Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sercotel Hotel Los Lanceros 3 stars

Calvario, 47-49, 28200 San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain

#4 of 8 hotels in San Lorenzo de El Escorial

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 609 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never eat at the restaurant food was disgusting - worst experience ever. Everything was served cold and seemed reheated - staff weren't caring or efficient. Seemed like they didn't want to be there

    Value of money rooms were good size

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room not cleaned. Shabby carpet in corridor. Lift broke down twice. Not suitable for my husband using a mobility scooter.

    Location. Breakfast OK. Evening meal OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are extremely hard. No one could sleep good in the night. Had impression, that i'm sleeping on the floor. Very dated bathroom.

    Good location- quiet and nice park in front

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room seemed rather run down. It was noisy, there were no instructions for the safety deposit box and the curtain was hanging off the rail The staff were extremely unhelpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were more happy and helpful without the boss around. Pillows atrocious.

    Great position. Helpful staff. Good breakfast. Other meals were good too. Room warm and comfy. Excellent shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is unsatisfactory. Water pressure is low and the shower is in the bath. There is no non-slip mat/surface in the bath. There is no blind in the Bathroom, only a net curtain to give a sense of privacy. It is spacious though and there is a good supply of shower gels etc.

    The room is spacious and the bed is large and comfortable. There is a sloping roof however, so watch your head!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were not as comfortable as I would like them. Therefore, I did not sleep well at all that night due to the comfort of the bed and the pillows. Also when we entered the bathroom there was a 'disinfected' banner over the toilet. However, whenever I opened the lid it looked as if someone had used it before or the water kept running that it left a very brown residue that stayed at the bottom of the toilet. Also if you didn't want to pay to park at the hotel then there was absolutely no parking nearby so you don't really have a choice but to pay.

    I enjoyed that our room had a balcony that overlooked a park. The room was spacious and the price was just right for our stay. In addition, the shower was updated and the bathroom was bigger for European standards. They also had a car park that you could park in for 11 euros and the bus station was a minutes walk away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location itself is difficult to reach. Other than that, no complaints on the hotel.

    It is few minutes away from the monasterium of l'escorial. It is in quiet street. Nice and clean room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the underground parking is not easy but it is the best way to check-in. When you see the bus station on your right, look left for the 10 foot alley on the far side of the gas station. At the bottom of the alley make a sharp right.

    Maria at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, within walking distance to everything. The breakfast, eggs, meats, cheese, pastry, yogurt, fruit, (5E pp) would be excellent if the coffee were hotter (a common complaint).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Jacuzzi function on the bath didn't work, neither did the air conditioning in all of our rooms (11 rooms) which made for a very warm nights sleep!

    Rooms were spacious and comfortable, staff were friendly and easy to talk to.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None of our air-con units worked although we didn't raise this with staff as it was only a minor inconvenience. Otherwise the rooms were great.

    Wonderful receptionist who helped me without hesitation when we realised that I had booked the wrong dates for my room - I turned up on the 10th and had the room booked for the 17th! She was fantastically friendly and non-judgemental despite the fact that it was entirely my mistake. The seven rooms booked by our party were large and comfortable, and the breakfast was decent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small lift to go up to guest room.. All are fine..

    Stayed several time there, Receptionist are always helpful.. I will stay there again, Super clean hotel, if you have higher floor, it's best view..had quiet room and nice sleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor standards of cleanliness - desk in room had a thick layer of dust on top. Dirty wash-hand basin in bathroom and floor dirty too. Hallway carpet outside our bedroom was filthy and hadn't seen a hoover for some time Junior Suite was very basic - no frills at all Only sheets and bed cover on bed - no blankets or duvet Breakfast was the worst we've ever experienced - food was stale and orange juice from a dispenser was see through and smelt of vomit - 2 sips of coffee was all we could manage but even that was cold when it was dispensed. No wonder there was no one else having breakfast - it was all very much past its best and inedible And it wasn't cheap! 110 euros for B & B and parking.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I will say the pillows for me were a bit too firm. But overall the room was clean bathroom immaculate.

    The ladies at the front desk were very helpful on a variety of areas. The woman Katalina was both highly professional and made all who approached the desk quite welcomed. Breakfast was well worth the money the staff in the restaurant were very polite and attentive. I would highly recommend your hotel for a myriad of reasons. I liked it enough to come back and stay an additional night.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The unsmiling staf were remote and not particularly welcoming.

    Excellent value menu del dia, very comfortable room and good location to visit the palace monastary of El Escorial,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing particular.

    Really nice hotel with great location. Room was big enough and also I would say renovated during the last years. Great value for the money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very nice. Small balcony also. The bathroom was great too. The breakfast was pretty standard for Spain. Recommend it for a short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park is so poorly designed that getting in and out is a real challenge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Excellent location. Beautiful town, one of best in Spain. We parked free about quarter of a mile from centre, easy walk. Would revisit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    Location was good. It needed a boost. while the staff was friendly, they did not seem too up on what they were doing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing everything was good

    Extra confortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room stank of cigarette smoke

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cost of the breakfast

    Large room with 2 comfortable large beds and a perfect walk-in shower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above reply

    The ac didn’t work nor did the lockbox in the room. Bed was not comfortable. Room was poorly lit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent small hotel spotlessly clean only 5 minutes from San Lorenzo Monastery.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Lovely breakfast and attentive staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable, very nice staff, close to the monastery of El Escorial.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Placee was clean. people were great. And my room was well worth the price.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most expensive place we've stayed in a month of cycle touring round Spain. Rates hiked up for the weekend.

    Good location, good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    English is a useless language here.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The parking, while completely understandable, was not the best facility in the hotel. The room was very hot, I slept with the balcony door open all night.

    The room was comfortable, and the breakfast was nice.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There a missing button on the toilet flush and the water in the shower took a long time to drain out. The bathroom just needed some routine maintenance.

    Terrific location near the Monastery at El Escorial. Nice room and modern facilities. I'm booked to go back on Valentine's day.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sometimes late in starting breakfast.

    Clean and spacious rooms, helpful staff, very cheap. Located very close to the bus station and the monastery. Good free W-fi speed.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff members we encountered were quite friendly and helpful. The location is a five minute stroll from El Escorial. Parking could be had immediate in front of the door. The room was okay.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room was too small for 3 people. The minibar was empty. Poor choice at breakfast (we were not expecting something extraordinary but it was far below normal level).

    Location. Quiet street and ample parking space.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff unkind, awfull breakfast room, massage bath out of order, noise

    location

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff were not helpful. Bed was covered in hair upon arrival.

    Location was great

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    restaurant was not very good. great restaurants close by tho'

    Great location, good rooms, car park.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Plastic plants in the dining room. If your car is rather big, choose the parking lot at the entrance.

    Location, car park,breakfast, staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bar food was over-priced and cold.

    The hotel was conveniently located, and the room spotless.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Middle of town but quiete

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    One particular receptionist so helpful. So handy for my lady friend to get to.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Electric fuse box in my room made a horrible noise and could not be fixed within the two days I was there.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old and borring design of the room

    Breakfast was excellent. Location is very good

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a good economical stay in a central location

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was poor - sometimes warmed-up food from the previous day. Cooked food was never ready at 8am

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The air-conditioning did not work at all. We asked for a fan and they brought us a broken one.

    I liked the fact that it was on the park.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Couple

    Staff seemed disinterested. Double bed was really two singles pushed together.

    Great location. Nice breakfast loads of choice.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    expensive for what you got, staff good, meals wouldnt eat there again personally

    good location for us

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast - really sweet

    the tapas was great - anchovies

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast not included.

    Great location, good rate(off season), secure parking for our motorcycles.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be better. Better quality and best organized

    Room dimensions

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: