Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal San Lorenzo 3 stars

Clavel, 8, Madrid City Centre, 28004 Madrid, Spain

#232 of 372 B&Bs and Inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1418 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Clean simple rooms for our one night stay in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and oddly shaped. At night there was some noise from the street below.

    Clean simple rooms for our one night stay in Madrid. Close walk to some of the sight.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    Sara - the receptionist I met the day I arrived was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room size was smaller than I thought it would be. There was not enough light in the desk area It was disappointing that I needed to pay 1 Euro each time I used the safe

    Sara - the receptionist I met the day I arrived was very helpful, and assisted me a lot. Great location and proximity to everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    Maybe not for a special occasion but otherwise fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast really not worth it

    I booked a single room- but there was plenty of space for my suitcase- the room was cleaned quite well.as plenty of other guests have commented the location is excellent- I didn't feel uneasy returning to the hostal late in the evening-

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Convenient walking distance to all attractions in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise level coming into the hotel room was off the charts. Parties and car horns going on outside until 4am for all 3 nights. We Never slept while while were there. 😏

    Convenient walking distance to all attractions in Madrid. Our Staff member Sara was extremely helpful with all our needs. Starbucks across the street 😊

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    The old style room on the first floor was much nicer than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alarm in the next door room woke me up,

    The old style room on the first floor was much nicer than the new box style room. Staff permitted me an hour's later check out that was appreciated

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like having to hand over our key and retrieve it each time we went in and out of the property. They said it is for security reasons but it made me feel uncomfortable. Breakfast was a choice of just sweets and some toast with ham of variety of spreads.

    There's a lift. It has 24/7 front desk. The room was a little on the small size but the bed and pillows were comfortable. Staff were really friendly and polite. Very good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrival directions included a metro stop that was closed. We waited outside once for 10 minutes because the receptionist was away from the front desk and no one could let us in. One English language tv channel would be nice.

    Great location. Walking distance to many things Staff very helpful with advice. Clean comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Great value and location. I'd go back in a minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is within walking distance to many of Madrid's attractions. There are a number of restaurants and bars surrounding the hotel. The room was large and bright with nice windows leading to a balcony. The bathroom was very small but workable. I think this was great value for the money and I'd go back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay in Madrid and in San Lorenzo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room, nice view, everything we needed, the bathroom thoroughly cleaned, TV, Wi-Fi, very central to evrything. We walked everywhere because the location is good value for money. We were so impressed because of the facilities there. Lovely room in fantastic hotel. I will be using again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Central, friendly, convenient and comfortable little hotel in the heart of Chueca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was super friendly and helpful. The hotel is very well located, one block away from a subway station. The room was nice, quiet and spacious enough. It's close to many cafés, supermarkets and stores. I'd definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    I was there at Madrid Pride just around the corner, still...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast very simple, but many oprions for breakfast around the corner

    I was there at Madrid Pride just around the corner, still the rooms were very quite, once opend the window you were in the middle of all the festivities, with a view right in the stage. Marvalous!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Central, friendly, convenient, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    It's in the heart of Chueca (I hadn't noticed it was so close when I booked). The closest metro station is one and a half blocks away (very convenient). Many, many cafés, stores, supermarkets and bars just around the corner. The room temperature was very pleasant (good a/c, a good relief from the heat of Madrid in summer). The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet; there was a huge concert going on right outside (pride week), in Pedro Zerolo plaza, and I didn't even know it was happening until I stepped out of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I have to be in Madrid shortly once more and have already booked my stay there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Great, modern hotel right in the centre of things!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you have an outside facing room with a small balcony expect some street noise. Also, the bath towels could have benefitted from a little fabric conditioner!

    Although this is called a Hostal, it´s actually more like a modern 3 star hotel. The rooms are neutrally decorated in white and grey with some exposed brickwork and the bathrooms are cool and functional. Great location, just off the Gran Via and close to bars, restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.8
    it was useful, but not really a place you look forward to go for some rest after long hours of work.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    But it is an extremely, extremely noisy area at night. Impossible to sleep if you like to sleep with an open window instead of air conditioning. So not very adequate in the heat of the summer. The artificial light in the room was rather depressing and not made to read in bed.

    Bed was really good quality. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Short and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little hard for me, dropping the key off to the reception on 1st floor every time you leave is somewhat annoying, but I understand why ( keys are labelled with hotel and room numbers).

    Price for location is excellent, short 10-15 min walk to Puerta del sol, friendly easy to deal with staff and well spoken English

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.6
    Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast - when we booked there was mentioned American breakfast included but it is faraway from the breakfast at all, some slieces of white bread and cheese with strange ham, nothing at all.

    The place was good, almost in the center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    A reasonable stay for 4 nights in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is over priced (7.5 euro) the offering small and it is the same everyday. You are better off at a local cafe. As for the beds, they are OK, but basic. Rooms are not large. Try to book a room off the entrance street as it is very noisy.

    Convenience to Museums and shopping. Close to a Hop on Hop off tour Bus which we recommend. 32 euro for 2 people for 2 days.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    great :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bathroom was spacious and big. The room was clean. They ask to leave the room's key every time you leave, which doesn't bother me, on the contrary, it saves me up from hanging around with the key. The reception room opens 24 hours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    the staff is very friendly the location is awesome and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they gave me twin uncomfortale bed even though I have booked full double bed and the lady told me when you book from booking it is not confirmed that you get the same which is very bad.

    the staff is very friendly the location is awesome and the cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    The photos look a lot better (esp. the exterior) than the inside especially the
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very basic for 7,50 Euro. Same food every day and no flavour. Add Muesli, add eggs and wider variety of fruit and fresh bread.Also it appears,when you book, that breakfast is included in the package but when you get there the hotel tells you it is not. Bookings.com should correct this confusion as it seriously affects the trust and the Value for money perception. Rooms are very basic. Beds not comfortable, like hostel beds. Safe needs one euro to use and it didn’t work first time.

    Good shower. Some of the staff e.g. Sara were nice and very helpful. Rooms are cleaned well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the furniture in the room is rather simple, television without any English station, very small toilet room, very simple breakfast

    the staff is very friendly and helpful, Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Value for money and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no alot of room facilities. And the house keeping didn't change the linens on daily basis they just arrange and organize them.

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Great Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels felt like sand paper and the pillows were hard as a rock.

    Centrally located to bars and restaurants. Metro line also very close. The employees we're very welcoming and polite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was staying at Room 314, basically the end of the hallway and WiFi connection wasn’t working well. Also, when showering the hot water didn’t last enough time to get clean properly. If you like long showers, this Hotel is not the best option.

    The location was ideal to visit Madrid Centro. One block away from Gran Via and 10m walking to retiro Park, Cibeles and main attractions. Staff were friendly. Hotel a little bit over-secured. Quiet despite the street noise. Will recommend for those with a low budget.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay and perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really can't say we didn't like anything!

    Staff were great! Very helpful. For the price we paid it was a great place to stay to stay and so central! Close to the shops and tapas bars.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Location, price, rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the corridor every morning, you can hear through the door everything outside and it’s hard to continue sleeping in the morning

    Location, price, rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.7
    סיוט של מקלחת , A nightmare of a shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, but noisy. The room is very clean but also very small. The first room I got on the 2nd floor was a double bed for one person and not a couple. They changed the room to a fourth floor, a much newer room. A good room is also small but okay. The problem was with the hot water, at first hot water but, it becomes very cold, and it becomes a nightmare. Apparently they knew about the fault and yet they gave us the room and it is really irresponsible of the hotel.

    מיקום מצוין והנקיון .Excellent location and the room is very clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    great location, the bed was comfortable and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i ask for extra 1 hour to check out because the check out is 11 am , the staff refused and i make it at 10 am

    great location, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean, everything was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi signal can be more stable and consistent.

    The hotel is situated right at Chueca where many gay welcoming bars and restaurants are located. My Partner and i are very comfortable staying around the area. The room is big enough to accommodate another friend of ours.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    2.5
    I found a much better room in less price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor rooms. They overcharged me. I paid via credit card in euros but they charged me in dollars with high parity. I came to know when I got transaction alert and ask them to reverse transaction but they didn't help me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    The room was basic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast starts at 8 which is sometimes to late if you are on a business trip and have to reach some other part of the city for a meeting.

    The room was basic. The location was very good. Staff was extremely helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Located in a superb location, very close to Gran Via and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast needs an upgrade in my opinion. This was the only downside of our stay

    Located in a superb location, very close to Gran Via and really close to a very nice street that is filled with shops. Good selection of restaurants around also most of them are offering breakfast if you don´t like the one hotel is offering. . The room we had was large enough for a family of 3. And it was fully renovated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    It was pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Philipino lady serving breakfast was abrupt and sometimes rude with a lot of people. (Maybe she had bad days) no reason to come againt the guests though.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    The location was great but I probably wouldn't stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not great soundproofing. I could hear the person above me walking around late at night. Also the room is on a side street there is a certain amount of traffic.

    Great central location, a block from the Gran Via, 3 blocks from Plaza del Sol and the Chueca neighbourhood. Surrounded by restos, bars and shopping. You can basically walk to everything in central Madrid. The breakfast was well worth it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    Lovely rooms, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were three things that really let this place down. First of all, the WiFi was very poor in the room and extremely hard to get a connection. The towels felt like sand paper, extremely rough. And last but not least, the bed was so hard and uncomfortable that it was very difficult to sleep. As beautiful as the place was I'm not sure I would stay there again knowing that I'd have to sleep in a bed so firm.

    The location of the property was perfect, very easy to find. We used the metro from the airport which cost only €4.90 each. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The photos do not really do the place justice, our room was lovely. Very modern and very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast starts a bit late at 8 am which is quite late for business travellers

    The location is excellent, the rooms little small but maybe due to being in the city centre,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Comfy and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Close to amenities and near everything.

    The place was nice and cozy. The rooms although smalish, had a balcony to the courtyard and has everything necessary. Staff were excellent and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I would return there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Good location, nice staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I dont get why we need to drop the keycard and key at the reception. Why not change to something else like using keycards all.

    Good location, nice staffs

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was low pressure & glad I had my own hair dryer. Theirs was slow.

    Perfect location, clean with friendly informative English speaking staff. Effective air conditioning for the 39 degree days I experienced.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.8
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    You have no control on the temperature of the room. You will see a control in room but only on/off works on it. They control temp from the reception. The Air condition switches off once the set temperature is reached and will not start back when it starts getting hot again. So in summer be prepared to wake up 3-4 times to put the AC on thus disturbing your sleep. You have to pay a Euro every time you have to use the safe locker in the room. As the name suggests its a hostel with tiny rooms but the prices are not. They charge you for the location alone.

    The location is great. No doubt on that. Good friendly staff. The rooms are cleaned well everyday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location horribel policy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was traveling with friends and had booket a rom for 2 but was alone . Stille the hotel has a policy that you have to pay eur to have friends In Your rom . I have been around the Word and NEVER not been able to have a friend over for pre drinks . Never again !

    In the pride park perfekt

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.3
    Clean and great location, Not fun though and poor value for movey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's only one elevator, and it stops at the lobby every single time, so that if you're on a higher floor, it's very frustrating. The security requirements if you bring someone you've just met over are almost like that of a prison ( you have to check them in also, they must have a passport/ ID, and 50 Euro in case you're in a single room) - Basically, if you met someone in a bar and had a good time and want to invite the person over - be prepared with all those things. Takes the joy out of a travel experience. The bathroom is very tiny with not much space to keep anything, but it's clean. You have to pay 1 euro to use the locker, which is free almost everywhere else. The TV is too small.

    Location was convenient

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.5
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a tiny tv that didn't work very well. It didn't matter for us cause we had no time for tv. Despite the double window, at night you could hear the music from a bar next door, so if you have a light sleep that could bother you.

    The location was perfect. Walking distance from all sigths, near restaurants, bars and clubs to go out at night. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    Ideal for a deal...great place to stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Refrigerator in the room!!!.......there was no refrig in the room....

    This property has become my favorite place to stay in Madrid...fantastic location....

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    Very good, quiet and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathrooms could be better designed awkward layout too small Very late check in 2pm is much too late after an early morning flight

    Quiet and comfy beds

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Modern clean hotel by Gran Via
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine

    Good localization - by Gran Via (so be prepared that it can be noisy at night :) ) Great design of the room and bathroom. Will come back one day. And very helful staff and also speaking english :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    Great central location in Madrid with excellent staff!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was incredible, near metro station and walking distance to everything! Staff was great and gave us plenty of suggestions for exploring Madrid. It was nice that they let us store our bags for the day while we waited for our train too. Overall it was a very great experience!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Great location, comfortable beds, clean and fresh linen and superb value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything, in fact next time that i am in Madrid I will be staying there. Although the location is very central you couldn't hear noise from the street during the night and that is a very valuable asset in a central location in Madrid.

    Super comfy beds, super clean rooms, adequate space in room, you can see that property has been refurbished and has a superb location!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.8
    Great Place- I would return in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room temp was a bit of a challenge. Europe is better at conserving energy than we are in the US, but at this time of year (early spring) the hotel could add only heat to the room. The first night, when we didn't know that, we were extreemly overheated. When I talked to the front desk the next day they very nicely told me there is only heat in the building at this time. We had to sleep with the window open the next 2 nights. That made the room temp more comfortable, but the traffic was only quiet for a short time, and I still had to sleep knowing the window was open.

    The hotel staff was great! They made me feel that staying in a hotel vs a rented place worth it for a visit abroad. The location made it easy to walk to most of the sights surrounding. It had a simplistic modern feel. We chose to eat our meals out, but there are options. We spent most of our hours in the city, but when we returned to the hotel at night we felt safe. The 4th floor had laminante flooring, updated modern bathroom and comfortable linens and curtains.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    5.0
    - they took me my towel on the first day, on the second day...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - they took me my towel on the first day, on the second day they took me the smaller one, and I was left only with a tinny towel. When I was asking for a towel they accused me of robbing it... I really don't need a yellow white little towel, thanks! - the breakfast is just very bad, with nothing at all. The waitress is just rude, we just have a little basket of bread that is always empty... healthy food not even a bit, and people grab the food with their hands... a nightmare. Go take your breakfast anywhere near, it will be less expensive and much better. - there is a lot of noise everywhere, there was a fight on the corridor and you listen loud music form the street. - the bed is really small and you have a itchy feeling all the time. - really a bad experience..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    Awesome location for the discriminating traveler!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was awesome...right in the middle of all of the action. The accessibility to Metro made this an awesome place to stay. The staff was very accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    5.4
    Avoid this place
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was freezing cold Front desk holds onto climate control remote - why? More heat from hair dryer than climate unit. Caught a cold here Please avoid this non 3 star property

    Location will be good for some folks

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.8
    great lastminute value in chueca centre of madrid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    having to give keys in everytime you went out though it adds to safety. difficult shampoo sachets - no water only tap

    excellent location quite by chance I was trying to find cheap space very last minute. professional service

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.2
    Gracias, San Lorenzo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plumbing noises within room and from adjacent room

    Size of room Comfortable bed Had room with a nice street view Pleasant staff Location just steps away from Gran Via and close to the metro station

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    4.6
    Good location, bad facilities and non informative staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no heating in my room. I was freezing since I visit on December. They only have a on/off button on the wall to regulate the AC and no remote control for the AC. Toilet/bathroom is very small. The staff is not very informative.

    Location is very central, very close to gran via metro st.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.5
    A great new year's eve in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price was a bit high, but reasonable considering that we stayed during NY eve and NY day. The bed was atrocious! This could be improved.

    the staff was really helpful and very friendly, the hotel was well kept, very clean and up to date. Excellent location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    10
    Great hostel, great location, great staff, and great price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing could have been better!

    The staff were amazing! Friendly and helpful. Answered all questions, and immediately responded to any little request. I will stay here again on my next visit to Madrid.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    6.0
    Nice hotel, compact but adequate room, nice location in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel, compact but adequate room, nice location in central Madrid, easy walkIng to Chueca, Salamanca, Gran Via etc etc. Chose this hotel instead of a 4/5 star.....half the price and perfect if you don't spend all day in your hotel room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.5
    Hotel is next to Gran Via, all shops & services 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room and not fridge. Be ready for a lot of noise during night if you book on weekend

    Hotel is next to Gran Via, all shops & services 5 minutes walking. Rooms in 4th floor have been updated recently

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    7.5
    Reasonable value 3-star hotel in convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room and bathroom, facing laneway with noise from nearby machinery. Air conditioning did not circulate much air. Breakfast buffet is basic but adequate.

    Can walk to Recoletas (15 mins) for Cercanius train to/from airport, and Sol (10 mins) for other transport connections. Close to Gran Via and plenty of eating options. Walking distance to main museums. Excellent Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    7.5
    The location was very good, really central, near of all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very small and noisy at night. Breakfast could be better.

    The location was very good, really central, near of all interesting places.Just a walk distance to the Express Bus to Airport. Wifi very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    6.7
    Great location, nice and helpful staff at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit higher standard level.

    Really great location, just in center but on a side road with minor trafic and disturbing noice. The staff could gave useful information about a lot of things, that helped us!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.3
    Great location and value for middle of the road budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast options were too packaged so you couldn't just have what you wanted and grumpy staff looking after breakfast area.

    Nice reception area and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.5
    Well positioned hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    first room I was offered was inward windows to a laundry. I had the room changed to a square view. They always seem to want to save the good rooms unless you point out that the room booked on Booking.com did look nothing like the room offered. All was fine in the end.

    well positioned for restaurants/Metro/Parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.1
    Ideally adequate for a short stay city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although comfortable it was a little basic for a 3 star hostal and could do with being modernised. Also quite near the local nightlife so was noisy at times, especially towards the weekend.

    Location was ideal, staff friendly and helpful, free internet and 24 hour reception.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    7.1
    Great location, unpleasant sleeping
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both the mattress and the pillow were of a really bad quality which made sleeping an unpleasant experience.

    The location is perfect and the staff really friendly and polite.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    6.3
    So so for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff came into room even after "do not disturb" sign was on door. Staff was performing loud maintenance in room next door. Baby out in hallway screaming continuously for a long time in the morning. Property is a bit run-down. Bathroom was tiny.

    Lobby was nice. Location is decent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    6.7
    The staff were helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room looked out onto a courtyard but with a whole lot of other rooms, so no privacy if one left the window open. You could only do that if you were there, as people could easily get in, so that meant the room smelt and got stuffy when I was out, which I was. The bed moved easily so I woke up with the pillow disappearing down the gap in the wall all the time and the noise travelled easily between rooms.

    The staff were helpful and pleasant. The location was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    The location is close to all the major attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size was small, bed was uncomfortable, parking €24 per 24 hours.

    The location is close to all the major attractions.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    The location is great, right in the centrum of city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is just so so, rather simple.

    The location is great, right in the centrum of city. The receiption is also helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent facilities, i would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too hard

    The room are modern

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect. Parking overnight is €32 though

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Very good option
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There could be bit of noise due to its central location

    Clean, spacious rooms very close to the city centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.8
    Location is good .
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC was not working well , room is small

    Location is good .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    AGRADABLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    que las ventanas daban al patio interior

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostal San Lorenzo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: