Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ercilla López de Haro 5 stars

Obispo Orueta, 2 - 4, 48009 Bilbao, Spain

#21 of 47 hotels in Bilbao

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1371 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    smooth stay for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receiving an upgrade on arrival was always going to be great. The room was clean and size appropriate as I could leave the pushchair in one end out of the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    good congress hotel and quiet. Great staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a superior double room. The hotel is aged which you can see. For example some furniture in my room was broken (filling of the seats from the chairs was coming out sinde the "leather" war broken. Certainly not 5 star like. Beds were comfortable enough but I have had better in this price range.

    Personal was very friendly and always helpful. They located all necessary locations on a map they handed out. They helped with all the questions and needs we had. Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Close to Guggenheim Museum which is awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Staff were very professional and helpful. Greeted at the door and bags taken care of. Instructions given on where to find a service station out of town and closest to the car hire office. Rooms were large and comfortable. Bathroom spacious with plenty of space to put toiletries etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Really nice, great character, nice bar with knowledgeable barman and good cocktails would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    air con could have been fiercer, but we were in very hot conditions

    Excellent location, great front desk staff, everything very comfortable, great bar with character, and barman knew his cocktails and enjoyed showing us the combinations of gin and different tonics

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Thank you to all the lovely staff in this hotel we will certainly return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't fault it !!

    We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of July and returned at the end of our holiday in August, the hotel was fabulous, it looks to have been recently refurbished, the bedrooms were huge with their impressive beautiful tall ceilings and a corridor leading to the en-suit bathroom. Lovely crisp cotton sheets and towels that were changed every day. Everything in this hotel was immaculate and well managed, the staff all extremely polite and very respectful. Wonderful buffet breakfast which was well worth having. :) They park your car for you on arrival in their private underground car park which was a massive bonus as otherwise it is extremely difficult to park anywhere. The hotel is close to the Old Town which made for perfect days and evenings out .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Warm, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very expensive, so we went elsewhere for that.

    The staff were great and there was a Nespreso machine in the room. Bed very comfortable too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Good central location, very frendly and informative staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It didn't feel completely 5 star in places. Great setting, but more could be made of it. Air conditioning could do with a clean.

    Good central location, very frendly and informative staff, nice settings

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location, super friendly staff. A few things to improve.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    But there some things like the shower that is not compatible with a 4/5 star hotel, the magnifying mirror was broken and they charged us 20€ per night to host my 5 kilos's dog and there wasn't a bed and food and water bowls. And the key to our room was so old that almost looked like a joke.

    The staff were super friendly and the location is perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely room and very pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere in the hotel. We were not even sure if we could use the bar. Coffee pods for the coffee machine in the bedroom were restricted and you had to pay for more. We also asked for extra pillows and never got them. This did not feel like a five star experience - it was all a bit miserable

    Lovely room and very pleasant staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a bit of an update. Some parts felt tired and didnt quite match the 5* rating

    Great location near the Guggenheim. The black out blinds worked very well and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    The owners need to invest and seriously upgrade beds and aircon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The built in aircon did not work . We then received a separate standalone unit with a hose hanging out the window. Noisy and it did not help. The rooms were stuffy and pillows were hard and not comfortable. We asked for a change. It did not seem any different. You could feel the springs in the mattresses. They need to replace the beds

    The staff were very friendly and tried to be helpful but were probably not empowered to really deal with our complaint about the bedding and the Aircon especially when it’s the weekend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    A 5-star hotel with plastic roses in the room? Dead...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A 5-star hotel with plastic roses in the room? Dead sunflowers in the lobby. No maintenance that could help out with ironing a dress. Air condition did not work so they put a portable machine in our room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay in a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beer is a bit to expensive and we didn't use the bar but it is a lovely styled bar area.

    This is a very classically styled hotel. The staff and management are very friendly. The location is ideal as it was only 4/5 minutes walk off the bus direct from the airport. For those going it's the 3247 bus and get off at the 1st stop just after the bridge past Guggenhiem. Cross to the opposite side and go down that street to the bottom and the hotels to the right.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Clean and comfortable in a good location, just a few minor inconsistencies
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cost

    Hotel is in a great location, easy walking distance to everything you wold need within Bilbao. Hotel staff were friendly, check-in was straight forward. Rooms were OK, not massive, but comfortable. The first room we were given had faulty AC, it was late when we arrived so we left it for the first night and reported the second day. The hotel resolved things quickly by moving us to a second room. It was a little inconvenient but they dealt with it quickly for which we were grateful, however having been in two separate rooms you start to notice quite a few inconsistencies in the quality and facilities. Bed was more comfortable int he second room, shower was more powerful however inadequate screen around the shower meant the bathroom flooded, whereas in the first room this wasn't an issue. Incredibly confusing lights - not all the lights by the bedside operated every light, and the ones it did operate made non sense and again worked differently between the two rooms. In one room the minibar was locked, in the other it wasn't. In the first room when we cam back to move our luggage housekeeping had left bottles of water, and the first house keeping service of the second room, they didn't. Granted, there are all minor points, but for the inconvenience of having to change rooms, we were not offered any discount or compensation. Not even a free drink. We opted to not take breakfast, at €19 per person/per night we felt it a little excessive, especially when you can spend about €3 each for coffee and a pastry at some perfectly nice places outside the hotel. All in all, it was ok, we had a great time in the city and we had somewhere dry, clean and comfortable to sleep. If I returned I would be inclined to look elsewhere and look for better value for money, but appreciate that without the AC issue, our experience may have been different.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.9
    Would recommend for a city centre stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room felt somewhat tired and could do with touch-ups and a little maintenance.

    The welcome staff were superb. Great English, very informative and efficient. Bathroom accessories were very nice, well above average. Location was great. Very easy to access and close to everything we wanted to see.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel with helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Staff was very good at providing directions and restaurant recommendations. I would suggest they not use a felt marker on the maps and the ink covers street names, but their directions were excellent. Onsite parking and a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location and nice personnel. Breakfast not to the level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not a 5 star and not worth the money. Variety rather poor for this level. Also using food from the previous day. No swimming pool. Parking very narrow.

    Big and spacious room. Central location, in Bilbao's best area. Amenities included in the room, like robe, slippers, water. Excellent service in general.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel but look for deals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit too hot as air conditioning not great

    Great location with parking only 10 mins from Guggenheim Museum and busy shopping area. Received free upgrade to luxury room with two bathrooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.0
    First stay at the hotel and first trip to Bilbao- would return to both and recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly strange policy of not replenishing the coffee capsules for the machine each day. After 1st day you had to pay €1 per capsule. Shouldn't be the case in a 5 star hotel.

    Hotel in great central location, yet still quiet. Staff were very helpful and informative about things to do and see.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    Great staff, nice hotel but it isn’t 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was not a 5* Hotel it had no facilities such as a spa, pool, health suite also one you had used the one coffee pod in the machine you had to pay 1€ for any additional ones - not something I’d expect from a 5* Hotel.

    Fantastic staff, comfortable and clean hotel and room. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable stay in a fantastic city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Attention to small details - e.g. three remotes in room but only two devices, forgot to refill coffee pods one day

    Wonderful location - within walking distance of all main attractions. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Great Rugby weekend for Euro finals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lovely hotel, in a good location in the city. Close to local attractions, Bilbao is a lovely city. the staff are extremely helpful. I didn't use the restaurant - 'El Figon' across the street is excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Loved Bilbao but would not stay in hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms are in desperate need of refurb . Stains and scratches on all furniture, paint work peeling, cracks in ceiling. Only public areas look good, sorry but no luxury! Just very good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Great location, nice staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Coffee is replaced in the room per stay, in other words, if you stay there for 2 days, coffee only replaced after you leave the property. I stayed for 5 nights and by the 3rd night I had no more coffee so to get it replaced I had to pay 1 euro per pod.

    Staff is super friendly and hospitable. Hotel is impecable, very clean. I will stay there again for sure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.3
    Not again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi even in the lobby was very very slow and I used my own hot spot in the room. The breakfast was a bit sparse for the price.

    The Staff were very helpful, the location was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Well priced central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was extremely hot and couldn’t get it cooler so had to keep the windows open as much as possible. Buffet high price at €19pp.

    Very centrally located hotel at a good price. They had jugs of water and tea at reception which was always welcome. Also option of just coffee and pastry for a couple of Euros if you don’t fancy the full buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location and reasonable value, but don't expect real five-star treatment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Generally the property is not of five-star quality, even though it claims it is a five-star hotel: - pillows were very basic - curtains were fairly thin and did not stop the morning light - no trash can in the room, only in the bathroom - very small and hard to use ironing board received - toiletries in the bathroom looked cheap - the hotel was giving 3 Nespresso capsules for free, after which it asked EUR 1 per extra capsule

    Staff were friendly and eager to help and satisfy various requests, including printing at the reception, bringing ironing board, iron, scissors etc. The ground floor bar had a great, vintage ambiance. Nespresso machine in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    4.6
    Not as good as anticipated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room next to us was a smoking room. Why not put smokers on the same floor? We were situated on the club floor but except for being next door to a constant smoker there was nothing special about the room assignment. Also the WiFi was sporadic. The facilities need updating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, but a bit outdated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the room, overlooking the inner garden and the construction at the next building.

    Location is perfect, close to every attraction in Bilbao.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    I thought the hotel was non-smoking and after requesting a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought the hotel was non-smoking and after requesting a non-smoking room, it smelled of smoke and the people in the next room smoked non-stop. We asked to have our room changed and the reception desk was very nice and changed the room right away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    A lovely seven days, would not have wanted to stay anywhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The view from the room was not the most pleasant. It would be nice if there were a few additional TV channels in English with the option of a movie selection. Additionally, the room service menu was not terribly accessible, in that it featured exclusively Basque dishes and could benefit from some Americanised 'comfort foods' for the international traveller.

    Excellent location, very friendly staff, very comfortable beds, fantastic bathroom and lovely rooms and bar/pool table/couch club area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Estupendo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not possible to get program in english on the TV except for 2 finance channels. We could not adjust the heating.

    Convenient location and great standart

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Somewhat disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many English speaking people from around the world visit Bilboa but when I complained that there were only two English speaking TV stations, person at reception said that when Spaniards visit Oxford and Cambridge , there are no Spanish speaking TV stations. This was the height of rudeness and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Hotel was well appointed in most ways but still had old brass keys which were difficult to open door of suite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Great short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee facilities, only had a Nespresso style machine. Very limiting.

    Location, great for bars and restaurants. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    Excellent location and quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The offer for breakfast we received via internet is overpriced with regard to what can be found in any cafeteria around (at least for people looking for a coffee and one croissant)

    They drive your car to the parking themselves, so check-in is made really easy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    4.6
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Will absolutely not stay here again. I could forgive the dirtiest, the fact that everything is old or even the fact that there was a bug crawling around in my room but what I cannot forgive is the restaurant and bar literally below the guests room. It was extremely noisy and even after I changed room at 1am to a higher floor I could still hear screams from the drunk happy guests in the bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Great staff, very friendly and ready to answer all questions!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great staff, very friendly and ready to answer all questions! The hotel is not new, but it has its charm. We felt like home! Especially nice that there is tea/coffee/refreshments available all day long.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, centrally located with public transport near bye if needed. Valet parking. Great staff. Breakfast excellent offering the standard plus you had your choice of eggs cooked any style. Easy walking distance to the old town and the magnificent Guggenheim

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.3
    Wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a reservation for two beds made through booking.com but reception let us get up to our room to find a single bed without warning or apology for the inconvenience. Room had signs of wear and tear everywhere. Agree with prior review that this is a "3-star hotel in a 4-star area with 5-star prices."

    Good location logistically and in nice neighborhood. Short walk to the Guggenheim. Entrance lobby was nice but the rest of the property... was not.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Not 5 Star - Brillant Location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is billed 5 star, it definitely is not 5 star. We would say a high 3 star. The bar had quite limited opening hours, but luckily the hotel is in a brilliant location. Close to bars and the river.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Had a great time - would recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We went to the ERCILLA first which is NOT the same hotel, so drove round for a while - this hotel is just called Lopez de Haro but part of the Ercilla group. Confusing.

    The staff were absolutely wonderful - very friendly, helpful & couldn't do enough for you. The location was perfect. Bilbao/Basque people are welcoming & we enjoyed everywhere we went. A quiet city, easy to walk around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    All things considered this was a nice stay and we can safely recommend it to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it is time to invest in new doors for the rooms (with increased sound insulation)

    Very good location in the centre of Bilbao from which you can easily discover the Guggenheim of course but also the Museo of Bellas Artes (worth the visit), the Casco Viejo (old city centre area) as well as pay a visit to AZKUNA ZENTROA (reformed by Philippe Starck) or the Cortes Ingles ;o). Very nice employees

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    The Hotel is Ok, the location is perfect, the staff is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price.

    The Hotel is Ok, the location is perfect, the staff is wonderful but I think it is too expensive for the facilities it offers. Still, I liked specially the 3 options breakfast: buffet, coffee and tapa or coffee (as much as you like), tapa and orange juice. I will book again if I need and I do not get a clearly better option.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Old world luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely everything was marvelous

    The hotel is excellently located in a quiet area of the city centre but one that allows you to walk to all of the major attractions such as the Guggenheim. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and they all spoke English at a very high standard. I only had breakfast one day but it was excellent and served in the most sumptuous breakfast room. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    the hotel was in an excellent position to walk to the sites we wished to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived in at 10.30 in the evening and the bar was closed! Nowhere to have a convivial drink in the hotel at that time!

    the staff were very helpful parking the car, excellent directions to the airport plus route to take to find only petrol station to refill the car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    Good but the lack of available facilities let it down. We would not visit again on a Monday or Sund.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To close the restaurant on both Sunday and Monday is excessive and represents poor management. Worse still the bar was closed on Monday evening.

    The staff were very helpful and polite; nothing seemed to be too much trouble. They spoke very passable English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Dog Friendly Hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some doggy extras for the doggy cost.

    Great value luxury hotel. We had the least expensive room as we had our dog with us. Parking and dog did cost extra but that was fine by us. They take the car away to park it and made the dog very welcome - although no doggy extras like bowls or mats were provided which would have been nice given the charge for her. Everything in the room was lovely, very comfortable and clean. The location is great - handy for everything but also quiet. The bar opposite is brilliant with fab food and full of locals. The area feels very safe even out dog walking as a single female, late at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    On a whole enjoyable, some updating to bathroom needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower fittings and bath tap let the hotel down. The metal fittings were split and sharp and needed replacing immediately. Way below the quality of a four star hotel.

    The staff were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Charming lodging to stay and easy to go to beautiful Bilbao nooks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    High breakfast cost EUR19,00 considering what is served. Nothing special to justify this specific cost. And also the breakfast-lunch-dining room requires complete renovation.

    Very polite attendants crew. Charming bedroom and confortable. Hotel is well located in a peaceful neighborhood and also convenient near to main attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    The staff were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were great. The room was spacious and comfortable. The location is on a quiet side street that is conveniently located to everything including the Guggenheim. Great value for the money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel in God location although Bilboa street layout is confusing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above re breakfast price.

    Staff were helpful and friendly. Decor of public rooms elegant. Breakfast at Euro 19 seemed pricey but then room rate very low for that quality and standard. Should price hotel including breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Great, central stay in Bilbao.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is a little old, needs some renovations and more thorough cleaning, but is still acceptable. Be aware that there are a number of bars and clubs close by, so at night it can be noisy (also the city cleaning and trash collectors come during the night) - but I was told by a local that this is common in many parts of Bilbao, so it's not really a negative point but just the way it is. Drink enough Txakoli.....

    Nice and large room (we had the superior room), very friendly staff, great location, and the price is very good for the central location - close to the river, museo de Guggenheim and city center, as well as the bus stop to and from the airport are in short walking distance. Some very good (Pintxos) bars are close by, not overcrowded by tourists but rather visited by locals. Go there! Definitely recommended!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.4
    Ok but wouldn't go back. No atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attic bedroom was spacious but with a very ugly view which could have been disguised with blinds or net curtains. Rather dated layout and disconcerting electrics ie main control switch on entry then separate sub main switches for each of the 2 bathrooms. Large TV on coffee table fine for watching sitting on the sofa but then the view from the bed was the back of the TV which couldn't be swivelled round. The restaurant was closed with no explanation and as we weren't told there was an optional breakfast arrangement, we went to the bar across the road! We hadn't paid for breakfast by the way but it was never mentioned. No comfy seats in the reception area. It was very uninviting because of the lack of a lively bar as mentioned above. On our last evening when we wanted a drink, the porter was called to serve us! It appeared the bar was closed as it was behind a smoked glass automatic door so it only opened when you walked up to it - but seeing it closed meant no one did walk up to it.

    Location and comfy bed. Quirky old fashioned bar but got the impression they didn't want you to use it as it wasn't staffed most of the time! Excellent helpful receptionists.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.4
    As a 5-star hotel, it had no leisure facilities minus a bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Decor very dated, room size, metal door keys opposed to fobs, no leisure facilities, smelt of cigarette smoke, noisy (as are all hotels), TV didnt have VO or English Subtitles, shall I go on ...

    As a 5-star hotel, it had no leisure facilities minus a bar with a pool table. Wifi didn't work with a MAC Book hence we were bored when we had to stay in the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee available in the room but no tea. Excessive price for soft drinks in the minibar

    Location. Interesting neighbourhood with good local bars and restaurants

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and stylish accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty coffee cup and machine left in room. 1/4 full water bottle left in shelf beside mysterious unopened bottle of champagne.

    Good location. Very welcoming. Spacious and comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Good place for a shoort city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rather ill conceived provision of a so-called VIP Le Club which was basically a self service selection of crisps, nuts and soft drinks. Either provide a proper serviced lounge with a full range of drinks or provide the snacks in the rooms.

    Reasonably ood breakfast with well chosen selection of Spanish cheeses (extra cost, so we skipped this on one morning and had tapas in a nearby café/bar. ) Walking distance from Bilbao's chief attractions including the Guggenheim Comfortable bathroom Selection of dried fruits in the Foyer. Valet parking (extra cost) in a seemingly secure underground facility.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Room size, extras in the room e.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Courtesy lounge is a nice concept but the coffee machine didn't work and a few haribo's and peanuts do not constitute for a snack, which was also always empty.

    Room size, extras in the room e.g Chocolates, water and robe. The bar area and drinks were very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay- probably won't return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff around initially when we arrived at breakfast. Bar closed early so unable to get a drink after dinner despite residents in bar!

    Rooms well equipped, fluffy robes in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.3
    Fairly grand boutique hotel in good location, a few minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower is a bit complicated, but good once you figure out how to use it ;-)

    Fairly grand boutique hotel in good location, a few minutes walk from Guggenheim and, in the other direction, close to some nice tapas/pintxos bars and restaurants. Parking couldn't be easier - you park right in front of the hotel and the porter parks the car in their secure undergound car park. The room itself was big, the bed huge and very comfortable, I slept like a baby. The staff were very nice. Not cheap, but the best value I could find in Bilbao.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    wonderful service
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great rooms, wonderful staff, great service. Highly recommend. There were bikes available for loan at the front desk but we didn't have time to use them.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.9
    Brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were awful. We had to ask for a room change. Our first bed sagged in the middle quite badly and we could feel the metal springs digging in and in the second room the bed was like sleeping on a tilted plank and we could feel the metal spring framework through the mattress. Really uncomfortable. The beds will stop us returning to this fabulously located hotel with lovely staff.

    The location is superb a short walk from the Guggenheim, Cafe Iruna, the art gallery and the main shopping area and only a 15 minute walk from the old town. The staff are friendly and helpful and the hotel has a lovely bar with a very helpful barman who makes good cocktails.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    A lovely hotel well situated for the Guggenheim
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is beautifully and dramatically decorated in black and white with lots of mirrors. The bed is large and very comfortable and the bedding was just right. There is a Nestle coffee machine in the room. THe bathroom is of a good size with a good shower and there is also a bidet! The staff were very helpful. The hotel is situated just a few steps from the river and about 5 minutes from the Guggenheim Museum. The two main restaurant roads are also about 5 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    A little bit of luxury perfectly placed for exploring the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very expensive so we didn't use that option but there are lots of cafes nearby, or the supermarket around the corner to pick up a picnic breakfast to eat by the river. Parking was expensive compared to other places we've stayed but did include valet parking so no problems trying to find a space. If you are travelling by car, there is space to stop directly outside the hotel.

    Our room was a great size for the four of us and two bathrooms was an added bonus. Our room faced the back courtyard, which although very run down and not picturesque, did mean do noise from the street. AC kept the room nice and cool. Reception staff friendly and helpful in recommending places to see and things to do, particularly the lady who recommended a local restaurant and booked it for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Smart hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel would have had a higher score if everything had been working!

    The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming, our car was parked for us . We were upgraded to a superior room which was lovely , spotlessly clean and stylishly furnished. We had a Nespresso machine as well . Unfortunately the air conditioning didn't work and there was a problem with the plug in the bidet , yes we actually do use one! We were offered another more ordinary room but as it was late , we'd been out for the night and as we'd unpacked a bit decided to stay put . The staff were most apologetic and brought a fan . Easy walk to the Guggenheim, which was the reason for our visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Air con did not work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet flushing could be better

    Air con did not work. We were moved to another room without any problem. Staff at reception very helpful. Close to shops and restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    5.8
    Don't Stay on Monday !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were booked for Monday night only. Both the restaurant and bar are closed on Mondays! Ridiculous!! Why was no mention made of this on the website when I booked? If it had been I'd have booked somewhere else. This spoilt our stay in Bilbao completely!

    Our room was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little worn at the edges and would perhaps benefit from a refurbishment.

    Room was clean and well maintained , bed was comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Faultless hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Nespresso machine was great to have. Very comfortable large bed, spacious bathroom. A really nice common lounge area But most of all excellent friendly super helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Brilliant Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only had the one night here unfortunately the restaurant was not open that night to serve food, however there are lots of other bars & restaurants around

    Staff were really friendly, it was quite easy to park. Location was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Very good city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very friendly and gave us all the information we needed to get around. It is close to the Airport bus (only 1 euro 45cents) and easy walking to all the sites as it's a very small city. We took the metro to the Transporter bridge and then spent the day on the beach, it didn't take long to get there and is well worth a visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Lovely Elegant Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful elegant suite and bath.

    Lovely elegant hotel with fine service. My suite was large and beautifully decorated and very reasonably priced. Much superior to higher-rated hotels in which I also lodged.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.3
    Good location however not to the quality that it should be for the price or rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rating of the hotel is five stars however this is faded glory. The "club" is not really a benefit as open and available to all, an attempt to provide a comfortable place does not really work. The rooms are good however in need of refurbishment and although not full we had people in the room next to us that changed for the two days we were there. Also breakfast was offered at 19 euros each which is silly considering the lovely cafes including Urina which is really close and for a great deal less.

    We were travelling with a classic car and so the secure under ground parking was the key factor. This was good, however at 20 euros a day extra. The location of the hotel in Bilbao is good also.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Needs New Management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with VIP Le Club
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast sub standard VIP Le Club just a farce,absolutely rubbish Clearly an opportunity for new management to clean it up and run it efficiently

    Location just fine Staff very pleasant Breakfast just average TV wonky and reception poor So called " VIP Club" services non existent Needs management overhaul

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Stay for the location, staff and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a modern hotel with a coffee machine and good bathroom, but not much more.

    The staff was very helpful. The hotel is well located for what we wanted to do. We parked our car and walked everywhere. The Guggenheim gets to billing and the building is excellent, however the collection is weak. The Museu de Bella Artes has an excellent collection of both modern and early pictures. Bilbao is worth a day, not sure much more.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: