Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Las Murallas 2 stars

Ronda Vieja s/n, 05001 Avila, Spain

#16 of 24 hotels in Avila

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1091 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good location - the staff is very helpful - we were happy with the private garage, this is very important and safe in this busy city. This garage is very easy to access

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic. My room was close to the street so it was very noisy.

    It was helpful to have somewhere to park my car. I wouldn't stay there again though. The restaurant/bar staff were absolutely wonderful though.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Between 7 am en 11pm the noice of the traffic in the street is really disturbing. It is not a quiet location. There is a bus-stop just under the window, here the buses halt for lang period with their engines stationary running. Disturbing noice!

    Location just next to the townwall. Excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame we couldn't stay longer😧

    Hotel right next to main entrance to Avila's walled historic centre! Excellent view of this attraction; all sigts of historic centr within very easy walking distance!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Staff was very accommodating as we arrived at 4:30 AM! The parking costs 1€ good for 3 days. Location was superb, en frente de las murallas - qué pasada! Will stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows in our room were quite big so not so comfortable for me.

    Excellent location with really pleasant staff. The restaurant is next to it and the breakfast was nice and the waiters were really pleasant also. Walking inside the walls from here is really close and there are a lot of places to ark in the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only niggle is that the upholstery on the chairs and cushion covers were long overdue for a clean in an otherwise very acceptable room.

    Friendly staff, large room, able to park in the hotel garage. Took the meal option and had quite a nice meal in the restaurant in the evening.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the property consists of 2 physically separate buildings, we had to take our breakfast in the other building and endure a tricky short walk in the newly fallen snow ...

    Perfect location - and even offers secure parking (at a surcharge)! Good value but basic comforts: The narrow and tall building has been shoehorned into the hillside leading up to the ancient walls and consists of a parking garage at the bottom with two floors of small rooms above and a reception desk on the top floor where the main door opens onto the Plaza. An official Tourist office separates the two buildings (the other part is a small 16th century inn housing the restaurant).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I just thought it was horribly overpriced..90 Euro was exceedingly overpriced given that breakfast was not even included and was 6.50 Euro for a ham sandwich, glass of orange juice, cup of coffee and piece of cake. I would not stay here again or recommend the hotel just because of the high room rate. For 90 Euro, one would expect near 5 star accomodation.

    The location was outstanding, but I found it extremely difficult finding the property and getting to the hotel.. The front desk staff was very good and helpful. Bed was very comfortable, WiFi excellent and shower good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right next to the walls with great views. Parking available at hotel with reservation, or in street very close by (for a small parking fee). Room spacious and comfortable with good view of the walls. Adequate breakfast at the hotel's adjoining restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Right outside the city walls so very convenient to get into the walled city. Garage was situated in different road than hotel main entrance and we found the garage first and a very kind gentleman informed the reception we were there so we could access the garage. Parking was very tight but luckily no-one parked next to us so we could get in and out. Clean bed, air-con, en-suite with shower - brilliant value too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Information on the website, telling how to find the parking on arrival.

    Nice spanish breakfast at their restaurant, outsite with a fantastic view to the citywall. Private parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We reported lights in the room that did not work but despite this they were not fixed.

    The view from the room over the church of San Vicente was lovely, the location of the hotel just right to explore Old Avila and parking was easily accessible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel and parking (booked in advance) was very good and convenient. I wished we could have stopped longer as Avila is a lovely town to visit . Another time perhaps ? The staff were very helpful and our room was spotless and in very good condition . Sitting in the morning sun eating breakfast and watching the world go by was very relaxing .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast in the attached restaurant could have been a little more substantial. Charging to park two bicycles in the underground car park seemed a little mean.

    used this hotel for a one night stop during our cycle ride from Madrid to Porto. Clean quiet rooms, and located just outside the walled centre of the town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a mix of very friendly people in the afternoon and very cold people in the morning. Rooms didnt have a good smell.

    Perfect location, right in front of the walls. There is parking for 11 Euros/night. Good air cond in the rooms. Small rooms but ok including a little outside area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room got too hot. Air conditioning is not individual per room. Window opens but that brings noise and light challenges.

    Location was excellent. Right under the walls outside the old town. Parking on the road is cheap if you can get it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking garage under the hotel is very tight and rather expensive. There is plenty of street parking available near the hotel and I think if we stay again I would opt for that

    Hotel is located right outside the old city walls. Room was clean & comfy. Heating. As we were travelling with a dog, we were assigned a room with a large enclosed patio which was very helpful. Friendly reception staff. Coffee & snack machines on level -3. Staff in the restaurant allowed us inside with the dog at breakfast as it was cold on the terrace.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast which was served in the restaurant adjoining the hotel was very basic with little choice.

    The location of the hotel was very good and easy to find as we were travelling by car from Santander. Also the staff were very helpful but only spoke a little English.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could try and help by giving printed information in english or other non spainish popular language. We went to assocaited cafe for breakfast and spent 16e, double, where as on counter rather hidden was breakfast for hotel guests in same cafe for 5e each, For the e they earn, some effort to explain in numerous languages is expected, google translate can do so much

    Hotel is built over five levels, car park is level one accessed from lower road, it fits six small cars. Hotel accessed by lift. Hotel is modern close to avila walls location is brilliant,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, just by the city walls. Huge room, very clean, nice staff. Excellent value for money. You can park in the street (green zone) for just 1 euro a day!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought we had booked breakfast but this hotel does not do meals. The hotel had a restaurant in the next building which was very friendly.

    Hotel was right by the wall. Parking in the garage was very tight. Had help from a very friendly Spanish man who had no English but very good hand signals!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We checked in early, the front desk offered different room from than the one reserved. I accepted it without looking at the room. The bathroom was configured for a handicapped traveler. It had no shower stall or tub, there was a shower head in the corner and a drain. By no means do I blame the staff, I should have looked at it beforehand. Parking in the street is difficult on weekends.

    The proximity to the old town, across the street. The breakfast was satisfying.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast could be better.

    I think for the money, the best hotel I could stay in Avila. I am happy with my stay. But be prepared that English speaking staff is very uncommon not only in this hotel but in overall Avila including all restaurants. Learning Spanish is fun.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast needs to be looked at, as this was the only failing in the whole experience. Coffee and toast as the only option. Not even a croissant. Though there was freshly squeezed orange juice.

    Great location, just across from town walls gate. Next door to the Basilica. Secure parking for our motorcycle under the hotel. Strong Wifi. Great views from Bedroom. Blackout shutters worked well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was awful , no choice just a coffee , glass of orange a ham sandwich and a cake all served to you . Very poor

    Great location , secure parking and nice reception staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of a cup of coffee was 2.10, double what we pay in Andalucia.

    The hotel was easy to find, directly opposite the city walls. Parking was nearby and although public it was only 1euro for 24hours.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is perfect for visiting Avila, just outside the walls near one of the main gates. The hotel is easy to get to by car and there is plenty of inexpensive on-street parking nearby. Our room had a view to the church next door. Facilities were basic but more than adequate for a one-night stay. A/C and wifi were good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a great location to visit the old city. It is easy to access with easy parking. The room was a good size with views of the church, It is very easy to walk to the old city and a variety of eating places

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV too small. Aircon not working very well

    Just beside the famous wall. Room has balcony with superb views. Spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location walking distance to everything, good restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit small. Bed moved around a bit on its own.

    Proximity to city walls. Clean, modern and comfortable. Great pricing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't eat at the hotel. Bed was quite comfortable. Room was small and basic, no frills. Excellent location and good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location and the price is reasonable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obstructed view from balcony.

    Great location. Undergroud parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was good.

    The closeness to all that Avila had to offer. The friendliness of all the staff. The restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    staff very friendly location great hotel perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no dog's and child crying not good

    parking and area fantastic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awful breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location next to the city walls, private parking for motorcycles

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot when we arrived.

    The location is really good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Proximity to walls and friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no plug in the basin!!!!!

    Room size, view from room, garage parking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The church bells rang every hour from 9am to midnight.

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    excellent place to stay. A bit strange being an upside down hotel (reception on top floor!). Good restaurant and bar attached

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cotton and not synthetic sheets

    Modern with full length Windows and a view of an historic church

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i cant think of anything that could have been improved upon

    everything was perfect for us. excellent location, clean and the staff were very pleasant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Cheap public parking when you could find a space

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs better curtains as they let too much light in!

    We liked that we had a patio as we have a dog!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb and very helpful staff especially as we has 3 very young grandchildren Excellent garage

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel should have breakfast facility

    Staff were very happy to help when asked.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Church bells in the morning.

    Location of the hotel Easy to find parking with just 1 euro /day Wifi and clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A buffet breakfast would be nice

    Excellent location Very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to disslike.

    Location right outside the old town walls, friendly helpful staff, restaurant just outside, garage space, clean and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A more extensive breakfast, but probably reflected the local region.

    Location, quality of hotel

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic small room - but cheap, central and secure. Need some basic Spanish to book in and understand garage instructions.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff speaks Spanish and French.

    Perfect location at site of impressive walls of Avila with easy access to the Old Town. Public parking close to hotel at very attractive rates (ca 1,5 euro per day). Comfortable room size and functional Bath (shower) room.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was right on the street with two picture windows, meaning the curtains had to be kept drawn. The attachment to hold the shower was broken meaning it fell down on you when using the shower. Booking.com only gave the option to include breakfast which was expensive for what you got at the café next door.

    Convenient location next to old town walls. Parking with direct access via lift.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room wasn't very large and due to proximity of other rooms in quite a small corridor coupled with poor sound-proofing, we were disturbed by noisy neighbours. Fortunately when we complained they quietened down

    Close to historic centre, secure parking in underground car park, lovely and warm central heating and nice view of city walls.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Night staff. When I asked for something he almost had a breakdown telling me how busy he was and that I needed to wait for the day staff to solve my problem.

    The location is perfect. The parking is a great plus.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Couple

    Not able to book a parking space and staff not helpful about locating one. We had no outside access for our dog. Curtains were dirty. No facility for making a drink or keeping food cool and WiFi access was intermittent at best

    The location of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Firstly, considering that Avila is a high volume Tourist area, the staff that we meet at the hotel spoke no English and communications were very difficult but we worked things out through sign language and single word meaning. Secondly, we ordered a double bed but found that we had two single beds pushed together and they came apart very easily and during the night, found myself suspended between the two beds. Not comfortable.

    The great location and the Hotel Rate which included a Spanish Breakfast are the winners for this business.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds are a little lumpy and WiFi was spotty.

    Loved the location. You are right alongside the Avila walls with a great view during the day and night. The restaurant was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfasts could have been more continental with abetter selectin of foods

    everything was a ok

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Excellent central location with parking

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bathroom was wet room but shower water saturated all floor and into bedroom.

    location and car park.coffee machine in hall. comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. It is very close to the city wall. Spacious room. Very good wifi connection.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a bit too bare.

    The staff and the location.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything Very good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very short walk into the old city.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast was the worst we had. Terrace rooms are lightwells not very inviting

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beds firm, but creaked No choice at breakfast

    Disabled facilities were good good access to Avila. Secure parking easy to access.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect location

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Central location, good facilities, friendly helpful staff, we will stay again.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Las Murallas traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: