where we stayed in a 4 star and were treated like royalty. We arrived at this hotel, hardly greeted, not even a smile and the female manager there was just as rude. I told the staff how my luggage had been lost, they didn't even offer any help. Didn't mention is there anything we can do? There is a supermarket next door if you need toiletries. Nothing! We were then welcomed by our minuscule room where the bed was ridiculously springy, old and uncomfortable. Only to find nothing resembled the photos. I complained and they said they had nothing available until tomorrow. The next morning I was greeted by a lovely gentleman who apologised for everything, changed our room and went above and beyond for us. He even phoned he airline multiple times to track my suitcase. What was interesting is the rude staff we had initially continued to be rude. Besides this lovely gentleman and one other lady, our stay would have been completely ruined. And it was our honeymoon. The hotel is extremely overpriced and is definitely not a 4 star. If you are lucky enough to get the only two nice staff when you arrive you will enjoy your stay, otherwise good luck. I don't know how these people have jobs. When we were leaving, I said goodbye to one of the girls and she literally mummbled something back that sounded like a groan. We will definitely be returning to this amazing city, just not that hotel. I was reluctant to write a bad review given the man went above and beyond to fix the damage those girls caused, however when they Continued to be rude I thought I would hate for someone to experience what we did with them.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have expected something a little nicer for the price.

    Very nice and comfortable room, clean bathroom, great location near Born and Barceloneta beach. Really helpful and friendly staff! Elevator was a plus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very small but also not comfortable, and available amenities do not match 4star European standard We found live ants in the room (or ants found us)

    Perfect location - meters from metro and bus station, in a middle of the old city and walking distance from many attractions

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Exe Laietana Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: