Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rural Los Jarales This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Carretera Marbella - Istán, Km. 14, 29611 Istán, Spain

#1 of 2 hotels in Istán

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 293 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    10
    Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mosquito Nets for windows would be an added bonus.

    Every comfort. Good outside places to sit. Stunning views. Peaceful but near the town. Very helpful host, lots of info about the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    9.6
    great rural hotel with nice rooms friendly owner and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hot Tub Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing

    Excellent rural hotel; great welcome; lovely room with amazing views; good breakfast and altogether a nice spot to stay. Istan is the centre for many outstanding walks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely and kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The local walks aren't well sign posted but this is the only issue we could find at all.

    It's was a lovely place and very hospitable. The hotel makes a simple breakfast and you can eat it looking over the mountains. Very sweet place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    Very friendly host, beautifull breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hot Tub Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very friendly host, beautifull breakfast. Close to Istán with views on the lake and the mountains. Nice rooms in Moorish style. Good silent atmosphere, excellent for hikers. Spa and pool were in good condition and a relief for the legs after a long day of walking. Could recommend this beautifull place to everyone. Only small point is that the beds are a bit hard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    9.2
    A peaceful little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The host was just wonderful. So welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Fantastic location and a lovely peaceful spot within a short walk of the charming white village of Istan , More a guest house than hotel but this just adds to its charm

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    9.2
    If you want rustic charm and a great welcome you will love this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A wonderful welcome after a 28 hour flight. Rustic rooms and communal areas within a stunning location and an easy walk to the pristine village of Istan. Great showers with steaming hot water and a hostess that could not have been more helpful. I will be back next year!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant start to our tour of white villages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much to do in Istan and the restaurant at the hotel is no longer open so we snacked on cold meats and cheese and wine in the evening available at the fridge in reception.

    The room was nice with a lovely view down to the lake. The lady at reception was friendly and served a good breakfast with fresh grapes and figs on the verandah with views of the valley. The small swimming pool was a bonus!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely, relaxing and gorgeous views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Istan does not have many restaurants so perhaps if the hotel did its own little dinner selection it would be even better. Also the wifi didn't work in our room but when you're in such a lovely location who cares?

    The hotel was in such a beautiful location, surreal eating breakfast and looking out on a stunning mountain view. Lovely rooms and bathrooms and the pool was great as we had it all to ourselves! Just a lovely little hidden gem, would definitely revisit again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    7.1
    Satisfactory bed and breakfast in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Towels were thin, tatty and not particularly clean. Breakfast was very basic and exactly the same each day. Noise from other guests came through loud and clear from rooms above and next door. The extractor fans(?) outside the bathroom window were noisy, preventing us from wanting to have the window open.

    Superb location with fantastic views from bedroom and breakfast terrace. Just a short walk from the friendly, attractive village with its many bars, restaurants and small shops. Good area for local walks in the countryside and hills. Helpful welcome from the owner, who did her best to be friendly throughout our stay but really gave the impression of being rather tired. Great small swimming pool outside. Good supply of hot water for the shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    9.6
    Stunning view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hot Tub Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I liked the location, the view from our window was stunning. The room decorations were special and we felt like going back in time 100 years. The atmosphere there is very quiet and peaceful. The pool was clean and not very crowded.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent traditional hotel in fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very long winding mountainous road which is not for drivers of a nervous disposition,

    Peaceful with fabulous views of the surrounding countryside. Very traditional and within easy walking distance of the charming town of Istán

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    8.8
    The pool was great, amazing views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was not very substantial. We got 2 single beds not a double and they were very soft. It's a pity the restaurant is not open.

    The pool was great, amazing views! Staff very friendly and helpful. Decor was lovely, the room was really nice and kept very clean. Really nice shower and bathroom. The location is perfect, we could walk to the town. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay with really helpful staff. Easy to find and plenty of parking. Great value for m
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was very nice but no choice so for 2 days it was great but for a longer stay a bit more varity would be better.

    great views and thelady in charge was very helpful. we used the varanda in the evenings for a drink before bed and we were asked just to turn the lights out before leaving which meant we had the use of the place to ourselves. the rooms are very pleasant with amazing views. aircon in the rooms was a bonus. the hotel is very quirky and rustic but that added to it's charm. the loation was great being out of the rush of Marbella and a couple of minutes drive to the local village of Istan which is lovely hilltop Spanish village with narrow streets and great restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    7.5
    Rural Andelicia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small pool being just a plunge pool to cool off, But we were not there for swimming but touring.

    The Hotel is very rural and this we like, the querky shabby sheek that they have done is right up our alley, as we are into shabby sheek restoration. The setting of this hotel is amazing with beautiful views over the lakes and Marbella although 12km away.It was good to find a less expensive hotel when visiting family in Marbella, we found with others a good base for touring from for a day trip. We went to Gibralter and Ronda others to Malaga and Nerja. The continental breakfast was excellent the dining area on the terrace for views cannot be bettered and the staff we found lovely people.We would stay there again and tour more.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    10
    Simply great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    How lucky we were to find this gem - an oasis, in the mountains approx. 20 minutes from the overcrowded Puerto Banús. A simple, clean and comfortable bed and breakfast with stunning views. There is also an outdoor pool. Our hosts were very friendly and welcoming, always ready to assist. Istán itself is a small unspoilt mountain village. The area is a cyclist's paradise with hill climbs. So enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    10
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mountain road! A lot of sharp bends! We weren't sure what food and drink was available - so maybe more information about that. We did ask about it eventually and enjoyed a bottle of wine overlooking the lake on our last night!

    It was exactly what we wanted. A good sized room, clean, quirky features, friendly staff and an incredible view from the room! Lots of places around the property to sit and relax overlooking the lake and mountains. The town was close by (even though we decided not to walk it). Great places to eat and wander.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    10
    Open the blind and .......what a view!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For us the location was very good. Anyone with mobility problems would need some form of assistance as the hotel is reached via a steep driveway. The road from Marbella to Istán is very winding and narrow in a couple of places. Watch out for cyclists.

    Rural hotel just outside the village of Istán. The location, views, birdsong and the stars. There's also a small pool and sun terrace. The owner was excellent and very welcoming, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast on the terrace is so relaxing with super views. The quaint white village of Istán with its running water and narrow streets is only 700m away. Take a torch if you walk into the village as the road is unlit. Nice places to eat but not always open in an evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place, nice places to sit outside, small pool,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No facility to provide light meals or dinner!

    Lovely place, nice places to sit outside, small pool, great staff, good breakfast. The only drawback was that there was no restaurant and it's a bit of a walk into the village to get dinner.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    10
    Real Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Absolutely nothing

    fantastic place would recommend it to anyone who likes a beautiful location friendly staff peace and quiet and an idyllic village within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2017

    9.6
    The town Istan is very beautiful, we would like to spend...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is very basic.

    The town Istan is very beautiful, we would like to spend here more time. Great staff, beautiful view through the window, cleanness, big room. The pool was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    10
    servcie we received was very welcoming nothing was to much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hot Tub Access
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    servcie we received was very welcoming nothing was to much trouble, made our stay here a pleasant experience, room was cleaned daily with clean towels, great parking facilities and spectacular views, would highly recommend hotel rural los jarales

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2016

    8.8
    Lovely situation, clean quiet and very relaxing, plenty of places to walk to. I'd go again for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be nice if there were evening meals at the hotel, maybe there is in peak season. They had a bar, but once again it was closed when we went. Don't be put off by this, it was a great place to stay, with food and drink nearby.

    Superb situation with long distance views up and down the valley. Istan is a ten minute walk away, it is a lovely small town/large village in a beautiful setting. Several bars for meals/drinks safe and friendly. Nice swimming pool. Could take breakfast outside and enjoy the views. Very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2016

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our second visit there. Location is very good, staff very helpful, views are just brilliant. Fully recommend. Marbella is very expensive so if you want to enjoy mountains and this area for good value choose this one!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2016

    8.3
    Great place to spend a couple of weeks at the Costa del Sol
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place doesn't have an actual address so the GPS freaked out a bit. We managed to find it though.

    Great quiet location only moments away from the nice little town with some good restaurants. Only ½ hours drive from Malaga with all you'd want from a bigger city. Friendly staff and nice apartment with adequate kitchen for breakfast and a nice blakony to read on.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2016

    7.1
    This hotel was so charming and authentic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some things are in need of replacing. Our towels were thin, and mine had a 1" hole in it. The bed was super hard, and after 2 nights my hips were very sore. But waking up to that view overshadowed everything!! Also, the drive was rough. My husband drove like a race car driver and it took us 16 minutes to get down to the tennis club at the bottom of the hill. I was also quite car sick after every ride. It's VERY windy!! But it didn't stop us from booking an extra night :)

    This hotel was so charming and authentic! The view was incredible! We really liked it. Great value! Enjoyable breakfast out on the terrace.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were lovely - helped us book extra activities such as horse riding and let us know about local activities we could do. Location was stunning and it was really great value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    9.2
    Almost like a chalet in the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an amazing property. It is quite some way from the coast but it more than makes up for it with its appearance, pool, comfort and good food. The proprietor was extremely nice and helpful and we had a great time staying there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2016

    2.5
    Worst hotel in the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    NOthing , It was dirty , nothing worked , We couldn'T close the door of the room , there Was no Clean towels , and no wifi in the rooms the smell was TERRIBLE! And when we kindly told this thing to the lady in charge of the hotel, she told us to pack our things and leave the hotel without giving our money back ! Moreover it's really far in the mountains ! And not accessible at all !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2016

    10
    This hotel is a little haven of peace in the Sierra Nieves, very little transport (none at weekend)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perhaps a fridge in rooms would be helpful and also a kettle (I would be willing to pay extra for these facilities)

    I am coeliac but Packie put my GF bread in the fridge, she was so accommodating about everything.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2016

    8.8
    Great value rural hideaway, very much away from it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Overall we loved this little hotel up in the mountains near the charming old village of Istan, but there were two drawbacks: the drive and the breakfast. Regarding the drive, "challenging" barely describes the series of switchbacks and hairpin turns that comprise the road from Marbella to Istan. We're two very experienced and adventurous drivers, but we found driving up and down to the coast every day a bit of a pain because you really cannot relax while negotiating that road. Its not a great choice if you want to do the beach and so on every day; and a few drinks after dinner in town aren't the best idea if you have to face that really hairy drive afterwards. And a late drink back at the hotel bar is out of the question as the hard-working owner of this family-run hotel closes everything down by 11. The breakfast: I know it says "continental breakfast" in the description but we were surprised to be served the same thing every morning: a large piece of toast accompanied by jam, butter and a tomato/olive oil spread (delicious), a small madeira-cake-type muffin; orange juice and coffee, and occasionally, a slice of tasteless plastic-wrapped cheese. OK, I understand keeping things simple and not wanting to get involved in cooking, but maybe the owners could add the options of a hardboiled egg, yogurts, cold meats, cheese, tortilla espanola? All of these could be prepared and and kept in the fridge to be served cold and would greatly improve the breakfast, even if they had to charge a little more.

    The location of the hotel is just stunning. Our room was basic but lovely and very clean, with a decent sized bathroom and a powerful shower. The hotel balcony offers a splendid view across the mountains and a reservoir to Puerto Banus and the Mediterranean, and one morning we actually saw the mountains of Morocco in the distance! When we visited, the weather was VERY hot every day so we didn't explore the immediate area much, preferring the cooler temperatures near the sea, but I'd imagine it would be a glorious place to stay in the cooler months, with plenty of hiking options available. And the town of Istan - you have to go there even if just for the sight of all the old guys who sit out in front of the tapas bar at the first crossroads in the town, passing comment and watching the world go by. I'd say there is nothing that happens in Istan that they don't know about! We did enjoy our stay, and you certainly can't knock it for the price. Special thanks to Paqui, who is the hardest-working host we have ever met anywhere; she's a dynamo! Next time we'll stay closer to the coast, but if you want to "get away from it all" for even a couple of nights I'd recommend this place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms have not balcony, the breakfast is very basic.

    The hotel is situated in a quiet area, has a nice garden and a small swimming pool. The view from the hotel restaurant is beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    9.2
    Good over night stay peacefull
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    7.5
    Great hostess and host with warm attentive service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of cooked food.

    Great hostess and host with warm attentive service. Fantastic views,heated pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel located in quiet area, good breakfast, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful hotel located in quiet area, good breakfast, very friendly staff, big, comfortable room, swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    7.5
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice location. Few minutes walk from the centre of Istan. Room and breakfast were Okay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    9.2
    Great find in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good

    Rustic charm, with fantastic views from the terrace. Nice little swimming pool, which was heated!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    7.1
    ok, the owner was very kindly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I would like to have a better bed and breakfast

    the coffee

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    7.9
    Fabulous peaceful location, very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was pretty basic The room facilities described on booking.com were not all available

    Fabulous peaceful location, very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.6
    We only stayed 1 night we will most definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pacqui was more than helpfull. This is a little piece of heaven on Earth

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    10
    excellent comfortable place to stay, good breakfast and ten minutes walk to Istan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    liked everything

    lovely hostess

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in a perfect place. Thank you, we will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hot Tub Access
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything is perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    10
    Nice view;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice view; nice room; nice owner

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    10
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was picturesque and peaceful. Very helpful hosts. Large private parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    10
    very nice place and hghtly recommmednded
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very attentive and friendly owner. Nice quiet atmosphere and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    8.8
    Very nice staff, that shared lots of information about the...
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice staff, that shared lots of information about the surrounding villages and hiking trails. Great breakfast, clean rooms and a fabulous view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    9.2
    Get away from it all at this fantastic hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have got very used to my own quality bed at home - and this was all that was missing at this location!

    Great staff - fantastic location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2017

    10
    Really nice location in the sierra de las nieves only 15 km...
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really nice location in the sierra de las nieves only 15 km away from the coast but totally different. A beautiful, quiet place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2016

    10
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows instead of bolsters would be nice

    View, welcome, cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2016

    7.1
    The Iztan village is very beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rude staff.

    The Iztan village is very beautiful. Good view from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2016

    7.1
    Perfect view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In September no availability of dinner in hotel. Need to go out to the town 15-20 min by foot

    Perfect view. Swimming pool. Parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2016

    6.7
    Hotel room excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Big downer Food limited and plain Bar and restaurant closed by 10pm on sunday.nowhere to g0

    Room size and quality

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2016

    7.9
    Very scenic and quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The meal options were very limited, however tapas bars are 10 mins walk away in Istan

    Very scenic and quiet location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2016

    6.3
    We have choosed this place because the rooms seemed big on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We have choosed this place because the rooms seemed big on the picures. In real we got a very little room with three beds. The breakfast was the same every day: toast with jam.

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2016

    9.6
    Great, helpful staff - we arrived late in the night and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find, more signs would be welcome :)

    Great, helpful staff - we arrived late in the night and still received warm welcome, nice dinner etc. Beautiful view, nice room, delicious breakfast, unique atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2015

    9.6
    Nice small hotel about one kilometer away from the village...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinnertime was a little bit too late for us. We would have appreciated some vegetables on our plates.

    Nice small hotel about one kilometer away from the village and very friendly personnel.

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2015

    8.8
    The views are simply tremendous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The views are simply tremendous. Really good value for money. Very close to Marbella but far from the madding crowd. Istan is a lovely village with walking second to none.

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2015

    10
    Big room, clean, nice classic style, iron and hairdryer,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Big room, clean, nice classic style, iron and hairdryer, cosmetics available. The view from the room was amazing (mountains). The pool was a great surprise and the restaurant is open from the morning to evening. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    9.6
    Perfect location away from busy coast, fresh mountain air,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Too simple and same day-by day breakfast - similar to everywhere else in Spain but wished to better more from farm-house type hotel. Dinner was OK but do not expect restaurant type nicely served dish.

    Perfect location away from busy coast, fresh mountain air, superb views, very friendly and helpful staff, rook cleaned daily, nice small pool, restaurant terrace, WiFi.

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2015

    10
    The staff were really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent with an amazing view of the mountains. The menu offered traditional Spanish food but also had a menu of the day which was great value. It was in a remote setting which was perfect for relaxing and enjoying the beautiful Spanish weather. We spent quite a bit of time by the pool. A hire car is the best way of getting around but Marbella is only a short drive away so you can enjoy the beauty of the mountains aswell as a swim in the sea.

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly and pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The 9km road, complete with hairpins, that curves this way and that, up to the hotel is a little nightmarish, if you want to head down to Marbella itself. If you want to relax and spend most of your time by the pool or relaxing at the hotel then it's great.

    Very friendly and pleasant staff. Very helpful and willing to answer any questions. The hotel has beautiful views of the reservoir and looking out over the Costa del Sol and views of Africa in the distance.

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2015

    8.3
    The staff was really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff was really friendly and helpful. Paqui (her name is Francisca) is an awesome lady. She made sure our needs were always met. I have never met anyone who works so hard!!

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2015

    9.6
    The young guy who booked us in was very helpful and we saw...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave. We would have loved to have stayed longer.

    The young guy who booked us in was very helpful and we saw him many times during our stay, we also chatted with the owner who was also very pleasant and helpful, lovely hotel with stunning views, lovely rooms albeit small but lovely nonetheless, great food and also great prices on drinks etc, we originally booked for 1 night but stayed for 2, we have recommended this hotel to friends and family and we will certainly be back.

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2015

    10
    The views from the terraces were spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast could have been more substantial - eggs for example would have made a good addition. But everything was priced very well.

    The views from the terraces were spectacular

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2015

    8.3
    I only stayed for one night but will definitely return in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I only stayed for one night but will definitely return in the future. The staff were very friendly, particularly Paqui, The hotel is situated in the mountains and is best accessed using a car.

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2015

    10
    The staff were friendly and welcoming and the views were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It looks very close to Marbella on the map but it's a 20 minute drive along a very winding road. Beautiful drive if that isn't a problem for people and there is ample parking on site.

    The staff were friendly and welcoming and the views were fantastic. The food was excellent. The heated Swimming pool was a great bonus - open 24 hours and covered in, so whatever the weather you could get in a swim.

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2015

    10
    very traditional and rustic Finca Hotel with a breathe...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast after 9.00 am so none for early birds or departure !

    very traditional and rustic Finca Hotel with a breathe taking view !!!! The owners are extremely friendly and the food at the restaurant is very traditional and delicious

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2015

    10
    The owners were really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The owners were really friendly and helpful. The "menu del dia" is great value and offers some great authentic Spanish cuisine. Two of us are vegetarians and they managed some really interesting options for us.

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2016

    10
    lovely location, great food served fresh and in a beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lovely location, great food served fresh and in a beautiful setting. The staff is friendly and helpful. Loved our stay- we will be back!

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2016

    9.6
    Staff was friendly and helpfully.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was friendly and helpfully. We like there.

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2016

    10
    selection & self service tea & cofee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    selection & self service tea & cofee

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2016

    10
    Delicious country cooking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delicious country cooking. Friendly hostess.

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2016

    6.7
    The heated pool was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was very poor. I had an evening meal and was up all night on the toilet!!!!

    The heated pool was great.

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2016

    10
    Lovely rustic hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Lovely rustic hotel . Very comfortable . Fabulous view from room. Excellent food.Great Wifi.

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2015

    9.6
    Personel, nice food, good prices:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personel, nice food, good prices:)

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2015

    7.9
    Paquita was a great help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Paquita was a great help. Very friendly.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: