Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of URH Hotel Spa Zen Balagares 4 stars

Avenida de los Balagares, 34, 33400 Overo, Spain

#1 of 2 hotels in Overo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 595 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Hotel with spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    I picked this hotel as I wanted one with spa access. Spa access is 90 minutes only, which is, well, enough, however in other countries spa access has no time limitation. So that was a bit strange to me but in Spain this might be the case.

    The hotel is new, nice rooms. Breakfast was superb, even great selection of Spanish dishes! The hotel is in the suburb of the town, so it is quiet. The hotel has a spa that is why I selected. I recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    5.4
    Limited wellness-hours, poor food quality & limited kitchen-hours, ... Poor value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kitchen only open between 1:30 & 3:30 and 20:30 & 22:30. The menu is quite limited & the food served was rather poor (tried the burger & the pizza) Sauna/wellness only open until 20:30, too early if you want to enjoy after a long hard days work. And quite limited English language skills, especially in the bar/restaurant. All not worthy of a so-called 4-star hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    3.3
    one of the worst places i stayed...needs some serious attention needed or management reviews
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was dirty, food was terrible...it seemed like a kitchen nightmare. i was worried that my wife an i would go down with food poisoning. staff were not polite. mattress was about 100mm thick. no quilt only a sheet. we booked in for the spa between 8pm and 9pm, once we got there we were told it was closed.

    nothing really

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.3
    A bit in the middle of nowhere but did the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food in the restaurant was terrible (the a la carte menu, never tried the buffet). There was a cost for every person using the indoor pool which wasn't really expected.View of chimney stacks.

    The spa pool thing is pretty cool and one of the nicest I have seen.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    6.7
    Nice stay and despite drawbacks, would stay again due to location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little difficult to find as their address did not come up on the satnav so ended up having to use Google Maps which wasn't too big a problem. We booked this hotel as it was advertised as having a pool. However, the pool was part of the health spa and there was only certain times that children where permitted to use it and unfortunately that was not when we were there so we had two very disappointed children. The staff in the bar could have been more attentive. We had to wait ages to be served and ended up having to go to the bar and at one point no was behind the bar and another couple had to go into the kitchen to find someone to serve them! The common areas also appeared to be very dusty/dirty. Fake plants and stands in hallways were covered in dust as were the decorative sculptures behind beds in the rooms. The bar didn't look like it had been hoovered in a couple of days and a hallway near the health spa had the remains of candles and rose petals scattered on the floor from a wedding from the previous evening (we arrived at the hotel at 4pm so they should have had time to clean this up).

    Room was bright, airy and very spacious as was the bathroom. Good parking close by so no need to pay to park in the hotel. Games room for children. Pet friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    4.2
    Overpriced with the wors reception staff I ever seen in Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff were rude unprofessional which make me say to the poeple think twice before you book in this overpriced hotel there are many lovely places in Asturias but not this at all Really the stay one night in this hotel damage the occasion and the purpose reserved for . The bed were horrible bad quality even they look good and spacious .you paid high price after you have to.pay additional expenses for breakfast the spa the parking in such isolated place in zona industrial de Aviles Coming more the rude uncivilized cave man manner of the receptionist which realy make me think is this zone follow the urban civilized lovely spain or its Robinso Cruzo isolated Island . Never reserv again in this place .

    Nothing and i mean nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    Hotel is okay although pretty isolated, however additional charges to use the pool not ideal.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Given the isolation of the hotel then I find is strange that they charge extra to use the pool facilities. I can understand the spa treatment charges which are not a problem but as stated given the isolation and the lack of anything else to do in this hotel then charging 20 or 25 euros per day for a 90 minute session in the pool seems ludicrous.

    Have used this hotel several times to visit this area and the rooms are very good. Usually book a suite which is top class as are most of the facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.8
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of information about the staff and lack of customer service by the receptionist Isaac

    The room was excellent and the breakfast was great with really friendly staff. Diego from reception was great and really helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.5
    Convenient and peaceful
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surroundings are too close to industrial areas. No kettle in rooms for tea or coffee. The cafe was closed when buffet breakfast was being served, so you are either forced to take the buffet or skip breakfast completely.

    Rooms are big, clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    7.9
    Lovely hotel for a spa break but set on the fringe of a big industrial park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underground Car park system to exit was vague at best. Very 'remote setting. As a tourist was nothing to see or do without getting back in the car

    Food was very good with plenty of choice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    4.2
    At check in the staff were rude and I was not made to feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check in the staff were rude and I was not made to feel welcome. Evening dinner service was poor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and coffee needs improvement

    Perfect service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.6
    Booking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com says the VAT receipt is issued by the property. The property says it is issued by Booking.com. Any clarification on it?

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    Super accomodation in a super location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super accomodation in a super location. Big hotel with a lot of space. Nice sight to the golf area. Would never change the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful Spa, lovely staff, and an excellent restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have enjoyed bake beans with the breakfast

    Excellent room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Agradable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Las almohadas incomodísimas. Imposible descansar

    Todo en general

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.6
    Descansando y pracaticando golf
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Spa Offer
    • Stayed 3 nights

    El spa es estupendo. Esta situado en una zona tranquila al lado del campo del golf

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking included.

    Nice and big room. Comfortable and modern.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.8
    The bar and lobby were really nice, rooms and bathrooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The fact that as a guest you did not have access to the pool and gym for free. It was not clear either that there was plenty of parking space for free, so we ended up booking and paying for the garage, which was really not necessary. Slow wi-fi in the rooms.

    The bar and lobby were really nice, rooms and bathrooms excellent.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    10
    Everything else about the hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast coffee on our first visit was excellent, the best that we had in Spain. This time, the coffee came out of a huge canister and was only so so.

    Everything else about the hotel is excellent. Facilities, staff, location, comfort, and value for the money are all excellent.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.8
    Good choice for evening meal-restaurant serving a la carte,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good choice for evening meal-restaurant serving a la carte, buffet restaurant and food also available in the very comfortable bar/lounge. We didn't have time to use the spa facilities but I am sure they were as good as the rest of the hotel. We were too full to have breakfast having enjoy ran excellent meal the night before. Also with a car full of luggage secure parking was a bonus. Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Excellent, taking care of every detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent, taking care of every detail.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Browse URH Hotel Spa Zen Balagares traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: