Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Las Cancelas 3 stars

Cruz Vieja, 6, 05001 Avila, Spain

#9 of 24 hotels in Avila

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 536 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    A beautiful building with charming rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be easier if someone spoke at least a bit of English.

    A beautiful building with charming rooms. Parking is available just besides the building. It is just next to the cathedral, in the pedestrian zone. The staff was very friendly and helpful, although none spoke any English. The breakfast was very nice, although no information was given on what it was.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Very good location, great people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Vacuum cleaning the bathroom and living areas to pick up the black hairs. Its very clean other than this oversight.

    Good choice in hotel to see the walls of Avilla. Getting to the car park and hotel is great fun. Warm and welcoming staff. We ate at their restaurants for all our meals. It was so easy to return to the hotel from the major attractions, refresh, have a meal and venture out again. Lovely old building with a lot of history. Go for the gins and tonics, skip the glasses of wine. We wanted a room with a view and this is what we got, provided you climbed the ladder and poked your head out of the sky light. Quirky. However, the room was a great size and very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Characterful hotel with spacious rooms and great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central by main gate. Spacious rooms and characterful hotel. Great restaurant inside and also terraces outside. Best food of holiday. Bus and taxis for station nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    After finding the hotel with our local guide in the car it was worth the hassle,just get a BIG MAP.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the hotel in Avila was a nightmare,eventually got near,left my wife in the Porsche went on foot found the hotel as just couldn't find a way to drive there, Me wife then walked about 150 meters to the hotel and a member of staff came back to the car,We then went back out of the walled city and weaved our way back to the hotel and even with a local guide took all of 10/15 minutes.but must admit the hotel/staff were real great and yes would stay. There again just get a much bigger map of the old city forget tom Tom would have you driving around and around for ever. Was it worth the location problem YES........YES.......YES

    Didn't have but really good breakfast on offer which we had, lovely helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.1
    Loved Avila--should have stayed more than one night.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was not as friendly as other hotels we booked on this trip.

    Very nice location--close to parking garage (if we'd only known which one to go to in the first place!) just opposite stair access to the walls and the fabulous cathedral. Having a restaurant in the hotel was a plus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    We were really pleased with our choice of hotel and recommend it to anybody.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts were a bit basic....maybe include a few hot options. The car park was tricky to find, but OK when you found it.

    Our room had character, as did the whole hotel. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The hotel was in an ideal position to visit the town. It was terrific value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    A great hotel in what must be the most incredible walled city on Earth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit difficult to find by car, but member of staff came to show us how to get there, which was great

    Great location within the walls of an amazing city. Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.9
    Good base to explore Avila
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not too comfortable and the walls are quite thin. We could hear our neighbors.

    Location is great, everything is in walkable distance. The hotel has a very good restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    9.2
    Great location - we'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was adequate, but a bit of a disappointment after the excellent dinner we had enjoyed the previous evening. WiFi was a bit clunky.

    Fabulous location inside the city walls. Friendly staff who spoke English and our bags were carried up to our room. Secure parking. The U tube video to find the car park was a great idea and worked really well. Spacious room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.9
    Not for the disabled or those without the patience of Jobe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to find. Hotel put a short video on their site to show how to drive to the hotel. But it appeared as a black screen on my devices. You have to drive on pedestrian walkways to get to the hotel with restaurant tables in the way. Not for the disabled. And ONLY for very SMALL cars. Exhauating.

    Ambience.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    5.4
    Stay in Salamanca and visit for the day
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning installed throughout first floor of hotel. Windows too small to give sufficient cool air flows. On a very hot July evening it was not what we needed and street noise disturbing too. Parking not easy. Best Advice - Stay outside the walls and walk in.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Location excellent, staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location excellent, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access instructions useless! Most staff Can’t speak any English

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Great view, beautiful decoration, warm service, great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view, beautiful decoration, warm service, great place!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    3.8
    Poor service .... bad acces by car .... No wiffi in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet ... service .... noise from orther room. ... smell from the kitchen.

    Notting

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    Loved the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were hard. Would have helped if the Reception staff spoke some English

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful holiday, looking forward to our next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful large, comfy bed and powerful shower.Staff friendly, food great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Charming boutique hotel in city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning.

    The wait staff was super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    This is a traditional Spanish hotel with values to match.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family-run with old-fashioned courtesy. Spacious, clean room. Bang in centre of Avila. Hotel restaurant just over the road.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful old family hotel with all modern updates but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful old family hotel with all modern updates but keeping the old charm, such as beautiful wide halls. Nice to stay in old walled city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.1
    Ok place to stay in the heart of the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok place to stay in the heart of the old city

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    Personal amable y servicial
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal amable y servicial

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Great location near one of the gates and the Cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location near one of the gates and the Cathedral

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    10
    The staff were extremely cortous and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no natural orange juice, since I'm diabetic once I mention it the lady at the front desk went all the way to solve the problem and got me a freshly pressed O.J. Thanks

    The staff were extremely cortous and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    6.7
    Next to the Cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Awkward to find by car, they need to give you a map with directions. Hotel a bit dated with a lack of power points in room. Food in restaurant expensive. Beds a bit lumpy. Do not expect too much from this Hotel.

    Next to the Cathedral.. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Car parking secure in locked yard next to hotel, you get the key from reception.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    10
    Very informative video about the parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very informative video about the parking. Staff friendly and helpful. Great location for a short visit as it is only a few hundred meters from the entrance to the city wall, the main attraction. Nice big bath and comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    10
    The hotel has a perfect location, very close to the main...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only thing I can mention is that the internet connection was interrupted from time to time but when I contacted the reception, the router was restarted and the connection was restored.

    The hotel has a perfect location, very close to the main entrance into the walls. The rooms are comfortable and quite, decorated in traditional style. The atmosphere is very nice and cozy. The staff is very helpful and welcoming (eventhough there was a language barrier sometimes).

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is located just inside the famous city walls near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    As it is usual in Spain there are no coffee/tee facilites in the room. The noise from the restaurant's terrace may be bothering in the rooms on the first floor. Take into account that there is no elevator.

    The hotel is located just inside the famous city walls near all main sites. It is basic, quaint and perfectly ok for this price and location. WiFi was workable although sometimes it used to freeze. There are no parking but this is to be expected from a small unexpensive property located in the historical center. The nearest undeground parking (150 meters, under plaza de Santa Tereza) is quite expensive - and if you're willing to stroll 400 meters more (on a smooth level surface) you'll find parking Rastro which is twice as cheap.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    Very helpful staff and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very helpful staff and excellent location.Loved the ladder in our room to watch the stork nests on top of the cathedral. Excellent restaurant in garden adjoining cathedral.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    8.3
    Perfect location on a quiet street 100 meters from the...
    • Couple

    Perfect location on a quiet street 100 meters from the Cathedra. Closed parking lot. Good restaurant in hotel's patio.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    7.9
    I couldn´t find the hotel, so I phone and the hotel sent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I couldn´t find the hotel, so I phone and the hotel sent someone to fetch me !!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    8.3
    Well situated wohin the old City even with car park facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    Well situated wohin the old City even with car park facility. Nice roons in an old building. Good restaurant with bar. Very recommendable.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.8
    Loved the décor which was typically Spanish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the décor which was typically Spanish. Staff friendly and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    Lovely old building, very helpful staff and a fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lovely old building, very helpful staff and a fantastic restaurant

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    Lovely small hotel in a perfect location - you can see the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely small hotel in a perfect location - you can see the city walls from the bedroom. Breakfast is a real bonus. An ideal place to stay in Avila.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No elevator.

    Friendly staff. Location of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    8.3
    Spacious room, comfortable bed, accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast very basic, wifi unsecured and slow.

    Spacious room, comfortable bed, accommodating staff. Good location for exploring the city on foot.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    10
    La decoración tradicional y la comida
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    La decoración tradicional y la comida

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: