Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Room Mate Larios 4 stars

Marqués de Larios, 2, Malaga Centro, 29005 Málaga, Spain

#7 of 92 hotels in Málaga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1094 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were met with amazingly friendly staff. Attention to detail everywhere you turned. Can’t fault anything about this hotel. Perfect stay - didn’t want to leave.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an art exhibition on during our stay which meant the lift was not as available as it could have been as there was only one lift.

    Everything was 100% satisfactory from the minute we arrived till we left. Our luggage was looked after on our last day as we had a late flight. Staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Excellent location and friendly staff. We had an apartment which was clean modern and a balcony offered a great view of the square. Bed was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    noise from terrace bar late 3am,construction work going on second floor,to be fare we got another room on the 3rd floor and there was a genuine effort to understand our position we were staying twelve nights. i would recommend you avoid the 4 th floor especially at weekends if you like your 7/8 hours sleep.

    location ,Breakfast, Rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I have little good to say about this hotel. For a 4 star hotel our room was basic, situated outside the hotel. It was uncomfortable and subject to a lot of noise from the plaza below. Despite our efforts to move rooms this was not possible without paying a significant increase. We didn’t end up spending the night in the hotel (or rather random room) and checked out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking the car. It would be helpful to have someone meet you and assist with drop off of luggage/checkin and park the car.

    The location and the beautiful room with a balcony facing the square

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The airconditioning was not available at the time of our stay. Without this the room was hot. With the window open the street noise was quite intrusive.

    Central location, very helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    We had very spacious, comfortable junior suite overlooking the main square Breakfasts were first rats ... and in a very relaxing atmosphere We liked the choice of being able to breakfast any time between 7am and midday

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel improvements/repairs going on so staircases out of action, a period without water and a near dangerous situation where dirty water came through an attic space as I was about to walk past. There was a lot of noise and the rooftop terrace was not available for part of a day.

    Very good communication with hotel prior to arrival. Helpful staff, excellent location. Breakfast room spacious with a range of seating. Food plentiful, varied and attractively presented. Room had a Juliet balcony so airy but quiet. Roof top terrace provided beautiful views across Malaga.Paid more than normal for a city break but considered the cost worthwhile.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    being able to have a hot drink and no bar as such for a drink, rooftop closed, and bar in restaurant not very welcoming.

    only had 1 breakfast it was ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the hotel and location which is based right in the heart of Malaga The staff were all amazing and the service outstanding We would both definitely visit again 😁

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning wasn't working, pillows far to big giving a stiff neck, however after speaking to reception we were informed that air conditioning wasn't working on our floor and moved us to another room.

    Very clean, reasonabley spacious and no noise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One disadvantage of the location is that it's noisy at night but the location is so good that's worth it. Would have liked a slightly bigger, firmer bed!

    Really lovely staff and the location is unbelievable. Breakfast was very good and the apartment was great. Great hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to leave...

    The room was spacious & had everything you could possobly imagine. Rooftop bar - good fun & great views. Amazing breakfast - vast selection, replenished & different each day. All staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better. No teapot for tea. Poor fruit snd yoghurt selection. Rooftop terrace could have been more comfortable and drink was quite expensive on the terrace. €5 for about half a pint of beer.

    Staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. Hotel is ideally situated and taxis can pick up and drop off just around the corner from the hotel entrance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very small room - we choose the inside of the hotel because the other side was on a busy street. But from the window you look at a wall on 1 meter distance. The bed was small (queen size) and so was the room. No facilities for tea-coffee on the room. Our room was next to the lift and metal staircase for the personnel - with quite some noise in the early morning. And we could have upgraded to a bigger room - at extra cost. But cost-benefit ration was already high.

    Nice hotel at an excellent location. Breakfast is very good and the breakfast room is very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise..... if you like noise all night then this is the place for you. Not just people on the toilet in the next room but the all night noise from outside. Screaming/shouting most nights until early hours, Sunday and Monday night the local council jet wash(with industrial size generator) the square and streets, this started about 1am and went on for well over an hour. Have stayed at several hotels nearby previously and never had this noise problem, I guess not much the hotel can do about it but at the prices they charge here it’s not great if you can’t sleep. Avoid.

    Love Malaga, frequent visitor, the place is beautiful and restaurants fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More crockery and cutlery because only three of each for two people meant we ran out of mugs after just one cup of tea. Also more kitchenette space, there were masses of empty cupboards and virtually no work surface, we had to put the bread board on the hob and the washing up on the tea towel on the stainless steel work board. We were also unfortunate enough to choose the week when they were setting up for the film festival right underneath our window, so it was scaffolding, bottle banking and workmen delivering copious noisy instructions first thing in the morning.

    The central location, the spaciousness of the apartment, the extra pillows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff on reception desk and made to wait to check as Room was ready even though check in opened 45mins before, for price of room not exceptable

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The towels could be fluffier but that is a minor point.

    We have stayed here three times before - each time it gets better! The staff are excellent - very friendly and efficient. We love the breakfast - good coffee, great food and a good variety. It is especially good that it goes on till twelve so we could have a leisurely start to our day and also it allowed us the opportunity to fit in with our son's work commitments. The rooftop terrace is great as well. The view from our room was wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect, the hotel was perfect and is now my number one choice for whenever we return to Malaga. The bed was the most comfortable that I have ever slept in. The staff were so helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect, even lent us a UK adaptor as we forgot ours. Sorry to say we also forgot to give it back to them. Location is as good as it gets.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looks a bit old somehow. Both bathroom and room looked a little old. My room was not exterior...

    It is very well located in the city centre, right next to the shopping area and one step from many restaurant options.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive for Hotel facilities on offer. No spa or fitness suite.

    Fantastic location in the heart of Malaga. Junior Suite was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall the hotel was good. However, I asked for a quiet room and was given 415 which is adjacent to some electrical equipment which emitted a load hum lasting about 5 mins approximately every 20 minutes during the night. Sleep was interrupted even with ear plugs. This is a period building few of the rooms will be identical, so your stay may be perfect but ours was spoiled AND the management should have known about the noise.

    Its central location convenient for all sites. Its stylish decor and cleanliness.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Fantastic location right in the centre of Malaga; spacious room, very comfortable bed, friendly staff, better breakfast than in many Spanish hotels

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was bumpy and had to ask for tea making facilities which were provided free of charge

    Really friendly staff great location super breakfast and big comfortable bed. Nice roof bar. Lovely fragrance throughout. Nice deco styling

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small with a window looking onto a wall, there was a loud noise of a ventillator every half an hour in the room. There was no kettle or a bottle of water provided. The price is incredibly high.

    The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was big. Everything was spotlessly clean. It is right at the main square of the pedestrian zone, close to everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very obliging staff who changed our room when we didn't like the hum from the air-conditioning unit above our previous one-number 414. Though we then got a room overlooking the main street it is pedestrian and there is good soundproofing so it was quiet. Nice toiletries, comfy beds with choice of different pillows, large varied buffet breakfast at reasonable price. Fab central location . Convenient for many eateries. Loved Casa Lola. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture feels a little bit old, the elevator makes funny noises during descent, the breakfast is standard - I would have liked more options.

    Location is as central as you can get and the staff is very helpful and welcoming. Very decent prices for the minibar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift a little scarey weird noises on descent Can hear a lot of noise from street in rooms but of you are a good sleeper no big deal

    Bed so comfortable great pillows! Receptionist was excellent very informative and friendly excellent English she would be an asset in any high end hotel. Lovely views from roof top bar Bar man really good as it was quite cold he brought a blanket to put over our knees great attention to detail. Breakfast was very good a lot of choice. Hotel was in great location very central and very modern and tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed at apartments. There should be a staff for security and communicaition. It is not nearby the hotel. It is near the hotel and opposite side of the hotel.

    Everything is OK. Location is perfect and staffs were very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good, bread lovely, but there was no English tea! Petty maybe, but on the day we left we were at breakfast at 8 and there were 6 English tea bags only so no wonder they when very quickly, so bring your own tea bags!!!

    Excellent location so close to restaurants bars beach etc. Room was lovely and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our visit was too short,only a week.

    Everything from location to comfort of room and friendly staff. Perfect location with any amount of eating/dinking places on your doo step. Your only minutes away from the lovely Marina and beach plus many museums,castles and lovely walks.It's a lovely city and well worth a visit, we had a roof top bar at the hotel and it was quite lively at the weekend - good fun

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English language news channels on TV No BBC or CNN (only Bloomberg which is not a news channel) No tea or coffee making facilities (although staff very kindly provided some when we asked)

    Large and spacious High ceilings Good noise insulation

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t like sounds around us. It’s almost you can hear everything around your room, from the people working at the streets to the our neighbor is in the next room.

    What I like is the location of hotel. This hotel is at center of the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect. Location was fantastic and in midst of beautiful streets. Important museums was within five minutes walk. Above all room and breakfast was great. If I go to Malagar again, I would like to stay there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t watch much tv on holiday but an English tv channel for news would make a slight difference.

    I was really happy with my over all experience, I didn’t try the restaurant in the hotel so I can’t comment but I found the staff from the reception to the cleaners to be very polite and courteous.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift could do with some maintenance.

    Helpful, friendly and professional reception staff in all matters. Clean, quiet rooms.. Sunbathing facilities on the roof were good. Good breakfast. Bathroom has a proper bath tub.This is our 3rd stay in this hotel. This particular Room Mate Hotel is better than the others in Málaga.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The long walk up a pedestrianised street with two heavy suitcases, and it was very noisy in the early evening, but then it was the Christmas/New Year period. And perhaps a little far from the sea.

    Small but beautifully designed room, bed v comfortable. Perfect city hotel ideal location for strolling, eating and museums. For breakfast it has is a lovely dining room overlooking the square.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival we asked about room details and decided to pay 10EUR to upgrade from basic to standard room with windows to the street. Was considering Junior suite but other guest arrived earlier and also decided to pay and upgrade.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a lovely time here the junior suite was fabulous so spacious and big comfortable bed. the location was very central right on the Main Street for the Christmas light show. The staff were very polite and helpful we had a medical emergency and re emotion contact the doctor who rand us immediate and arranged to call in a few hours the doctor referred us to a local hospital fir an emergency procedure . it's all was seamless. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee in the breakfast area was only provided by a machine and failed to match the standard of the rest of the hotel. There was no espresso machine.

    The style of the hotel was attractive and the junior suite was spacious, although the bathroom was a little small in comparison to the room and the shower leaked water onto the floor. In particular the staff at reception were consistently very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the square below. Glazing of the windows could be improved to prevent this. Special Xmas programme of entertainment exacerbated this, but local noise penetrated too. This is our only complaint, otherwise all else excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inside bar no longer open unless weather bad, noise from construction next door, we had to move rooms. Noisy when chairs being moved in function room.

    Right in centre, great view of Xmas light show, comfortable rooms, good showers, helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked to stay longer!

    Excellent and friendly hotel with Art Deco details and super comfy beds. Our room overlooked Calle Larios with its fabulous Christmas lights and a lovely view of the cathedral. Fantastic location in the centre of everything. Loved the rooftop bar. Will definitely be back

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is somewhat limited - could really do with more hot food and more fresh fruit. The lift kept breaking down (although this was probably a good thing as it gave me some exercise!). A few pubic hairs left in the bidet and on the bathroom floor weren't great - but at least I didn't get charged extra for them!

    Wonderful staff, great little hotel at a great price. Gorgeous junior suite. Just the nicest place to stay in Malaga.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in MALAGA to see the Christmas lights and chose to stay at Room Rate Larois. We arrived a little early and our rooms were not ready, so we left our bags at reception. We took a little lunch and after an hour we returned and were upgraded to a junior suite. Which was great ,we were two couples and both of us had the upgrade. We had a great stay and are looking forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the trade-off for the location was the noise in the street during the night.

    The apartment was just around the corner from the hotel, so the location was excellent (above Costa so there was coffee on-hand!!). Spacious and comfortable with lovely views out into the square below. Two small balconies - one in the lounge, the other in the bedroom - perfect to sit in the lounge with the French doors open. Everything just a stones throw - bars, restaurants, shops etc. Fantastic views from the hotel roof terrace too. Really couldn't be better located. One of the best places we have stayed in Malaga.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely fantastic staff, helpful and attentive. Went out of their way to help when my wife lost her iPhone. Great location and very comfortable room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My wife's dietary requirement (gluten-free) was well catered for. The staff were friendly and efficient, and helpful to English-speaking guests. The Christmas lights in the street outside were a memorable bonus

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit cheaper!!

    Superb check in staff. Very friendly. The male receptionist when we checked out was a complete gentleman and so friendly to us both.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit pricey for this time of year but comparable to other four stars in Malaga.

    Our second visit - last time in the apartments which were a little noisy with the windows open . It was Saturday night so expect that however we had a room in the hotel this time overlooking the street and heard very little noise.Great staff - perfect location in the middle of everything . Would definitely come back here again and for the extra 10 Euro to upgrade our room it was well worth it. Thanks to the Room Mate group for good hotels in great locations ( we also stayed in the one in Granada Room Mate Leo )

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music thump. Quite expensive.

    Superb location. Comfortable room. But had to convince the staff that I need heating in the room. It was November and nights were already getting cold. There is thumping music that reaches the room, apparently not all nights though.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit noisy at night due to the city cleaning team which is cleaning the street with noisy machine. Unfortunately, but independent from the hotel, there was "maintenance work" on a shop underneath the hotel. Impossible to rest during the day (but work ends at 6pm) which was really disturbing especially at this price. Warning customers or adjusting prices could be appreciated for everyone as it shows reactivity and care from the hotel.

    Lovely and very helpful staff. The localisation is amazing, in one of the most famous street in malaga. Lot of great restaurants and bars around Rooms were clean, spacious and modern. Breakfast is excellent with a large variety of foods even kind of healthy (soja milk, granola, turkey ham etc) Amazing view on the rooftop with a bar to appreciate the warm weather even in november.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An excellent location in the heart of the old city right at the corner of the Plaza de la Constitución and Marqués de Larios. There was construction with very loud noise beside the hotel, but we were given rooms at the other end of the hotel where the noise could not be heard. The construction company had agreed to limit work from 10AM to 6PM so the dining room was quiet for breakfast and in the evening. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff quite obliging in every way.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities were just what we wanted

    the staff were very welcoming and helpful the bedroom and bathroom were in the excellent class with a great outlook into the main street and view of the cathedral tower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our bed was small- better to book a twin room if you want a proper sized bed

    everything is great here, the staff, the location, the breakfast quality is superb

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much

    Position of hotel great for getting round Malaga and you can walk out at night and feel safe even going out for drinks and meals you don’t have far to walk back to the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Downside is that you cannot park at the hotel, but the car park is an easy 5 minutes walk from there.

    Great location! Room and bathroom were very clean. We had the Junior suite which had a fantastic view. Beatifuly decorated and the windows and doors could open up on a small balcony so you felt like you were almost outside! Big bonus! We could sit with a glass of wine and do people watching in the square below. Breakfast was very good. We will definitely stay here again!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The room was comfortable and clean, everything spotless, good bed and pillows. Can be a little noisy from the street, but in general all well. Very attentive and polite staff, always ready to help. We had no breakfast, so cannot comment on it. The only thing - it is impossible to drive to the hotel entrance, as it is in the pedestrian area, so it took us a while to park our car and walk there for 10 min with all our luggage. It is in the heart of Malaga with all shops, restaurants and sights at hand

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not on site. Not a problem, but should be made clear to guests that you cannot access hotel via car, only on foot. Public paid parking about 5 minute walk. Great location fun city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being in the hotel I booked. The noise!

    It was extremely noisy and we got little sleep. On arriving at the hotel, we were told that we were not in that hotel but had to walk outside the building to another location. This was not mentioned when booking. I would not have booked if I had known this. It was misleading!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee in apartment

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Gave my daughter a little gift (sweets) on our departure Lovely breakfast Fantastic location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apartment was well equipped and very comfortable in a fantastic location. Roof top bar was special - would have liked it to have been open in the afternoon...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is a fifth-floor terrace with bar where recorded music with a pronounced bass beat plays continuously. Generally this stops at 11 pm but on one evening it went on until 2 am and the beat could be very clearly heard in our room. We mentioned this at reception the following morning. Concern was expressed and the beat seemed subsequently much less evident but In our view the speakers should be totally isolated from the hotel structure.

    The hotel is very well situated, in the heart of Malaga. The third-floor room was spacious and comfortable, with a small balcony overlooking the main street and part of a square. The bed was large, soft and comfortable. Wardrobe and other storage space was ample. Breakfast, in a spacious area adjacent to the first-floor reception, with windows on to a main street and a square, was ample, with good choices. Staff are unobtrusive, pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    terrace bar not in sun in the evening so didn't use.

    fantastic location, very comfortable room. air conditioning effective, sound proofing of rooms great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like about Room Mate Larios

    The location very central. Rooms very well appointed spotless clean very helpful staff excellent breakfast until noon. Lovely square. Room Mate Larios is just a perfect place to stay and we are already planning our next trip!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clean and well positioned accommodation... the only downside to the location is noise but this is no fault of the hotel and we would have no hesitation in recommended to friends and family.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Accommodation - there was a generator going the entire time and although we raised the concern with the Reception it continued through our entire stay. Not impressed.

    Breakfast at additional cost was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ok, now the negatives. When we booked in to reception we were told that if you wanted a drink on the roof terrace at the bar to advise the staff that you were a resident and you would get a small discount. We went to roof terrace early evening for a drink before we went out for dinner, told the lady that came to take our order that we were residents, she looked at me as if I had two heads, took our order, went to bar, spoke to the other staff who were behind bar who then all looked over at us and started laughing. After we had our drink, we went to the bar to ask if the drinks could be put on our room, was told that was not possible, then when we got the bill there was no discount, we advised the barman that we had been told we would get discount because we were residents but was told no that was not the case.We went to reception on our way out and expained what had happened and the receptionist phoned the bar and then told us there had been a misunderstanding and we would get discount next time. As the weather was fab and the views from roof terrace were great we thought we would try again so went went back on our second night. Once again we asked for discount and were given it but only after we had been given bill at full price. On our third and final night we once again went to bar. We had the same drinks as we had the night before but were charged a different amount , the barmaid didn't have a clue about resident discount and after explaining how much we had paid night before eventually got our discount. When we arrived back at hotel after being out for the evening on the Friday night we had to queue to get into the lift to go to our room on the fourth floor as there were so many people waiting to go up to the roof terrace bar which was obviously very popular with locals.

    Location of hotel was excellent. Could not have been any better. Right in heart of old town with everything on your doorstep. Lots of bars, restaurants, shops, places of interest to visit etc. Bed was extremely comfortable and room was a good size. We were staying in a basic room so no view so if you want a square or street view worth paying that little bit more I would suggest as location and setting is superb. Breakfast was very good, good choice of things. Oscar the receptionist was an absolute delight. Was SO helpful and friendly, unlike bar staff but more of that later, and was great at suggesting places to eat etc and helped with taxi etc. He was a total credit to hotel. Bathroom was great size and the shower was nice and powerful too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fruit at breakfast either so underripe to be inedible, almost rotten, or in original state i.e. whole oranges which though nice are not very practical! Everything else very good, and good value.

    Really nice to be able to make tea in the room (junior suite). Bed very comfortable and bathroom very well equipped with stuff you don't normally find. Good quality products too. Fruit a

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was dreadful, virtually unusable. Even when connected to the hotel wifi I was getting messages saying that there was no internet connection when trying to download newspapers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Mate was a great hotel the breakfast was till noon that was nice a wide variety of food to select from the staff was very nice especially the man his name is (oscar) he would go out of his way to help us we thank him a lot for his amazing service. The area is a must visit the Larios was an outstanding shopping attraction and a great walk around the city the beach was only 15 min walk from our hotel its very easy to get around with there public train you can go to where ever you want and also if you stay at room mate don't forget to ask for the free vodafon wife that can be taken with you all over that was a plus for our stay thank you room mate for such a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great

    Excellent location, comfy beds, excellent staff, clean and my grand daughter loved it, the roof top proved a great place for her imagination to escape and made her feel Rumpunsel was in the tower of the cathedral she could view clearly. We would definitely come back here.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: