Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Liabeny 4 stars

Salud, 3, Madrid City Centre, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#77 of 351 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4683 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    8.3
    A great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the restaurant staff were rather stand offish and not particularly friendly.

    Good range of breakfast offerings. Room spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.3
    Dis appoointed about hot water kettle and tea and coffee in the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water kettle and tea and coffee in the room. That is standard facility in all hotels now a days. Disappointing. Specially for the room rate we paid.

    All well.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Great location and fabulous hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have like a double bed rather than 2 singles pushed together.

    Able to accommodate my need for a gluten free diet which was great. Lovely staff, very helpful and a great location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A choice of eggs as only scrambled eggs available perhaps fried or poached also English breakfast tea bags as not everyone likes coffee and when you only drink tea nothing tasted better than a good cup of tea to start the day

    Very handy for the centre and shops

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.8
    Good for business or leisure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could have been more power outlets, especially at the desk. I only saw 3 - one by the bed, one next to the door and the last one in the bathroom.

    Booked this hotel for a few nights' stay to attend an event. The main reason was the location - all the metro stations i.e Gran Via, Callao, Sol, are within walking distance. There are many cafes, restaurants, drugstores and grocery stores around too. The hotel is right in the middle of the shopping district and the area is safe with a lot of street performers. I got a room on the roof but it was large enough with a double bed, air-conditioned and quiet. The bathroom is good with well-thought out enclosed shower area, which keeps the water from spilling onto the floor outside. The bed and pillows were comfortable, the room was very clean overall. No kettle or complimentary beverages though. The WIFI was strong and steady throughout. I am satisfied with my stay at this hotel and will return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    "Partner" = husband - spouses more likely in numbers than partners - agreed. Generally excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    One drawback - the bath was slow to fill, possibly extra slow as the plug could have been slightly too small for the plughole - water went down while in the bath. It would also be helpful to have a mat to put in the bath - better for children or older/infirm people. Restaurant dinner menu was limited. Breakfasts were extremely good.

    Extremely convenient location - we were able to walk to most places we wanted to see.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfy room, bed, pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy room, bed, pillows. Very clean and in a good condition. Bathroom was very neat and clean with all what you need provided. Location is central so close to anything of importance. All by foot. Breakfast is very rich with a lot of choices.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Hotel Liabeny
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I wasn’t a fan of was the bathroom decor but that’s a personal thing... just not my taste!

    Location was spot on, bang in the heart of Madrid. Rooms were clean, staff were friendly and helpful... they do a heavy measure of Jack Daniels at the bar (thanks Vivi!) Really good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    A great value centrally located hotel that provides comfort and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not sure what could be better. It's not a luxury hotel, not meant to be, but has high standards of service. The inside is in the process of being freshened up, but while a little tired, is not worn looking. Didn't know if the aircon worked at first, but it really did - you just have to pay attention to it. I'm really picking here, being very critical, but I've been in higher "rated" hotels with poorer service. The coffee is Nespresso, but of a decent quality (I'm not a fan). Better than some places, but no option for good quality large cups! Stick with the Café con Leche or espresso! (Yes, I do like my morning coffee).

    Location is absolutely excellent. Staff polite and extremely helpful. Internally very different to the plain outside façade - don't be deceived by the outside. Comfortable, clean well appointed. Food and service of high quality. Breakfast is well worth it if you like a big breakfast - lots of choice. If you only want coffee and a croissant, then pop outside to a local coffee shop. Provided lovely gluten free choice of bread and pastries (not just toast) for wife, and then ensured each morning something was ready. Aircon works well - but it is not the usual in your face type, you might not know if it is on at the beginning (and end up freezing yourself by accident). Concierge desk was very helpful for good restaurants and car to / from airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's a slightly odd design in the bathroom - everything is all bunched up on one side. When we asked for some extra toothpaste (which they happily provided, so I'm not complaining here) they gave us this weird toothpaste/mouthwash combo. Strange stuff. This hotel is not cheap and it appears you have to pay extra for a lot of the amenities. We were only there for a night, but if we were there a bit longer, it might bother me to pay so much and still fork out extra to use the fitness room or whatever.

    This is a posh hotel. The staff are all really helpful (and totally fluent in English). The room is well-designed, comfortable, and spacious. It's clean and well-staffed. The air conditioning works well. There was a nice big window, but also lots of curtains to keep it dark if you prefer. Oh, and the shower is brilliant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    4.6
    Rude, unsmiling staff; no electric kettle; excessive charge of cafeteria,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Rude, unsmiling staff at the CheckIn and CheckOut Counters. 2. Unhelpful staff around the Reception area. 3. No electric kettle to boil water for morning tea as all customers are not coffee-inclined first thing in the morning. 4. Charged Euro 1.60 for a pot of boiling water and 3 Tbsps of milk to make my own tea in my room. I had bought my own tea bags. 5. Had to go down to the cafeteria on the ground floor to get the pot of boiling water and the 3 Tbsps of milk and had to carry these items to my 7th floor room in the elevator/lift.

    Nothing to talk about.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    I will recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Nice hotel with great staff. The meals in the restaurant were very good. The concierge was particularly helpful making calls for us to track down our luggage that had been lost by our airline.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Stay was fab, hotel comfortable, clean and the staff were lovely, just needs an update.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was lovely but a bit dated, but refurbishment is happening. The location was great, with plenty of restaurants, cafes close by. The gran via easy to find, and city bus tours from the square.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    could sometimes hear noise from outside in early hours of morning

    central location , clean , big rooms and good facilities . excellent breakfast with fried eggs made to order .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Great value in heart of Centro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was a great price and had everything I needed: clean room, wifi, TV, nice bathroom. Front desk was very helpful when asked about recommendations. The location was perfect for an initial visit to Madrid.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    A quiet place in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room should have a tissue box and a tea making kettle.

    The room size is spacious and comfortable. The room is super quiet although it is in a central location. Three metro stations are within 5 minutes walking distance. The breakfast has a wide range of choices. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Top location between Puerta del Sol and Granvia. The front desk staff were efficient and friendly a
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel really needs updating. My daughter got the sniffles which was definitely from the carpet. The bathroom was clean but needs renovations.

    Rooms and bathroom were spacious. The breakfast area was nice and had good choices. Excellent churros!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location and good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location could not be better the hotel and staff were great. After our stay we went to the running of the bulls and the hotel kept our suitcases for 3 days and we were not coming back to this hotel free of charge. If I come back to Madrid I will stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in a great hotel in a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    Brilliant location in centre of Madrid.Clean and comfortable.Friendly staff and nice breakfast.Great value for money.There is A small taxi rank yards from the main entrance which is handy for getting back to the airport.Plenty of nice bars and restaurants very close by and a short walk to Gran Via.Our room was to the rear of hotel and was very quiet.Would definitely stay here again and thoroughly recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay for an additional room even we had a reservation for 2 adults and 2 kids. The hotel argued that 4 persons cannot stay in a room. We are very disappointed as it was an extra cost we had not considered.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Muchas grathias liabeny Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liabeny was perfect for us. Fabulous location, great room, comfortable bar. Great breakfast. Really great dinner. Everything was perfect. Even the mini bar prices were reasonable so we used it. Great stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Couldn't ask for any better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing! All was good.

    The hotel location is excellent, with regards to exploring Madrid. Peurto del Sol (2 mins), Plaza Mayor (7 mins), Opera (7 mins), Royal Palace (10 mins). From either Peurto del Sol, or Gran Via you can walk to locations further afield with ease.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Just incredible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location ever, a 2 min walk from both Sol and Gran Vía. I stayed here first in 2009 and now it has been remodeled and it's quiet, comfortable and affordable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    in most respects the hotel was OK.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The front-of -house staff were not very friendly or welcoming.

    in most respects the hotel was OK. The bathrooms were still in 1960's fitout and the heavy dark wooden furniture was gloomy and dated. It would possibly disappoint younger travellers looking for something more modern.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Once we we had a quite room we had a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    See above

    We had a problem with our room the the adjacent proprtey was going under renervation and therefore our room was very noisy However we were were moved to a different room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    it's all about the location but request a double room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am a middle aged woman who happened to be in Madrid alone for a few days after travelling for three weeks. The room I was allocated was very small and the bed was little more than a single bed and not at all comfortable. There was one pillow available. I really felt like a child being given the spare room for a night.

    The hotel location is excellent. The cleanliness is excellent. The staff were mostly very attentive and helpful. The breakfast buffet was good. The location of the hotel is the biggest positive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Pedro was great. Give him a raise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pedro was absolutely wonderful as it was raining the day we left and we could not get a cab. Pedro walked with us in the rain to the metro and showed us exactl;y how to go so we would not miss our train to Barcelona.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Location is good, nearby Metro station, may walk to Madrid...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is too small so that we can not open the luggage completely. No kettle, no free spring water.

    Location is good, nearby Metro station, may walk to Madrid palace and plaza mayor. The breakfast is also sumptious and delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.!

    Everything Everything was great Staffs, breakfast, cleanness, lobby Ans specifically, lobby It has really nice and friendly atmosphere. It is very good hotel and with good price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyed the hotel and location - so close to shopping, restaurants and sight-seeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One front desk female staff member was not very friendly. In fact, she ignored us.

    We had a junior suite and it was just perfect for us. The beds were comfortable, nice linens and very clean. Also an added fresh fruit bowl every day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Good, comfortable hotel near Puerta del Sol, Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room needs an electric tea kettle, tea and coffee, like many hotels of this category have.

    The breakfast buffet was delicious and had a variety of food. Service was excellent. There is also a cafeteria adjacent to the main restaurant where you can order from the menu and is cheaper. My only complaint is that the room did not have a tea kettle to make tea or coffee. Otherwise, I was pleased with my stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked for a double bed and were only offered 2 singles. No apology and we had to make a fuss to be moved the second night. Staff on front desk could have been more customer friendly. Only negative point.

    Very good value. Excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Large traditional hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small and traditionally Spanish with dark furniture but very clean. No tea/coffee in rooms but reasonably priced minibar and ice available free from cafe

    Large traditional hotel. Good service, good breakfast, very clean, good user-friendly air con.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful hassle free stay. I would definitely visit them again :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym can have more machines, since I am into fitness and go to gym everyday. So limited options plus one machine was not working was the drawback.

    The staff was very polite and helpful and the service was great! 👍🏻. Centrally located to all the tourist attractions and shopping streets. Taxis were available all day long just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Dated and uninspiring
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall it was a dated environment and I don’t think a true 4* experience. Water was only available in the overpriced minibar and the rooms were very simple. I had to change room (which was done with excellent service and no fuss) because the sloping room in my first room meant I could not stand under the shower as the shower head was at chin height. Breakfast was poor so don’t bother. A short walk in town will give you many better options. Generally uninspiring.

    Excellent location for a one night business trip with pleasant staff but that’s where it ends and I’m sure there are better value options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    well done Liabeny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extremely well located. Breakfast outstanding as well as adjoining cafe-style restaurant with American type diner feel.. Staff excellent and attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    My first choice hotel when I'm in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's nothing I dislike about the hotel.

    I've used the hotel before and will do again. It's ideally situated for the short over-night stay. Easy to get to on the Metro from the airport and close to Sol to move around and get to Atocha. Good bars abound and you're close to the tourist spots and Gran Via. Front of house staff are excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Breakfast was very good. Great choice. Very slick, polite friendly service. The hotel was very clean and very centrally placed in between Metro stations Grand Via and Sol, but we walked everywhere - only using the Metro to and from Airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Excellent facilities in a central location in a very comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing. Very happy with my stay

    Superb room in a centrally located hotel with so many facilities located right around the place. Excellent breakfast full of variety. Each day the room was promptly cleaned by responsive staff who were non intrusive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Staff were especially friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were especially friendly and helpful. Location was fantastic and convenient to walking everywhere we wanted to go in Centro and adjoining neighborhoods as well as close to Metro. Very clean and comfortable hotel. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good. I would certainly recommend the Liabeny and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Soundproofing between rooms. Someone seemed to move into a neigbouring bedroom around midnight one evening and the cupboard doors and drawers sounded as if they were in constant, noisey motion.

    Very comfy hotel in an excellent location. Central, but quiet, and you can walk to many of the main sights plus all the major art galleries. We had breakfast at the hotel - a smallish addition to the room rate - and it was very good. Lots of lovely fruit, fresh juice, pastries, cereals as well as cooked items and ham and cheese. Very good value for money - and good, strong coffee!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Madrid ... heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it totally fitted the bill.

    Location was terrific. We arrived early on Saturday and were given immediate access to our rooms. Breakfast had lots of choice. Staff were very helpful getting taxis.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.4
    Great location if you are visiting Madrid, accommodation a let down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Accommodation tired and needed a makeover. Prior to the visit sent an email - not particularly helpful. Overall disappointing for a four star hotel.

    Reception staff during the stay were helpful and friendly., Concierge on Sunday particularly so. Good location for central Madrid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Hotel location great. Actions of staff will make me think twice about choosing them next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While waiting in the lounge we had been watching the International Tennis Open. (it was only the 7 of us) A staff member went to the TV and insisted we needed to change the station to Bull fighting. We begged to not have him put it on, and told him we had been watching the tennis match. To our dismay he didn't care and changed the station. We had to turn our chairs around because to us the torture of these bulls is sickening. Staff member didn't care. On an other occasion we had purchased gelato on our walk back to the hotel and were planning on going into the bar for a few drinks and to watch some more tennis. We were told we had to leave the bar because of the gelato. Needless to say we did not go back for drinks. And worse the bartender didn't care.

    This is our 2nd time staying at this Hotel. The location is perfect. Hotel is clean and maintained. Rooms are clean and well maintained. We arrived early and they had rooms avail.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    The location is great, breakfast is amazing and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    The location is great, breakfast is amazing and the room was very comfortable, if I come back to Madrid I will stay here again :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    A very comfortable hotel ten minutes walk from the Prado
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. Very comfortable hotel, nice ambience. Helpful staff, excellent restaurant attached offering great value delicious meals. LoveLy big room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Great experience all round. Lovely sunshine in this great city both inside and outside the hotel. I
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue we had with the shower in our room but that was probably just our particular room. I’ve stayed in other rooms in the hotel and the shower was fine.

    Hard to fault this hotel. Great location in the center of Madrid, very close to Sol metro station. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was lovely with great variety. Hotel management even left a complementary bottle of champagne in our room to celebrate my wife’s birthday, which fell during our stay at the hotel. There may have been some small faults but that would be pernickety. Overall, I would have no hesitation in recommending this lovely hotel in this beautiful city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Very relaxing stay in Madrid and made better by staying at the Liabeny Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a simple coffee machine in the room.

    The location was great, room met all our expectations and staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Hotel is in a great location but everything about it is dated and tired looking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are somewhat dated, especially the bathroom which has a shower set above a tiny bath that you have to climb into to use the shower. The staff are friendly enough but the bar service is extremely slow which is perhaps why it is always completely empty.

    Great location, within easy walking distance of the main squares and attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    Good, central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our initial room was not very nice. However it was rectified very quickly when we asked to move. So it’s not really a disappointment.

    It is very central to Grand Via and Sol. A good starting point for holidaying in Madrid. Staff lovely. Maid service was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    It is a good 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a good 4 star hotel. Lobby is a nice area But the room is not very bright. Thank you for the good stay. They gave a good size crib for my 3 years baby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    in general it was good mainly for the location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    one day was very noisy from the city center Football game of course is the reason the bathroom is ok but high so take care

    location is perfect for the city center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the rooms had air conditioning and coffee/tea making facilities but they didn’t.

    The location was central but quiet. The staff were extremely helpful, the breakfast was lovely every morning and the hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    Hell of a time at the Liabeny. Don't go!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jackhammer going in the room above us meant we could not get an afternoon rest. Hammering then started at 08.30. Management were totally unsympathetic.

    Clean, well situated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Great, absolutely central (but quiet) location, metro, taxi...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great, absolutely central (but quiet) location, metro, taxi, shopping areas very close. Small but very clean rooms, excellent breakfast, helpful staff, fast service. Shuttle from / to airport for groups. Recommend to stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Location could not have been better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price for breakfast was a little high considering what was offered, but it appeared that in Madrid, high priced hotel breakfasts are normal.

    Location could not have been better! Room size was quite comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel in a great location. Close to several metro stations, restaurants & places of interest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to dislike. If anything, the bathroom was a little dated, but fully functional and clean.

    Location was fabulous! Breakfast was wonderful with a great selection of food. Gym and sauna were great. Room was comfortable. Wi-Fi was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful stay in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There are two steps to climb to the dinning room with no handle,which is very inconvenient for a handicap person

    Location was great and the room was very quiet but a little dark during the day.There are rooms much more lightened ,but ours had a bathroom very comfortable and safe for a handicap person as my husband.Small towels were changed twice every day. Breakfast was very good with a great choice of fresh fruits. I would certainly recommend this hotel in the center of Madrid

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms were very old. need to renovate and be more modern. need tea/ coffee making facilities in the room ......... now days all hotels have that

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small shower & this hotel was supposed to be non-smoking. Someone was smoking in the next room. Angled ceilings made the room feel small. I would stay again if it weren't for the small shower. And low ceilings.

    Location was very good. Central to everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Superb location. Reserve only renovated rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot in the room and the conditioning can be operated only to heat. We couldn’t open the window, because it was smell from the restaurant/ smoking. When we get to the hotel we were informed that the room we reserve isn’t available, but we get the upgrade to the deluxe room. Who will be not happy in this situation. But the day after they come to us and tell that we need to move and if not we will need to pay 250 euro per day extra!!!!! It is absolutely unacceptable, never hear that somebody was upgraded and then asked to move! We of cause didn’t agree for this arrangement and at the end ,fair to say, wasn’t issued to pay the extra. But the situation was something we wasn’t supposed to issued at all in the good hotel. The another issue that our unfortunate friends didn’t get upgrade and we saw indeed how other hotel rooms are looks. They get very old room. Not old fashion but old. It looks like it wasn’t renovated at least 30-40 years. May be it not so fatal in the bedroom, but in the bathroom it not meet any standards not 4 stars and even 3 stars hotel. So the main recommendation is reserve it only if you get renovated rooms or if the location is only matter for you.

    The location of the hotel is truly amazing. It between Gran Via an Plaza del Sol. So it is 3 min walk to both. The hotel is faced the plaza. And isn’t jammed and claustrafobic as other hotels in the area. The parking is big and the price is fair 22 euro, when in the public parking you will pay at least 29 per day. The lobby was big, old charm and comfort. We stay in truly big and modern room. Very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Best Location unpleasant bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom although it is well equipped it is not modern but old and must be renewed!👎🏻👎🏻👎🏻5-6

    Location 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻10 Breakfast 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻9 Staff👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻8 Restaurant 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻9 Room 👍🏻👍🏻7

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    A very enjoyable visit to Madrid just marred by a bad experience which was nothing to do with hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very little to dislike, if anything, about this hotel.

    Cuisine in the restaurant a little limited so chose to dine locally as there is a wide variety of eating places locally. Hotel is very centrally located - within walking distance of most of the squares, and museums that tourists would want to visit. However, beware of thieves. I had my wallet stolen from in zipped bag whilst waiting in line at the Prado Museum.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    I'd highly recommend Hotel Liabeny to anyone visiting Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I'm struggling to think of something I didn't like. Perhaps the view from my hotel room window wasn't the greatest, but to be honest I came to see the real Madrid on the streets and not the obscured view from my hotel window.

    It's a beautiful hotel located right in the centre of Madrid within 5-10 minutes walk from Gran Via, Sol and Callao metro stations. I had a room on the 7th floor so it was quiet, very clean, with a comfy bed. The staff were also friendly and very helpful every time I had a question.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Spring in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise outside , even at three in the morning, although central hotel and vibrant city .we probably contributed to that early morning volume !

    Lovely staff & spotless room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Bed comfy and very clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dark room looking out at 4 walls but bonus was it was very quiet away from front of hotel and street noise

    Bed comfy and very clean room. Fridge and safe in room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel that needs better atention on cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning sevice.we asked for room sevice and never picked up the used glasses nor the empty bottle of water. The bathroom utilities not changed or at least closing the caps of the little bottles. The cloth used to clean (i suposed it was for it) was there over the furniture , wet and dirty Floor carpets with stains

    The concierge, excelent. Always in a good mood and ready to help you wirh your needs. The,location is perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    Food and ambiance of the hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was just above the main entrance and lot noises in the middle of the night of bins collection and deliveries. Other than that staff,food and ambiance are great.

    Food and ambiance of the hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    Overall this hotel is excellent for a short stay and sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The central heating in the room was too much and you could not open the windows due to the noise on the streets This made me ill and I am home now still feeling sick from going from overheated rooms to air conditioning in reception areas and cold outside. Reception could not address this for us.

    Cleanliness of the room and the comfort of the beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Great for location and rooms were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woman in bar wasn’t the most friendly could have smiled a bit more. But then I guess they don’t pay them a hell of a lot.

    Great for location and rooms were clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked that the bedroom was for 3 adults one with a bed settee, at breakfast it was put back to a settee and evening back to a bed so plenty of room in the room when we got back from a day out to get ready for the evening.excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.0
    Good hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Offer
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast room at full capacity at peak breakfast time, leading to slight delay, in allocating a breakfast table.

    Particularly good location, as a base for walking the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    4.6
    We were disappointed and uset at the way we were treated. No apology till this day has been given.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel added €82 to the price of the room with double bed or two single beds. They said I had only booked for one person. It said clearly in the booking, we were two - a married couple. The man in the reception was rude and overly personal. The room was very ordinary.

    The entrance was nice, and the breakfast was good. That was all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    It's excellent midcity location/ breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar staff were neither friendly nor helpful!

    It's excellent midcity location/ breakfast was particularly good and reception and dining room staff were both professional and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    The location is excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location is excellent. About a 5 minute walk from Plaza del Sol. The breakfast buffet is superb. The restaurant staff is friendly and helpful as well as the front desk staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Liabeny traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: