Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Balneario de Archena - Hotel León 3 stars

Carretera del Balneario, s/n, 30600 Archena, Spain

#8 of 8 hotels in Archena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 644 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    All of it!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found it difficult to find. We stayed room only, as before the food in the hotel was very poor. A better selection of food in the casino would have been nice.

    All of it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    A perfect oasis getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is really nothing that we didn't like.

    Just about everything. We stayed in the Hotel Leon, which is the nearest hotel on the resort to the pools. We ate in the restaurant El Agua and decided on the set meal at€€45 for two people. I have read some negative reviews about the food but it meal was exceptionally good. We had five courses, all delicious, and wine, water and bread was all included. I have paid that much for one person before now and been less satisfied. The spa/pool facilities are very good and the views of the surrounding hills make it even more spectacular. After our evening meal we went to the Casino Bar where there is dancing every evening from 10.00-11.30. I bought a bottle of wine which cost €6.50! Everything in the resort is very reasonably priced whereas in many resorts drinks and snacks can often be a bit of a rip off. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    2.9
    Horrible/horrível/horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Todo/tudo/everything The place is hard to find. There isn’t parking free, you must pay €7/day. The room was very old style, horrible beds and pillows. The food was disgusting and poor. To use the pool you must buy a hat which costs more 3,5€. Every single thing you need in this place you must pay extra. Horrible experience. Don’t recommend this place at all, waste of money.

    La habitacion estaba limpia O quarto estava limpo. The room was cleaned

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing day in the termas and a giant comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged for the parking! How can they, when there is no other place to park! Dinner was way too expensive and reminded of hospital food. Be ready to spend like crazy.

    Great bed, had to ask for a king size since they gave us two separate beds initially. Besutiful place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    4.6
    Nice place but expensive if you don't understand Spanish
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could not communicate with us which made the stay very difficult and expensive as charges were racked up against the room.

    Thermal Circuit, Thermal Pools, Igloo

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.3
    Loud Music till late. Horrid beds. Terrible disabled access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The complex markets itself as a peaceful, health resort where you go to relax. What it DOESNT tell you about is the loud live music until 11.30pm which stopped us from sleeping. The beds were poor quality and the room was dark and depressing. The breakfast buffet was unimaginative and bland. Cheap meat slices and unpeeled boiled eggs..? We also had stressful issues over disabled parking- complete lack of understanding of non visible disabilities from the resort.

    The spa and location are superb

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Superb views, great pools and so relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast adequate, disappointed not fresh orange.

    Views are amazing! Great value and used pool for two full days which would have cost €42 alone. Paid €101 for room and two breakfasts. Drinks at pool bar very good value, coffee and wine only €2.80.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    4.2
    Needs being modernized,has a lot of potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old fashioned rooms , not comfortable , the bathroom is old but clean . Also don't let me the carpet in the hotel

    Location and the surrounding,also the quality of the water

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Would have been excellent if not for poor food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid 40 euros for the buffet dinner in the hotel and the food was very disappointing. My friend had some fish and was violently sick with diaoreah during the night. I thought I was going g to have to get medical help. When I conveyed this on check out although they were apologetic no firm of customer compensation was offered. It totally spoilt what would otherwise been a great trip.

    The design of the hotel was very basic but comfortable but the grounds and location were superb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable and will go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast coffee awful but coffee in surrounding bars very good. Personally not keen on buffet style dinner but other restsurant accessible

    The spa area is amazing. Borrowed bikes free of charge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Great family getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    An excellent place to stay in a stunning location, everything you need for a great family getaway. As well as the fantastic swimming and spa facilities, there are 3 hotels, restaurants, shops, bars and a games room all onsite. We were only there for one night, but were able to use all the facilities for the second day at no extra cost. The staff at reception were very helpful and spoke good English, so were able to explain everything to us easily.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    2 days heavy storms and rain.could not use pool or outside facilities.spent time in lounge.waste
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water in room No refrigerator Tea coffee facilities 4 euros day Been here with booking .com before Disappointed this time.spent 2 days in lounge reading.waste of money due to weather

    Bar reasonable prices.robes available

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    Very expensive for what you get. Will definatly save up and return to do more of the things offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very basic states balcony but it's just a little ledge. On booking.com it says spa included but it's only the 2 big pools included. Buffet food not that good and no other drinks offered but water.

    Breakfast nice, and outdoor pools lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Glad I went.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the restaurant was overpriced for average food. It was 20 euros each. Normally a buffet libre is around 16 or 17 with better food and.1 drink.

    Clean, comfortable and friendly. Pool area was large enough for many people at the height of the season. We would go again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    7.9
    A beautiful place for some rest and relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are very hard, which made for two poor nights' sleep. We stayed two nights, paying extra for the bed and breakfast and the evening meal. I do like Spanish food, but the choice and quality of this left a lot to be desired. If you do stay, take your breakfast in the Casino Bar., then either venture out into Archena for an evening meal or have a sandwich. I had read similar complaints, but was willing to take a chance. I wish we hadn't!

    It was the perfect Valentine Break, we had two nights of relaxation in a lovely location with the Spa facilities. We will be back, but room only next time.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Hotel reception staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar staff at the casino were very rude

    Hotel reception staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Lots of choice for the thermal pools, didn't feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of choice for the thermal pools, didn't feel crowded. Professional and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    My Sons wedding
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were basic, no hairdryer, iron or tea/coffee facilities.

    The venue is excellent, beautiful scenery, staff were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Let me use my towel robe after I have ch coed out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Let me use my towel robe after I have ch coed out. Don't charge me for a towel when I have already paid for a room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic place , great pools great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place , great pools great food It’s nice to get value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    We were given a handicap room so nice size but the bed was not even a queen so we didn't sleep much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed is way too small

    Love the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly located with direct access to the balneario
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfectly located with direct access to the balneario

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    4.6
    Awful food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed the get away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little tired, needs updates. Bathrobes were torn.

    We like the closeness to the hotsprings. Beautiful site

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.7
    enjoyable but the hotel is very tired looking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Range of food in buffet. Coffee machines worn out.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need better info re parking and arrival

    Absolutely wonderful spa

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place to relax either as a couple or with friends, highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food poor and luke warm

    Easy access from hotel to spa and good facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    Balneario
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom had mold on the wall and smelled like humidity

    The Balneario

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Very good again,and will keep going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    It's very relaxing, clean,food and drink good and well priced,we love the place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    we keep coming back year after year, says everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Spa access
    • Stayed 1 night

    we keep coming back year after year, says everything!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Perfect relaxing few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, excilent location, will book again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room - SPA Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was very poor. poor selection. stale bread. no option to buy a glass of wine. miserable staff

    Comfortable bed. spacious bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    Water pools.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room - SPA Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Food and food areas.

    Water pools.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.2
    When we checked out we were still allowed to use the spa for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a huge variety of food available

    When we checked out we were still allowed to use the spa for the whole day. Very peaceful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    6.3
    Pick your timing of visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot drinks at breakfast not good

    Spa cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.5
    Great resort with magical waters!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    No playgrounds for kids..

    Not so many young people around;)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.2
    I liked the location, calmness and Russian speaking staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room - SPA Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No glasses, spoons, fridge in the room, miserable breakfast and no free parking.

    I liked the location, calmness and Russian speaking staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    9.6
    Relaxing spa break...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good...

    It's location to the spa , friendly staff..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.6
    Lovely relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were hard & there were no spares available

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    7.5
    Views & location are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't have the hotel's breakfast, poor choices & poor value for the money. Take your swimming cap, to buy one would set you back 3:50€s Ouch!

    Views & location are great. Pool clean, supervised & lovely to relax in.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    8.8
    The price paid included two admissions to the pools which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All good,

    The price paid included two admissions to the pools which you can't knock for the money. Not the most luxury hotel you will ever stay at but you go for the baths so just somewhere to get your head down. The nearby casino bar is also really nice.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    4.6
    The Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room in desperate need of renovation One room had terrible toxic smell coming from the heater It seemed as though it was an ongoing problem as when reported staff not interested !

    The Spa

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    5.8
    The pool was brill and the grounds/location/setting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room could do with a freshen up especially bathrooms not the best. Very noisy room doors and can hear alot from other rooms.

    The pool was brill and the grounds/location/setting was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    9.2
    A really charming location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I could use the swimming pool only starting from the next morning after my arrival, but unfortunately I travel for business purposes and on the following morning I had to leave the hotel! Quite ordinary room

    A really charming location!!!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    6.3
    It was close to the SPA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dinner for 20 € was very poor!!! Entrance to the sauna etc. Department by additional payment 30 €/person was very expensive and about this was not told anywhere earlier!!!

    It was close to the SPA. Room was reasonable, but noise isolation was poor.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.2
    The pools, the bars, the hotel, the location in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise all night from a generator or air conditioning unit. We had a balcony with a view of the mountains but all we could hear was this noisy machine

    The pools, the bars, the hotel, the location in the valley by the river

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No negative comments but would suggest asking for 3rd floor room.

    Everything. We had a two night break and on arrival reception was very good, allowing us our room even though we were 2 1/2 hours early.Had a room on the 3rd floor which was perfect (walked through 2nd floor and nowhere near as nice). Special thanks to the weekend controller in the secure car park who went to the trouble of finding us (within 3 hotels) and returning the ignition keys which we had left in our very expensive motorcycle trike,to us in our room personally....thank you. On the second night we ate in Hotel Termas restaurant (sister hotel) and the meal was exceptional and the price very reasonable. The Spa facilities and Spa staff were also very good and we will definitely return and also recommend to everyone.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    5.8
    the facilities were good but you had to pay for everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hotel was sold to us with features but the first room was old, musky snf very dim. We could have another room for €80 doubling our price to stay for 2 days. Before we even got to the room our welcome was a tour telling us we would pay an additional premium for everything we used ...... what a welcome!

    the facilities were good but you had to pay for everything. Staff leave allot to be desired - terrible

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    10
    The Spanish culture of the grounds, facilities and staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Loved everything and it gets better everytime I visit

    The Spanish culture of the grounds, facilities and staff, the history and preservation of the heritage throughout the buildings and grounds, the beautiful setting and of course the well equipped spa.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    7.1
    The place was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The sun beds by the pools were not comfortable to lie on. The worst thing was the dinners, they were very expensive and barely edible

    The place was very nice

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    6.7
    It was very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel food needs to be improved, breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. The choice of evening meal was poor. However the restaurant near the spa served very good evening meals.

    It was very relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    10
    Large space in rooms and cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.....PERFECT!!!

    Large space in rooms and cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    8.5
    all very nice and friedlystaff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    all was fine

    all very nice and friedlystaff

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    6.3
    Use of the Baleaneria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Details of booking inclusions/extra charges unclear.....expensive and management were neither helpful or Conciliatory.

    Use of the Baleaneria

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.9
    well,The hotel it was good,comfortable,the staff ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the restaurant is very expencive and they have no many choices

    well,The hotel it was good,comfortable,the staff ok.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Check in lengthy.no hair dryer.bo fridge Restaurant food not good

    Location

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    9.6
    HABITACION MUY COMODA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    EL DESAYUNO FLOJISIMO

    HABITACION MUY COMODA. SPA FANTASTICO

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    8.3
    Great location and spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location and spa

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    7.1
    price location spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Slow check-in room next to lift shaft

    price location spa

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Browse Balneario de Archena - Hotel León traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: